Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.98

Awesome: 26.62%
Worth A Look53.96%
Just Average: 12.23%
Pretty Crappy: 5.04%
Sucks: 2.16%

10 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Ray
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Abhishek Bandekar

"'Ray' lives on"
3 stars

“Hit the road Jack, and don’t come back…no more, no more, no more, NO MORE!” Who would’ve thought that this immortal line that has almost become a remedial mantra for broken relationships in popular culture was conceived over a lovers’ brawl! Ray Charles was a genius. And if there was one thing that he knew, breathed and lived for; it was music. So in a lifetime that comprised acute poverty, a desperate struggle with darkness, guilt, drugs and painful affairs; Ray still found moments when inspiration hit him out of nowhere and words and notes took their own shape to form an instant eternal classic!

There are some lives that deserve to be transformed on the silver screen. Ray Charles’s life was one of them. It almost comes as a shock to learn that this project had no studio-backing until it was completed! And that backing probably came after the initial screenings where Jamie Foxx’s performance was lauded and predicted as a surefire Oscar winner in hushed voices. Jamie Foxx as Ray almost convinces us that it is indeed Ray Charles performing on screen and not an actor impersonating! From the crooked all-knowing smile to the bent gait of not so much a handicapped but a man dancing through his demons, Foxx captures every essence of the actual Ray Charles. Ray was a complicated man. He never demanded sympathy and very rarely showed it himself. An astute businessman, he ensured his success at any cost, sometimes at the price of losing his loved ones. He never apologized for his philandering ways and always maintained that he loved his family, which we are convinced he did. He liked sex; it was as simple as that! But beneath all, there also existed a Ray that was afraid of darkness. Imagine the horrors of a blind man afraid of darkness! His fear was because of his guilt. Ray was convinced that he was the reason for his brother’s death, and his whole life was spent trying to redeem himself. Ray was a maverick who fused gospel with jazz, an unheard blasphemous practice in the 50’s. But his intentions weren’t to instigate. He was simply practicing the only way he knew of getting close to God!

It is hard to capture such an eventful life as that of Ray, and that is perhaps where the movie fails. We are never really allowed to get close to Ray as a person. We know him only as much as we see him. His relationships, especially with Margie Hendricks(Regina King), aren’t explored in detail. And the script barely passes over Della Bea(Kerry Washington), Ray’s wife, who everyone knows was a rock by his side. And the biggest blunder of all is the rushed, almost abrupt climax. It’s as if the director suddenly realized he was out of stock and called for a pack-up!

Nonetheless, ‘Ray’ is definitely recommended for a flawless performance from Jamie Foxx and an able stellar ensemble. The songs and age create a sense of nostalgia, and we get a genuine feeling that the film is made with sincerity.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=10361&reviewer=398
originally posted: 04/06/05 01:06:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Starz Denver Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Starz Denver Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Toronto Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Toronto Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/28/09 Jeff Wilder Foxx's performance alone makes it worth viewing. 4 stars
9/27/08 Shaun Wallner Boring!! 1 stars
2/03/08 Pamela White Nice to see that celebritys whole life 5 stars
4/30/07 MP Bartley Foxx is excellent but it's no Walk the Line 3 stars
2/21/07 R.W.Welch Overlong biopic is carried by class A acting across the board. 4 stars
7/04/06 bonnie mckeithren It's obvious,that though you rate many movies you know nothing...about life. 5 stars
4/24/06 Frankie Its not everything i imagined but it was iight 3 stars
4/02/06 JRE great acting, but average movie 4 stars
9/08/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old jamie foxx really won me over with this performance.if you dont like this film your weird. 4 stars
8/02/05 ALDO Overactors' showcase, Ray's mom was pitiful, script sucked, lighting sucked, Foxx was good 2 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins You have to be blind and deaf to enjoy this, retched. 1 stars
7/07/05 ELI AAAAAAARG!!! People didn't like it that much??? screw 'em! 5 stars
6/27/05 JFK good movie, too long i think. Jamie foxx best job 4 stars
5/21/05 Cham A big letdown after all the hype. Jamie Foxx is good though. 3 stars
5/19/05 wendy rogers I liked this movie ok...did not know much about Ray before seeing it 4 stars
5/06/05 edsandiego2 I love the movie. Just listening to the music is well worth it. 4 stars
5/05/05 Michelle Lofton inspirational! 4 stars
5/05/05 Mind Junkie Awesome 5 stars
5/03/05 Kyle Kapetanakis Only watch it to see a great performance from Jamie Foxx, like Charlize Theron in Monster 4 stars
5/01/05 dwarzel Academy awards for doing impressions? 1 stars
4/24/05 OverTheRainbow one of the best in a long time- a must see! 5 stars
4/18/05 Maril Smith Excellent acting by all and very in-depth look at Ray Charles' life 5 stars
4/15/05 Carol Conway Great acting and soundtrack 4 stars
4/15/05 Jeff Gilliland Wow, I didn't know Ray was such a jerk. Good flick, but perhaps overated. 4 stars
4/11/05 Carolyn Rathburn Very well done, good movie. 5 stars
4/08/05 Dan AWESOME. 5 stars
4/08/05 Tanya Grays regina king was great 5 stars
3/25/05 Denise moving 4 stars
3/23/05 dana Gordon A rate of awesome for Jamie Foxx's performance alone 5 stars
3/18/05 Green Grenlim Jamie Foxx is the best thing about this movie !!! 4 stars
3/07/05 Taylor Fladgate Eric Childress, once again, nails a review...Jamie Foxx was incredible. 4 stars
3/06/05 Daveman Cracking performance from Foxx is done no justice by this altogether ordinary biopic. 3 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung jamie deserved the oscar 4 stars
2/23/05 Mary JD Wonderful... I cried... felt such emotions from Jamie Foxx's acting 5 stars
2/23/05 KR Best Picture? No. But Foxx better get that Oscar, damnit! 5 stars
2/21/05 George "The Duke" Feist Amazing Jamie Foxx...3 movies (on TV) up for awards 5 stars
2/18/05 Captain Craig Talent production from start to finish. 5 stars
2/18/05 april gupton good, but a little too long 4 stars
2/15/05 Miranda Lahr Great movie, Rest well ray 5 stars
2/13/05 Jeanine Price Loved Jamie Foxx 4 stars
2/12/05 Sylvia Belle Very interesting biographical information 4 stars
2/11/05 Aimee Shelton Jamie Foxx delivers an amazing performance! 4 stars
2/08/05 Lisa Jochelson I loved this movie. They left a ton out, but I guess they had to. 5 stars
2/08/05 Al Guy A great movie, especially for music lovers. 5 stars
2/06/05 Jim Interesting. Learned a lot of stuff, for instance, "Booger' has gotten bald. 4 stars
2/05/05 Cassandra Farrar AWESOME!!! 5 stars
2/03/05 Tanya Grays Excellent film, Jamie Foxx has proven himself in this movie to be a great actor. 5 stars
2/03/05 Kent B. Jamie Fox did an excellent job in this movie. 4 stars
2/01/05 Rodney Stephens REALLY ENJOYED IT 4 stars
1/31/05 Danita Berg Go get your Oscar, Jamie! I really thought this movie was well done, and Jaime suprised me 5 stars
1/31/05 Lynda Eby Was interesting 4 stars
1/31/05 Andrea Haresign Loved It!! 5 stars
1/31/05 Alison this movie has not gotten near the attention it deserves 5 stars
1/29/05 Gretchen Lowe very good, I was expecting a comedy though 3 stars
1/28/05 Richard Brandt Like many biopics, ends by trying to wrap things up rather than come to a conclusion 4 stars
1/21/05 Uncle Phucker Don't respect the director but he pulled off a pretty damn good movie. Acting is great! 5 stars
12/27/04 efrain Not spectacular, but really worth seeing. Foxx is awesome. 4 stars
11/30/04 malcolm that was 2.5 hours? never felt like it. Foxx's Ray a million times better than Smith's Ali! 4 stars
11/12/04 ownerofdajoint foxx is brilliant;BRILLIANT i tell you;this has best actor for foxx all over it! 5 stars
11/09/04 psycho black dwarf sweet sounds, well delivered dialogue, visually stimulating flashbacks 4 stars
11/07/04 Eric This is definitely the best film of the year! Jamie Foxx was incredible! 5 stars
11/06/04 Suzz great performances; good film making; a bit long 5 stars
11/05/04 Jonetta It was great 5 stars
11/03/04 Arlene mesmerizing performances, fantastic movie! 5 stars
11/03/04 John phenomenal performances - well done and very entertaining 5 stars
11/03/04 vagile Surprisingly good. 4 stars
11/02/04 Kris Jamie will get a nod but the academy wont give him his due...watch 4 stars
11/01/04 Jay It was great, JF should get a nod and the music was wonderful, I agree it was a long movie 5 stars
11/01/04 Shay Knowles I thought the movie was good, a bit long but it kept my interest. Jamie Foxx was excellen! 4 stars
11/01/04 Llorie I thought the movie was amazing and anyone who love music should go see it 5 stars
11/01/04 lulu jamie foxx rocks! 5 stars
11/01/04 Jack Paris Best bio flick that I have ever seen 5 stars
11/01/04 Paul E-motive! Wonderful performance by JF & cast. 5 stars
10/31/04 Naka Somebody should delete that previous comment. Jackass. 5 stars
10/30/04 ajay certainly worth a look. 4 stars
10/29/04 Kimberly Phenomenal 5 stars
10/29/04 Mix Master Mason Foxx rocks, but this is generic bio-pic stuff... like a VH1 behind the scenes kind of thing 4 stars
9/26/04 Dawn Danowski I loved it. The music was great, Jamie Foxx was great! 5 stars
9/14/04 MM Some problems, but Jamie Foxx is amazing 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Oct-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 01-Feb-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Jan-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast