Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.05

Awesome: 37.42%
Worth A Look41.29%
Just Average: 11.61%
Pretty Crappy: 7.74%
Sucks: 1.94%

9 reviews, 101 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bourne Supremacy, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Bourne again."
4 stars

I guess I should start this review right off and mention that the director of "The Bourne Supremacy, the sequel to "The Bourne Identity," is Paul Greengrass, not the original auteur Doug Liman. Greengrass has helmed several documentary works as well as the 2002 Irish-conflict film "Bloody Sunday", and was an unlikely choice to direct the next installment in Robert Ludlum's series about the spy who just couldn't remember.

I loved "The Bourne Identity" for its skill and its truly amazing lead character. Jason Bourne (Matt Damon) was found at sea and has no idea who he is. Slowly throughout the film, we find out who he is and the clues leading to what happened in his past, and we learn about the combat training and defense mechanisms that were trained into his body and can be performed almost on a switch.

"Supremacy" picks up a few years after the adventures of the first, with Jason Bourne and his girlfriend, Marie (Franka Potente) living in exile in India. When a CIA officer is killed in Berlin and Bourne's fingerprints are planted, he is sought after once again. Agent Landy (the terrific Joan Allen) is on the track of Bourne along with Abbott (Brian Cox) who ran the controversial Treadstone project (the program that trained Bourne into a killer) until it was destroyed at the end of the first film. Bourne is quickly found in India by Kirill (Karl Uban from "The Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers" and "Return Of The King") and causes Bourne to run again.

What a busy story this is. The CIA is hot on the trail to find Bourne, and Nikki (Julia Stiles), a former employee of Treadstone is brought back since she was the last to see Bourne alive. Bourne is still struggling with his past as he tries to remember a past in Berlin that he lost after amnesia. "I've been here before." Add to that, the action jumps from India to Italy to Germany so fast that we're spinning as much as Bourne is to solve the mystery.

Mr. Greengrass' stylistic approach is a bit questionable compared to the last film. "Identity's" Doug Liman used primarily hand-held, gliding stedicams and wide angles for much of the film, and Greengrass' technique is more of an "exclusive" hand-held approach. The camera work can get a bit "much" at times, and yet in some sequences the film works well with the stylistic choice. The CIA sequences feel nervous and congested, while some of the fight sequences are confused and messy (the filmmakers should have hired Rodriego Pietro, who photographed Alejandro Inarritu's "21 Grams" and "Amores Perros", who has a much more fluent use of hand-held). I could have done without some of Greengrass' shakiness during some of the more intimate sequences, but when it works, the film has a "you are there" feel.

The film climaxes on a car chase in Moscow that is simply stunning in its impact, where Bourne gets in a taxi and flees head-first into busy downtown traffic. While we have to stop and think about the possible casualties that resulted from the other damaged cars, the level of intensity in this sequence is remarkable and may very well be one of the best chases I've ever seen on film. I think "The French Connection" still has the best visceral thrill when it comes to the chase (and let's not forget the hundreds of cop cars, the thousands of militia and the swarming helicopters in "The Blues Brothers"), this finale is definately one of note.

It's funny, too, that sequels like this are getting better and better this year, rather than being a sequelitis production that just feels cheap and rushed. "The Bourne Supremacy" has thought, intrigue and a reason to become a sequel. And it works so well because the character of Jason Bourne is conflicted, defensive and has to fight his way out of his past. It's Bourne's story that makes us interested.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=10220&reviewer=350
originally posted: 07/26/04 13:31:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell fast & exciting 5 stars
7/29/16 Bob Shakey camera made gave me motion sickness 3 stars
6/02/14 Quada Great spy cinema 5 stars
5/21/14 The king One of the greatest action movies ever 5 stars
11/22/13 Lord Leave Jason Bourne alone 5 stars
10/01/13 The rock Intelligent action movie 5 stars
1/12/09 Anonymous. really good action, i like the way it ends :P 4 stars
10/27/08 blah blah awesome 5 stars
10/06/08 Shaun Wallner Intense Action!! 5 stars
5/14/08 PAUL SHORTT POLISHED, EFFICIENT 3 stars
3/02/08 ladavies Matt Damon is currently the best action hero around. 4 stars
1/31/08 Bonny Sallee This was an awesome movie, just like all the Matt Damon movies are! 5 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White Matt is wonderful action like no other 5 stars
10/11/07 Charles I still can't believe they killed Franka Potente... what a shame! 3 stars
5/24/07 Matt Standard spy, car-chase, fare. Okay, but hardly memorable. 3 stars
2/17/07 R.W.Welch Not quite up to Identity but close enough. B- 4 stars
5/25/06 William Goss Rather solid spy sequel, w/ equally sweet car chase, but prefer Identity just a bit better. 4 stars
5/19/06 Kcaj Loved some of the effects but you only really enjoy it once 4 stars
2/06/06 Phil M. Aficionado The silly car chase is so ridiculous it costs this fine movie a star. Great film locations 3 stars
10/12/05 Quigley even though the camera moves too fast and too much, this film is as awesome as film one. 5 stars
8/18/05 ES fantastic, best spy movie ever made 5 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary It was a good sequel. It would have been better with less shaky-cam. 4 stars
7/31/05 Beth Kerrick Great action, keeps you on the edge of your seat. 4 stars
7/23/05 Carolyn Rathburn Good movie, lots of action decent story line 4 stars
7/20/05 Chris Much better than "Die Another Day", enough said. 5 stars
7/18/05 Eric Rollins Not as much fun as original but action is top-notch 4 stars
7/17/05 Jack Sommersby Far superior to the mediocre original and brilliantly directed and edited and scored. 5 stars
6/09/05 Enrico Really bad, this IS NOT good as the first! Bad camera movements are the worst thing. 1 stars
5/29/05 Jake Not as good as the prievous film but worth your while. 4 stars
5/02/05 Indrid Cold Aside from a spectacular car chase, really quite insubstantial. 3 stars
4/28/05 kathleen4691 Didn't see Identity, but I will now. 5 stars
4/25/05 E-FUNK The camera-work is vomit-inducing. Pretty limp sequel to a great original. 3 stars
3/14/05 cinkcool Shoudn't even be called the Bourne Supremecy...onle resemblance to the book is its name. 3 stars
2/22/05 julia great movie 5 stars
2/21/05 Fabri My favorite movie ever 5 stars
2/10/05 H.P. Lovecraft Great sequel. Better than the first one. 5 stars
1/27/05 Charlie Great! 4 stars
1/27/05 Bobby da Squid Entertaining, great locations, incredible chase scene 4 stars
1/13/05 Raymond Shaw what the hell did they do? strap the camera on a fly's back for chrissake? 1 stars
1/04/05 M S 5 stars
1/02/05 Franka not bad at all, just bad camera work at times, book better as usual 3 stars
12/30/04 Tjalda L. Schiel Does Hollywood have any camera men without the DTs? 2 stars
12/26/04 The Mockingbird Same movie, minus the chick, plus more emotion on Damon's part, who is more endearing/hot 4 stars
12/22/04 Tatiana Wisp-thin plot, but awesomely entertaining (especially some of the "Russian" accents). 4 stars
12/18/04 Nicole Entertaining action movie - keeps you on edge 4 stars
11/28/04 Kristina Williams Matt Damon is officially the shit 5 stars
11/27/04 Italian Guy scene in the tunnel best ever!! 5 stars
11/14/04 Gabby These movies are leading the way on how it should be done. Both excellent. 5 stars
11/03/04 Dave Marney The musical score is exceptional, a perfect complement to every frame in this film. 5 stars
11/02/04 Stevo It seems everyone agrees on the camera work. Why do they keep doing it? 5 stars
9/21/04 Al Guy Surprise! This was a great sequel. 5 stars
9/16/04 ALDO Not a bad movie....But i agree that the director stuffed up with the camara...made me dizzy 3 stars
9/05/04 HitmanThomas For better than The Bourne Identity 5 stars
8/30/04 Archanist 101 It's way better than another SHITTY Bond flick 5 stars
8/26/04 Helen Bradley Matt Damon show great acting excellent editing 10 minutes too long 5 stars
8/25/04 S.F. Good as sequels go. I kind of liked the way the first film wrapped up. 4 stars
8/18/04 Ketan Patel Excellent film, keeps to the original...nice touch with end titles and music by Moby 5 stars
8/15/04 David Devine Horrible, choppy camera work. The director must suffer from ADD. 3 stars
8/15/04 Peter James Flawed, but entertaining none the less 4 stars
8/14/04 Koitus Good flick! PHAT car chase, but agree "too much camera-work" in some scenes... 4 stars
8/12/04 Mike H Get Doug Liman directing for next film. A 5 except bad camerawork, i.e. ruined car chase. 4 stars
8/12/04 Obi Wan Damon continues to pick right movies...camera was to shakey though! 4 stars
8/11/04 kc somewhat entertaining but nothing original, camera work was dizzying without purpose 2 stars
8/11/04 BJ Endicott The plot and acting was excellent.The photography was horrendous-not a clear shot of anythi 2 stars
8/09/04 Andrew Holes I thought the first one was great, but this one blew me away. 5 stars
7/31/04 psychotic black dwarf Die Welt ist keine Ware= the world isn't a commodity. (It's just Bourne's playground.) 5 stars
7/31/04 maryellen entertaining movie......how many lines did Matt Damon have. Oh well my husband liked it! 3 stars
7/31/04 John an action film with some integrity - reminiscent of the great films of the 70's 4 stars
7/30/04 arctic The film making style of The Bourne Series is so different than most movies. 4 stars
7/30/04 teegee Ditto SW Kennemer. But nausea-inducing camera-work aside, entertaining. 4 stars
7/30/04 Jack Bourbon Fun movie. 4 stars
7/29/04 SW Kennemer way TOO MUCH shaky camera shooting 4 stars
7/29/04 Mark D. Fulwiler good well paced movie 4 stars
7/28/04 Matthew Sommer Man, what a letdown... horrible MTV editing, bland plot. Come back Doug Liman! 2 stars
7/28/04 Elizabeth Wasn't a fan of the first, but expected better. Joan Allen was great, though. 3 stars
7/28/04 KingNeutron A bit slow in parts, but well worth seeing. 4 stars
7/28/04 Jim Hoosty Truly a fabulous movie, excellent score, perfectly paced and totally engrossing masterpiece 5 stars
7/27/04 scott grabowski great 5 stars
7/27/04 ad Another entertaining movie. 4 stars
7/27/04 Mike Devans excellent 5 stars
7/27/04 Stevo It seems everyone agrees on the camera work. Why do they keep doing it? 4 stars
7/27/04 metapod Starts slow, picks up speed, then slams on Turbo for 1.5 hours. 5 stars
7/27/04 Mario Awesome Movie/only flaw action sequences shaky camera angles. 4 stars
7/26/04 nuke Greengrass should be sent out to greener pastures 4 stars
7/26/04 mwildema Excellent! 5 stars
7/26/04 Mike V A great sequel in a great franchise. 5 stars
7/26/04 Thomas Ressler This movie is outstanding. Definitely everything James Bond wanted to be but couldn't. 5 stars
7/25/04 Phonse Fagan Gross overuse of the "jerky camera method". 2 stars
7/25/04 William Wells I would have liked it more if I could have seen the actions sences and not blur. 3 stars
7/25/04 Frank Lynch Shaky camera made me want to vomit. 3 stars
7/25/04 reptilesni I would've given it a better rating if it wasn't for the awful camera work. 3 stars
7/24/04 j brown The only viewers who wern't please should give more thought to their expectations 5 stars
7/24/04 Lord Jiggy Bourne to Rule. Smart, confident...and the trailer didn't give away the whole damn movie! 5 stars
7/24/04 Uncle Phucker Edited in such a way that many times its hard to tell whats happening. First was very good. 1 stars
7/24/04 Chris I think the camera man had MS. Great movie, but the camera work was to quick and short. 4 stars
7/24/04 Chuck lotz of ation but the camera shotz suck: your dizzy trying to watch! 3 stars
7/24/04 Celeste Pretty good 4 stars
7/24/04 Dean The Bourne series is tight! 5 stars
7/23/04 Jim That's one hell of a car chase through that tunnel. 4 stars
7/23/04 Mix Master Mason I, robot & this Turd should be shown back to back, 4 hours of cliche' 'action' scenes. Yawn 2 stars
7/20/04 Ray Another regular movie is bourne!!! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Aug-2004


Directed by
  Paul Greengrass

Written by
  Tony Gilroy

Cast
  Matt Damon
  Franka Potente
  Brian Cox
  Joan Allen
  Julia Stiles
  Karl Urban



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast