Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.43

Awesome: 10.39%
Worth A Look: 18.61%
Just Average: 16.02%
Pretty Crappy: 13.85%
Sucks41.13%

8 reviews, 183 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by FrankG

"The perfect scary movie for people who hate scary movies. Huh?"
2 stars

Alright, enough with the TV stars already!

I remember a time when it was a bad idea to put a TV actor into a movie. Movie executives would beat you severely and throw you out of the window if you even suggested that a few years ago.

These days it's like, "So, you served Brandon a beer on an episode of 90210? You would be perfect as Gilligan in 'Gilligan's Island: The Voyage Home'!" Well, ok, its not that bad... yet. But so many movies have this mentality now. And I do think it takes away from the movie, in most cases.

Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later, utilizes this latest fad. You have Joseph Gordon-Levitt from "3rd Rock from the Sun" playing what I think is supposed to be a cool tough guy. But he's just MichaelFodder. Then you have Michelle Williams from "Dawson's Creek" playing the teen romantic interest or something. I wasn't really paying attention. I was just waiting for Mr. Myers to cut them all to pieces. Most of the people that run this site are Dawson's Creekites, so I shouldn't trash her too much anyway.

(Trash away - She's a PIG-GIRL!! -ED)

And if you don't mention the rapper-turned-TV-sitcom-star
-turned-movie-star fad, then neither will I. I'll get into that some other time.

I don't have enough time for all the bad things, so lets skip to some good things. It wasn't as boring as I had expected to be. But I don't know why. The body count is very low, and after 6 other movies, Mikey M. just isn't that scary anymore. He is just a pale Captain Kirk without a phaser or a comb.

But it does have Jamie Lee Curtis, and that always adds a star in my book. There will always be a place in my heart for "Anything But Love."

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=10&reviewer=4
originally posted: 08/29/98 22:30:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/17 morris campbell just ok glad jamie lee was back though 3 stars
11/22/15 pokpok The TRUE sequel to the original Halloween. 5 stars
10/30/12 Mitt Moor Commercialized, slick and late 90's trendy. Predictable is popular. H6 is at least unique! 3 stars
10/30/10 art I take back what i said,in april,FRIDAY the 13TH BURRIES halloween! 1 stars
8/23/10 Joseph It was great to see Jamie Lee back and for the film to ignore the previous sequels (3-6) 4 stars
4/12/10 art sorry halloween,nice try friday the 13th,however APRIL FOOL"S DAY OUTCLASSE"S YOU BOTH! 1 stars
10/23/09 art FRIDAY THE 13TH IS THE BEST!,HALLOWEEN AND NIGHTMARE on ELM STREET ARE PHONIES! 1 stars
4/13/08 Will Tingle None too shabby, looses a star for retconning parts 4&5 out of existence. 3 stars
3/22/07 Vince So-So I liked part 2 better 3 stars
12/22/06 blarginbadigalnohif Liked it, but hated how it pretended that 4, 5, and 6 never existed. 3 stars
10/30/06 JM Synth A terrible, self-satisfied script, and zero suspense and scares. Finale mildly interesting 1 stars
8/08/06 Doreen Love it! 4 stars
3/04/06 chris f very good movie i enjoyed it a lot 5 stars
11/24/05 cr a really good sequel and this time mike has met his match and it fun time 4 stars
11/20/05 JAIME TATUM SUSPENCEFUL AND SCARY 3 stars
10/15/05 Darren O Pretty tame in terms of atmosphere and suspense, though the final showdown really works. 3 stars
10/05/05 gloria The movie is the best and scary 3 stars
8/29/05 Tom Burns This tied for my favorite with the first "Halloween" movie. 5 stars
8/24/05 Eden At least it ends the series for good! Oh wait... 2 stars
8/03/05 ^podo really good sequel 4 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington more like an action movie, sucks all ass 2 stars
4/25/05 E-FUNK 'Scream' meets 'bad case of diahrrea'... what the fuck happened to good horror? 1 stars
7/24/04 Phoenix II Very well made. The best sequel since part 4. 4 stars
7/04/04 Samuel in the words of FrankG "Mikey M. just isn't that scary anymore." 3 stars
6/06/04 Ryan Clark It's good to see Jamie back in this fun sequel, but can't live up to the first four. 3 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ My rating says it all... Michael RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/05/04 c.r My third favorite halloween movie, it very good movie compare to 5 and 6 4 stars
1/31/04 britney best horror movie around...its awesome but short i wish it was longer 5 stars
12/26/03 Sara Pretty Good compared to the 1st 4 stars
11/24/03 Thiago I think it was a good 20th anniversary. The series Could have ended here, though. 4 stars
11/21/03 kalena hutton i think it was a great film 5 stars
11/19/03 cody a great sequel and kick butt ending! 4 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Not bad, but way too Screamish at times. 3 stars
10/15/03 Erik Van Sant Myers hacks his way through too few WB kiddies. Lame way to celebrate 20 years. 2 stars
8/31/03 cody Scary and hip jamie lee curtis is bad to the bone! 4 stars
7/29/03 Jake Jamie LEE! Tried all the steps, Self Help, Group Therapy, it's gonna have to take violence! 1 stars
7/21/03 Double G I dunno why people don't like this movie, my 2nd favorite Halloween! 4 stars
7/13/03 Samuel Justus They keep getting dumber, and, dumber, and dumber!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
6/28/03 Dave Hopman Not that Bad...... but how can they pretend that h4 til h6 never happened?! Dumb move! 3 stars
6/13/03 Alice Great sequel, this one and the first Halloween are the best of the series. 4 stars
5/22/03 mr. Pink A better movie than anyone could have wished for. Curtis is good in this. 4 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Saw it. Forgot about it. 1 stars
3/01/03 y2mckay I thought it was aight, for yet another mindless slasher film 3 stars
3/01/03 Film Dude MAKE IT STOP! 1 stars
3/01/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Kill the franchise. Kill the franchise. Kill the franchise. Kill the fucking franchise. NOW 1 stars
2/10/03 LG LL Cool J is a full-on bonafide pickle munching homo 1 stars
1/24/03 M.C. He's back!, the series proved it can get the job done outside of Haddonfield, great movie 5 stars
12/31/02 Michael Myers Halloween H20 is a good sequel 4 stars
12/29/02 Michael Myers Halloween H20 is a great addition to the halloween series 4 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby If only I could sue... 1 stars
11/06/02 aku ankka very good 5 stars
10/27/02 Uncle Salty Stop please. Please god stop. Way to turn this fim series into a frothy river of shit. 1 stars
9/05/02 Chancey Thunderpants Any movie with Josh "Helmut-head" Hartnett is shit! Though this would have been w/o him. 1 stars
8/16/02 Scott Scream with another White-Mask. But it's the SHape so i have to like it. Nice beheading 3 stars
8/16/02 Joe Calio A fun, "jumpy" sequel that marks the return of the almighty JLC. 4 stars
8/15/02 Shaun too much of a cheap teeny bopper film, they even used the same music from Scream. But good 3 stars
7/11/02 KMG Jamie Lee doesn't need to do this shit anymore! 2 stars
7/09/02 Charles Tatum Nothing will ever equal the original 1 stars
7/08/02 RAJIV'S BROTHERS RAJIV CUM TO BED AND BEND OVER 5 stars
6/07/02 Jake Jamie lee! comes back with short hair, knifes and ax. 1 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi hello, wat is wrong wif everyone? josh hartnett? this rocked (along with 1 &5) 5 stars
4/03/02 cat gave new life to a dying venture. Thank u Jamie Lee! Why change the music though? 5 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy Good Movie 4-5-6 never happened 5 stars
2/02/02 Stuart Richards Better than 3,5+6,not a patch on any of the others.Not enough death,espically for a sequel! 4 stars
1/12/02 Andrew Carden Janet Leigh's Cameo Is Memorable, but The Movie Isn't. 3 stars
12/28/01 Jake Same 5 ''netspace'' reviews! *agh* Jamie lee! comes back with short hair, knifes and axe. 1 stars
12/12/01 ben wasden This should have been Halloween II. 5 stars
11/25/01 Susan A well-directed film with some scary moments. 5 stars
11/25/01 Geoff This film is great for a Friday night when you want a good scare or two. 5 stars
11/25/01 Phil A rather thin plot, but it has plenty of scares! 5 stars
11/25/01 Kylie This film has some genuinely scary and clever moments. Curtis gives a great performance. 5 stars
11/25/01 Paul A movie with plenty of thrills, clever direction, and a witty plot. Good for a scare! 5 stars
11/23/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Why this plot is shit, Dr. Loomis was'nt in this and Michael gets decapitated!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
8/09/01 Gabe Tommy Doyle was the killer, not Michael which screwed the franchise of Halloween! 3 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk Some worthy moments...Nice to see Jamie Lee again...LL Cool J blows 4 stars
8/02/01 Jared Dee Lee Not just another sequal.Dropped parts4-5-6! And didn't back it up with anything! H-2NO!! 1 stars
8/01/01 Elgyn Could have been so much more. It`s basically just another sequel. 3 stars
6/30/01 ***Super Girl*** josh hartnett ::drool:: 5 stars
6/11/01 Rebecca (hartnett) I found it pretty good(and Josh hartnett is so fucking hot) 4 stars
6/04/01 Super Nintendo Chalmers Jamie Lee, I've something to say. Your movies BLOW. And this BLEW worse! 1 stars
6/01/01 Kristen I agree that's it's not a great movie , but what's wrong with Josh Hartnett's hair? 2 stars
4/20/01 guyguy this is the gayest halloween ever. by far. michael's mask is the DUMBEST thing i've seen 1 stars
4/13/01 LiL Well, we all know this isn't the end of Michael, Loomis is right, you cant kill pure evil. 4 stars
3/21/01 Sthenno The writing,plot,was lame.Jamie Lee acts horrible.It's a suggish sensless pile of crap! 1 stars
3/20/01 Thomas J. lock yourself in a house with a serial killer....good thinkin, ya dumb twat! 1 stars
3/12/01 Jake Save the worst for last H20 Only good scene the last 10 seconds. 1 stars
2/09/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Okay, she decapitated him...if that doesn't kill his ass, NOTHING will... 3 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl How bloody predictable...cant anyone think of anything new in scary movies? 1 stars
11/10/00 Creeper I was pleasently surprised. You don't have to be a "Halloween" fan to understand it. 4 stars
9/11/00 Ground Zero what a crock of phat trash 1 stars
9/02/00 Cy Plhun The only good Halloween movie. Great atmosphere and suspense, less silly gore 5 stars
7/29/00 Bender Some scares, but it takes too much developing a mostly uninteresting story. 3 stars
7/17/00 Digitalus godawful 1 stars
7/17/00 AaronZombie Not bad, but sucks cause it ignores parts 4-6. Some suspense, o.k. acting, and a cool endin 3 stars
6/24/00 TheShapeH2K An excellent edition to an excellent series. 5 stars
5/04/00 matt THIS MOVIE stinking SUUUUUUCKED 1 stars
4/26/00 Pansy This movie is seriously f**ked up. If ya wanta see a good Halloween, rent the 1st one. 1 stars
4/23/00 ryan Too short... but Josh Hartnett is sooo cute! 2 stars
2/24/00 steve layne Overrated but a little better than part 5 and 3. 3 stars
2/21/00 Mr. Kramitall H20? Hah, this movie needs to be smashed... 1 stars
2/05/00 Steve Layne A little overrated. but not bad. 3 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski H2O?? Good idea--this flick needs a burial at sea. 1 stars
12/12/99 SID It really isn't that bad. A little on the "modern" side, but it's no "Urban Legend." 4 stars
11/09/99 Gary Durso A return to original format. 4 stars
10/30/99 Lame-Oh sucked 1 stars
10/09/99 Viral Messiah F**king shit 1 stars
10/05/99 strike Not as good as the first one, but still a 1000 times more effective than the sequels. 4 stars
10/03/99 Suckit Johny, your review shows you're stupid, Jamie Lee needs to quit as a actress 1 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe WTH?! www.thismovieblows.org. What was I thinking!? 1 stars
9/25/99 Josh Graves www.whatthefuck.com. I had high hopes, and they went unmet. THIS SUCKS. 1 stars
8/19/99 psychobubba Needs more action, less buildup. Never before has a horror movie had so much lag time 3 stars
7/31/99 Obi Wan Michael Myers USED to be the scariest fucker....now it's back to Whoppi Goldberg 2 stars
7/19/99 Imagoner Oh, I can go on all day. Primarily, rotten movie and inept acting. 1 stars
7/19/99 T.Karac A good scare 5 stars
7/18/99 SID Not as bad as current teenybopper horror. 4 stars
7/10/99 LEISHA IT SUX HOW MANY TIMES DO U NEED TO BE STABBED ETC. TO DIE IN THIS FILM 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Never seen it, but I know the deal. Isn't one fuckin film enough nowadays? 1 stars
7/02/99 blue b. Horror movies aren't supposed to be so predictable.... 1 stars
6/20/99 hum well, its really bad and really pradictable, its a horror movie 1 stars
6/07/99 lucas jackson I had high hopes for this movie,but it was just not thrilling at all,it sucked 2 stars
5/12/99 Benny Gordon This movie is seriously fucked up. If you want to see a good Halloween, watch the 1st one. 1 stars
5/09/99 Ah Dooey awful, unlightening and boring 1 stars
4/23/99 gibb shit 2 stars
4/19/99 Pearl Jam Jamie lee is too old for this. Still better than "I know what you did.." 3 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam Recycling at it's best. Same old , same old 3 stars
4/15/99 Mr. Kramitall Damn you and your movie too. Somebody kick-box that Jamie Lee! 1 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson It was pretty worthless until the end where Jamie Lee decides to kick ass. 3 stars
3/10/99 Go Swans It was a fun night out at the cinema. Shut up. I liked it. 3 stars
3/09/99 Oggy sucked ass... weak! 1 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury Screaw this girl power shit! Mike Meyers doesn't DIE! Put your head back on your shoulders! 2 stars
3/05/99 Mike Rotch Williamson sucks, and so does this movie. Terribly upset at this. 1 stars
3/03/99 Rachel Seriously disappointed in this. Most overrated flick of '98, by far. 1 stars
2/26/99 Goombah The review is right. This film just plain reeked. Jamie Lee was awful. 1 stars
2/24/99 Viral Messiah sucked 1 stars
2/18/99 Piz been there, done that. 1 stars
2/01/99 Jacques Strap Bam! Is it over already? 1 stars
1/30/99 El Dorko Enough already! I've had it with those bastardized ripoffs! 1 stars
1/07/99 Jo Mama i need my horror movie fix. this does it...ooohhh yeah! 4 stars
12/20/98 mike best one since the original...by far 4 stars
12/13/98 Binky Urgh. Can we try to make horror movies actually scary please? 1 stars
12/10/98 Brent Snore. Is it over yet? 1 stars
11/25/98 Leper O. Kahn A real piece of shit. 1 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink Not enough blood and nudity 3 stars
11/20/98 Mike It's greatness!! 5 stars
11/18/98 Steph Pratt this film was very, very poor!!!!! 1 stars
11/10/98 the last don american films suck like your mums arse, you shit film reviewer! 1 stars
11/08/98 Spice Scary shmary. OH NO theres the music again! 2 stars
11/06/98 David Torpey A total waste of time & cash, I could made a better one. 1 stars
11/01/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! BORING,ZZzzzzzz....,too amny false-alarms and tired/predictable sub-plots,rare scary bits!! 3 stars
10/28/98 zenball 12 degrees of crap. totally tired 1 stars
10/26/98 Hunk@prodigy.net The kid from little man tate dies. YES YES YES. Whoo Hoo burn in HELL 5 stars
10/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce How did this movie get so hyped? It was AWFUL! In so many ways. 1 stars
10/23/98 grunter I actually prefer Halloween III to this film; now THAT'S SCARY 2 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo What a waste of a franchise. 1 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz A by-the-numbers slasher. 3 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island What a crock of shit. Jamie Lee was awful! 1 stars
10/03/98 ShadowStar© What was THAT? Short Attention Span Theater? Halloweenwater: The search for a plot! 1 stars
10/02/98 wind worth a look 4 stars
10/01/98 {{{OZ}}} Anyone who has seen the original could not possibly give this more than one star. 1 stars
9/27/98 John Hawkins What can I say? Michael is awesome! 5 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan With Scream bringing it back, they're all trying again. Was pretty good though. 4 stars
9/23/98 Red02 Halloween is the best of all horror movies and this was a fitting end although predictable 4 stars
9/23/98 David Clark For those that thought this was bad - go see Halloween III - what a shitty movie! 4 stars
9/20/98 katherine 3 body counts. 3. waste my money why dont u. 2 stars
9/19/98 Chip Taylor Please the teen slasher movies suck ass!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/17/98 Christian I thought this was a kick ass way to end the Halloween trilogy...a must see i think! 4 stars
9/17/98 Couch Potato Critic Another wasted effort. Jamie is Mike's sis now?! Stupid and too short. 2 stars
9/14/98 Negative Creep Worth seeing, just to see Jamie Lee Curtis get her licks in after 20 years. 4 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor Please .... THIS IS THE WORST HALLOWEEN YET! Please no more HALLOWEEN's. 1 stars
9/13/98 Acappellanowords What a waste! Just another tired retread of the same old thing. Not scary. Not fun. 2 stars
9/11/98 Bart Barton waste of time 1 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee Jamie Lee is a man. She fucking is, I'm telling you. 1 stars
9/03/98 Badass Very entertaining. The end needed a rewrite, although it's outcome was great. 4 stars
9/03/98 The Patriot What a crock of shite. Hardly any killings, Myers was a joke. 1 stars
8/28/98 hairy monster Pathetic attempt. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball No way. Just awful. Did they even try? 1 stars
8/22/98 Vincent No classic by any means, and this holds no candle to the original, but a TON of fun 4 stars
8/22/98 Superfly Traditionally, horror movies are scary, aren't they? 1 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee boring. Not a horror flick. 2 stars
8/16/98 Miss Stress what?you mean to tell me michael finally dies? it's about fucking time 1 stars
8/15/98 Johny had some problems, but I had fun 4 stars
8/13/98 {{{OZ}}} Really tame ass shit 2 stars
8/12/98 Pumpkin I wish Michael Myers would just die already 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Aug-1998 (R)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2011

UK
  23-Oct-1998 (18)

Australia
  29-Oct-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast