Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome37.65%
Worth A Look: 10.59%
Just Average: 3.53%
Pretty Crappy: 25.88%
Sucks: 22.35%

3 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cinderella Story, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Laura Kyle

"Send Cinderella back to 1950's Disney for repackaging. Keep Hilary Duff."
2 stars

A CINDERELLA STORY felt awfully familiar, not necessarily because it was re-telling a classic fairy-tale, but because it showcased a sweet-natured and beautiful young girl who has bad luck with boys and life, her geeky guy friend, the hunky school jock who is living his father's dreams and not his own, a bunch of stuck up girls who rule the school, and a supporting cast of let's just say -- very expected characters.

Considering that the basic story-line was already nicely spelled out for screen-writer Leigh Dunlap, I was a bit surprised that the formula we have all grown accustomed to, whatever you want to call it: teen movie, chick flick, "cute," was used to such a huge extent, and in such a smothering, and ultimately patronizing manner. By now, I think any thirteen-year-old girl could write out this movie, we already know exactly what is required: an adorable white girl lead and a good-looking white guy lead to act out a predictable script, alongside the same recycled characters. Just like a pop song. Verses go here, chorus goes there. And yet, the movie that was- written by a thirteen-year-old was an original, intelligent, and daring film called Thirteen. Yet, despite all of this, I found myself smiling and reacting just the way Warner Brothers wanted me to.

But this wasn't nearly as frustrating as the plot line. Yeah, we all know it. But re-incarnated Cinderella, in this case Sam (Hilary Duff) is even less believable than the original. She is essentially orphaned as a little girl, having to live with her evil step-mother Fiona, played by the hilarious Jennifer Coolidge, and her twin step-sisters (Madeline Zima, and Andrea Avery). Sam is unofficially adopted by the employees at her dad's diner, the one Fiona inherited and forces Sam to work at. Her fairy godmother comes in the form of your typical black "girlfriend," as one of the characters so accurately points out. I'll give the movie this much, after all it is A Cinderella Story. Where it truly starts getting irritating is when her prince charming, or high school hot shot Austin (Chad Michael Murray), can't seem to figure out that the girl he text messages and e-mails and meets briefly at the Halloween Dance, is the same girl who works at the local diner, whom he talks to multiple times. And for some reason, because Sam works at a diner, she is the outcast of the school, even though Austin works on cars with his dad. Not only does he work on cars, but his dad wants him to keep doing that, rather than go to Princeton University. Can I stop now?

I remember mildly enjoying Drew Barrymore's version of Cinderella in Ever After. 10 Things I Hate About You was another successful contemporary version of a classic tale. Star Julia Stiles continued this trend with Hamlet and O. And if that wasn't enough, she did The Prince and Me, coattailing off the successes of films like The Princess Diaries. I guess A Cinderella Story was just bound to happen. I just wish it had been done with more thought and creativity.

There certainly is a star in Hilary Duff and she is definitely the only reason I could stomach A Cinderella Story, although currently her competitor Lindsey Lohan has more points on the score board. Chad Michael Murray is not bad either. But other than Jennifer Coolidge, most of the supporting roles are just too anticipated and eventually dull to be noticed for any acting ability.

Still, A CINDERELLA STORY is one you don't mind hearing. And there were some good laughs and inspired moments, they were simply too few, and too late in the game.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=10201&reviewer=369
originally posted: 07/30/04 02:50:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

4/05/11 Jennifer Marquardt cute modern twist on fairy tale, entertaining, romantic 5 stars
5/08/10 PAUL SHORTT CLICHED, PREDICTABLE ROMANTIC COMEDY 1 stars
1/05/10 art THIS IS HILARY"S WORST,ALONG WITH WAR,INC,AND WHAT GOES UP! 1 stars
11/27/08 little Red micheal is so hot in this movie 4 stars
3/27/08 tanda nataniya it was so romantic comedy movie..I like it very much 4 stars
5/27/07 none ya oh my gosh chad is a HOTTIE 5 stars
11/16/06 Alyssa Hale A great story portrayed exceptionally well by wonderful acting. 5 stars
10/16/06 emily garza your movie was great and for my fifthteenth b day party i wanna have a dress exacly like it 5 stars
5/23/06 john hilary duff rules 5 stars
4/28/06 Annie G Just because a movie is a "fantasy" shouldn't mean the viewer has to be brainless! 1 stars
4/02/06 JRE the crappiest piece of chick flick garbage ever to hit a film screen 1 stars
3/22/06 tabiya karim great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/06/05 Candace Bogle the best movie ever 5 stars
12/02/05 cody a good romantic comedy with a twist and hilary is hot , fairy tales meets dawson's creek 4 stars
12/01/05 Kelly This is my favorite movie! 5 stars
10/27/05 dylans gurl only if it had chad with no shirton like house of wax 4 stars
10/08/05 Dani perfect! 5 stars
9/19/05 Jonathon Holmes can someone tell me how is Hillary talented? 1 stars
9/04/05 Lenny Absolute Best Movie In World. Rent It, Now. 1 stars
8/18/05 ES The oil in my car is less formuletic = unless your female under 14 stay away 1 stars
7/30/05 TED it sucked, why does hilary duff even bother? could someone please answer that? 1 stars
7/20/05 Chris *yawns* 1 stars
6/27/05 dan r u people on crack??? this movie was the worst ever!!! 1 stars
6/12/05 Kelsie This movie is the BEST!!! I watched it 5 times in 3 days...i LOVE this movie!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/09/05 nATALIE totally awsome!!! 5 stars
5/19/05 Jin I was pleasantly surprised. Duff and Murray make a good pair. 4 stars
4/16/05 iteachpc Wholesome and sweet. We love Hilary Duff so we enjoyed this movie! 3 stars
3/30/05 Netsurfer What garbage! Well, whadda you expect? It's got Hilary. 1 stars
3/27/05 Emma A fun twist on a classic childrens story. 5 stars
3/22/05 The Mockingbird what happened to the reviewers I respected? Pretty Crappy?!?! This movie BLOWS 1 stars
12/15/04 Christina Orcutt THe movie was awesome and Chad Michael Murray - HOTT 5 stars
12/10/04 Amy Colarusso I loved this movie it was great 5 stars
12/04/04 Sam This movie sucks, I mean it REALLY sucks. What's wrong with you people? 1 stars
12/04/04 jen Chad Michael Murray is absolutely awesome in this movie, DEFINITELY worth seeing! 5 stars
11/28/04 brittney it was great any1 no where the script is 5 stars
11/09/04 martine travis it wiked!!!!! 5 stars
11/09/04 Mrs Murray not very good only saw it cause of Chad Michael Murry=HOTTIE 2 stars
11/07/04 Mindy I found this movie to be really cute, and i loved it. 5 stars
11/05/04 TCIC This movie is a zombie. It just isn't alive 2 stars
11/03/04 Michelle I think its wonderfull movie 5 stars
10/06/04 wendy liu it's really a good movie! i watched it eleven times, but i think the clothes hilary wore ws 5 stars
10/06/04 jenni awsome movie, very hott chad 5 stars
10/01/04 Sophia Gabaldon Not worth seeing 2 stars
9/28/04 Rachelle Dureault This movie is a outstanding perforemance 5 stars
9/25/04 madz i thought it was a really great movie!!!!! 5 stars
9/16/04 Lacy Thompson HilaryDuff's best performance yet, marred by Rhonda, far too much a ballbuster to fit story 3 stars
9/16/04 Rosa Zared Hilary Duff as Stifler's step-sister. Pretty spooky! 2 stars
9/09/04 Charlotte chad was reallli fit! great film though ending was a bit corny 4 stars
8/24/04 katie This was the worst movie I've ever seen. Hilary Duff is horrible 1 stars
8/12/04 Martha web it was super 5 stars
8/11/04 Jordan I loved it definitly the ending!! I adore Hilary she is my rolemodle! Yes I am a girl!!! 5 stars
8/10/04 Cecilia Hilary Duff is really good!! 5 stars
8/09/04 courtney the best movie ive ever seen and will ever see!! 5 stars
7/31/04 crystal ross it suks and so does she! 1 stars
7/25/04 ylove Great date movie! I laughed and smiled ^__^ 5 stars
7/24/04 frankie i thought it was entertaining 5 stars
7/23/04 buddy garrett Tris to be sentimental- too sappy- no story 3 stars
7/23/04 Melissa The movie was cute and great for preteen girls. My kids loved it. 4 stars
7/22/04 Stacey i love this movie!!!!!! 5 stars
7/22/04 Malina A Cinderella Story was full of enchantment and magic-Duff and Murray were magnificent! 5 stars
7/21/04 Nobody GAAAH! RUN FROM THE EVILNESS OF DUFF BEFORE ITS TOO LATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/20/04 Laura Shangraw Good for what it is 4 stars
7/18/04 twilliams606 My 11 year old daughter loved this movie! And I must admit iit was pretty good. 4 stars
7/18/04 Amerigo Vespukey Why are you wasting money to see this? Perv!! 1 stars
7/17/04 Brian ..... 1 stars
7/16/04 Ray Nothing to say 1 stars
7/10/04 Emma I saw this movie in a sneak peek. I didn't like hillary that much before, I do now. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jul-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 19-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Sep-2004 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast