Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.67

Awesome80%
Worth A Look: 13.7%
Just Average: 2.59%
Pretty Crappy: 0.74%
Sucks: 2.96%

8 reviews, 222 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Leon: The Professional
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"An action packed thought provoking film."
5 stars

This is not a film for sensitive politically correct thinking people. But if you like a good film, with humor and drama, you should see this film.

“Leon The Professional” is a no holds barred action thriller about a professional hit man, euphemistically called a “cleaner.” One of his next door neighbors is twelve year old Mathilda. When her family is murdered, Leon reluctantly takes her under his protection. She asks him to train her to be a cleaner so she can take revenge on the men who murdered her family. A father-daughter (or uncle-niece) relationship develops between Leon and Mathilda.

WARNING - In order to review this film and discuss its meaning, I have to reveal the ending. So . . . if you don't want to know what happens in the end, please don't read this until after you have seen the film.

Leon is cold, brutal, efficient, and methodical in his work. In the beginning of the movie he goes about killing with such deadly force that he seems almost like an unstoppable terminator. We also see this force in the scene in the DEA building, and then in the end where it takes a whole precinct to take him out.

He is not totally cold-blooded, however. Even when he is tempted to kill Mathilda (as she would be in his way), he doesn't.

Unlike many hit men in films, Leon is more sympathetically drawn. This makes it easier for the audience to identify with him.

Leon is not a social person. He prefers living alone and is somewhat obsessive and ritualistic. He has a very strict routine which he probably has to follow in order to survive (both psychologically and physically) as a hit man. He sleeps sitting up so that he can be more alert. He tells Mathilda that he has trouble with relationships because of a woman. However, he is able to relate to children, as seen in the scene with Mathilda and the stuffed toy pig.

One could say that Leon is irresponsible as he exposes Mathilda to danger. This character flaw may be due to his isolation from the real world, and his immersion in the world of violence and killing.

Leon goes thorough a significant character arc. He begins the film unable or reluctant to care for another human being. But at the end of the film he is able to commit to a relationship with Mathilda (father/daughter – uncle/niece) and he wants to settle down and have roots. He tells Mathilda: “You’ve given me a taste for life. I wanna be happy, sleep in a bed, have roots. You’ll never be alone again Mathilda.”

Compare this to an earlier conversation Leon had with Mathilda:

Mathilda: You love your plant, don’t you?
Leon: It’s my best friend, always happy, no questions. It’s like me, you see, no roots.
Mathilda: If you really love it, you should plant it in a park so it can have roots.

In the end, Leon realizes that he needs more out of life than his job and routine. He cares for Mathilda, is willing to sacrifice himself for her, and is able to commit to another person.

This is a significant change from early in the film, when Leon did not feel that he was a fully mature person. The following dialogue shows this:

Mathilda: I finished growing up, Leon. I just got older.
Leon: For me it’s the opposite. I’m old enough. I need time to grow up.

Leon is a complex character. On the one hand, he is a cold-blooded hit man, but then he watches sentimental movies. Also, he is pessimistic, as shown in the following dialogue:

Mathilda: Is life always this hard, or is it just when you’re a kid?
Leon: Always like this.

When Leon first helps Mathilda, I’m sure some people may wonder if Leon is a potential paedophile. However, because of the way Leon behaved in the film, I felt total trust that he was not a paedophile. Leon loves Mathilda as a father or brother.

Mathilda is a normal teenager living in an abnormal situation. She is doing the typical teenage thing – rebelling and asserting her individuality. (Her smoking is an example of this.) Also, her desire to take revenge by becoming a cleaner is, in the situation, believable for a young teenager who may have poor judgement (not having the experience of more years of living).

She is bold – without any hesitation she shoots Leon’s gun out his window.

She has a crush on Leon. (This is very obvious in the beginning of the film when we see her preening herself before he comes up the stairs.)

Like many children she has the ability to take things in stride and is thus able to take the knowledge that he is a hit man very coolly.

She can manipulate situations. For example, she fills out a form to register her and Leon for a room (helping him to disguise that he can’t read), and puts another girl’s name on the form. Mathilda explains to Leon why she is doing it: “I’m putting in a name of a girl in my class who makes me sick. If things get hot, she’ll take the heat.” Also, she earlier works on Leon’s conscience when she tells him he is responsible for her life.

She is very clever. For example, she imitates several actresses when she sings in front of Leon; she apparently gives in to the boys who charge her rent, but is still able to come out ahead and put them in their place; and she is good at tailing Stansfield. However, Mathilda can make mistakes. For example, when she tries the Pizza delivery trick, she is easily found out.

By the end of the film, she has become more responsible, as shown by her going back to school voluntarily. At the school, she puts Leon’s plant in the ground. Her doing this represents her desire to have roots, (as well as symbolically showing that Leon finally has roots). She also was instrumental in bringing out Leon’s good qualities.

Tony is Leon’s mentor and employer. He is not totally loyal to Leon because, in the end, we see that he has obviously ratted on Leon. (Tony has been beaten up, and I assume the cops did it in order to get Tony to tell them where they could find Leon.)

Tony is practical and self-serving. He doesn't want or need to help Mathilda. However, he does care for Leon’s wishes as he follows through with them.

Stansfield is the antagonist. He is insane, creepy and obviously enjoys killing. At one point he says, “I take no pleasure in taking life if it’s from a person who doesn’t care about it.” He is a drug addict and always wacked out.

The story is a coming of age story. It is about the young Mathilda who helps the older Leon grow up.

The structure of the film is simple. The plot takes place over a period of about four weeks. It opens with a scene that establishes Leon’s skill. We then move to the next major part of the story which shows the development of the relationship between Leon and Mathilda and the development of Leon and Mathilda’s characters. The story then shifts to the end where Leon and the girl’s development is completed, Leon gets his revenge and Mathilda goes back to school. The film is Leon's victory as the girl survives and Stansfield is killed. (The victory is emphasized by Leon handing Stansfield the grenade ring and telling him it is from Mathilda.)

I found several problems with the plot. First, when Mathilda walks out of the school door in the end with the plant, I immediately assumed she had been thrown out of the school. (Probably because, in two earlier scenes, Mathilda and Leon were shown walking down the street with the plant after they were kicked out of their living quarters.) Secondly, there is also what I call the “anti-hero problem.” That is, in order for the audience to have sympathy for Leon, the people he kills are all bad guys. Also, part of his code is “no women, no kids,” which, I would bet, is probably not a standard code for hit men.

What is good about “Leon The Professional” is that, unlike many movies about hit men (“Grosse Point Blank,” “Whole 9 Yards,” “The Big Hit”) the film does not resort to comedy to make us accept the hit man or hit men.

Of course, hit men are not always presented sympathetically. (“Dusk till Dawn,” “Natural Born Killers,” “Pulp Fiction,” and “Chopper” are movies where I could not identify with the killers at all.)

A lot of the dialogue in “Leon The Professional” is very clever. A good example is the use of the word “serious” in the beginning of the movie:

Tonto: It’s Tonto, downstairs. There’s a guy who wants to talk to you.
Fat man: What’s he look like?
Tonto: Serious.
Leon: Tell him I’m coming up.
Tonto: He’s coming up.

The fat guy then hears a shot, and we learn that Tonto is killed downstairs. The fat guy then says to his friends, “Somebody’s coming up - somebody serious.”

One important question that I wondered about was what Tony did with Leon and Mathilda’s money.

Tony (to Mathilda): He put aside a little cash for you. So what I'm suggesting is that seein’ as you’re still so
young, I should hold the money for you until you’re older. Like a bank, you know, except it’s better than a bank ‘cause you know banks always get knocked off. No one knocks off old Tony. But it’s your money. In the meantime all you gotta do is come here every once in a while and I’ll dish it out so you can have a little fun. (He gives her one hundred dollars.)

There is good use of contrast in the film. A few examples: we see Leon's professional activities contrasted to his later domestic activities, ie., looking after the plant. We also see the contrast between Leon and Mathilda in that Leon sleeps in a chair all the time, but Mathilda sleeps in a bed.

The film makes use of symbolism. For example, the presence of evil in the film is symbolised by what I believe is an old mafioso in the background in some of Tony’s scenes; Leon’s long walk before his death at the end of the film is symbolic of the walk down death row; and when Mathilda places Leon's plant in the ground, this symbolizes that Leon and Mathilda both have found roots.

Visually, this film was exciting to watch. I particularly liked the opening shot which changed seamlessly from a helicopter shot to a crane shot.

The sound on the region one DVD was excellent. However, a director’s commentary would have been most welcome.

The film used just the right amount of humor to provide comic relief. Two excellent examples are, one, when Leon has to leave his apartment because Mathilda has shot his gun out the window, and, two, when Leon and Mathilda are evicted from his hotel room because Mathilda tells the clerk that Leon is her lover. In both cases Leon and Mathilda are shown walking down the street with his possessions and his plant. The first time they leave it is funny, but the second time we see them leaving with the plant, it is even funnier because we have already been set up for the joke the first time we saw them leaving with the plant.

I believe the theme of the film is stated by Mathilda toward the end where she says, “Nothing can stop love, Leon.”

The film shows us the dark world of the hitman. It is not a glamorous picture. Leon is poor, can’t read, has no possessions, has someone else manage his money, and, when we meet him, he is lonely and alone. Certainly not like James Bond.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1068&reviewer=228
originally posted: 11/21/01 08:04:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

5/28/16 Mark Louis Baumgart Absolutely fucking fanatastic, a classic in all ways 5 stars
12/22/15 Anne action fantasy could be great 2 stars
4/17/15 stanley welles brilliant, touching and confronting 5 stars
3/21/15 greg davidson LOL only retarded people gave this crap 5 stars 1 stars
2/27/15 ewoks top 50?????? no just no 1 stars
2/27/15 michael idiot film 1 stars
2/19/15 Chris Jarmick disturbing and a great action flick 4 stars
8/08/14 rain Powerful 5 stars
9/08/13 gene kelly awesome fucking movie, the sarcasm of this bullshit review notwithstanding 5 stars
3/17/13 iDub Excellent movie 5 stars
12/06/12 jimmy I must see this 5 stars
10/02/12 Frank Great. 5 stars
5/24/11 ruth total crap 1 stars
9/24/10 Catriona Nicol amazing film. i think you completely miss the point about oldman. he is fantastic as usual 5 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King A strange film whose popularity baffles me. 1 stars
6/07/10 Hannah this is an amazing film in every way and will always be a favourite 5 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT INVOLVING BUT PREDICTABLE 2 stars
2/06/10 art this was PORTMAN"S BEST!,her worst was AN EXOTIC DANCER in CLOSER! 3 stars
1/28/10 Jeff Wilder Stands totally on its own and does quite well. 5 stars
7/23/09 Steven M Gary Oldman's best film! great acting by all! plenty of good action scenes!! worth watching 4 stars
4/09/09 K. Sear And excellent and stylish piece of work (see the long version). 5 stars
9/22/08 don Crap 1 stars
7/29/08 the dork knight Portman will never make a better movie than this one 4 stars
5/11/08 oliberg Saw it yesterday, The story was AWESOME!!!! 5 stars
2/25/08 pkr the only role of nat portman, where i can love her acting. 4 stars
12/12/07 davidbobo20 Best action movie ever! Way better than Pulp Fiction! 5 stars
11/20/07 Anette Jean Reno is a very subtle actor, he has done a brethless interpretation of his part. 5 stars
10/27/07 Rick What is leons plant? 5 stars
5/03/07 Mark Davids Stuuning, Just stunning! There are no words to descirbe what an emotional enthrawling film! 5 stars
4/11/07 °è¿ø THE best, most emotional movie ever watched!!!! Finally found my favorite!!! 5 stars
4/07/07 Zinah The movie was a blast. It was truly emotianol 5 stars
2/13/07 Double M Brilliant story, acting and directing. Oldman is 1 psychotic, scary, hilarious (!) *beep* 5 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca Brilliant, sexy, full of bullets. This is a classic film. 5 stars
2/07/07 David Pollastrini great early performance from Portman 4 stars
1/10/07 Atomix(1337) Absolutely legendary. The sexual static between Leon and Natalie only built intensity.GODLY 5 stars
12/25/06 johnnyfog Oldman is just pure fucking psycho. Almost shoots the old lady!! Legendary movie 5 stars
12/21/06 gemma excellent tesis 5 stars
11/21/06 M.Baratipour The best cleaner 5 stars
10/30/06 Karen Great film that connects personalities from different ages/spaces nicely. Great performance 5 stars
10/25/06 fds fuckin awesome! SEE IT 5 stars
8/10/06 Sepi53 terrific 5 stars
5/30/06 Maka Natalie 5 stars
5/11/06 SpyV Excellent characters, sexual innuendo a little uncomfortable, but A+ finale! 4 stars
5/05/06 MP Bartley Superb stuff - Reno and Portman are heartbreakingly good. 5 stars
5/04/06 dionwr Reno is awesome, movie is only okay 4 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Where have you gone, Luc Besson? 5 stars
5/02/06 William Goss Jean Reno breathing = Jean Reno kicking ass = goodness 5 stars
5/01/06 David Cornelius Jean Reno kicking ass = goodness 5 stars
5/01/06 HBS-SH cold war kids 5 stars
4/25/06 Agent Sands Possibly the only truly good work Luc Besson has ever done. 5 stars
4/23/06 Aldo best hitman based film...kickass ending 4 stars
3/21/06 Gray kickass 5 stars
3/10/06 Indrid Cold Highly entertaining, fantastic acting, surprisingly heartwarming and affecting. 5 stars
2/27/06 I dig Flicks righteously bad-ass 5 stars
2/10/06 G beats the crap out of Godfather 5 stars
2/06/06 Michael A story with no point, but lots of action with a few laughs. 3 stars
1/04/06 me beautiful 5 stars
12/23/05 Denis DellaLoggia Absolutely the best, after ten years, no other movie comes to my mind so often, Natalie * 5 stars
12/15/05 Rami Michael A new style action movie with a great soundtrack 5 stars
12/05/05 Gene Carmean Worth seeing 4 stars
11/04/05 Furby One of the best movies I have ever seen 5 stars
10/24/05 Vladimir magical 5 stars
10/21/05 WQ the best modern movie, my all time favourite. you'll regret if u havent seen it 5 stars
10/12/05 alper wonderfull and best in its section 5 stars
10/09/05 Agent Sands Undeniably Luc Besson's best movie. 5 stars
9/18/05 Robs Favourite film of all time. Just watch it now. 5 stars
8/24/05 harman hogir 5 stars
8/11/05 ES Jean Reno and Gary Oldman = Best assassin movie ever filmed 5 stars
8/03/05 ^podo incredible.... 5 stars
7/02/05 Eddie The best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/14/05 Indrid Cold Unusual mix of intimate drama and stylish action, quite juicy and entertaining. 4 stars
4/19/05 Hilda Love this movie. Very touching. Has perfect amount of action, drama, and comedy. 5 stars
4/13/05 Frenzy Relaxed end cool 5 stars
4/07/05 Heather this movie was the most amazing movie i have ever seen 5 stars
3/13/05 G-Man totally awesome 5 stars
3/08/05 Los Daddy This is what acting in an action movie should be like. I bought a plant after seeing this! 5 stars
3/06/05 Daveman Won't lose mainstream attention spans, won't disgust European film enthusiasts. 4 stars
2/27/05 mike great 5 stars
1/12/05 Tom Benton At the top of my "best films" list; Reno is great; I've never cared about characters more! 5 stars
1/05/05 Rick Poignant and exciting 5 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams jeez..Natalie's best movie 5 stars
12/01/04 Al Guy A great movie. 5 stars
11/26/04 Emperor's New Clothes Like aww. Whoever knew murderers could be so sweet? 5 stars
11/24/04 Gray great film 5 stars
11/13/04 Jack Sommersby "What do you mean 'everyone'?" "Eeeeeeeeveryyyyone!" 4 stars
11/02/04 Stevo I don't think this ,movie truly deserves this much credit. I mean, it's just OK 4 stars
10/26/04 Mark Simko Incredible emotion and loyalty within violent context 5 stars
9/15/04 Doc Shock Love this flick! 5 stars
8/16/04 Herolder A must see 5 stars
8/06/04 Monty The director was really connected...wow 5 stars
7/31/04 Elizabeth Absolutely Terrific Film 5 stars
7/17/04 legend A wonderful blend of drama and action. Should be a must see. 5 stars
7/16/04 Raymond Lee great movie. Love it. 5 stars
6/15/04 Killah Very Entertaing movie,if you haven't so it you should make plans to do so. 5 stars
5/07/04 James Escobar This movie kicked so much ass, I couldn't help hoping for a sequel. 5 stars
5/06/04 Nicole Pretty gory at times, but also very touching 5 stars
4/21/04 Shoegazer Cochise: In the original screenplay Mathilda (14/15)an Leon (30s) had sex. Still, Awesome. 5 stars
4/18/04 jack m. harsh and gritty,with great dialog and image. full of sexual taboo 5 stars
4/01/04 snow Superb.....no words.... 5 stars
2/24/04 AJ Real Pofessional....The best Luc Besson... 5 stars
2/09/04 john a bit far fetched at times but has wonderful moments 4 stars
2/09/04 patrick herbert paul;@zippo 4 stars
2/06/04 Mikey T A bit far out; and disturbing...... Very Good, though. 4 stars
2/03/04 Veronica made me cry! must see!!! 5 stars
1/26/04 Ultron Eh 3 stars
1/24/04 CC Quiet.....Shhhhh 5 stars
11/03/03 Sammy Best Jeon Reno movie. 5 stars
10/13/03 I Would Great film although not as good as The Killer and Oldman comes off as a laughable cliche. 4 stars
9/28/03 Harry The quintessential character development film. Unparalleled in execution! 5 stars
9/27/03 Gray best non porno frence style film ever 5 stars
7/24/03 Ron My favorite movie & best debut ever (Portman's) 5 stars
7/07/03 BadSwitch top notch 5 stars
7/06/03 Nicole do i even need to say anything? For gods sack man WATCH IT! 5 stars
7/06/03 Zelemont This movie was great. Amazingly great. 5 stars
7/06/03 Brian I love Mathilda. 5 stars
7/06/03 john_cord Choppy and monotonous. 1 stars
7/01/03 22 Bo Mo So Do j'aime beaucoup! 5 stars
6/23/03 Pete B excellent film but not for those who cant spell their own name 5 stars
6/19/03 Sammy Besson's best! Watch it over and over and..... 5 stars
6/07/03 InDenZ Slick, well paced and exciting 5 stars
6/06/03 ThisIsMOC Awsome. Great film. 5 stars
5/29/03 Kelli Awesome 5 stars
5/27/03 Andrew Carden Sappy & Overlong Drama Has Amazing Performances, but Is Too Contrived. 3 stars
5/19/03 Neo Fucking awesome. 5 stars
4/22/03 Peecmp Awesome, one of my favorite movies!!! 5 stars
4/11/03 Lozef Cepela In one word, it is interesting film from hand Luc Besson. It is best fim from all. 5 stars
4/09/03 Kelli Great acting 5 stars
3/11/03 Peeb Truly original in almost every way! It's a "must see" 5 stars
3/09/03 Nicole Pretty great movie 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Overlong and episodic, but the bravura action is unrivaled. Oldman is outstanding! 4 stars
2/28/03 k otto A film of lasting impacts 5 stars
2/24/03 Josh Really love it....I walk around carrying aplant now... 5 stars
2/18/03 Kyle Good movie. 5 stars
2/09/03 Jordi One of the best film I have ever seen. 5 stars
2/09/03 seldom scene perfect film 5 stars
1/28/03 wintermute Gotta Love Lolita's 4 stars
1/27/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer In my top 5 of all time. 5 stars
1/02/03 Getchell Awsome! And I only saw the USA (cut) version 5 stars
12/20/02 Ronny Is and will always be my favorite movie 5 stars
12/13/02 Michael Scaffidi Best Movie I've ever seen 5 stars
11/29/02 the 1st stoner of the apocolypse beutiful violence 5 stars
11/27/02 Kelli okay 4 stars
11/24/02 Mason I hated it, i got the urge to vomit a few times 1 stars
11/20/02 Bill Amazing, this movie has everything! 5 stars
11/08/02 R.Carr one of the best films i have seen.............ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
8/28/02 Hessian Besson at his best. 5 stars
6/18/02 Roy Smith Oldman, Portman, Reno, Besson, Perfection. 5 stars
5/24/02 Charles Tatum An action filled character study?? 4 stars
5/20/02 Veronica Foxx Probably one of the best movies I've seen. Not much in the way of action but I was hooked. 5 stars
4/07/02 stoolie-bird gary oldman is the shit.... 4 stars
4/03/02 Dave MacDougall anything with gary oldman is worth seeing 4 stars
2/17/02 Clarance Tough movie...goddamn/ Great performances and plot twists 3 stars
2/04/02 ronny best film ever 5 stars
1/31/02 Alex badass movie 5 stars
1/30/02 Doug HBS seems to love it, but i dont. Portman was good though. 3 stars
1/20/02 Frenchie Strong, solid film. 4 stars
1/05/02 Magnum Craphole Pretty good but very overrated on this site. Oldman was great, though. 4 stars
1/04/02 Math & Metal Most violent movie that you still might get away with on a date :) Excellent! 5 stars
12/21/01 Neil It's really an excellent movie 5 stars
11/18/01 LIAM JACKSON THIS MOVIE IS OUTSTANDING.EXCELLENT.ONE THE BEST ACTION FLICKS I'VE EVER SEEN. VERY GOOD. 5 stars
10/24/01 Karen Davis It was an exellent movie 5 stars
8/26/01 Christina The US version was very good but the international version is AMAZING. 5 stars
8/19/01 Dakamus Just.... fuckin' brilliant. 5 stars
8/16/01 Obi Wan Loved the DVD. This movie still packs a punch. 4 stars
8/06/01 daniel scene at the end where aiello yells at portman and she looks up at him, starts to cry- WOW. 5 stars
7/28/01 JesseL He was more believable in Godzilla - a hitman with a heart, how moving. 4 stars
7/27/01 Kelly Messenger Get the DVD version--has over 20 minutes of deleted scenes put back into the movie 5 stars
7/10/01 Roy Smith Hey Hollywood! Study this movie to see how it's done! 5 stars
6/16/01 Gaza The best film in the world 5 stars
6/09/01 Ben My favorite movie of all time. the beginning sucks though. 5 stars
5/13/01 John D. Rockefeller portman's best performance 5 stars
5/07/01 Desert Eagle a modern classic 5 stars
3/29/01 BART 8 out of 10; good 4 stars
3/27/01 Matthew Bartley Brilliance 5 stars
3/22/01 eazy e awsome must watch movie best line I HAVNT GOT TIME FOR THIS MICKY MOUSE BULLSHIT!!!!! 5 stars
2/26/01 Rune Kebab Kicks major Hollywood ass! 5 stars
2/25/01 skye cool 4 stars
2/25/01 DREDD Gary Oldman's best line "Tell them we were doing our job." 5 stars
2/23/01 protokol speechless 5 stars
2/10/01 The Deep Phantom The Best movie ever created. Natalie and Reno are UNREAL! 5 stars
2/05/01 Fenchie especially good considering its all french 5 stars
10/08/00 ricksung the file can make you cry 5 stars
9/19/00 Jeff slick and stylish 4 stars
8/23/00 Arjan Boekel A film that really moves you. 5 stars
8/21/00 Krang Apart from Star Wars this is the best hollywood movie ever made. 5 stars
5/26/00 The Bomb 69 portman is THE actress of her generation 5 stars
5/02/00 Mortis This film is so incredible , that words cannot describe its splendor! 5 stars
4/17/00 Nez Procter A masterpiece - Reno is superb 5 stars
4/02/00 G. Morgan Superb! Genius! Breathtaking! 5 stars
2/14/00 genevie if you REALLY understand the movie, you'd know it's about a love story caught in....reality 5 stars
1/10/00 Howie Eric Serra(music composer) will make you love this movie. 5 stars
12/25/99 Fortune This movie is ----> 5 stars
12/10/99 Kenton R. Riley Drop dead gorgeous cinematography, disturbing sexuality. Perfect cast. 5 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie "I like these calm little moments before the storm..." Brilliant, Brilliant. 5 stars
11/30/99 Fenris My mouth hung open from beginning to end 5 stars
11/16/99 Don Valdez One of the movie industry's best kept secret. 5 stars
10/28/99 ChuckEye Besson's best yet! 5 stars
8/26/99 FC Incredible. 5 stars
8/26/99 Azimat Storyline and characters is good. but there should have been more action 4 stars
8/23/99 Jeyatheepan Jeyabalan character, storyline and cinematography play together in one glorious symphony 5 stars
8/15/99 Gavin Ferguson An instant classic! A shame so many Americans missed it. 5 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK Reno/Portman/Oldman. 3 awsome performances. A classic, but I still like La Femme better.. 5 stars
7/06/99 The Bomb 69 ending was awesome but bittersweet 5 stars
6/16/99 Mr. Purple Fucking Awesome 5 stars
5/13/99 dbx mmmmmm action..... mmmmmm acting.... *drool* 5 stars
5/12/99 Benny Gordon Absolutely incredible. It will stay on your mind for weeks after you view this film. 5 stars
5/11/99 Robert Williams Unbelievable. Engrossing and compelling. Never loses its way and clutches your heart 5 stars
4/20/99 lucas jackson a fucking great movie,every body did a great fucking acting job 5 stars
2/19/99 Piz What fun! Reno is so cool, blistering finale..one of my sentimental faves. 5 stars
1/24/99 donkey_dew A Kick Ass Of A Movie.. 5 stars
12/07/98 Binky An awesome film that every film fan should find ASAP. Just superb. 5 stars
11/16/98 Jeff C. BEAUTIFUL See it tonight Really I mean that 5 stars
11/12/98 Jules La Femme Lolita 3 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce A tremedous piece of film. Beautifully brutal. 5 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob A vision of gentle brutality, and exchange rate family values! Beauty as a Beast! 5 stars
10/27/98 bizzy wonderful 5 stars
10/22/98 Joseph O'Brien A Five Star unforgettably beautiful film. Ms. Portman is a great actress. 5 stars
10/07/98 Maegs Beautiful piece of work. 5 stars
10/04/98 Negative Creep This movie changed my view of action cinema. I love it. Action films dont have to be "dumb" 5 stars
10/02/98 CaptNish Two words.....Natalie Portman....mmmm... 5 stars
10/01/98 spork-girl truly a good, entertaining movie. 5 stars
10/01/98 {{{OZ}}} Three words. Suck this, Hollywood. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Nov-1994 (R)
  DVD: 11-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1995 (MA)


Directed by
  Luc Besson

Written by
  Luc Besson

Cast
  Jean Reno
  Natalie Portman
  Gary Oldman
  Danny Aiello
  Peter Appel
  Ellen Greene



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast