Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.22

Awesome73.17%
Worth A Look: 4.88%
Just Average: 7.32%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 14.63%

1 review, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Big Blue, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"A masterstroke of film making."
5 stars

One of the best films ever made.

Imagine the sheer epic beauty of the cinematography in Laurence of Arabia, swap the sand for sea and you see a beautiful sight.
This film has one of the greatest 'looks' I have ever seen.
The story here is not really of amazing importance, but that is down to the factthat this is a film about love, obsession and beauty.
Luc Bessons directing is beyond belief. This man should have won oscars!
Acting wise, everything is top notch. Jean Marc Barr in his English speaking debut is phenomenal as Jacques, a dolphin lover who is in a championship sport of free diving (Diving far far down in the ocean without an air pack). Jean Reno (YES!) is excellent as his friend and competitor, and Roseanne Arquette is very impressive in her role as the love interest.
Basically this film is so emotional, I have seen hardened men sobbing and wailing. This film is pure beauty on screen.
Also what I must state her is that it contains THE greatest score in HISTORY. Erric Serra outdoes himself (which is hard) and gives this already powerful film an extra backbone!

Also you must try to view the Version Longue Directors Cut which runs about an hour longer, (partly in french) it makes the characters even more 3 dimensional (if possible). But if not settle for the normal one, it is still a masterstroke of film making.

Just see it... It is wonderful

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1086&reviewer=23
originally posted: 10/01/98 11:54:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/17/13 PAUL SHORTT DISAPPOINTINGLY OVERBLOWN AND OVERLONG 1 stars
8/19/05 ES All about people without direction, one of whom loves dolphins more than his woman 1 stars
11/10/04 gypsysea Amazing...and cheesy...Thanks to Cameron or I would not have ever seen it....Hugs from Mel! 5 stars
10/23/04 Vince A fantastic achievement. An unforgettable experience. 5 stars
8/11/04 michal wow 5 stars
3/21/04 May Q. Horney Can you all be talking about the same "THE BIG BLUE" that I saw? Interminable boredom! 1 stars
6/23/03 Farzan Enchanting!!! 5 stars
4/07/03 sea|bird how can i keep breathing this air up here? 5 stars
10/04/02 Monster W. Kung Horrendous! Not enough scenery, pathetic love story, cliches, cliches, cliches. Awful. 1 stars
7/11/02 John Manzo Amazing 4 stars
3/01/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst When you've seen one of its dives, you've seen 'em all! 1 stars
12/28/01 Mark Its just one of those films i have to watch over again, and would love to retire to one day 5 stars
5/06/01 Sblymnl Crymnl over rated 3 stars
4/26/01 caren george most beautiful images i have ever seen 5 stars
4/22/01 Kim Oliver My favourite film- this film touches some people 5 stars
4/17/01 Marissa Jean-Marc Barr is even better in the movie"Europa" 5 stars
3/24/01 Rudi le Roux What are we doing up here? 5 stars
3/12/01 Jacqueline Andrews This movie is EXCELLENT! Pure perfection! 5 stars
3/02/01 lola So beautiful, every time I watch it makes it feel like the first time. Perfection 5 stars
2/27/01 Anna This movies is excellent , is original very, very good!!!!! 5 stars
2/05/01 grandslam king not as good aas the professional 1 stars
1/28/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Some of its elements are timeless, others are dated; but it is definitely a classic. 5 stars
1/26/01 Boris Wiedenfeld doesn't get better than this 5 stars
1/22/01 Cat I am so in love with Jean-Marc Barr. I have seen this film at least 10 times. He is so sexy 5 stars
1/19/01 CCB phenomenal 5 stars
10/24/00 Terrie Smith Cinematography is superb. Arquette is irritating but Reno gives a good performance. 3 stars
10/20/00 humberto the best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
7/17/00 Steven Woods An all-time favorite - also: August DVD release of long version by Columbia Tri-Star! 5 stars
5/08/00 Veronica Ginzel I cannot forget it, its a beutiful and sometimes fun. 5 stars
4/07/00 Mikko Ruostila Irritating, underestimates intelligent audience. Professionals taking beutiful pictures. 3 stars
3/24/00 kaspina I love it!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/28/00 haris aposporis the mediterranean sea in all its beauty, this ain't no movie its like a work of art. 5 stars
7/29/99 David Dahan Unforgettable. A well-made film from start to finish. 5 stars
6/21/99 Luis Peres The greatest movie of all time ! 5 stars
11/17/98 Jules Decidedly european in it's naivitee and coolness. Arquette's character almost ruined it tho 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jun-1988 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast