Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.82

Awesome46.39%
Worth A Look: 20.62%
Just Average: 11.34%
Pretty Crappy: 12.37%
Sucks: 9.28%

4 reviews, 73 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Bad Genius by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Jay Seaver

Cold Hell by Jay Seaver

House of the Disappeared by Jay Seaver

Lady Macbeth by alejandroariera

Lady Macbeth by Peter Sobczynski

Poor Agnes by Jay Seaver

Sequence Break by Jay Seaver

Have a Nice Day by Jay Seaver

Liberation Day by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Buffalo '66
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by iF Magazine

"An overrated film fest fave."
3 stars

To completely believe BUFFALO 66's premise one must take away most of their logic and then allow for the absurd to happen. And even then maybe one might enjoy this overrated Vincent Gallo, who co-wrote, stars and directed, vehicle which became a festival favorite throughout '98.

Newly released on DVD and video, BUFFALO tells of a young man Billy (Gallo) who made a bad bet and ended up in prison for five years. By the time he gets out the only thing he has on his mind is seeking revenge on the man responsible for his incarceration.


First though, Billy decides to visit dear old dysfunctional mom and dad but needs someone to play the wife he has been lying to them he had for years. He stumbles upon Layla (Christina Ricci) who willingly agrees to play his wife after he kidnaps her and threatens her life. Many a time Layla gets opportunity after opportunity to escape.


She never does.


Either Gallo is trying to suggest she likes Billy from the start which would be ridiculous unless she goes for the rough and abusive type or Gallo failed to pay attention to his own script while directing BUFFALO and in turn did his story no justice.


Scene after scene Gallo leaves gapping holes consistently absent of any logic. And in Eric Schaeffer fashion, writer/director/star Gallo is guilty of his own self-indulgence. Loads of unnecessary dialogue is splayed out by Gallo as he gratifies himself onscreen with loads of redundancy.


On and on Gallo goes when he'll stop nobody knows. Giving Gallo credit in his directorial debut, BUFFALO 66 isn't unwatchable, it just has too many problems to be a worthy two hours of one's precious time. And sadly most of the problems could have been omitted with an extra polish on the script.

The DVD special features include the theatrical trailer, production notes and the cast and filmmakers. No commentary for this one. Good thing BUFFALO 66 already has enough talking to go around.-- Pamela Harland

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=105&reviewer=119
originally posted: 02/24/01 18:06:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/09/14 PAUL SHORTT QUIRKY, BLEAK ROAD FILM 2 stars
1/16/14 Donald Weintraub Big time Buffalo Bills fan.....Outstanding movie 5 stars
11/27/07 jm mahy gr8 stuff 5 stars
10/05/06 Scott J This movie is meant to be felt just like an acid burn. It hurts but oh so effective. 5 stars
9/28/06 b gardner absolutely awful...someone should have shot gallo, or me while watching it 1 stars
11/11/05 oneika russell great style and innovative shot compositions. Good character development and really good wr 4 stars
7/01/05 Indrid Cold Bizarre in tone, but some surprinsingly intense, affecting scenes. 4 stars
10/23/04 Griffin Fairly entertaining. Clearly Gallo has something to say as a director 4 stars
9/20/04 atanu gallo is a talentless poser who needs to be buttfucked with a lawn mower 1 stars
8/27/04 Goggman Very funny but kinda sad at the same time. 5 stars
8/03/04 ian chrisina ricci is better looking than any other creature on the planet 5 stars
7/02/04 Kay I want to hug this guy... hard! Loved it! 5 stars
2/17/04 john original 5 stars
2/16/04 Calon Quartorze Perhaps the biggest waste of time ever. 1 stars
12/28/03 Robin McNulty wonderfully done. 5 stars
8/26/03 Chrys Are you fucking kidding me?? 1 stars
8/20/03 elise amazing... 5 stars
3/23/03 Jack Sommersby The only thing I found watchable was Ricci's bust. 1 stars
3/07/03 Nancy N. creepy, and I would've liked less if I didn't know so many families just like theirs 4 stars
1/03/03 Roy Smith Crack must be making a comeback. 1 stars
12/02/02 Zack W. Young Brilliant and touching story that seems to weep right off the screen. 5 stars
11/18/02 lance t. burgess i hate you 5 stars
10/28/02 frekizoid Bitchslap deserves a bitchslap, this movie rocks 5 stars
8/28/02 .Choadushouse. Kind of slow. But directed beautifully.Great characters&the ending leaves you feeling warm! 4 stars
7/28/02 James really good 5 stars
2/27/02 Lizard King genius 5 stars
2/23/02 wyrock The sweetest love story made for the males in the audience 4 stars
12/17/01 Dan B Definitely in my top 5 favorites! 5 stars
12/09/01 Dan YES 5 stars
12/07/01 Adam Gallo's red pixie-style shoes are definitley the focal pont of the film 5 stars
11/28/01 Justin Dooley I really liked it 5 stars
11/20/01 MARIA say no more say no more 5 stars
11/12/01 poop it freaking rocked. christina ricci is definitley bonable 5 stars
11/11/01 Justin the best character study ever. the best film i've ever seen. 5 stars
10/30/01 Joseph Sherman This film is a fantastic character study, brilliantly cast and directed, I need more room! 5 stars
10/15/01 Adam Really good. Entertaining, stylistic, intelligent and funny. A solid achievement. 5 stars
10/14/01 amanda great acting!! Definitly worth a look if you have any interest in film as art! 4 stars
10/12/01 Marie the most touching film I've ever seen, my favourite one 5 stars
10/05/01 skizzo312 this is a masterpiece 5 stars
10/03/01 Phoenix A bit different, but I like movies like that, and this film is one of those. 4 stars
10/01/01 alf repetitive repetitive repetitive dialogue dialogue d 1 stars
9/28/01 Peter H. Burris This movie reflects ALL my misgivings about Indie films: pompous, under-edited, and hammy 2 stars
9/26/01 Xerox Gallo is so full of himself. I always laugh when I see his shitty little cameo in Basquiat. 3 stars
9/03/01 Jan Nyska, you are an idiot. 4 stars
9/01/01 blicero great stuff, clear cassavetes influence, Gallo has real talent 5 stars
7/23/01 Eggy Joe The strip club scene is amazing 5 stars
7/14/01 officer 412/l great direction,great acting and deeply moving without being sappy about it. 5 stars
7/08/01 Roy Smith A drama without logic or real characters rarely works; this is a good example of why. 1 stars
6/11/01 SlipNSlide C'mon guys. It spanned time. 5 stars
5/26/01 Basil I thought the scenes with his parents were hilarious. 5 stars
10/17/00 Dan Strangely ambient mood, excellent performances and well directed. Brilliant. 5 stars
10/04/00 Nyska It's so annoying. Why does Ricci fall in love withAidiot who treatsHerBad?+watchd4schol :p 2 stars
9/02/00 Jens Very bleak yet engaging if only to indulge the life and misfortunes of such a loser 4 stars
8/08/00 lily percy A more entertaining or hilarious film than this one would be hard to find. 5 stars
7/19/00 dr_Fardook incredible film. Made me want to nerve gas buffalo. 5 stars
1/15/00 Alexis Hill I knew I would love this movie a year before I saw it 5 stars
11/01/99 Bozo whats to like? couldn't even watch the whole thing & who cared? 2 stars
10/25/99 Lisa excellent contemporary tale of seperation and redemption. I loved it. 5 stars
9/30/99 Vanessa the coloring visual style was interesting, but lights and mirrors can't give a film a plot. 4 stars
3/15/99 haden Ricci falls in love w/kidnapper-right.would it have killed him to give her a character 2 stars
2/23/99 Jeff Oh the redemptive powers of love--give me a break--give that man some lithium. 3 stars
2/14/99 Van Noble Boring, painful to watch. I want that hour and a half of my life back 1 stars
12/10/98 George Morgan Interior shots are all dark. Exterior shots all have dark clouds. It's a dark movie. 3 stars
11/02/98 Steven The Goose One of my top five favorite movies! 5 stars
10/22/98 James Garstang My favourite film ever!!!!!!!!!!!!! GO SEE!!!! 5 stars
10/17/98 Kwyjibo No substance, lotsa style. Ricci earns it an extra star. 3 stars
10/15/98 aaron sias amazing film, by amazing up and coming talent 5 stars
9/15/98 Gamma I love films like this. Ricci makes it that much better. She's a brilliant actress. 4 stars
9/14/98 susan one of the year's best 5 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein Quickly forgotten. 3 stars
9/05/98 Janine some good camera tricks but overall just EH! 2 stars
9/05/98 Gary Interesting and enjlyable 4 stars
8/27/98 Dov C. Ricci is a babe 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jun-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Oct-1998




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast