Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome70%
Worth A Look: 4%
Just Average: 4%
Pretty Crappy: 4%
Sucks: 18%

1 review, 44 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Henry V (1989)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Carina Hoskisson

"Ahh--There is witchcraft in thy lips...."
5 stars

This is SHAKESPEARE!

I honestly believe this to be one of the finest Shakespeare plays ever put on screen. This is the film that brought Branaugh worldwide acclaim and its not hard to see why.
Nominated for Best Director and Best Actor, it won for Best Costume Design.

Henry the Fifth inheirated the throne of England after a wild youth and was instantly forced to change his entire persona. He struggles to become a leader and win over his subjects, most of whom still saw him as a feckless child. Asserting a hereditary claim to France, Henry plunges England into what was evolving into the 100 years war. The film follows his campaign into France.
Henry V is brilliantly photographed, you feel the cold and chill of the foot soldier. The battle scenes are hard to stomach, but pretty realistic for the time period. As involving as the photography is, the score is an incredible achievement. Its sweeping, grand and pulls you into the storyline.

It may take you a few viewings to catch all there is to see and understand in the film. Some precautionary steps; Shakespeare assumes you already know the history, so why bother explaining it. For this reason, some of the motivations for betrayal and other points in the story may seem obscure.

Henry V offers an _incredible_ supporting cast. Paul Scofield (A Man For All Seasons) Derek Jacobi (I, Claudius) Ian Holm (most recently A Life Less Ordinary) Judi Dench (Mrs. Brown.) and Emma Thompson (almost God in Dogma.)

I highly recommend Henry V, its rousing, beautiful, well done, brilliantly acted and they bastardized some of its grander speeches in ID4 (and what better recommendation do you need.)

If you see one shakespeare film, this should be it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1009&reviewer=44
originally posted: 11/07/98 05:46:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/28/10 Roger I assume most detractors are American and by definition thick.. 5 stars
10/08/10 Gytherin Fabulous film, colour, mud, blood and romance - Scroop's betrayal still puzzles historians! 5 stars
8/08/10 Tim you people are imbeciles, this is great 5 stars
6/05/10 wbhmd I was in tears at the end 5 stars
1/31/09 Kevin Beemer Fantastic, Branagh is the best! riveting! 5 stars
8/26/08 Joe Schmoe I told the Blockbuster guy to burn the movie and then throw the ashes into outerspace 1 stars
8/01/08 PAUL SHORTT SHAKESPEARE WITH GUTS, PASSION AND SPECTACLE 5 stars
6/25/08 mogool Excellent Piece Of Shit 1 stars
6/21/08 Artymags My most favourite film of all time. Absolutely wonderful. I can watch it again and again. 5 stars
5/16/08 CJZ Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/09/08 Shenayne yeah didnt get it was confusing and you could not understand it 1 stars
10/29/07 shy90 I fell Alseep threw this one...*Yawn* 1 stars
9/19/07 andrew ballstaedt henry picks up a dead boy and the boys choir starts singing - amazing 5 stars
9/03/07 The Spartan This movie sucks! I almost died watching it 1 stars
6/18/07 Shelly Exquisite 5 stars
2/28/07 taffy best film ive seen in ages 5 stars
10/05/06 MW Beautiful, accessible interpretation of the play by a Shakespearean purist. 5 stars
1/05/06 Film Sux im pretty sure my name covers it 1 stars
11/27/05 bob marley great 5 stars
8/08/05 Ric Boring film with lackluster battles. 1 stars
11/22/04 John B. Tale of the insanity of war artfully woven. 5 stars
6/27/04 H R Kaplan Hollywood enhances greatness 5 stars
12/21/03 john overblown and obvious - this one is better on stage - good actors! 3 stars
11/25/03 Steffen S One of the most boring films ever !! And the battle scenes are nothing special either. 2 stars
2/10/03 Ubu the Ripper Not as good as Branagh's "Ado" but an earnest interpretation. 5 stars
10/14/02 Kim Collins movie was good. i enjoyed it. 5 stars
4/28/02 July Moore It was horrible in all ways!! 2 stars
12/22/01 al branagh sux! 3 stars
12/14/01 KC YEA, this film is a must see! 5 stars
4/27/01 Hawkeye The Olivier version glorifies war- this shows it for what it is. A must-see! 5 stars
4/23/01 Spetters Branagh! Humbug! 1 stars
3/21/01 may rafter excellent 4 stars
3/03/01 za Kenneth makes Shakespeare accessible, but keeps the intensity and poetry very much alive 5 stars
1/27/01 dave Underhill id have to say the best interpritation of shakespeare ive seen on the screen. 5 stars
10/25/00 Terrie Smith Very impresssive dramatization of the Shakespeare play. Branagh is superb; his best as yet 5 stars
4/18/00 Leann Fantastic! Branagh is a must see. 5 stars
1/30/00 Flawless Shakespeare had this movie in mind when he wrote Henry V. 5 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski Wonderful direction and music. The final battle mind-blowing. 5 stars
12/07/99 Michael Grimm sucked 1 stars
12/01/99 Tyson Goll Excellent piece of work, Branagh at his finest! 5 stars
11/18/99 Ozment Should have more detail. 4 stars
6/28/99 Nicole Cliffe Breathtaking! The finest Shakespearean adaptation that I have ever seen. Wonderfully acted. 5 stars
10/05/98 Morgan Must See it 5 stars
9/19/98 Jonny Be BAD HenryV, The model of a monarch.It speaks volumes concerning positions of power and nobility 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1989 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast