Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.59

Awesome80.85%
Worth A Look: 9.93%
Just Average: 2.13%
Pretty Crappy: 1.42%
Sucks: 5.67%

5 reviews, 111 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Evil Dead 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"SO SEE IT! It isn't scary, it bloody funny"
5 stars

Now, this is one cool ride.

Evil Dead... a classic horror. Cheap, funny, gory, badly acted.

When its a sucess and more money gets flung at you to make a sequal. What do you do? Well in Sam Raimi's case he did something unexpected. Make the same film again, taken the same situation of Ash (Bruce Campbell) going to the shed in the woods, raising the dead and getting the shit kicked out of him. But this time he updated it, added bits in , took pieces away and came up with a less shocking but much better film.

Basically it is all tounge in cheek. Played for laughs, excessivly gory, hammily acted, and fucking top! This film is SO GROOVY!

The acting is so funny to watch, the direction is amazing (Raimi's use of his invention ShakeyCam is spectacular) the effects are cool (though some are a tad dated now)

And if you can get the Laserdisc and see the documentary at the end. Very insightful..

SO SEE IT! It isn't scary, it bloody funny

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1089&reviewer=23
originally posted: 10/02/98 10:46:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/24/17 Chaz Walter The ultimate sequel. 5 stars
10/29/16 morris campbell the best horror sequel ever 5 stars
2/08/12 David Hollingsworth One of the best horror sequels of the 80s 5 stars
7/17/11 Flipsider The 2nd best horror comedy ever made! (ROTLD is the best.) 5 stars
8/18/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
7/12/08 Alex Spivey my favorite movie of all time 5 stars
7/12/08 Evil Dead Ed The best horror/comedy ever made! 5 stars
7/07/08 mr.mike It was......dreadful. 2 stars
3/31/08 Justin Best movie ever made. No, seriously. 5 stars
1/06/08 Aaron Commareri Raimi need I say more 5 stars
11/26/07 Dan Rugg Excellent Movie 5 stars
7/09/07 peter price Ash kicks ass 5 stars
12/03/06 DasuberDing Cartoon horror at it's best! GO Bruce, GO! 5 stars
10/05/06 Pritchett The crown jewel of the trilogy, to me...brilliant. People who don't like it should be shot 5 stars
4/23/06 Annie Sequels usually suck, but not this one! Very funny! 4 stars
2/27/06 Indrid Cold Not nearly as funny or gory as people make it out to be. 3 stars
11/24/05 chris exellent film 5 stars
6/07/05 Agent Sands Some of the funniest scenes I've ever seen in a horror spoof. Good, light fun. 4 stars
4/16/05 Cary Gordon Took the original to new extremes and added a welcome dose of humor to the mix. 5 stars
4/07/05 Jason Kreitzer A great sequel, more brilliance from Campbell, Raimi and friends. GROOVY! 5 stars
2/05/05 Tom Benton A flawless, very cool and very funny horror film; Bruce Campbell rocks. 5 stars
11/02/04 C.S. greatest horror/comedy ever 5 stars
9/14/04 Nik Mladenovic If you dont love it, then, well, DIE 5 stars
9/06/04 psycho dwarf strange trilogy, great example right here 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G Eli is a gay name 5 stars
8/05/04 ELI I wasn't slightly entertained 1 stars
7/29/04 American Slasher Goddess Balances horror and comedy so well, one of the best horror sequels out there. 5 stars
7/07/04 Lord Durvok 2 "I'll swallow your soul! MMMRUUAAAAGH!" 5 stars
7/04/04 Samuel definitely a great film. 5 stars
5/04/04 dead next door i liked this one the first time i saw it,but now i hate it with a passion. 1 stars
4/17/04 vlad this film is AMAZING! i liked the 'vine part' (lol) 5 stars
4/12/04 Jaron Evil Dead 2 rules!!!! 5 stars
3/20/04 DaveBwarrior Absolutely Briliant movie 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Highly Entertaining and Better than the 1st film... !~! 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric 1and2 are great.I liked this one more though.funny and scary great stuff 5 stars
1/25/04 American Slasher Goddess Perfect blend of horror and comedy. Brilliant. 5 stars
1/22/04 burikak best comedic horror ive seen!! Ash is COOL!!!!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Samuel I didn't like it as good as the first, but it's still a great horror flick 4 stars
12/12/03 Sid I actually like the first better 3 stars
12/12/03 Karie The possesed on these films look alot scarier than any of the Exorcist films.. 5 stars
12/11/03 Heather One of my favorites... 5 stars
12/11/03 Captain Spaulding The first one is brilliant, but this one..Genius!!! 5 stars
12/11/03 Charlie and the Chocalte FActory Scary and quite funny as well!!! 5 stars
12/09/03 Tommy a great horror movie! 5 stars
12/08/03 john Campbell is better than Buster Keaton in this one - highly original! 4 stars
12/07/03 Sammy This movie got me into watching low-budget, none hollywood movies! It has everything in it! 5 stars
12/04/03 Andrew Callaway Groovy. Best movie of the Evil Dead Trilogy. 5 stars
11/28/03 Samuel Justus Blood_Horror, HE FOUGHT HIS HAND! THEN HE BOLTED A CHAINSAW ON!! 1 stars
11/19/03 jimmy d lol! this movie is funny youll shit your ass while watching it! shit! ya ass! 5 stars
11/19/03 Josh Standlee I would have to back up horror_blood on this one! 5 stars
11/16/03 AshFan See my name? See my boomstick? SWALLOW THIS!!! Ha ha!... Sorry. 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Blew! just a serious horror movie turned into lame unfunny type comedy! 1 stars
9/02/03 Aaron a great movie 5 stars
8/13/03 Tree of Sephiroth Funny as hell. 5 stars
8/13/03 Cybotron As good as the first,but great humor 5 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Just as great as part 1, but with a bigger budget and some dark humor, 5 stars
4/22/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik This is one GROOOOVY movie. 5 stars
3/26/03 snowconehead immaculate cinema 5 stars
2/02/03 Turtle Twisted, demented, freaky, scary, hilarious, and messed-up. Awesome! 5 stars
1/12/03 Stevo raucously funny 5 stars
12/30/02 Bob Hardcore Beats the crap out of any "scream" movie 5 stars
12/21/02 Monster W. Kung Raimi got it right this time. Much better than the first. 4 stars
11/22/02 The best of the four (Including "Into the Woods," a short prequel ED1) Maso- 5 stars
9/24/02 Laurian Diaconescu One of the coolest movie ever made. I take a bow before Campbell and Raimi ! 5 stars
8/31/02 AshFan This beats the original because it adds great humor to the gore. Ash rocks!!!! 4 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol Horror done right. Super creepy, truly funny. And, of course, Bruce is god... 5 stars
7/26/02 IowaBoy The Best 5 stars
7/22/02 snowconehead Incredible 5 stars
7/21/02 The Bomb 69 Groovy!!! 5 stars
7/09/02 .Choadushouse. Easily the best movie ever made. Creativity rules. 5 stars
7/03/02 Kyle Kicks ass! 5 stars
6/19/02 Film Dude Better then the first. Way better. 5 stars
5/29/02 Punk_Ass Cheesy, funny and gory.. What more do you want! 5 stars
5/20/02 David Easily the best on the BMovie circut 5 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn Simply the best cult movie ever. 5 stars
4/14/02 Rockitman007 Funny as hell.........(literally) 5 stars
4/09/02 Nick Karner Brilliant! 5 stars
3/31/02 Joe Schulz Fuckng Cheesy 5 stars
3/25/02 Mack Man The world's greatest film masterpiece! Moulin Rouge sucks all kinds of penis 5 stars
3/10/02 Ash Any body that does not like my film is going down!!!! 5 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee My 2nd favorite of the Evil Dead trilogy (w/ Army of Darkness being my favorite.) 4 stars
1/15/02 Peter Herman funniest movie ever 5 stars
10/31/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now this is more funny as & more grotty... Its a instant Classic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/29/01 Mohammad J. A classic. 5 stars
9/28/01 larry fuck all you 5 stars
9/21/01 Groo Kewlest of the Kewl!!! 5 stars
8/12/01 Catherine A sequel better then the original! 5 stars
8/09/01 King Jackass Groovy. 5 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk In my eyes...flawless. Sam Raimi's best film to date...Bruce Campbell's the man. 5 stars
5/18/01 Tommy best of the series, best film of all time 5 stars
5/02/01 Gracy Lionheart This one is my favorite out of the Evil Dead series!!! GO ASH!!! 5 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L Like the orginal, only massively gay people don't like it for some reason 5 stars
2/12/01 CJ O' Callaghan Dear God! i see that 66% think this is awsome. Never seen a worse film, in my fucking life! 1 stars
2/08/01 Dark Sol As they raped completly the original story, Raimi did it surprisinly well 5 stars
1/31/01 Randy Tribbett Awesome, pure genious, Cambell & Raimi strike again 5 stars
1/17/01 fifu another cool movie Ash still rules (groovy) 3 stars
10/09/00 Junacy B-movie classic!!! Blended comedy and horror well!! Hail to Bruce Campbell, baby!! 5 stars
6/12/00 Elly Cleary the rating says it all 5 stars
3/17/00 Steve Layne Highly overrated unfunny horror/comedy. Not as good as the first which wasn't great 2 stars
7/26/99 Eric Nowhere as good as Army of Darkness. 1 stars
7/11/99 Starry Knight One of a kind Horror-Comedy 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Not as good as the original. A little overrated but still worth the effort. 4 stars
4/27/99 the DUDE Fucking funny-love the part when Bruce(ash) goes crazy and starts laughing. 5 stars
3/26/99 haden A masterpiece from the man who taught the Coens 5 stars
3/04/99 Don Wilson IT'S THE BEST THING SINCE COTTAGE CHEESE! 5 stars
10/26/98 cyanide rush anyone i've seen it to knows it fuckin rocks 5 stars
10/26/98 Silent Rob The cheapness ADDS to the atmosphere. Great high octane film fun! 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent One of the most ENTERTAINING films you'll ever see AND brilliant filmmmaking to boot 5 stars
10/14/98 philip sucks---no plot just fighting 1 stars
10/04/98 Negative Creep Ash's fight to the death with his right hand is priceless! 5 stars
10/04/98 Yup It suck's. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1987 (R)
  DVD: 27-Sep-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jun-1988 (R)


Directed by
  Sam Raimi

Written by
  Sam Raimi
  Scott Spiegel

Cast
  Bruce Campbell
  Sarah Berry
  Dan Hicks
  Kassie DePaiva
  Denise Bixler
  Ted Raimi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast