Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.22

Awesome55.48%
Worth A Look: 25.25%
Just Average: 8.64%
Pretty Crappy: 6.64%
Sucks: 3.99%

16 reviews, 205 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Team America: World Police
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Luke Pyzik

"All I can say is: 'Dirka dirka..Mohammed...dirka dirka jihad dirka dirka'"
5 stars

'Team America: World Police' is exactly the kind of movie America needs in an election year. It allows levelheaded liberals and conservatives to come together and agree on just how incredibly ridiculous American politics have become. You won’t walk out feeling the victim of propaganda from either side, as the only real point of the movie is that the correct response to madness is laughter. Trey Parker and Matt Stone have created a pitch-perfect satire taking on ignorant ethnocentricity, Hollywood liberalism, and reckless jingoism, and they do it all with a cast full of marionettes and a storyline that ruthlessly mocks big budget action films. I haven’t laughed as hard and as often in a movie theater since, well, Parker and Stone’s 'South Park' movie.

“Team America” opens with a puppet dangling in front of a hand drawn background of Paris, and though we know from the trailers this is not how the entire movie will look, there is a small moment when the audience thinks, “this cannot possibly work – I am about to watch 90 minutes of puppets, what have I done?” Then it happens. The camera pulls back to reveal the lush and incredibly detailed Paris set, and we quickly realize we are witnessing groundbreaking work from incredibly talented artists. The sets – which include locations like Egypt, Times Square, Mount Rushmore, and the palace of Kim Jong Il – are astonishingly detailed and authentic. The shot of Times Square comes early in the film, and there was a moment when I thought I was looking at the real thing.

The storyline is purposely ridiculous and pokes fun at Bruckheimer-esque action conventions. Team America is an elite group of counter terrorism hotshots who blow up everything in site to stop terrorists from using WMD. The group is lead by chain-smoking Spottswoode, who commands the team from a lair inside Mt. Rushmore. Spottswoode attempts to recruit Gary Johnston, an actor he hopes will be able to infiltrate terrorist cells and help Team America rid the world of WMD. The team chemistry is a spot on parody of typical action movie nonsense with the all-American and even-tempered Joe leading, the hotheaded blowhard Chris giving new-comer Gary a hard time because “something in his past” has caused him to be prejudiced against actors, and the development of a love triangle between Gary, the sexy Lisa, and the tomboyish Sarah.

Meanwhile, Kim Jong Il is plotting to distract the world by signing a peace treaty with the Film Actors Guild (FAG), which is made up of well-known liberals including Alec Baldwin, Tim Robbins, and Matt Damon. With puppets bearing their likenesses having significant roles in the movie, it will be interesting to see how the real life actors take the joke. Sean Penn, also singled out in the film, has already lashed out at Parker and Stone, but I have a feeling most of the other actors (including Michael Moore, who is also lampooned) will be good natured enough take the hit. It is one thing to get criticized with dull ignorance by someone like Bill O’Rielly, it is quite another to be the victim of sharp, well-timed satire. As actors, many who have done satire themselves, they should, at the very least, be able to admire the skillful execution.

The movie gets a lot of laughs simply by making the puppets do a lot of things you would never expect to see a puppet do - smoke, drink, puke, swear, and have the kind of sex that would make Ron Jeremy blush. But the difference between the people who will like this movie and the people who will love it is how much they appreciate the way it mocks big, dumb actions films. While the sneak preview audience I saw it with last Saturday night was rolling in the isles, I have a feeling some audiences less familiar with the genre’s conventions may be left scratching their head at some of the film’s humor.

As they did with the “South Park” movie, Parker and Stone also dabble in the musical form, with the most memorable numbers being Kim Jong Il singing a melancholy song called “I’m so Ronery ” as he paces the empty halls of his evil headquarters, and the hilarious break-up tune “I Miss You Almost as Much as ‘Pearl Harbor’ Sucked.” Also worth mentioning is the “Montage” number, a song so well written fans will undoubtedly forgive that it is being recycled from an old “South Park” episode.

Like many “South Park” episodes, “Team America” ends with Parker and Stone making a very straightforward, very direct statement about what they think. I don’t know anyone else who can consistently get away with that as well as they do. Perhaps it is because their final conclusions are so even-tempered and well argued that both liberals and conservatives are so evenly drawn to their work. The final moments of the film provide us with Gary giving an outrageously vulgar foreign policy speech about ten million times more sensible, realistic, and productive than anything you’re likely to hear coming out of Bush or Kerry’s mouth over the next few weeks. It alone is worth the price of admission. This is a terrifically funny, surprisingly thought provoking movie, and one of the very best you’ll see all year.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=10976&reviewer=381
originally posted: 10/13/04 14:40:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Starz Denver Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Starz Denver Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

4/06/15 Charles Tatum Spot on spoof and satire 5 stars
1/17/15 Dane Youssef Parker and Stone bring to action blockbusters (and puppets) what they bring to South Park 4 stars
9/09/14 Geohorn Do you actually think the celebrities DO know what they're talking about? 4 stars
9/07/14 jolson it's terrible. which is why it is soooo funny 5 stars
10/11/13 Patrick Mildly offended... not by the movie, so much as how many of you don't understand sarcasm. 4 stars
1/23/13 Dave Worst movie review ever. Baldwin doesn't lead the terrorist attack! He's not aware of it. 4 stars
5/15/12 Sheryl Granholm Not my favorite from Trey, but it contains what should be the USA's new national anthem. 4 stars
8/16/11 les Derka Derka,Mohammed Jihad Derka derka 4 stars
6/05/11 Piz once you get over the novelty of what you're watching, the movie is pretty shitty. 1 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef Fun take on Thunderbirds and Michael Bay. Parker & Stone score again. 4 stars
11/05/09 Paul Predictable, yet hilarious satire...MAAAAATT DAMON 5 stars
8/31/09 Robert Movie's hilarious... to the 1 stars, why go see a movie if you are offended by its content? 5 stars
3/25/09 caspian The only people who don't like this film are F.A.G s 4 stars
2/24/09 Omar Fahed I have NEVER laughed so much in my ENTIRE life. "now suck my cock" PRICELESS... 5 stars
1/31/09 Grid Should really only have been 15 minutes long 4 stars
10/03/08 yohannbiimu Best movie about 2000's America there is... 5 stars
4/14/08 Andrew I laughed my ass off at this funny crap! 5 stars
3/23/08 angus cool 5 stars
1/20/08 Bitchflaps Some very funny moments, but feels too much like one big joke that quickly wears out. 3 stars
6/24/07 kiliz take that, c*ckf@g! 5 stars
6/17/07 fools♫gold You had me at "Sacreblu!" 5 stars
4/17/07 Stevo UK More deranged than a cat on smack, this film is ACE! 5 stars
2/06/07 AJ Muller What the holy hell did I just see? And am I STILL crying from laughter? 5 stars
1/06/07 Sugarfoot Not nearly as hilarious as South Park:BLU with only a couple chuckles here and there. 2 stars
11/23/06 Dark Enchantress & Jason America..F*uck yeah! So lick my ass and suck on my balls!!!! Great Movie! 5 stars
10/18/06 David Pollastrini The sex scenes were funny! 3 stars
10/13/06 Eric Truly Genius! I was laughing throughout the entire film, very few dry spots if any. 5 stars
9/07/06 Laura Amazingly funny movie. A Spoof on action movies...with puppets. What more could you want? 5 stars
6/04/06 jamie awsome 5 stars
5/06/06 Woza Fuck Yeh 5 stars
4/22/06 Poopy Woopy Motherfuckin hilarious 5 stars
3/24/06 Mr. Tigre If you have poo ... now is the time to fling it..! 1 stars
1/23/06 Del Fucking Puppets are hilarious. Popping a cap in F.A.G.'s rocks! 5 stars
1/14/06 chris f an absolutely shite movie worst film ive ssen in my life 1 stars
11/18/05 Team Austrlia AMERICA **** YEAH! 5 stars
11/15/05 flim expert! Quite possibly the best film ive ever seen 5 stars
10/26/05 Craninov the best picture of the real america we have to offer 5 stars
10/25/05 karl hunt it was briliant and i watch it over and over again and i never get bored 5 stars
10/22/05 Mike BEST MOVIE EVER! 5 stars
10/19/05 Agent Sands One of those hits that's forgotten about completely, but it's FUNNY AS HELL!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/19/05 Doug B A Neocon's wet dream: pathetic chest thumping US war-mongering pretending to be a satire. 1 stars
9/05/05 DM Very funny in places but too scattershot and anarchistic. 3 stars
8/19/05 Slash My Suck The puppets were well done, the script wasn't 3 stars
8/02/05 sbpat21 pretty damn funny... where else can you see Kim Jong Il singing? 4 stars
7/09/05 JFK great movie. Trey and matt rules 4 stars
7/09/05 Phil M. Aficionado Fair/balanced irreverent absurdity in an unprecedented technical tour de force. Top that! 5 stars
7/06/05 J One of the funniest movies of 2004. 5 stars
7/01/05 Nick is smelly Coming to save the melon farming day ...yeah 5 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy Sorry guys you just lost me. And I loved South Park The Movie 3 stars
6/17/05 Indrid Cold Several absolutely hilarious moments. That alone makes it far above average. 5 stars
6/12/05 Edler You gotta wonder what North Koren intelligence thinks of this! 5 stars
6/08/05 Littlepurch Not as gd as south park movie, but that would be IMPOSSIBLE! The songs rock! 'So Ronery!' 5 stars
6/05/05 Matt Parker A BITCHIN MOVIE AND A MUST SEEE! 5 stars
6/05/05 Mark Radburn Team America is F******* Awesome 5 stars
6/04/05 Hack-SAW Not Parker and Stone's best, but still highly enjoyable and entertaining!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
5/31/05 Sgt Slaughter Very Funny, HoweverI found myself disturbed by Gary's face. America, Fuck Yea!! 4 stars
5/21/05 Fionn Burr. Brilliant movie. I have never laughed so much. It was such a clever and funny film. 5 stars
5/20/05 The Mockingbird sometimes you can have too much puppet sex and too little criticism 4 stars
5/19/05 evil a must see for all the scumbags. 1 stars
5/18/05 Gina I like it, its pretty funny 4 stars
4/28/05 Jason This movie ROCKS! 5 stars
4/26/05 louis the song: everybody has AIDS is all I need to say, WOW 5 stars
4/16/05 Jane Muhawi Pretty embarrasing, maybe libelolus 2 stars
4/16/05 Hilary Harry A Must See For Parker/Stone Fans 5 stars
3/04/05 Chris Stephens MUST SEE 4 stars
2/10/05 Al Guy Screw the politics, puppets are funny. 5 stars
2/08/05 aryips there r 3 type of people D*ick Pu**y and AssH**e....... huhu.... 5 stars
2/06/05 durka durka f ck yeah best sh t ever watch it stoned 5 stars
2/04/05 Eva Braun It was scrumtralescent. 5 stars
1/30/05 Daveman Mostly conservative propaganda, although the sex and vomiting is the stuff of comic genius. 3 stars
1/23/05 Simba such a great movie 5 stars
1/23/05 cel FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
1/22/05 Mangs Worse film ever! 1 stars
1/21/05 Brandon D. I LOVE THIS MOVIE....it better come out on DVD though 5 stars
1/21/05 keithers.. i love how comedy is getting dumber 2 stars
1/21/05 Sas so funny and so true. Loved the sound track too! 5 stars
1/18/05 Graham Satire on politically ignorant H'wood assholes by politically ignorant H'wood assholes. 3 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson T.P. AND M.S. HAVE DONE IT AGAIN! Their greatest and funniest film since S.P.B.L.&U. 5 stars
1/09/05 Daniel Blyden nuff joke 5 stars
1/01/05 Sasha Tsiaparis it was sick i loved the matt damon bits 5 stars
12/31/04 Max Are you serious? 1 stars
12/26/04 Steve Much funnier that I expected it to be. 5 stars
12/10/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Like vomitting marionettes but not fart humor? EricD, you're bizarre! 4 stars
12/09/04 Giuseppe The swearing is overdone but it's entertaining overall. The puppets and sets look great! 4 stars
12/08/04 Paddy Ross The cleverest film I've seen in ages 5 stars
12/06/04 Tasha BETTER THAN GREAT 5 stars
12/05/04 keithers.. I love it when people Give Saving Private Ryan a bad rating and give this an awesome rating 1 stars
12/03/04 matthew smith I was never expected to laugh so much, hilarious 5 stars
11/24/04 Abbath Some very funny bits, others that fall flat on their face. 3 stars
11/23/04 Max Lethal I kept waiting to laugh out loud. The puppet gag wears off quickly. Great satire though. 3 stars
11/22/04 vincent bronson great flick! 5 stars
11/21/04 Trevor This movie kicked ass I was laughing so hard I was having trouble breathing 5 stars
11/21/04 Daveman Juvenile bullshit from a pair of dimwitted, libertarian tossers, funny in parts though. 2 stars
11/17/04 Jews for Hitler Something to offend everyone! 5 stars
11/16/04 A All in all a funny movie, worth to see if you want to laugh. 4 stars
11/16/04 Holly This is the best comedy I've seen in a long time. 5 stars
11/09/04 Luke Stednick THIS MOVIE KICKED ASS 5 stars
11/09/04 Lucy hilarious 5 stars
11/09/04 nimrod Funniest Movie I've ever seen, convinved me to vote for Bush 5 stars
11/08/04 Dave A worst movie I've seen in 20 years 1 stars
11/08/04 I-lean Hilarious 5 stars
11/07/04 Seena pointless 1 stars
11/07/04 Monday Morning OK but a letdown. Several current tv shows are better, and I don't mean South Park. 3 stars
11/06/04 Connie highly recommended 5 stars
11/06/04 John Lau Awesome 5 stars
11/05/04 Me AMERICA....FUCK YEA!...YOU CAN LICK MY BUTT OR SUCK ON MY BALLS!..AMERICA..FUCK YEA! See it 5 stars
11/04/04 TheKingMob heavy handed politics, bad jokes. if you find puppets funny, go see it, otherwise dont 2 stars
11/03/04 Josh Standlee If you love America, which should be most of you, see this movie! Fuck yeah! 5 stars
11/03/04 Larry Hayes funny, too much vulgaiity, sex scene funny but was there a story? 2 stars
11/02/04 Jews for Hitler Genius! 5 stars
11/02/04 Al Guy Puppets are funny, no matter what they do! 5 stars
11/02/04 Marty brilliant, intelligent, damn funny, they proved once again how sharp and clever they are. 5 stars
11/01/04 Pat Most cogent explanation of world politics I have yet seen 4 stars
10/31/04 Evan Funny as hell 5 stars
10/30/04 Cinci Grl Funny Funny Funny 5 stars
10/30/04 Los-Man Not "G"-String Puppets, rather Rated "R" String Puppets! 3 stars
10/29/04 Agent Sands I've never used the term laugh-a-minute so literally before seeing this hilarious movie. 5 stars
10/29/04 Jack Bourbon The hippies are commies 5 stars
10/28/04 mr_khan87 wana see the film 5 stars
10/27/04 James killer 4 stars
10/26/04 theplaya friggin hilarious 5 stars
10/26/04 FiyahGal "AMERICA!! FUCK YEAH" & "WHAT WOULD YOU DOOOOO" I CRIED 5 stars
10/26/04 Kevin So many laughs - the hilarious sex scene #1- the vomit scene gets my vote for #2 5 stars
10/26/04 Dawn Hilarious! We need to learn not to take ourselves so seriously. It's a comedy after all! 5 stars
10/25/04 Sheila Crowson Hell-harry-ass, must own soundtrack. Might pee in your pants. 5 stars
10/25/04 Russel This was one of the best movies i had ever seen. It was hilarious and very smart.Go see it. 5 stars
10/24/04 Brian Anderson Like most Americans, Trey Parker is moderate and spoofs both extremes. EFC doesn't get it. 5 stars
10/23/04 ODH Sick, perverted, offensive, and SIMPLY HILARIOUS!!! 4 stars
10/22/04 your worst goddamn nightmare I'd love to have a beer w/ Trey & Matt. These guys are fuckin' hilarious. 4 stars
10/22/04 bobbi Would have been good without the pointless (6th grade level)vulgarity and profanity jokes 3 stars
10/21/04 simba funnies movie, i loved it!!! 5 stars
10/20/04 Danny I't was OUTSTANDING! I'm listning to the soundtrack right now. very funny. and brilliant!!! 5 stars
10/20/04 Nessus Fantastic parody that pokes fun at the left, right, and action movies. 5 stars
10/20/04 LoudChris Great flick, but a little lacking in comedic pacing. 4 stars
10/20/04 Steve Kelley Try to find another movie that makes you laugh as hard. You can't. 5 stars
10/19/04 desertdwlr i laffed my fu*kin balls off-- fu*k yeah 5 stars
10/19/04 Amy Levine sexsy 5 stars
10/19/04 Stephanie Newberg The movie was absolutely hilarious, but still made a very valid point. 5 stars
10/19/04 Al Glow I laughed, I cried. So very funny 5 stars
10/19/04 Tommy A must see. So funny you cant possibly stop laughing. 5 stars
10/19/04 MMoore Absolutely vulgar and funniest movie ever.... 5 stars
10/19/04 Ray Raspberry terrible -- laughs few and far between... don't be fooled. 2 stars
10/19/04 Brian K agreed. Refreshingly smart and entertaining. 5 stars
10/19/04 Clarance the Cobra You had me at, "Dicks fuck Assholes" 5 stars
10/19/04 Corvus This is SOOO FUNNY, especially if you're smart enough to get it. 5 stars
10/18/04 EPaddy Random ass fun, go into it with an open mind 4 stars
10/18/04 Assya Moussaid GODDAM IT'S GREAT!!!! 5 stars
10/18/04 665 221 5 stars
10/18/04 Hank Frank very funny, vulgar, wonderful. 5 stars
10/18/04 Greg AWESOME 5 stars
10/18/04 Shamus worth the price of admission and then some. Durka Durka... 5 stars
10/18/04 Dean Awesome 5 stars
10/18/04 yourmom ebert said it best: "nihilistic". ugh... 3 stars
10/18/04 CyberBabe America! Fuck YEAH! XD That movie was hilarious! I couldn't stop laughing! 5 stars
10/18/04 Gary Gonna save the world...Fuck yah 3 stars
10/18/04 Cat Willie Fuck'n Awesome - Fuck Yeah! 5 stars
10/18/04 Cheesehead Steve fuckin awesome! 5 stars
10/18/04 BrianWilly FUNNIEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN this year. 5 stars
10/18/04 Ricardo Good song. The story is frankly boring. Political correctness is mildly disguised. 1 stars
10/18/04 Metalhed TEAM AMERICA! F|_|CK YEAH! I LAUGHED MY A$$ OFF! 5 stars
10/17/04 nick this movie is so fuckin hilarious puppet porn durka durka mohammed g ha 5 stars
10/17/04 Kellian It was very good. Some parts were a little uncalled for or uneeded to make the film funny. 4 stars
10/17/04 Lord Mike Shoe We were impressed. Very funny, very vulgar. Profanity laden. 5 stars
10/17/04 Dr. M Fantastic. Would love to secretly video tape republicans and fundamentalists watching it. 5 stars
10/17/04 LiberalsSuck I loved this move it was fricken awesome, especially the music 5 stars
10/17/04 Kyle F IT WAS GREAT 5 stars
10/17/04 Heather Can only be taken in a "tongue in cheek" sort of humor 5 stars
10/17/04 Meg absolutly hilarious 5 stars
10/17/04 G.M. Great Film! Funny and dead on the money! 5 stars
10/17/04 RaDMaN Well these puppets are actually called "animatronics"...small motors inside..but it suked 1 stars
10/17/04 Frank Gibson The movie wasn't half as good as the South Park Movie...To much noise, heavy humor... 2 stars
10/17/04 Nathan Very accurate, good philosophy 5 stars
10/16/04 Titus Damned funny, but somehow still kinda hollow 4 stars
10/16/04 Doug Glass A must see - Funniest movie I have seen in a long time 5 stars
10/16/04 KingNeutron I guess Kim Jong was just a "puppet" dictator all along! 4 stars
10/16/04 Big Daddy Well worth the 7 dollars. One of the best flicks this year! 4 stars
10/16/04 Bruce Kaufman Fabulously Hilarious! 5 stars
10/16/04 George Jung "I don't wanna fuck your mouth, Gary." 4 stars
10/16/04 joette gibson kick-ass, must see, right on target 5 stars
10/16/04 patrick grattan This is THE funniest movie have seen in a long time.It pushes the envelope to the extreme! 5 stars
10/16/04 John P Sex & Vomit Scenes: I laughed so hard & long, my eyes teared up and I could barely breathe. 5 stars
10/16/04 E Ramos Still laughing too hard to comment... 5 stars
10/16/04 Rob Every line was a spot-on parady...most of you won't get it. 5 stars
10/16/04 Mahone I laughed till I began coughing and tears came out of my eyes 5 stars
10/16/04 nick2k very different indeed...but funny for sure! 5 stars
10/16/04 bullit16 I was in tears from laughing so hard 4 stars
10/16/04 Ajax FUCK YEAH! 5 stars
10/15/04 gray It was fun but missing somthing 4 stars
10/15/04 George Jung "I don't wanna fuck your mouth, Gary." 4 stars
10/15/04 Kris I'm so ronely 5 stars
10/13/04 Alex Superb 5 stars
10/12/04 Ulatekk Genius. My face hurt from laughing. 5 stars
10/12/04 tim a masterpiece 5 stars
10/11/04 Nathan One of the funniest films I have ever seen! 5 stars
10/11/04 Kim JON ILL NOAW I WILL BRING CHAOS TO THE WORLD! 5 stars
10/11/04 SweetNeo85 Team America: F&CK YEAH 5 stars
10/10/04 jose consuerto Quite possibly the greatest piece of art ever made by a man. 5 stars
10/10/04 Canadian Eh A South Park episode with marionnettes : funny ! 4 stars
10/10/04 stinky bum finger the 2nd greatest movie ever 5 stars
10/10/04 ajay I thought the puppet thing would get old, but this movie is VERY funny. 5 stars
10/10/04 Speedy Great movie, f'ing hilarious. 5 stars
10/10/04 Dammit Cubs ...there is no word to describe my joy. 5 stars
10/10/04 Susan Salisbury Very Funny, but definitely earned its R rathing 5 stars
10/10/04 MovieGuy Great movie 5 stars
10/10/04 Robert Snook Freaking hilarious, t.v. commercials don't look funny, but trust me, this movie is great 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Oct-2004 (R)
  DVD: 17-May-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Dec-2004


Directed by
  Trey Parker
  Matt Stone

Written by
  Trey Parker
  Matt Stone
  Pam Brady

Cast
  Trey Parker
  Matt Stone
  Dian Bachar
  Kristen Miller
  Phil Hendrie
  David Michie



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast