Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.45

Awesome: 6.98%
Worth A Look: 17.44%
Just Average: 23.26%
Pretty Crappy: 18.6%
Sucks33.72%

7 reviews, 44 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Forgotten, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Forgotten, eh? And with good reason!"
3 stars

"The Forgotten" is the sort of movie where, once you learn what's really going on, you realize you liked it better when you didn't know. The facts of the movie are so silly, and so full of plot holes, that it takes all the fun out of it.

If you've seen one episode of "The X-Files," you've seen most of this movie. If you've seen multiple episodes, you know every plot twist in this movie. If you've seen every episode, you could write this movie.

Point of fact, it was written by one Gerald Di Pego, who also wrote the Jennifer Lopez drama "Angel Eyes." It's interesting to note that while "Angel Eyes" seemed like it was going to be supernatural but turned out to be quite ordinary, "The Forgotten" does exactly the opposite. It starts out like a fascinating psychological thriller but then becomes ... well, "The X-Files."

My beloved Julianne Moore, who will one day consent to marry me, plays Telly Paretta, an upper-class Brooklyn woman who is mourning the death of her 9-year-old son Sam 14 months ago. Sam and five other children died in a chartered-plane crash on the way to summer camp, and now Telly occasionally runs into the father of one of the other victims, Ash Correll (Dominic West), a former hockey player who has taken up drinking as his new profession.

The problem, as stated by Telly's husband Jim (Anthony Edwards) and her psychiatrist Dr. Munce (Gary Sinise), is that Telly never had a son. She gave birth 10 years ago, but the baby was stillborn. The child's life and subsequent death in the plane crash were all imagined by Telly and put up with by her long-suffering husband. Telly is what we call "crazy."

She begins to have a breakthrough, however, as evidence around the house starts changing. A photograph of her, Jim and Sam becomes one of just her and Jim. A photo album becomes blank. Jim and Munce believe she is starting to see reality. Telly believes NOW is when she's going insane, and she doesn't understand why no one around her remembers her son.

Ash Correll doesn't remember his daughter, either, until Telly forces him to and the floodgates open. Why has everyone else forgotten? Why did Ash forget until Telly reminded him? Or are they both really crazy?

That's when government agents appear on the scene. I can't tell you anything after that, except to say that I like Alfre Woodard a lot, and she plays a police detective. But that's it. My lips are sealed beyond that.

Director Joseph Ruben has given us some enjoyably schlocky fare in the past -- "Sleeping with the Enemy," "The Good Son," "Money Train" -- and "The Forgotten" almost achieves that level of preposterous fun, and it does have a few genuinely startling moments. Unfortunately, it's the kind of absurd story that can only work if it's done very, very seriously. If the movie ever cracked a smile, it wouldn't be able to stop itself from laughing, and the whole thing would be ruined.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=10796&reviewer=247
originally posted: 09/24/04 22:42:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell it sucks u will forget it fast 1 stars
7/08/09 cialis ilman reseptiä iTtHDM vozixzjp wowfhhdo drqkbquf 2 stars
11/23/08 Andrew Silly Silly Mess .. Utterly incoherent crap!!!! 1 stars
5/21/08 Keith I'm no film critic, but this is garbage, used to start bumfires,$42 mil budget,im disgusted 1 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT A GENUINE SPELLBINDER WITH THE POWER TO SUCK YOU RIGHT OUT OF YOUR SEAT 4 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini I saw it and have no memory of it. must have sucked 1 stars
2/15/07 Jenni Horrible, horrible, horrible! 1 stars
12/04/06 Stanley Thai A good film, no matter how rediculous it got. 4 stars
6/29/06 MP Bartley Very strange, and brave to keep this strangeness til the end, with no pat answers. 3 stars
6/08/06 Frank Rountree Just another movie to escape into for a brief time, it was fair 3 stars
5/07/06 Jim One would think advanced beings could come up with better experiments. 2 stars
10/21/05 Bad Critic Aliens suck! There was a pretty cool car crash, though. 2 stars
9/01/05 Tom Burns The movie had some very shocking parts for first time viewers of the film. 4 stars
8/18/05 ES boring, confusing, silly, irrelevant. I could go on . . . 2 stars
8/01/05 Taylor Fladgate Where did all those airborne people go??? 4 stars
7/17/05 Littlepurch Not perfect but really enjoyed it. Scary, mysterious and suspenseful. 4 stars
5/07/05 Valerie Sort of Scifi, but pretty interesting 4 stars
4/24/05 Quigley pretty great scares but way too predictable with horrid acting and bullet hole-ridden plot 3 stars
4/09/05 indrid cold A good movie about aliens is very rare. See "Close Encounters of the Third Kind." 2 stars
3/19/05 Dick Grill Incredibly bad. 1 stars
2/28/05 Sum Yung Guy Uh, Aliens? OK, sure, whatever. Should have locked her up in the end. . . 3 stars
2/17/05 Dan Great ass movie, kind of predictable though. 5 stars
2/06/05 ELI Didn't make much sense...it was...odd. ending did suck though 3 stars
2/04/05 Valerie White not bad/not great 3 stars
2/02/05 haha makes me want to rape a captured monkey, and have an aids fag suck my shitty dick, peace! 4 stars
1/29/05 jj This is an excellent emotional sci-fi thriller!!! 5 stars
1/23/05 Darryl Just an okay film. Agree with everyone who thinks the ending is stupid! 3 stars
1/22/05 jeff good story line but horrible ending. 2 stars
1/21/05 Tjalda L. Schiel No charisma between any of the actors. Lousy ending. Bad, bad, bad. 1 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson A BIG SURPRISE! Thrilling and Joseph Ruben's best film since THE STEPFATHER 5 stars
12/30/04 Jenna Furr Suspenseful promise falls apart after JM's hands don't bleed when she falls on glass shards 2 stars
12/01/04 Tom Not brilliant but good enough 4 stars
11/07/04 Christian lady REALLY GREAT, I JUMPED OUT OF MY SEAT 3 TIMES--GREAT SPECIAL EFFECTS!! WOW!! 5 stars
10/27/04 Kathleen Fantastic writting and acting. Interesting story line. Everyone loved it! 5 stars
10/03/04 T Money ... I ALMOST forgot that this movie sucked 1 stars
9/29/04 Katheryn Gaping plot holes, ludicrous ending, don't bother 2 stars
9/29/04 Kevin After "Laws of Attraction" and this, Julianne Moore needs to fire her agent. 1 stars
9/28/04 C. Cunningham It had such a switch in genre that it sort of bothered me. 3 stars
9/27/04 Shten A shocking, engrossing tale 5 stars
9/26/04 Elizabeth Very hokey, and gets more and more ludicrous. 2 stars
9/26/04 Coolhand Save $8 and watch 2 episodes of X-files and one episode of Millenium... 2 stars
9/25/04 Naka No. 1 stars
9/24/04 Kris what? oh I'm reviewing this? I forgot. 1 stars
9/22/04 el burro Worth eight bucks. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Sep-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Nov-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast