Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.64

Awesome70.83%
Worth A Look: 22.22%
Just Average: 6.94%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 0%

2 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Miller's Crossing
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Since when was there an irish mafia?"
4 stars

A movie about the Irish Mafia. Insert your own jokes here.

The Coens sure know how to write good quotable dialogue. This movie is chock-full of slang from the 1930's, and for about two weeks after I saw this movie, I kept telling people to "stop giving me the high hat!" But this is actually a very good movie, really well-acted, although I got a little tired of seeing Gabriel Byrne punched in the stomach over and over.
The movie's all about this power struggle between Leo, head of the Irish Mafia (hyuk hyuk) and Johnny Caspar, head of the italian contingent. And Gabriel Byrne's right in the middle, doing sort of what Bruce Willis did in "Last Man Standing". Sucking really badly and making a really shitty movie? Well, no. Forget the Bruce Willis allusion. Gabriel's playing off both sides, all the while getting punched repeatedly in the gut. This movie has some great violence, and J.E. Freeman plays Caspar's henchman and he's quite the sarcastic bugger.
All in all, this is a fine movie, full of great violence, funny dialogue, and a hat that blows everywhere. And John Turturro plays a really sneaky whiny guy. Go see it, and stop giving me the high hat.

Look in your heart, I'm begging to you, look in your heart...What follows is one of the coolest lines ever. Watch for it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1091&reviewer=27
originally posted: 11/21/98 14:31:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
7/05/10 PAUL SHORTT SOMBRE, STYLISH AND WELL MADE 4 stars
3/16/10 brian Gorgeous, well acted, prosaic dialogue.....and empty at its core. 3 stars
5/21/09 matt one of the best coen films, a forgotten gem 5 stars
9/17/08 Stu The Coens first real masterpiece. Unmissable. 5 stars
10/04/07 R.W. Welch Stylized mob pic is a little overplotted but does have the Coen touch. 4 stars
7/06/07 Bitchflaps Stylish and detailed film, undermined by self-conscious direction and lack of suspense 3 stars
3/26/07 fools♫gold Perfect, if only because not many would say so. 5 stars
1/17/07 David Pollastrini saw it but have no memory so it must have sucked 3 stars
9/22/05 ShadowFace5 A top 10 in the gangster genre 5 stars
8/08/05 Indrid Cold Rich, detailed atmosphere and ... not much else. 3 stars
5/31/04 Kevin Farkas A masterpiece 5 stars
5/09/04 JERRY great film. hey hawkboy who do u think were the first ganster in this country. THE IRISH! 5 stars
3/03/04 HorrorScribbler Great movie, Fargo-level stuff from the Coen brothers! 5 stars
10/23/03 LIAM JACKSON outstanding film. i especially liked the Dane, whose towering prescense proved quite scary 5 stars
9/27/03 Hawkboy, watch it a few times, you'll get how compelling it truly is Chrys 5 stars
9/11/03 TheDude This movie is great. Albert Finney is one badass motherfucker. 5 stars
8/23/03 Michael Norton I had a second viewing this weekend and I enjoyed the film much more the second time around 4 stars
8/22/03 CHI-TOWN U FUCKIN DUMB ASS THE IRISH MAFIA HAS BEEN AROUND SINCE THE LATE 1800'S HYUK HYUK URSELF 5 stars
8/13/03 Magic A gangster film thats different and has an edge 5 stars
8/02/03 Atanu My best film ever. A revelation. 5 stars
7/29/03 dino being from hell's kitchen, i knew plenty of irish gangsters - the westies 5 stars
6/26/03 The Man My favorite Coen movie. But there are plenty of Irish gangsters, Hawkboy 5 stars
6/22/03 Elizaveta Byrne is fabulous! Great film, keeps you constantly attentive. 5 stars
4/17/03 chicago i enjoyed the story 5 stars
4/11/03 brad luved it as well 5 stars
4/03/03 mr. Pink Quite good, but not one of Coen's best 4 stars
4/01/03 dill hole wat a great movie 5 stars
3/31/03 rachel great flick 5 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby The Coen's best, only cohesively organic film. A bit too studied and deliberately paced. 4 stars
2/26/03 kumar THIS, is what a movie should be. Underneath, its about us. I echo Mr. Leach's sentiment. 5 stars
1/28/03 wintermute Not the Choen's best, but not their worst either 3 stars
1/27/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer s'aright. Wouldn't be in my top 100. 4 stars
1/10/03 Hobbie Twist a pig's ear, watch him squeal. 5 stars
1/09/03 George Jung What heart? 5 stars
1/08/03 Atanu Doubtless the best film I'd ever see. makes you angrier for the likes of pearl harbor 5 stars
1/03/03 Rob One of my all time top 10 5 stars
11/21/02 Timmy underrrated flick of all time 5 stars
10/20/02 matthew leach OUTSTANDING!!!! my favorite film! life only gets better after seeing this! 5 stars
8/03/02 daniboy incredible movie. really extraordinary 5 stars
7/20/02 The Bomb 69 Wow, can a "play" actually play out like that, Byrne (Tom) had 9 lives!!! 5 stars
5/26/02 Charles Tatum Very good stuff 4 stars
1/22/02 Aaron It gets better every time I watch it. 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk One of the most believable period pieces I've ever seen. Flawless. 5 stars
7/27/01 The Dane "Maybe we can have tea some time..." So many great lines... 5 stars
4/28/01 The Jedi Droid My favorite Coen Brothers movie, Entire cast was great 5 stars
1/07/01 Painful Days This movie was a decent movie worth watching again. 4 stars
11/24/00 Mic Memorable scenes, great lines. Haven't started loving the Coens yet, but almost love this 5 stars
11/07/00 Gray Sutton Excellent film. Best characters ever. 5 stars
10/22/00 sickboy My favorite mob movie, and one of the Coen's best. 5 stars
7/06/00 Matthew Bartley Quite possibly the best Coen bros film 5 stars
4/03/00 Casper " I never met anyone who made being a son of a bitch such a point of pride" What a movie! 5 stars
10/18/99 Dan This movie kicks more ass than any movie ever. The above review is a little to shallow. 5 stars
10/01/99 Schindler Classic gangster movie... Turturro's great! 5 stars
6/02/99 lucasd jackson the shoot out while they play "oh Danny Boy" is awesome 5 stars
1/11/99 demon_shredder "THE" Coen flick. 5 stars
1/02/99 Charles Dubé One of the Coen's best, riveting, involving, great dialogue. Don't give it the high hat! 5 stars
11/22/98 little jerry The Coens are always at their best when restrained.BARTON FINK,FARGO & this-their best. 5 stars
11/15/98 Lord Of The Dunce Underloved Coen flick. 4 stars
11/13/98 Windy Miller Where's me hat? 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jun-1990 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Joel Coen

Written by
  Joel Coen
  Ethan Coen

Cast
  Gabriel Byrne
  Marcia Gay Holden
  John Turturro
  John Polito
  J.E. Freeman
  Albert Finney



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast