Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.57

Awesome34.04%
Worth A Look34.04%
Just Average: 6.38%
Pretty Crappy: 6.38%
Sucks: 19.15%

2 reviews, 82 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Red Dawn (1984)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Eew. He pissed in the radiator."
4 stars

And you thought Armageddon was full of rah-rah patriotism.

This is probably one of the most underrated films of the 1980's, and certainly one of the more underrated of the war genre.

Guerrillas from Central America (and ultimately a cold war-era Russia) arrive in the U.S. with a massive invasion force. It's World War Three, and there's only one group of people who can save us:

The Brat Pack.

A handful of high school kids go on the run, deciding to wait things out in the mountains, but end up becoming an American guerrilla force (calling themselves "Wolverines"), starting off with plain old hunting rifles and ending up with machine guns and rocket launchers when it's all said and done.

I can't help myself. Whenever this movie shows up on television (lately it's once a week on any given Ted Turner-owned station), I'll watch it. There's something about seeing Patrick Swayze, Lea Thompson, Jennifer Gray and C. Thomas Howell joining Powers Boothe to kick some Commie butt.

It's actually a pretty good drama, well worth the rent.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1081&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/02/98 09:16:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/09/13 mr.mike Was "no bad". 4 stars
10/28/12 Dave Smith Does not stand up to the test of time, and wasn't that good back then. 2 stars
7/23/12 keri a very good movie with awesome actors patrick, jennifer, charlie& etc, entertaining! 4 stars
12/13/11 PAUL SHORTT VIOLENT TEENAGE NONSENSE 1 stars
8/07/11 Jeff Wilder Dated and extremely jingoistic. But an interesting piece of what might've been. 3 stars
5/22/11 Andy Best movie about war survival ever make. This could happen in any place. 4 stars
2/07/09 Jeremy Freedman I liked the movie, in spite of its flaws. It got poor reviews cause of leftwing critcs 3 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White The new American Revolution it can happen 5 stars
7/06/07 Aaron It was great in 1984; it's even better today! Long live the US and A! Better dead than red! 5 stars
7/04/07 R.W. Welch Preposterous, but undeniably entertaining. 4 stars
4/19/07 DALLAS GREAT ACTORS. GREAT SCRIPT> GREAT MOVIE!LOTS OF ACTION! 5 stars
3/10/07 Roy F. Moore Could have used better dialogue, but a great film nonetheless. 5 stars
11/05/06 David Pollastrini THE EXECUTION SCENE IS DISTURBING 5 stars
10/15/06 JM Synth Unbelievable, Idiotic, Fascistic and worst of all Boring! Good start though 2 stars
8/28/06 mike hunt magnificent! loved it and my family are all comunists 5 stars
8/22/06 David Cohen Reagan era pipe dream, silly, dated and filled with phony sentiment 2 stars
5/28/06 Troy M. Grzych I wanna be a Wolverine...as long as I don't get shot by a commie in the end. 5 stars
5/05/06 dionwr Crap froma diseased mind 2 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Nobody puts America in a corner. 4 stars
5/02/06 William Goss Haven't seen it. 3 stars
5/01/06 David Cornelius WOLVERINES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
5/01/06 HBS-SH nice stems 4 stars
12/30/05 P.Rodriguez absolute shite 1 stars
8/11/05 ES Damn those ruskies! Up with the Wolverines! 4 stars
2/04/05 Jeff Anderson Say what you will about this film, it's the most accurate guerrilla war film I've ever seen 5 stars
12/18/04 Dave Hilariously stupid movie 1 stars
9/22/04 Dan Good ass movie man, really seemed accurate. The story is awesome. 5 stars
7/11/04 g rox 5 stars
4/19/04 Adam Patriotic Classic 5 stars
2/09/04 JohnnyC Classic, everyone should see it 5 stars
11/29/03 john "V" with evil Russians -intriguing concept but it goes absolutely nowhere - good music 3 stars
10/19/03 mflan this was movie is just on big turd 1 stars
3/30/03 D R The RPG's are so cool... Great special effects for a film this old 5 stars
1/30/03 Sugarfoot RED DAWN is more like BROWN SHIT! 1 stars
12/30/02 SerpentX Fortunately for the cast, MST3K never got around to this one. 1 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Pointless exercise in blowing stuff up 1 stars
6/04/02 Elmo Fucking Funny Mate!!!!!!!! 1 stars
5/29/02 for me to know and u to find out TOTAL BS!! (bull ####) 1 stars
5/24/02 Punchy and Blondi soooo boring DONT watch it 1 stars
4/24/02 In love with jennifer grey In love with jennifer grey 5 stars
4/05/02 Justin So fucking good! 5 stars
12/24/01 ryan great 5 stars
8/23/01 Markus Funny since the US is on the losing side. Stupid fucking Americans! 1 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Disturbing. Relentless. Violent. Red Dawn is the ultimate 'what if' for a frightened decade 5 stars
6/05/01 John Doe III good movie 5 stars
5/30/01 Mr. Itchy Dirtybutt I loved the idea of hiding in the woods, sneaking around and shooting the bad guys! 5 stars
5/26/01 Erik North Hysterical and utterly phony Red-baiting movie from Red-baiter extraordinnaire John Milius 2 stars
5/16/01 openface I have several degrees and varying levels of play! 4 stars
5/13/01 Evie Thought Provoking, speaks of the loss of innocence 4 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart Loved this movie, but it won't be for everyone. 4 stars
5/03/01 kimwillus great movie 5 stars
3/27/01 Al Stuart OK as an action film, but premise is laughably silly 3 stars
3/04/01 fernando (enriques brother) nice language enrique-next time make up a name 3 stars
2/25/01 Shelley Great movie... where did Darren Dalton go to??? 4 stars
2/09/01 LENNY I dont walk out of movies but for this I made an exception 1 stars
1/13/01 The Jackal THIS MOVIE FUCKING ROCKS!!! Nothing like watching Commies being blown away with RPG-7's!!! 5 stars
12/02/00 Enrique Arce-Larreta What a piece of shit 1 stars
11/29/00 Eric M Good Genra, interesting, woulden't mind seeing it remade in todays market to be honest! 5 stars
10/19/00 MikeRambo Fun crap. Loved this film when i was 14. 4 stars
10/16/00 hardcorps one six vive la republique;no time for sunshine patriots 5 stars
9/08/00 knutmo Beyond stupid! 1 stars
8/23/00 Mark Williams Corny acting but still a very watchable movie with some neat battle scenes 4 stars
6/13/00 Captain America Very Patriotic film. The slackers out there should remember that freedom isn't free. 5 stars
6/10/00 Gun Boy Great weapons scenes, fun, war, the whole thing 5 stars
5/22/00 Jeff Vorndam ludicrous, but fun nonetheless 4 stars
5/08/00 WOLVERINE! What's the matter, you Al Gore girlie men mad because a film showed us winning? 5 stars
4/06/00 SID What the fuck was THIS shit? 1 stars
3/23/00 David Rogers I didn't see the movie. I wanted Rodan! This made me angry! 1 stars
1/26/00 Ryan Blake this Movie is the best. It is a great Drama and a great war movie that is very original 5 stars
12/06/99 George It will make you think of what will you do if we are attacked by a foreign country. 4 stars
11/30/99 Michael Lancaster Ragta group of teens with unbelieveably endless supply of ammo get caught in World War III 2 stars
11/23/99 Gene W. Smith Milius is more paranoid and kooky than Stone 1 stars
10/10/99 Weird Andy I was rooting for the commies. 1 stars
9/21/99 judy@cswnet.com I can watch it over & over. It's a classic; underdog beating the bad guys! Go, Wolverines! 5 stars
8/24/99 Jeff Chan What's it like to be invaded by commies? 5 stars
6/24/99 john freeman one of the greatest war movies of all time 5 stars
6/16/99 Sean Swayze and Grey in the anti-Dirty Dancing 80s classic 4 stars
11/16/98 Jules Great concept, well executed, never boring. Brats do good job too. 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Aside from being ridiculous, this is THE pre-'Top Gun' 80's propaganda flick! 4 stars
10/04/98 Negative Creep WOLVERINES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/02/98 CaptNish Makes you wanna go out and kill a russian! 4 stars
10/01/98 {{{OZ}}} Great 80's cast, great 80's movie. Kill the reds!!! Fuck the commies!! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jun-1984 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Dec-1984




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast