Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.77

Awesome36.36%
Worth A Look: 20.45%
Just Average: 34.09%
Pretty Crappy: 2.27%
Sucks: 6.82%

1 review, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Uncle Buck
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Is it wise to be doing that during cold and flu season?"
3 stars

Take this quarter, go downtown, and have a rat gnaw that thing off your face.

Buck Russell (John Candy) is unemployed. He's big on horse races, but he's basically good at heart. His brother-in-law asks him to housesit and babysit his kids while the brother-in-law visits a relative who's had a heart attack. Buck agrees, and spends the rest of the film trying to get the kids to like him.

Yes, it's predictable formula.

Some funny moments (Buck makes breakfast for his nephew, a breakfast comprised of huge ass pancakes) but the tone seems off a bit. The eldest daughter seems to have too big a chip on her shoulder, and the Buck seems a little too mean spirited at times. It's a family comedy (at least, it's supposed to be) but at times it seems much darker.

Candy's his usual self, but it's not enough for the movie. It's missing something, and there's not enough here to warrant a stronger recommendation.

If you think this is big, wait until you see the toast. I couldn't even get it through the door.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1065&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/19/98 11:13:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/22/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLY CUTE COMEDY 3 stars
7/07/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* This movie never gets old. John candy is the man. He is so funny. THIS MOVIE ROCKS!!! 5 stars
4/25/08 ladavies I wish I had an Uncle Buck. 5 stars
5/06/07 Burton John Candy- you were my god! 5 stars
5/16/06 Agent Sands Candy's presence is the only good thing about this otherwise shitty film. 4 stars
10/04/05 Jesse Taylor Very funny. John Candy in top notch form. 4 stars
8/25/05 ES God I miss John Candy, can we get him back for one more movie? Pretty please. . . 5 stars
5/26/05 Brendan An absolute classic. One of my Top 5! 5 stars
10/19/04 Clarance the Cobra a true classic... oh man the pancake scene 5 stars
10/17/04 Miles Morley "BUCK MELANOMA, Moldy Russels wart" 5 stars
4/07/04 eric nelson this movie is really worth a look, very funny 4 stars
2/05/04 nick Dig up the corpse of "Uncle Buck"! 4 stars
7/20/03 Evan John Candy is the best actor/comedian of all time. Uncle Buck is a classic. 5 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Do you know how reamed out an engine has to be to...! 3 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum This was one of Candy's strongest roles 5 stars
9/27/02 Tom Fleeman Only John could have saved this boring storyline. 3 stars
4/03/02 Jake This movie is so memorable! The whole family is funny. Buck fighting with Tia is great. 4 stars
4/03/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite John Candy was never more ill-used than herein and Amy Madigan is insufferable in it. 1 stars
2/25/02 Keith Loved it. Watch it still today. Some parts never get old. I 5 stars
11/26/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Is Buck a lovable softy or a cruel hunk? Confused. 3 stars
8/30/01 Ema* Coughlan The only movie i know all words to! Great value years after. 5 stars
8/29/01 KC Au Just not enough laughs. But I liked the Buck's relationship with the daughter.. 3 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat John Candy is hilarious. I love it when he teaches the teacher a lesson! His best movie! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk John Candy carries what would be an average film into the realm of comedy classic. 5 stars
5/24/01 JMB2112 In my opinion, this is one of the best one-liner flicks of all time. 5 stars
4/11/01 Andrew Carden John Candy is great as Uncle Buck. Heartwarming comedy. 4 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Saturday afternoon movie of the week, this movie has some funny moments. 3 stars
1/25/01 B. Merrick A VERY underrated comedy. 5 stars
12/06/00 Bender The comedy seems a bit gimmicky at times, but the movie is still pretty good. 3 stars
12/01/00 KING REDNECK I HATED THIS CRAP IT SUCKED REALLY BAD 1 stars
10/23/00 Brian screw u guys, this was the greatest movie 5 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne Pretty good Hughes Comedy. Not great, but pretty good. 4 stars
1/08/00 John Markham Yet another unfunny 80's "comedy".Unwatchable. 1 stars
11/25/99 Stan P Good Family movie, lots of laughs 4 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob At this point I'd give my left nut for a Hughes film THIS good, again! 3 stars
10/01/98 spork-girl pft. not funny. 2 stars
9/30/98 Johny Them were some big pancakes 4 stars
9/30/98 {{{OZ}}} Moments of humor, but this is sad cos it's where Hughes found Culkin. And a genre died. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Aug-1989 (PG)
  DVD: 30-Jun-1998

UK
  N/A (12)
  DVD: 22-Jan-2001

Australia
  21-Dec-1989


Directed by
  John Hughes

Written by
  John Hughes

Cast
  John Candy
  Jean Louisa Kelly
  Gaby Hoffman
  Macaulay Culkin
  Amy Madigan
  Elaine Bromka



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast