Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.82

Awesome46.39%
Worth A Look: 20.62%
Just Average: 11.34%
Pretty Crappy: 12.37%
Sucks: 9.28%

4 reviews, 73 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Cool Fish, A by Jay Seaver

Under the Silver Lake by Jay Seaver

Ballad of Buster Scruggs, The by alejandroariera

Ballad of Buster Scruggs, The by Peter Sobczynski

Widows by Peter Sobczynski

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald by Peter Sobczynski

Hurt by Jay Seaver

Thugs of Hindostan by Jay Seaver

Intimate Strangers (2018) by Jay Seaver

Papillon (2018) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Buffalo '66
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ophelia13

"A tribute to the boring and the germophobic."
2 stars

Look! It's a decidedly mediocre movie about a mentally unstable ex-con who is really innocent but is now on the rampage, after the guy whose bad football playing put him in prison. It's not really a rampage, I suppose, because that would be too exciting. Wouldn't want us to start caring, would you?

I don't get it. Maybe there is some profound meaning or gesture that I am missing in Buffalo 66, but I sure didn't miss it for lack of interest. I paid very close attention to this movie, not because it was interesting, but because I wanted to know if there was something that would elevate it to more than dull.
This is Billy Brown, rather unfortunately named to reflect his parents obsession with football. He's an asshole with a heart of gold. He has a strange compulsion to use bathrooms and phones more than would seem necessary. He is also a neatfreak. Oh. And he's out to kill someone, but not before he stops to visit dear old mommy and daddy who quite nicely ignore him. However, they really like his 'wife', a young lady named Wendy Balsam (only that's not her name. Her name is Layla.) whose complexion resembles that of a pale snowman and who he quite conveniently kidnapped.
Plus, one should never forget to acknowledge the random bursts of song and dance that accompany this movie. I guess they figured 'just one more drink' wouldn't hurt while scripting.
The rest of the plot is essential to the less than stunning conclusion, so I'll leave it to you to watch it. Or not. Either way, it doesn't really matter.

Vincent Gallo is the creepiest looking guy I have ever seen, and when you pair that with Christina Ricci's 'I got arsenic' look and his parents stark wierdness, it'll probably make your skin crawl. I don't think that was intended.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=105&reviewer=130
originally posted: 11/05/99 02:17:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/09/14 PAUL SHORTT QUIRKY, BLEAK ROAD FILM 2 stars
1/16/14 Donald Weintraub Big time Buffalo Bills fan.....Outstanding movie 5 stars
11/27/07 jm mahy gr8 stuff 5 stars
10/05/06 Scott J This movie is meant to be felt just like an acid burn. It hurts but oh so effective. 5 stars
9/28/06 b gardner absolutely awful...someone should have shot gallo, or me while watching it 1 stars
11/11/05 oneika russell great style and innovative shot compositions. Good character development and really good wr 4 stars
7/01/05 Indrid Cold Bizarre in tone, but some surprinsingly intense, affecting scenes. 4 stars
10/23/04 Griffin Fairly entertaining. Clearly Gallo has something to say as a director 4 stars
9/20/04 atanu gallo is a talentless poser who needs to be buttfucked with a lawn mower 1 stars
8/27/04 Goggman Very funny but kinda sad at the same time. 5 stars
8/03/04 ian chrisina ricci is better looking than any other creature on the planet 5 stars
7/02/04 Kay I want to hug this guy... hard! Loved it! 5 stars
2/17/04 john original 5 stars
2/16/04 Calon Quartorze Perhaps the biggest waste of time ever. 1 stars
12/28/03 Robin McNulty wonderfully done. 5 stars
8/26/03 Chrys Are you fucking kidding me?? 1 stars
8/20/03 elise amazing... 5 stars
3/23/03 Jack Sommersby The only thing I found watchable was Ricci's bust. 1 stars
3/07/03 Nancy N. creepy, and I would've liked less if I didn't know so many families just like theirs 4 stars
1/03/03 Roy Smith Crack must be making a comeback. 1 stars
12/02/02 Zack W. Young Brilliant and touching story that seems to weep right off the screen. 5 stars
11/18/02 lance t. burgess i hate you 5 stars
10/28/02 frekizoid Bitchslap deserves a bitchslap, this movie rocks 5 stars
8/28/02 .Choadushouse. Kind of slow. But directed beautifully.Great characters&the ending leaves you feeling warm! 4 stars
7/28/02 James really good 5 stars
2/27/02 Lizard King genius 5 stars
2/23/02 wyrock The sweetest love story made for the males in the audience 4 stars
12/17/01 Dan B Definitely in my top 5 favorites! 5 stars
12/09/01 Dan YES 5 stars
12/07/01 Adam Gallo's red pixie-style shoes are definitley the focal pont of the film 5 stars
11/28/01 Justin Dooley I really liked it 5 stars
11/20/01 MARIA say no more say no more 5 stars
11/12/01 poop it freaking rocked. christina ricci is definitley bonable 5 stars
11/11/01 Justin the best character study ever. the best film i've ever seen. 5 stars
10/30/01 Joseph Sherman This film is a fantastic character study, brilliantly cast and directed, I need more room! 5 stars
10/15/01 Adam Really good. Entertaining, stylistic, intelligent and funny. A solid achievement. 5 stars
10/14/01 amanda great acting!! Definitly worth a look if you have any interest in film as art! 4 stars
10/12/01 Marie the most touching film I've ever seen, my favourite one 5 stars
10/05/01 skizzo312 this is a masterpiece 5 stars
10/03/01 Phoenix A bit different, but I like movies like that, and this film is one of those. 4 stars
10/01/01 alf repetitive repetitive repetitive dialogue dialogue d 1 stars
9/28/01 Peter H. Burris This movie reflects ALL my misgivings about Indie films: pompous, under-edited, and hammy 2 stars
9/26/01 Xerox Gallo is so full of himself. I always laugh when I see his shitty little cameo in Basquiat. 3 stars
9/03/01 Jan Nyska, you are an idiot. 4 stars
9/01/01 blicero great stuff, clear cassavetes influence, Gallo has real talent 5 stars
7/23/01 Eggy Joe The strip club scene is amazing 5 stars
7/14/01 officer 412/l great direction,great acting and deeply moving without being sappy about it. 5 stars
7/08/01 Roy Smith A drama without logic or real characters rarely works; this is a good example of why. 1 stars
6/11/01 SlipNSlide C'mon guys. It spanned time. 5 stars
5/26/01 Basil I thought the scenes with his parents were hilarious. 5 stars
10/17/00 Dan Strangely ambient mood, excellent performances and well directed. Brilliant. 5 stars
10/04/00 Nyska It's so annoying. Why does Ricci fall in love withAidiot who treatsHerBad?+watchd4schol :p 2 stars
9/02/00 Jens Very bleak yet engaging if only to indulge the life and misfortunes of such a loser 4 stars
8/08/00 lily percy A more entertaining or hilarious film than this one would be hard to find. 5 stars
7/19/00 dr_Fardook incredible film. Made me want to nerve gas buffalo. 5 stars
1/15/00 Alexis Hill I knew I would love this movie a year before I saw it 5 stars
11/01/99 Bozo whats to like? couldn't even watch the whole thing & who cared? 2 stars
10/25/99 Lisa excellent contemporary tale of seperation and redemption. I loved it. 5 stars
9/30/99 Vanessa the coloring visual style was interesting, but lights and mirrors can't give a film a plot. 4 stars
3/15/99 haden Ricci falls in love w/kidnapper-right.would it have killed him to give her a character 2 stars
2/23/99 Jeff Oh the redemptive powers of love--give me a break--give that man some lithium. 3 stars
2/14/99 Van Noble Boring, painful to watch. I want that hour and a half of my life back 1 stars
12/10/98 George Morgan Interior shots are all dark. Exterior shots all have dark clouds. It's a dark movie. 3 stars
11/02/98 Steven The Goose One of my top five favorite movies! 5 stars
10/22/98 James Garstang My favourite film ever!!!!!!!!!!!!! GO SEE!!!! 5 stars
10/17/98 Kwyjibo No substance, lotsa style. Ricci earns it an extra star. 3 stars
10/15/98 aaron sias amazing film, by amazing up and coming talent 5 stars
9/15/98 Gamma I love films like this. Ricci makes it that much better. She's a brilliant actress. 4 stars
9/14/98 susan one of the year's best 5 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein Quickly forgotten. 3 stars
9/05/98 Janine some good camera tricks but overall just EH! 2 stars
9/05/98 Gary Interesting and enjlyable 4 stars
8/27/98 Dov C. Ricci is a babe 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jun-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Oct-1998




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast