Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.44

Awesome74.07%
Worth A Look: 7.41%
Just Average: 11.11%
Pretty Crappy: 3.7%
Sucks: 3.7%

2 reviews, 15 user ratings



She's Having A Baby
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Carina Hoskisson

"Good mix of comedy, drama and some great cameo's in the credits"
5 stars

I'm a sucker for good John Hughes

She's Having a Baby: one of those movies that is guaranteed to make me bawl.

Centered on the relationship between Jefferson Briggs (Bacon) and Kristy (McGovern) from their wedding day till their baby is born. Its Jefferson's view that we follow, with one of my favorite Bacon performances ever, starting with he and his best friend, Davis (Baldwin), in front of the chapel on his wedding day. Jefferson is trying to decide whether to actually go through with it, without much support from Davis. Still nervous, Jefferson commits to going inside, where all his relatives and her relatives are, waiting to add the emotional baggage only parents can bring.
We follow the couple through some Grad school, her bad cooking, their first house, and their first neighbors.
I just adore this movie. There was enough reality mixed with some fun flash-ins (ala Ally McBeal) to make Kristy and Jake's relationship feel true.
I lose it everytime when they play that damn Kate Bush.

A great flick to keep your chick happy.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1064&reviewer=44
originally posted: 10/10/98 03:08:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/11/17 Anne Selby Something to look at and think about! 3 stars
7/24/06 Lilly hilarious 5 stars
12/13/05 Indrid Cold Alternatively unfunny and melodramatic, but I suppose it's not terrible. 3 stars
8/02/05 Danette kortte A true work of art..one of my favorite films of all time 5 stars
7/31/05 Jeff Anderson A wonderful change of pace from Hughes. Valerie Breiman as Baldwin's sleazy GF steals it! 5 stars
11/01/03 May Q. Horney What you guys snortin? I was never so bored in a movie before this one! 1 stars
7/19/03 Tara Martin The Best!!! 5 stars
5/30/03 Kathy Ramsey A woefully underrated, sweet, and very funny film. Don't miss the closing credits. 5 stars
5/26/03 Jack Sommersby "College is nothing but high school with ash trays". Icky film, though. 2 stars
5/26/03 Charles Tatum Very funny and McGovern is a vision 5 stars
4/14/03 ASH Excellente; magnifico bella! 5 stars
3/07/03 y2mckay Amore adult-geared John Hughes comedy. Bacon and Mcgovern make a cute couple. 4 stars
6/25/00 Joel L. What some men feel going through the early stages of marriage. 5 stars
6/16/99 Ben Walser A Very Good John Hughes Movie 4 stars
9/29/98 {{{OZ}}} Forced to watch this twice by an ex who adored it. I didn't. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1988 (PG-13)
  DVD: 21-Nov-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  John Hughes

Written by
  John Hughes

Cast
  Kevin Bacon
  Elizabeth McGovern
  Alec Baldwin
  James Ray
  Holland Taylor
  William Windom



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast