Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.43

Awesome: 10.39%
Worth A Look: 18.61%
Just Average: 16.02%
Pretty Crappy: 13.85%
Sucks41.13%

8 reviews, 183 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Profile by Jay Seaver

Scythian, The by Jay Seaver

Aragne: Sign of Vermillion by Jay Seaver

Cold Steel by Jack Sommersby

Microhabitat by Jay Seaver

Last Child by Jay Seaver

Nightmare Cinema by Jay Seaver

Hotel Transylvania 3 by alejandroariera

Tremble All You Want by Jay Seaver

Skyscraper by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by FrankG

"The perfect scary movie for people who hate scary movies. Huh?"
2 stars

Alright, enough with the TV stars already!

I remember a time when it was a bad idea to put a TV actor into a movie. Movie executives would beat you severely and throw you out of the window if you even suggested that a few years ago.

These days it's like, "So, you served Brandon a beer on an episode of 90210? You would be perfect as Gilligan in 'Gilligan's Island: The Voyage Home'!" Well, ok, its not that bad... yet. But so many movies have this mentality now. And I do think it takes away from the movie, in most cases.

Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later, utilizes this latest fad. You have Joseph Gordon-Levitt from "3rd Rock from the Sun" playing what I think is supposed to be a cool tough guy. But he's just MichaelFodder. Then you have Michelle Williams from "Dawson's Creek" playing the teen romantic interest or something. I wasn't really paying attention. I was just waiting for Mr. Myers to cut them all to pieces. Most of the people that run this site are Dawson's Creekites, so I shouldn't trash her too much anyway.

(Trash away - She's a PIG-GIRL!! -ED)

And if you don't mention the rapper-turned-TV-sitcom-star
-turned-movie-star fad, then neither will I. I'll get into that some other time.

I don't have enough time for all the bad things, so lets skip to some good things. It wasn't as boring as I had expected to be. But I don't know why. The body count is very low, and after 6 other movies, Mikey M. just isn't that scary anymore. He is just a pale Captain Kirk without a phaser or a comb.

But it does have Jamie Lee Curtis, and that always adds a star in my book. There will always be a place in my heart for "Anything But Love."

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=10&reviewer=4
originally posted: 08/29/98 22:30:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/17 morris campbell just ok glad jamie lee was back though 3 stars
11/22/15 pokpok The TRUE sequel to the original Halloween. 5 stars
10/30/12 Mitt Moor Commercialized, slick and late 90's trendy. Predictable is popular. H6 is at least unique! 3 stars
10/30/10 art I take back what i said,in april,FRIDAY the 13TH BURRIES halloween! 1 stars
8/23/10 Joseph It was great to see Jamie Lee back and for the film to ignore the previous sequels (3-6) 4 stars
4/12/10 art sorry halloween,nice try friday the 13th,however APRIL FOOL"S DAY OUTCLASSE"S YOU BOTH! 1 stars
10/23/09 art FRIDAY THE 13TH IS THE BEST!,HALLOWEEN AND NIGHTMARE on ELM STREET ARE PHONIES! 1 stars
4/13/08 Will Tingle None too shabby, looses a star for retconning parts 4&5 out of existence. 3 stars
3/22/07 Vince So-So I liked part 2 better 3 stars
12/22/06 blarginbadigalnohif Liked it, but hated how it pretended that 4, 5, and 6 never existed. 3 stars
10/30/06 JM Synth A terrible, self-satisfied script, and zero suspense and scares. Finale mildly interesting 1 stars
8/08/06 Doreen Love it! 4 stars
3/04/06 chris f very good movie i enjoyed it a lot 5 stars
11/24/05 cr a really good sequel and this time mike has met his match and it fun time 4 stars
11/20/05 JAIME TATUM SUSPENCEFUL AND SCARY 3 stars
10/15/05 Darren O Pretty tame in terms of atmosphere and suspense, though the final showdown really works. 3 stars
10/05/05 gloria The movie is the best and scary 3 stars
8/29/05 Tom Burns This tied for my favorite with the first "Halloween" movie. 5 stars
8/24/05 Eden At least it ends the series for good! Oh wait... 2 stars
8/03/05 ^podo really good sequel 4 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington more like an action movie, sucks all ass 2 stars
4/25/05 E-FUNK 'Scream' meets 'bad case of diahrrea'... what the fuck happened to good horror? 1 stars
7/24/04 Phoenix II Very well made. The best sequel since part 4. 4 stars
7/04/04 Samuel in the words of FrankG "Mikey M. just isn't that scary anymore." 3 stars
6/06/04 Ryan Clark It's good to see Jamie back in this fun sequel, but can't live up to the first four. 3 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ My rating says it all... Michael RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/05/04 c.r My third favorite halloween movie, it very good movie compare to 5 and 6 4 stars
1/31/04 britney best horror movie around...its awesome but short i wish it was longer 5 stars
12/26/03 Sara Pretty Good compared to the 1st 4 stars
11/24/03 Thiago I think it was a good 20th anniversary. The series Could have ended here, though. 4 stars
11/21/03 kalena hutton i think it was a great film 5 stars
11/19/03 cody a great sequel and kick butt ending! 4 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Not bad, but way too Screamish at times. 3 stars
10/15/03 Erik Van Sant Myers hacks his way through too few WB kiddies. Lame way to celebrate 20 years. 2 stars
8/31/03 cody Scary and hip jamie lee curtis is bad to the bone! 4 stars
7/29/03 Jake Jamie LEE! Tried all the steps, Self Help, Group Therapy, it's gonna have to take violence! 1 stars
7/21/03 Double G I dunno why people don't like this movie, my 2nd favorite Halloween! 4 stars
7/13/03 Samuel Justus They keep getting dumber, and, dumber, and dumber!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
6/28/03 Dave Hopman Not that Bad...... but how can they pretend that h4 til h6 never happened?! Dumb move! 3 stars
6/13/03 Alice Great sequel, this one and the first Halloween are the best of the series. 4 stars
5/22/03 mr. Pink A better movie than anyone could have wished for. Curtis is good in this. 4 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Saw it. Forgot about it. 1 stars
3/01/03 y2mckay I thought it was aight, for yet another mindless slasher film 3 stars
3/01/03 Film Dude MAKE IT STOP! 1 stars
3/01/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Kill the franchise. Kill the franchise. Kill the franchise. Kill the fucking franchise. NOW 1 stars
2/10/03 LG LL Cool J is a full-on bonafide pickle munching homo 1 stars
1/24/03 M.C. He's back!, the series proved it can get the job done outside of Haddonfield, great movie 5 stars
12/31/02 Michael Myers Halloween H20 is a good sequel 4 stars
12/29/02 Michael Myers Halloween H20 is a great addition to the halloween series 4 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby If only I could sue... 1 stars
11/06/02 aku ankka very good 5 stars
10/27/02 Uncle Salty Stop please. Please god stop. Way to turn this fim series into a frothy river of shit. 1 stars
9/05/02 Chancey Thunderpants Any movie with Josh "Helmut-head" Hartnett is shit! Though this would have been w/o him. 1 stars
8/16/02 Scott Scream with another White-Mask. But it's the SHape so i have to like it. Nice beheading 3 stars
8/16/02 Joe Calio A fun, "jumpy" sequel that marks the return of the almighty JLC. 4 stars
8/15/02 Shaun too much of a cheap teeny bopper film, they even used the same music from Scream. But good 3 stars
7/11/02 KMG Jamie Lee doesn't need to do this shit anymore! 2 stars
7/09/02 Charles Tatum Nothing will ever equal the original 1 stars
7/08/02 RAJIV'S BROTHERS RAJIV CUM TO BED AND BEND OVER 5 stars
6/07/02 Jake Jamie lee! comes back with short hair, knifes and ax. 1 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi hello, wat is wrong wif everyone? josh hartnett? this rocked (along with 1 &5) 5 stars
4/03/02 cat gave new life to a dying venture. Thank u Jamie Lee! Why change the music though? 5 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy Good Movie 4-5-6 never happened 5 stars
2/02/02 Stuart Richards Better than 3,5+6,not a patch on any of the others.Not enough death,espically for a sequel! 4 stars
1/12/02 Andrew Carden Janet Leigh's Cameo Is Memorable, but The Movie Isn't. 3 stars
12/28/01 Jake Same 5 ''netspace'' reviews! *agh* Jamie lee! comes back with short hair, knifes and axe. 1 stars
12/12/01 ben wasden This should have been Halloween II. 5 stars
11/25/01 Susan A well-directed film with some scary moments. 5 stars
11/25/01 Geoff This film is great for a Friday night when you want a good scare or two. 5 stars
11/25/01 Phil A rather thin plot, but it has plenty of scares! 5 stars
11/25/01 Kylie This film has some genuinely scary and clever moments. Curtis gives a great performance. 5 stars
11/25/01 Paul A movie with plenty of thrills, clever direction, and a witty plot. Good for a scare! 5 stars
11/23/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Why this plot is shit, Dr. Loomis was'nt in this and Michael gets decapitated!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
8/09/01 Gabe Tommy Doyle was the killer, not Michael which screwed the franchise of Halloween! 3 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk Some worthy moments...Nice to see Jamie Lee again...LL Cool J blows 4 stars
8/02/01 Jared Dee Lee Not just another sequal.Dropped parts4-5-6! And didn't back it up with anything! H-2NO!! 1 stars
8/01/01 Elgyn Could have been so much more. It`s basically just another sequel. 3 stars
6/30/01 ***Super Girl*** josh hartnett ::drool:: 5 stars
6/11/01 Rebecca (hartnett) I found it pretty good(and Josh hartnett is so fucking hot) 4 stars
6/04/01 Super Nintendo Chalmers Jamie Lee, I've something to say. Your movies BLOW. And this BLEW worse! 1 stars
6/01/01 Kristen I agree that's it's not a great movie , but what's wrong with Josh Hartnett's hair? 2 stars
4/20/01 guyguy this is the gayest halloween ever. by far. michael's mask is the DUMBEST thing i've seen 1 stars
4/13/01 LiL Well, we all know this isn't the end of Michael, Loomis is right, you cant kill pure evil. 4 stars
3/21/01 Sthenno The writing,plot,was lame.Jamie Lee acts horrible.It's a suggish sensless pile of crap! 1 stars
3/20/01 Thomas J. lock yourself in a house with a serial killer....good thinkin, ya dumb twat! 1 stars
3/12/01 Jake Save the worst for last H20 Only good scene the last 10 seconds. 1 stars
2/09/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Okay, she decapitated him...if that doesn't kill his ass, NOTHING will... 3 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl How bloody predictable...cant anyone think of anything new in scary movies? 1 stars
11/10/00 Creeper I was pleasently surprised. You don't have to be a "Halloween" fan to understand it. 4 stars
9/11/00 Ground Zero what a crock of phat trash 1 stars
9/02/00 Cy Plhun The only good Halloween movie. Great atmosphere and suspense, less silly gore 5 stars
7/29/00 Bender Some scares, but it takes too much developing a mostly uninteresting story. 3 stars
7/17/00 Digitalus godawful 1 stars
7/17/00 AaronZombie Not bad, but sucks cause it ignores parts 4-6. Some suspense, o.k. acting, and a cool endin 3 stars
6/24/00 TheShapeH2K An excellent edition to an excellent series. 5 stars
5/04/00 matt THIS MOVIE stinking SUUUUUUCKED 1 stars
4/26/00 Pansy This movie is seriously f**ked up. If ya wanta see a good Halloween, rent the 1st one. 1 stars
4/23/00 ryan Too short... but Josh Hartnett is sooo cute! 2 stars
2/24/00 steve layne Overrated but a little better than part 5 and 3. 3 stars
2/21/00 Mr. Kramitall H20? Hah, this movie needs to be smashed... 1 stars
2/05/00 Steve Layne A little overrated. but not bad. 3 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski H2O?? Good idea--this flick needs a burial at sea. 1 stars
12/12/99 SID It really isn't that bad. A little on the "modern" side, but it's no "Urban Legend." 4 stars
11/09/99 Gary Durso A return to original format. 4 stars
10/30/99 Lame-Oh sucked 1 stars
10/09/99 Viral Messiah F**king shit 1 stars
10/05/99 strike Not as good as the first one, but still a 1000 times more effective than the sequels. 4 stars
10/03/99 Suckit Johny, your review shows you're stupid, Jamie Lee needs to quit as a actress 1 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe WTH?! www.thismovieblows.org. What was I thinking!? 1 stars
9/25/99 Josh Graves www.whatthefuck.com. I had high hopes, and they went unmet. THIS SUCKS. 1 stars
8/19/99 psychobubba Needs more action, less buildup. Never before has a horror movie had so much lag time 3 stars
7/31/99 Obi Wan Michael Myers USED to be the scariest fucker....now it's back to Whoppi Goldberg 2 stars
7/19/99 Imagoner Oh, I can go on all day. Primarily, rotten movie and inept acting. 1 stars
7/19/99 T.Karac A good scare 5 stars
7/18/99 SID Not as bad as current teenybopper horror. 4 stars
7/10/99 LEISHA IT SUX HOW MANY TIMES DO U NEED TO BE STABBED ETC. TO DIE IN THIS FILM 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Never seen it, but I know the deal. Isn't one fuckin film enough nowadays? 1 stars
7/02/99 blue b. Horror movies aren't supposed to be so predictable.... 1 stars
6/20/99 hum well, its really bad and really pradictable, its a horror movie 1 stars
6/07/99 lucas jackson I had high hopes for this movie,but it was just not thrilling at all,it sucked 2 stars
5/12/99 Benny Gordon This movie is seriously fucked up. If you want to see a good Halloween, watch the 1st one. 1 stars
5/09/99 Ah Dooey awful, unlightening and boring 1 stars
4/23/99 gibb shit 2 stars
4/19/99 Pearl Jam Jamie lee is too old for this. Still better than "I know what you did.." 3 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam Recycling at it's best. Same old , same old 3 stars
4/15/99 Mr. Kramitall Damn you and your movie too. Somebody kick-box that Jamie Lee! 1 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson It was pretty worthless until the end where Jamie Lee decides to kick ass. 3 stars
3/10/99 Go Swans It was a fun night out at the cinema. Shut up. I liked it. 3 stars
3/09/99 Oggy sucked ass... weak! 1 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury Screaw this girl power shit! Mike Meyers doesn't DIE! Put your head back on your shoulders! 2 stars
3/05/99 Mike Rotch Williamson sucks, and so does this movie. Terribly upset at this. 1 stars
3/03/99 Rachel Seriously disappointed in this. Most overrated flick of '98, by far. 1 stars
2/26/99 Goombah The review is right. This film just plain reeked. Jamie Lee was awful. 1 stars
2/24/99 Viral Messiah sucked 1 stars
2/18/99 Piz been there, done that. 1 stars
2/01/99 Jacques Strap Bam! Is it over already? 1 stars
1/30/99 El Dorko Enough already! I've had it with those bastardized ripoffs! 1 stars
1/07/99 Jo Mama i need my horror movie fix. this does it...ooohhh yeah! 4 stars
12/20/98 mike best one since the original...by far 4 stars
12/13/98 Binky Urgh. Can we try to make horror movies actually scary please? 1 stars
12/10/98 Brent Snore. Is it over yet? 1 stars
11/25/98 Leper O. Kahn A real piece of shit. 1 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink Not enough blood and nudity 3 stars
11/20/98 Mike It's greatness!! 5 stars
11/18/98 Steph Pratt this film was very, very poor!!!!! 1 stars
11/10/98 the last don american films suck like your mums arse, you shit film reviewer! 1 stars
11/08/98 Spice Scary shmary. OH NO theres the music again! 2 stars
11/06/98 David Torpey A total waste of time & cash, I could made a better one. 1 stars
11/01/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! BORING,ZZzzzzzz....,too amny false-alarms and tired/predictable sub-plots,rare scary bits!! 3 stars
10/28/98 zenball 12 degrees of crap. totally tired 1 stars
10/26/98 Hunk@prodigy.net The kid from little man tate dies. YES YES YES. Whoo Hoo burn in HELL 5 stars
10/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce How did this movie get so hyped? It was AWFUL! In so many ways. 1 stars
10/23/98 grunter I actually prefer Halloween III to this film; now THAT'S SCARY 2 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo What a waste of a franchise. 1 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz A by-the-numbers slasher. 3 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island What a crock of shit. Jamie Lee was awful! 1 stars
10/03/98 ShadowStar© What was THAT? Short Attention Span Theater? Halloweenwater: The search for a plot! 1 stars
10/02/98 wind worth a look 4 stars
10/01/98 {{{OZ}}} Anyone who has seen the original could not possibly give this more than one star. 1 stars
9/27/98 John Hawkins What can I say? Michael is awesome! 5 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan With Scream bringing it back, they're all trying again. Was pretty good though. 4 stars
9/23/98 Red02 Halloween is the best of all horror movies and this was a fitting end although predictable 4 stars
9/23/98 David Clark For those that thought this was bad - go see Halloween III - what a shitty movie! 4 stars
9/20/98 katherine 3 body counts. 3. waste my money why dont u. 2 stars
9/19/98 Chip Taylor Please the teen slasher movies suck ass!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/17/98 Christian I thought this was a kick ass way to end the Halloween trilogy...a must see i think! 4 stars
9/17/98 Couch Potato Critic Another wasted effort. Jamie is Mike's sis now?! Stupid and too short. 2 stars
9/14/98 Negative Creep Worth seeing, just to see Jamie Lee Curtis get her licks in after 20 years. 4 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor Please .... THIS IS THE WORST HALLOWEEN YET! Please no more HALLOWEEN's. 1 stars
9/13/98 Acappellanowords What a waste! Just another tired retread of the same old thing. Not scary. Not fun. 2 stars
9/11/98 Bart Barton waste of time 1 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee Jamie Lee is a man. She fucking is, I'm telling you. 1 stars
9/03/98 Badass Very entertaining. The end needed a rewrite, although it's outcome was great. 4 stars
9/03/98 The Patriot What a crock of shite. Hardly any killings, Myers was a joke. 1 stars
8/28/98 hairy monster Pathetic attempt. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball No way. Just awful. Did they even try? 1 stars
8/22/98 Vincent No classic by any means, and this holds no candle to the original, but a TON of fun 4 stars
8/22/98 Superfly Traditionally, horror movies are scary, aren't they? 1 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee boring. Not a horror flick. 2 stars
8/16/98 Miss Stress what?you mean to tell me michael finally dies? it's about fucking time 1 stars
8/15/98 Johny had some problems, but I had fun 4 stars
8/13/98 {{{OZ}}} Really tame ass shit 2 stars
8/12/98 Pumpkin I wish Michael Myers would just die already 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Aug-1998 (R)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2011

UK
  23-Oct-1998 (18)

Australia
  29-Oct-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast