Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.3

Awesome57.69%
Worth A Look: 27.88%
Just Average: 5.77%
Pretty Crappy: 3.85%
Sucks: 4.81%

4 reviews, 80 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


American Werewolf in London, An
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"Werewolves & Jenny Agutters breasts and you have this film"
5 stars

I can't find words.... uhh... no I can't!

This is a FUCKING spectacular film, which despite its age still blows people away.

The basic premise, Man gets bitten by wolf, his friend dies in the attack, Friend come back from the dead to tell the guy that he is a werewolf too and must kill himself. Throw in Jenny Agutters breasts and you have this film.

It is great in these respects -

Direction, subdued but subtly excellent, with major flourishes of brilliance.

Acting, Hammy where need be, but totally great in the vein of the film.

Script, Probably the ONLY horror to successfully inject comedy into it without losing shock moments. (The attack on the moor is a major example of this)

Locations, the locations are so cool, because they are so normal, no expensive sets, all filmed in real places that you can still visit.

FX, Well what can I say, although it is over a decade old it is still great, Oscar worthy (Actually it won Rick Baker the FX oscar for that year) The Transformation scene is astonishing, though with flaws that can be picked at now days.

So in all a great classic that manages to create its own atmosphere, and nowdays none do that! SEE IT

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1001&reviewer=23
originally posted: 11/10/98 09:03:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell good werewolf flick great oscar winning effects 4 stars
9/06/17 Ken Very great film! The ending was sad, though. 5 stars
1/22/15 Jeff WIlder Weak ending. But the film manages to get the perfect blend of horror and comedy down. 4 stars
9/18/13 Annie G When werewolves were still scary - effects are a little lame, but still a great film. 4 stars
3/13/13 PAUL SHORTT SORDID BUT ODDLY ENDEARING MIXTURE OF HORROR FILM AND SPOOF 4 stars
12/10/12 Lisa THE werwolf movie!!! 5 stars
9/06/12 Jeanie One of the great horror classics - set the werewolf standard! 5 stars
4/08/12 keith miron This movie beets the howling in entertanment 4 stars
11/16/10 richard ward a landmark in film, 5 stars
11/30/09 art I SAw this movie in a moviehouse when it came out in 1981,IT MADE ME SICK! 1 stars
11/19/09 Evan Beats The Howling by a (wolf) hair; ending was WAY too abrupt. 5 stars
11/09/09 marina Fabulous for so many reasons, its also curiously moving 5 stars
9/26/09 action movie fan good story unbeatable special effects but too much humor 4 stars
5/04/08 art A HORRIBLE MOVIE WITH A WARPED SENSE OF HUMOR 1 stars
4/20/08 Philip Scary and entertaining. One of John Landis' best films. 5 stars
7/30/07 e541- this movie is seocnds on my list the best is ginger snaps a kik ass canadian movie 5 stars
5/02/07 fattyjoe37 Best werewolf movie of all time and my favorite horror film ever 5 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK The british characters remind me of people in our pub. Cracking film. 4 stars
2/27/07 CARLENE HAYTON I liked it! 5 stars
2/16/07 G Sherfy I prefer The Howling; this is the next best werewolf movie ever made (The Wolf Man=3rd) 4 stars
2/14/07 I Gluck Gore, Humor, violence, sex...what else do you need ? 5 stars
2/05/07 David Pollastrini good gore. 4 stars
2/04/07 AJ Muller Scared the SHIT out of me when I was a kid(was 6years old)now character/style get me. 5 stars
9/12/06 David Cohen Good transformation scenes, you can keep the rest, especially the "comedy" 3 stars
8/08/06 Dragon The Artist Awesomely depicted werewolf, perfect FX for its time& sex scene was'nt gratuitious,COOL!! 5 stars
5/06/06 Fatty Bombare smelly Bill Horrific and the best effects of early 80's 5 stars
10/10/05 Indrid Cold Humor and FX elevate it above other horror movies of the time, but that's not saying much. 4 stars
10/03/05 K. Sear This is supposed to be the best werewolf movie ever? 3 stars
9/01/05 Eden Good black comedy, but the more I watch it the weaker it gets 4 stars
8/18/05 ES Fantastic, great story, FX for the time, scary parts too 5 stars
2/25/05 Dave A good movie with a lot of humor added to the horror, but the ending seemed rushed. 4 stars
2/20/05 Angolmosi It has just the right amount of gore and humour, without mocking the genre. 5 stars
1/04/05 magaafi THE ENDING SUKD CRAP & THE HOWLING WAS WAY BETTER 3 stars
11/01/04 Lord Durvok 2 Why am I the only one who does really like this? 3 stars
10/30/04 JOE KENNEDY WAY UNDER RATED. THIS IS A MUST SEE 5 stars
10/23/04 Samuel probably the greatest werewolf movie ever. 5 stars
8/23/04 Kyle Best werewolf movie! "The Howling" is 2nd. 5 stars
8/14/04 magaafi RAINS KING WITH THE HOWLING!!!!!! YEAYA 5 stars
4/09/04 American Slasher Goddess Along with The Howling,one of the best werewolf movies ever. 5 stars
1/19/04 jnijf Definitely on my film shitlist. 2 stars
1/08/04 John very original horror film - thourohgly entertaining and surprising 4 stars
11/16/03 AshFan The abrupt and touching ending followed by "Blue Moon?" I CRIED. 4 stars
9/04/03 eddie it is shit next to the mighty HOWLING- rob bottin is a god. I have spoken - now go die. 1 stars
8/29/03 DARREN DAVID NAUGHTON DESERVES KUDOS FOR BEING THE ONLY ACTOR TO BE UPSTAGED BY A CORPSE 2 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Great werewolf movie. Great mix of horror and humor. Ginger Snaps is much better though! 4 stars
6/14/03 Alice the greatest werewolf movie ever. 5 stars
6/11/03 Rocky The reason why it's bad because you total crapers suck 5 stars
5/11/03 Kyle Fuck you, Andrew Carden - this was all great. 5 stars
11/04/02 Vicious The best werewolf film in memory. A gret fil in itself. 5 stars
3/20/02 R.W. Welch Always thought werewolf movies were dopey but this is really the exception. 4 stars
12/31/01 Andrew Carden It Was All Great Except For It's Blown-Apart Stupid Ending. 4 stars
12/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Fucked up. What happened to you, John Landis?! 2 stars
12/17/01 Keith Great! My favorite werewolf movie. Blends horror and humor excellently. 5 stars
10/27/01 Jim So THAT'S what a walking meatloaf looks like ... 5 stars
9/12/01 Butterbean A very cheezy and lukewarm movie that rapped up quickly and stupidly at the end 3 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk The definitive werewolf movie. The perfect blend of horror and comedy. Flawless. 5 stars
7/27/01 Turtle A terrifying, hilarious movie that is irresistible! 4 stars
6/13/01 Gary Hilarious & thrilling in equal measure. Naughton is fantastic. Ending was too abrupt, tho. 4 stars
4/06/01 The Knowby Warrior Great. Words can't describe this movie. A love story ? Maybe the greatest ever seen. 5 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L Great blended film. Horror, comedy, romance, music. too multidimensional for some 5 stars
2/09/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi One long, gory, hilarious trip. Straight-up fun. 5 stars
1/25/01 Bodhi Hilarious,scary and moving all at once,this si horror comedy done right.Fuck Scream... 5 stars
5/13/00 Steve Layne some of the jokes are funny, but the story in my opinion isn't that interesting. 3 stars
4/03/00 jake m not too gory needs more deaths 5 stars
3/27/00 Richard Wright A horror film that can be witty and gory simultanously? Surely you jest..well, no actually. 4 stars
12/02/99 perpetual loser better than ANY modern day peice of horror crap. What were you watching, Bozo? 5 stars
12/01/99 Bozo I would rather cut my arms off than watch this sadistic shit again 1 stars
8/20/99 Dave Amazing film. No cheap scares/jokes. Expertly paced and structured. Great comedy/horror. 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan vastly over - rated. 2 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam Classic movie. 5 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson fun for the fam 4 stars
4/12/99 Go Swans Contains the scariest moment committed to celluloid (all the dream sequences). 5 stars
3/17/99 Madcap the best werewolf transformation EVER, great humor, awesome chills 5 stars
12/03/98 Brian stupid 1 stars
11/25/98 Fred Love this move. LOVE it. Funny, and scared the hell out of me. And Jenny didn't hurt 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules Landis' best! Unpretentious and fucking scary! 5 stars
11/15/98 Lord Of The Dunce Awesome effects for it's time, some funny moments but it dragged for me. 4 stars
10/26/98 Silent Rob A good, not great, MODERN horror film. See you next wednesday! 4 stars
9/23/98 katherine totally awesome. i luv it, it's nice and scary. 5 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Who can forget the scene where David has a suicide chat with his victims? It's still great! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Aug-1981 (R)
  DVD: 18-Sep-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1982 (R)


Directed by
  John Landis

Written by
  John Landis

Cast
  Joe Belcher
  David Naughton
  Griffin Dunne
  David Schofield
  Rik Mayall



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast