Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.7

Awesome: 10.66%
Worth A Look: 2.46%
Just Average: 1.64%
Pretty Crappy: 17.21%
Sucks68.03%

5 reviews, 92 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Spice World
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Haven't you ever heard of the word compromisation?"
1 stars

Thoughtful, well-plotted, well-acted...no, wait, sorry. Wrong movie.

I was trying to think of words to describe how horrificly, terribly bad this film was.

I can't.

Spice World is a blatant ripoff of A Hard Day's Night, and it's meant to be seen as such. The writers (and oh, how loosely I use that term) went with the theatrical wink and rough poke to the ribs of the audience.

*SEE* the girls hang out together in their ordinary sized, Union Jack painted double-decker bus (ordinary on the outside, anyway, on the inside it's as spacious as the space between a married couple in bed).

*HEAR* the girls sing on the soundtrack ('cause they're lip-synching - badly - on film, you know). Sometimes its different versions of the same songs, sometimes it's just the chorus. Over and over and over and over.

*CRINGE* as the girls have one meaningless celebrity encounter after another (Elton John, Bob Hoskins, Bob Geldof, Elvis Costello, and AbFab's Jennifer Saunders, to name a few).

*SHAKE* your head in puzzlement as you try to figure out just what the hell Roger Moore (as "The Chief," whoever the hell that is) is doing bottle-feeding a piglet.

*PRAY* that Meat Loaf (playing Dennis, the girls' bus driver) veers off of a cliff, bringing it all to a merciful, violent, explosive end. Do that for us, Meat, and I'd forgive you for Black Dog.

Look, if you're expecting anything, anything of substance at all, from this movie, you're every bit as bubbleheaded as the girls themselves. They may be pretty to look at, but on film, they're every bit as transparent as you might think they are. The acting is beneath subpar. The singing is your basic, bubblegum pop that you've come to expect from the Spice Girls. But to see them *try* to act is almost painful. Each has their little bit, and each sticks with it: in the case of Posh, that vacant look from her face; in the case of Scary, that stupid "I'm so badass" growl; Ginger flashes the peace sign, Sporty dances around and does backflips, and Baby remains orally fixated on her lollipop. The best scene is when each Spice dresses up as a different Spice, and we see how absurd they all really are. Only Richard E. Grant, as the girls' manager, is even remotely entertaining, and he just gets on your nerves after a certain amount of time. Say, half an hour.

Pure fluff, and you probably won't even crack a smile. You may even kick your television.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=106&reviewer=7
originally posted: 02/01/99 13:15:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/05/13 PAUL SHORTT BRASH AND SILLY 2 stars
1/09/13 Michael Hernandez 90s Kids Top 10 List for sure, Best Ever 5 stars
11/22/10 Jeff Wilder Hilarious albeit not in the way the "filmmakers" intended. 1 stars
2/17/10 Dr.Lao Insipid and asinine, but hey, its the Spice Girls, what did you expect? 1 stars
1/05/09 the dork knight If you like, YOU'RE AN IDIOT!! There, I said it. 1 stars
8/25/08 Charles Tatum Nothing will prepare you for how bad this is 1 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight Will make you want to bomb Britain. 1 stars
12/02/07 sassy brilliant 5 stars
6/23/07 Sugarfoot One of the worst movies ever made. 1 stars
5/10/07 Andy Rubbish review - get a sense of humour. Spice World is amazing! 5 stars
11/30/06 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 1 stars
5/26/06 Sheena girl power a movie for a child of the 90's 4 stars
4/11/06 Justin Spice Girls OWN. Anyone who takes this movie seriously needs major help. RENT IT. 5 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer The only entertainment this film gave, was me smashing my sister's vhs on the asphault! 1 stars
2/20/06 Sean D It's still not as bad as In The Mix but it's shit 2 stars
9/18/05 Lisa I LOVE IT! 5 stars
9/01/05 tony i used to like the spice girls and this movie still makes me like them! 4 stars
8/05/05 Brandy Harrington WTF? 1 stars
8/02/05 Megan Greer I love the spice girls and that movie was DA BOMB!!!! 5 stars
7/25/05 ROY L. CAIN Definitly not "A HARD DAYS NIGHT." 2 stars
7/20/05 Chris And I used to like this crap... 2 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams Posh Spice was my shit in '97, I've laid off the drugs since. 1 stars
11/10/04 spicyzah Spice Girls still rule!! :) One of the best movies in the entire planet!! :) 5 stars
7/16/04 Gray some one is an ASS!!! 1 stars
7/14/04 someone I thought it was the BEST MOVIE EVER! So f*** yall if you think its stupid! 5 stars
7/05/04 Spiderfan720 I... Ga... it really... Oh, words can't describe how bad this is!!! 1 stars
6/25/04 Gray next time any of these girls are on film it will be a porno 1 stars
12/09/03 Samuel retarded!! 1 stars
6/22/03 John Aster Habig Skunk Hos hypocrits to female liberation 1 stars
5/01/03 Spicers #1 Fan This movie was excellent a work of genius! I really enjoyed it,it was really funny*10/10 5 stars
4/27/03 Mara The best movie i have ever seen in my life 5 stars
4/23/03 GWB I say hell yeah hot chicks cool tunes 5 stars
4/17/03 MOHD ZAMRI B. ALI ITS A GREAT MOVIE! I LIKE IT COZ I LURVE THESE SPICE SOO MUCH!!! 5 stars
3/18/03 Sean McLean I would rather watch five spices sit in my kitchen cabinet. 1 stars
2/25/03 Croweater I'll tell you what I want, what I really really want- I want my 8 bucks back! 1 stars
2/03/03 matt scarborough my sister could have made a better movie! 1 stars
1/31/03 Donn Kixote Don't took so seriously, people! Jerk Off! Its a great movie sign othe times 5 stars
1/09/03 Mitsaso I liked it-I'm a masochist!DIE Spice Girls DIEEE!! 1 stars
1/07/03 Kevin I almost wept why was film wasted? 1 stars
11/28/02 mr. Pink A few good moments, but still really bad 2 stars
11/21/02 SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION SLAGS LET LOOSE AGAIN...WITH PLENTY OF STDS 1 stars
11/16/02 Jenna The worst movie I ever had to see!!! It FUCKING SUCKS!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/12/02 liz lost they were'nt even good at their music why would someone allow them to make a movie... 1 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 Come on now, the Spice Girls are hot!!! Not really, sorry... 1 stars
10/16/02 hitman suite crap film from the hoes with aids......what can i say 1 stars
9/05/02 Chancey Thunderpants Fuck the Spice Girls and their goddamned "movie"! 1 stars
8/16/02 MR Meatloaf drives their bus! Way better than Gladiator! 4 stars
7/16/02 John Unless you are an overwhelming Spice Girls fan, DO NOT i repeat DO NOT see this movie... 1 stars
7/07/02 Girl 9 this movie was so bad I actually had the nerve to ask for my money back! 1 stars
7/01/02 Monster W. Kung Tried to watch it three times, but the temptation to turn the channel was always too strong 1 stars
6/01/02 sdjfsdkjf fucking awful. They're on my hate list now. I want to stick a pencil through Emma's temple. 1 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi stop rite now shank u very much, i need somebody with some bullets and a gun...... 1 stars
4/28/02 Malcolm Masiero I'll tell you what i want, what i really really want....my 8 bucks back 1 stars
4/12/02 oldgoatmon a movie that was destined to be full of nudity had family values. Go figure. 1 stars
3/24/02 Jimmy Bad movie 1 stars
10/09/01 Butterbean Hey, remember that shit movie that The Monkees made? Spiceworld was not that much better. 2 stars
9/08/01 Gary Victoria was the best actress. I spent the whole movie tryin to decide. 1 stars
8/19/01 Dakamus They dress(ed) like drag queens. What a shitty... film. 1 stars
8/08/01 KC Au Simply awful and unwatchable! Who wrote this thing?! And that music....arrgh....!! 1 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg To watch it is to go mad . 1 stars
6/07/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Ugh. Ugh ugh ugh ugh ugh. Did I mention ugh? UGH!!!!! 1 stars
3/29/01 Rampage this was worse than watching a crappy Britney Spears music video 1 stars
2/15/01 viking Rent "Abba- the Movie" instead !!!! 2 stars
9/13/00 Ground Zero goddam awful 1 stars
4/25/00 Pansy GO SEE DETROIT ROCK CITY 1 stars
2/21/00 Mr. Kramitall Whoever gave this pissant 5 stars is a lousy idiot! And that means you teen movie critic II 1 stars
2/09/00 Richard Wright Get a film, stick the Spice Girls in it. Who cares about silly things like plot and acting? 1 stars
1/08/00 John Markham Just seen it on T.V. FUCKING AWFUL, MAKES GODZILLA LOOK LIKE A MASTERPIECE! 1 stars
11/21/99 Phreezer Imagine I watched Phantoms 4 times before being dragged to this armpit 1 stars
10/16/99 Mr. Invincible You're the man, Ryan_A! Spice Girls suck ass! 1 stars
10/13/99 Lame-Oh Drove me to suicide. Sporty Spice is a female Judge Joe Brown. 1 stars
9/22/99 Matt They can't sing. They can't act. I only wish they couldn't breath!!!! WHO FUCKING CARES! 1 stars
7/19/99 Imagoner Err, Sentaia E, your biological clock is showing. Oh, and the movie is stupid and idiotic. 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Keep your fuckin' day jobs, talentless bitches! Unfunny all the way. 1 stars
5/09/99 Ah Dooey terrible and pointless 1 stars
2/28/99 Spankey They act just as well as they sing 1 stars
2/24/99 Viral Messiah Shi shit shit shit shit shit shit shit 1 stars
1/30/99 El Dorko The hell with your Spiceworld movie crap! 1 stars
12/05/98 Scion of Sailor Jupiter For those of you who hate Spice Girls(Me included)..... This movie proves you right 1 stars
11/16/98 Jules I've seen worse 2 stars
10/23/98 Kwyjibo Ick. Poop. Gah. No. Please. TURN IT OFF! 1 stars
10/16/98 eric sin-chan what a ripoff! they look like Indigo Girls on Prozac 1 stars
9/23/98 Nate Dogg Good clean wholesome poplike this ain't gonna change the world, but it's fun..real fun even 3 stars
9/22/98 Jason Rosenbaum The first movie without a plot. And it sucks all ass! 1 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein In years to come, women will be ashamed that they liked the Spice Girls this much. 1 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee A shocker. Posh Spice has a nice bum. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Keep your tongue in someone elses cheek when watching - And their little Gucci dress. 1 stars
8/23/98 JenniferLorraine Keep your tongue in your cheek when you watch it; & your 'Little Gucci Dress' on. 3 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet I thought this was about the spice dealers of ancient Peru. Imagine how I felt. 1 stars
8/15/98 Johny I asked the manager for my money back after. He said no. Bastard. 1 stars
8/14/98 Pete I like Posh Spice's legs. So, sue me. 2 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} The original title was "It's Been A Hard 15 Minutes" It has. On us. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jan-1998 (PG)
  DVD: 07-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Feb-1998 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast