Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.05

Awesome: 37.42%
Worth A Look41.29%
Just Average: 11.61%
Pretty Crappy: 7.74%
Sucks: 1.94%

9 reviews, 101 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Bourne Supremacy, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Bourne to be wild (unless I used that on the last movie ... sorry)."
4 stars

I wasn't a fan of "The Bourne Identity," because I felt the movie made a lot of noise without really going anywhere. Jason Bourne got chased for the whole film, then there was a finale, then it was over. Never mind that action films seldom matter to the audience; this stuff barely even seemed to matter to the characters.

The sequel, "The Bourne Supremacy," gets it right. Again written by Tony Gilroy (adapting the second of Robert Ludlum's three Jason Bourne novels), but this time directed by Paul Greengrass, "Supremacy" offers the double agents and delicious espionage you expect from a CIA thriller, but without becoming bloated and ridiculous like 90 percent of action films made today. The cinéma vérité style that served Greengrass so well in his "Bloody Sunday" (about the violence that has plagued Ireland for three decades) is put to good use here, too, lending immediacy and believability to the action scenes.

I note a particularly wicked fist-, knife- and magazine-fight that is shot with hand-held cameras and without musical accompaniment that feels like it could be happening in the apartment next door. Compare this with most Hollywood action scenes, which feel like they could only happen in a movie.

Jason Bourne (Matt Damon), you may recall, was a CIA assassin who wound up with amnesia after the CIA ordered him killed. (Murdering its agents is the CIA's way of getting out of paying retirement pensions.) Having dispatched those who wanted him gone, Bourne has fled to a remote corner of the world with his girlfriend Marie (Franka Potente), hoping to live out his life quietly.

Ah, but it is not to be. In Berlin, a CIA operation goes wrong, agents are murdered, and Bourne's fingerprints are put on the scene by the real perpetrators, thus framing him. CIA operative Pamela Landy (Joan Allen), who was heading the disastrous mission, now has every reason to find the presumed-dead Bourne and make him dead for real. Like Michael Corleone in "Godfather Part III," Bourne thought he was out, and they pull him back in: Framed for murder and on the run from Russians (yeah, the Russians are involved), he has to clear his name so he can go back into hiding.

There are some nice twists in the plot, not to mention fine, meaty performances by Joan Allen and Brian Cox, who plays a CIA bigwig who supervised Bourne's old mission. The presence of those two heavy-hitters lends the film a little more credibility, as does its generally smart attitude toward action. Greengrass knows bigger is not necessarily better; interesting is better.

There is a brutal car chase through Moscow that comprises the film's climax, and it is shot as well as any car chase I've ever seen. Some will complain about the shaky cameras, but for me, it makes it that much more intense. No longer do I feel safe, comfortably watching the mayhem as it's slickly photographed and projected back to me. With this sequence, I feel like I'm in it, being pummeled and beaten along with the cars and their drivers.

The movie is fun stuff -- not silly, not generally funny, but fun, you know? It's serious about what it's doing. It has enough confidence in the genre, and in its superlative material, to refrain from getting self-referential or goofy. It is what most action films aspire to be, except that most films chicken out and throw in a few more explosions just to be sure. "Bourne Supremacy" uses its explosions -- and its rolled-up magazines, which can also be lethal -- strategically and carefully.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=10220&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/23/04 01:57:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell fast & exciting 5 stars
7/29/16 Bob Shakey camera made gave me motion sickness 3 stars
6/02/14 Quada Great spy cinema 5 stars
5/21/14 The king One of the greatest action movies ever 5 stars
11/22/13 Lord Leave Jason Bourne alone 5 stars
10/01/13 The rock Intelligent action movie 5 stars
1/12/09 Anonymous. really good action, i like the way it ends :P 4 stars
10/27/08 blah blah awesome 5 stars
10/06/08 Shaun Wallner Intense Action!! 5 stars
5/14/08 PAUL SHORTT POLISHED, EFFICIENT 3 stars
3/02/08 ladavies Matt Damon is currently the best action hero around. 4 stars
1/31/08 Bonny Sallee This was an awesome movie, just like all the Matt Damon movies are! 5 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White Matt is wonderful action like no other 5 stars
10/11/07 Charles I still can't believe they killed Franka Potente... what a shame! 3 stars
5/24/07 Matt Standard spy, car-chase, fare. Okay, but hardly memorable. 3 stars
2/17/07 R.W.Welch Not quite up to Identity but close enough. B- 4 stars
5/25/06 William Goss Rather solid spy sequel, w/ equally sweet car chase, but prefer Identity just a bit better. 4 stars
5/19/06 Kcaj Loved some of the effects but you only really enjoy it once 4 stars
2/06/06 Phil M. Aficionado The silly car chase is so ridiculous it costs this fine movie a star. Great film locations 3 stars
10/12/05 Quigley even though the camera moves too fast and too much, this film is as awesome as film one. 5 stars
8/18/05 ES fantastic, best spy movie ever made 5 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary It was a good sequel. It would have been better with less shaky-cam. 4 stars
7/31/05 Beth Kerrick Great action, keeps you on the edge of your seat. 4 stars
7/23/05 Carolyn Rathburn Good movie, lots of action decent story line 4 stars
7/20/05 Chris Much better than "Die Another Day", enough said. 5 stars
7/18/05 Eric Rollins Not as much fun as original but action is top-notch 4 stars
7/17/05 Jack Sommersby Far superior to the mediocre original and brilliantly directed and edited and scored. 5 stars
6/09/05 Enrico Really bad, this IS NOT good as the first! Bad camera movements are the worst thing. 1 stars
5/29/05 Jake Not as good as the prievous film but worth your while. 4 stars
5/02/05 Indrid Cold Aside from a spectacular car chase, really quite insubstantial. 3 stars
4/28/05 kathleen4691 Didn't see Identity, but I will now. 5 stars
4/25/05 E-FUNK The camera-work is vomit-inducing. Pretty limp sequel to a great original. 3 stars
3/14/05 cinkcool Shoudn't even be called the Bourne Supremecy...onle resemblance to the book is its name. 3 stars
2/22/05 julia great movie 5 stars
2/21/05 Fabri My favorite movie ever 5 stars
2/10/05 H.P. Lovecraft Great sequel. Better than the first one. 5 stars
1/27/05 Charlie Great! 4 stars
1/27/05 Bobby da Squid Entertaining, great locations, incredible chase scene 4 stars
1/13/05 Raymond Shaw what the hell did they do? strap the camera on a fly's back for chrissake? 1 stars
1/04/05 M S 5 stars
1/02/05 Franka not bad at all, just bad camera work at times, book better as usual 3 stars
12/30/04 Tjalda L. Schiel Does Hollywood have any camera men without the DTs? 2 stars
12/26/04 The Mockingbird Same movie, minus the chick, plus more emotion on Damon's part, who is more endearing/hot 4 stars
12/22/04 Tatiana Wisp-thin plot, but awesomely entertaining (especially some of the "Russian" accents). 4 stars
12/18/04 Nicole Entertaining action movie - keeps you on edge 4 stars
11/28/04 Kristina Williams Matt Damon is officially the shit 5 stars
11/27/04 Italian Guy scene in the tunnel best ever!! 5 stars
11/14/04 Gabby These movies are leading the way on how it should be done. Both excellent. 5 stars
11/03/04 Dave Marney The musical score is exceptional, a perfect complement to every frame in this film. 5 stars
11/02/04 Stevo It seems everyone agrees on the camera work. Why do they keep doing it? 5 stars
9/21/04 Al Guy Surprise! This was a great sequel. 5 stars
9/16/04 ALDO Not a bad movie....But i agree that the director stuffed up with the camara...made me dizzy 3 stars
9/05/04 HitmanThomas For better than The Bourne Identity 5 stars
8/30/04 Archanist 101 It's way better than another SHITTY Bond flick 5 stars
8/26/04 Helen Bradley Matt Damon show great acting excellent editing 10 minutes too long 5 stars
8/25/04 S.F. Good as sequels go. I kind of liked the way the first film wrapped up. 4 stars
8/18/04 Ketan Patel Excellent film, keeps to the original...nice touch with end titles and music by Moby 5 stars
8/15/04 David Devine Horrible, choppy camera work. The director must suffer from ADD. 3 stars
8/15/04 Peter James Flawed, but entertaining none the less 4 stars
8/14/04 Koitus Good flick! PHAT car chase, but agree "too much camera-work" in some scenes... 4 stars
8/12/04 Mike H Get Doug Liman directing for next film. A 5 except bad camerawork, i.e. ruined car chase. 4 stars
8/12/04 Obi Wan Damon continues to pick right movies...camera was to shakey though! 4 stars
8/11/04 kc somewhat entertaining but nothing original, camera work was dizzying without purpose 2 stars
8/11/04 BJ Endicott The plot and acting was excellent.The photography was horrendous-not a clear shot of anythi 2 stars
8/09/04 Andrew Holes I thought the first one was great, but this one blew me away. 5 stars
7/31/04 psychotic black dwarf Die Welt ist keine Ware= the world isn't a commodity. (It's just Bourne's playground.) 5 stars
7/31/04 maryellen entertaining movie......how many lines did Matt Damon have. Oh well my husband liked it! 3 stars
7/31/04 John an action film with some integrity - reminiscent of the great films of the 70's 4 stars
7/30/04 arctic The film making style of The Bourne Series is so different than most movies. 4 stars
7/30/04 teegee Ditto SW Kennemer. But nausea-inducing camera-work aside, entertaining. 4 stars
7/30/04 Jack Bourbon Fun movie. 4 stars
7/29/04 SW Kennemer way TOO MUCH shaky camera shooting 4 stars
7/29/04 Mark D. Fulwiler good well paced movie 4 stars
7/28/04 Matthew Sommer Man, what a letdown... horrible MTV editing, bland plot. Come back Doug Liman! 2 stars
7/28/04 Elizabeth Wasn't a fan of the first, but expected better. Joan Allen was great, though. 3 stars
7/28/04 KingNeutron A bit slow in parts, but well worth seeing. 4 stars
7/28/04 Jim Hoosty Truly a fabulous movie, excellent score, perfectly paced and totally engrossing masterpiece 5 stars
7/27/04 scott grabowski great 5 stars
7/27/04 ad Another entertaining movie. 4 stars
7/27/04 Mike Devans excellent 5 stars
7/27/04 Stevo It seems everyone agrees on the camera work. Why do they keep doing it? 4 stars
7/27/04 metapod Starts slow, picks up speed, then slams on Turbo for 1.5 hours. 5 stars
7/27/04 Mario Awesome Movie/only flaw action sequences shaky camera angles. 4 stars
7/26/04 nuke Greengrass should be sent out to greener pastures 4 stars
7/26/04 mwildema Excellent! 5 stars
7/26/04 Mike V A great sequel in a great franchise. 5 stars
7/26/04 Thomas Ressler This movie is outstanding. Definitely everything James Bond wanted to be but couldn't. 5 stars
7/25/04 Phonse Fagan Gross overuse of the "jerky camera method". 2 stars
7/25/04 William Wells I would have liked it more if I could have seen the actions sences and not blur. 3 stars
7/25/04 Frank Lynch Shaky camera made me want to vomit. 3 stars
7/25/04 reptilesni I would've given it a better rating if it wasn't for the awful camera work. 3 stars
7/24/04 j brown The only viewers who wern't please should give more thought to their expectations 5 stars
7/24/04 Lord Jiggy Bourne to Rule. Smart, confident...and the trailer didn't give away the whole damn movie! 5 stars
7/24/04 Uncle Phucker Edited in such a way that many times its hard to tell whats happening. First was very good. 1 stars
7/24/04 Chris I think the camera man had MS. Great movie, but the camera work was to quick and short. 4 stars
7/24/04 Chuck lotz of ation but the camera shotz suck: your dizzy trying to watch! 3 stars
7/24/04 Celeste Pretty good 4 stars
7/24/04 Dean The Bourne series is tight! 5 stars
7/23/04 Jim That's one hell of a car chase through that tunnel. 4 stars
7/23/04 Mix Master Mason I, robot & this Turd should be shown back to back, 4 hours of cliche' 'action' scenes. Yawn 2 stars
7/20/04 Ray Another regular movie is bourne!!! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Aug-2004


Directed by
  Paul Greengrass

Written by
  Tony Gilroy

Cast
  Matt Damon
  Franka Potente
  Brian Cox
  Joan Allen
  Julia Stiles
  Karl Urban



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast