Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.86

Awesome: 34.18%
Worth A Look: 6.33%
Just Average: 8.86%
Pretty Crappy: 12.66%
Sucks37.97%

3 reviews, 61 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Raise Your Voice
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"You CAN get enough of that wonderful Duff."
1 stars

What’s odd about Hilary Duff is that you can still believe in her even though she’s appeared in an incredible amount of garbage. Duff is so cute and obviously talented, and yet I’ve hated every movie she’s been in, disliked her TV appearances and downright despised her lack of musical upbringing. She’s cute, of course, and deep down in those gorgeous blue eyes rests someone with a notion of a brain that should be telling itself to make a better movie already.

If Duff hasn’t seen any movies made before 1995, then she probably felt that the script for “Raise Your Voice” was pretty original, although perhaps she hasn’t seen a movie made after 1995 either, because nearly every occurrence in this film is directly from some other turgid teen movie. And once again Duff’s character is the underdog, despite her wholesome looks and cheery personality.

Duff has been given the standard screenplay name of Terri Fletcher, who is a talented musician living in Flagstaff, Arizona. Talented enough that no one believes enough of her except for Paul, her best-friend of a brother. The brother is played by Jason Ritter, who looks more like Terri’s boyfriend and spends his limited screen time creepily smiling as he compiles endless clips and photos of his sister on his computer.

Paul has sent in a DVD compilation to a prestigious summer music camp without telling Terri, for the most part because father Simon (David Keith) has complete objection to her future because she’s 16 and “just a kid”. Terri’s mom Frances (Rita Wilson) supports her but won’t stand up to her husband. Terri also has her aunt Nina (Rebecca DeMornay) who looks like Terri’s actual mother and is simply there as a convenience.

When Paul dies in a car accident (one in which Paul seems to have died instantly and Terri only appears to have been given a headache) to move along Terri’s story arc, she receives an acceptance letter from the school and is pressured to go by her aunt and her mom, still to the objection of silly father. But Aunt Nina has a plan: make Simon believe that she’s simply visiting her for the summer and off she goes to LA.

The conservatory itself looks a building dedicated to holding weekly cub scouts meetings rather than being “The top music school in the country” and giving a $10,000 scholarship by Uncle Phil (James Avery) from “Fresh Prince of Bel Air.” The summer-school is filled with every kind of character you’ve seen out of every other teen movie from the last ten years. There’s a cutesy, womanizing guitarist named Jay (Oliver James) who takes a liking to Terri but has a bitchy girlfriend (Lauren C. Mayhew) that hates her. There’s Terri’s roommate who doesn’t want to make friends because of the scholarship competition, but two reels later changes her ways. There’s a pianist who never talks to anyone and the dorky experimental musician who is hopelessly in love with her. And then the teachers, one with a Russian accent and one played by the always-bland John Corbett.

Terri’s entire journey goes through the motions of the screenplay. She gets stage fright whenever a bright light is flashed on her which cuts back to the bright-lights at the car crash (get it?). She makes no friends at school until the script demands them. The music sequences appear to be selling a soundtrack rather than being original creations of the kids. And when father Simon calls around to check on Terri who should be at Aunt Nina’s, the usual father-daughter arguments ensue.

David Keith’s performance as Terri’s father takes you out of the film and into questioning what the hell he is doing here in the first place. His delivery of the film’s stilted dialogue would earn him a Razzie award if Jack Black and Ben Stiller didn’t release “Envy” this year. I don’t even think Keith himself buys the arguments of not letting his daughter fulfill her potential.

“Raise Your Voice” is awful; make no mistake, and here’s hoping that Hilary Duff, who is serviceable in this film, takes some advice from somebody, [i]anybody[/i], to make a real movie for once. Like Mandy Moore, they are both talented but in dire need of an independent director to get more respect than just from the teens who buy their CD’s.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=10979&reviewer=350
originally posted: 10/18/04 13:59:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/23/11 Jenna Loved it. It was cute and sweet. Not Oscar material but worth seeing. 3 stars
8/19/09 Miki The classical song that the 4 teachers were playing is Vivaldi's "Four Seasons (Winter)". 4 stars
6/21/09 Savannah great movie, 5 stars
9/27/08 Brianna your a crappy critic, this movie was awesome.. so i think you should get a new job. 5 stars
7/18/08 IceKat For goodness sake. The movie was good! What was the classical song she was singing? 4 stars
6/14/08 PAUL SHORTT FORMULAIC AND FATUOUS 2 stars
4/18/08 tim does any one know the song name for these lyrics from this film there's a "light in me" 5 stars
10/31/07 cody a good movie with great story about facing your fears and not backing down. duff is hot! 3 stars
10/29/07 Beau This was beautifully acted and was a very light-hearted film, very enjoyable!!! 5 stars
10/07/07 Ebow its very inspiring please hata stop hating its a good movie or u wud prefer american pie 5 stars
9/14/07 charlie Yea wats da piano music called 3 stars
8/19/07 gen hi guys does anyone know the name of the classical song that the 4 teachers played together 4 stars
8/10/07 iluvpiano DOES ANYONE KNOW THE NAMES OF THE PIANO SONGS IN THE MOVIE? 3 stars
7/24/07 Elizabeth It was one of my FAVORITE movies!!!!!I loved it!!!! 5 stars
6/17/07 sabahet what's the name of song which played DENISE GILMORe on electric violin? 5 stars
1/10/07 Sweet Perez loved it I watched it over 70 times 5 stars
12/05/06 Lozy best H.D. film eva! I luv da song at da end-It roks!!! 5 stars
11/22/06 Missy Does anybody know the name of the songs that the black girl plays on her Electric Violan?? 3 stars
7/08/06 Rio This does nothing but make Hilary's haters hate her twice as much! 1 stars
6/26/06 someone i love it and all u haters critics need 2 shutup hilary did nothing but make a great flim!! 5 stars
5/24/06 N/a I think you are all idiots...THIS MOVIE SUCKED...but the violin music was decent. 1 stars
4/02/06 JRE music's good. movie's trash. you'll either love it or hate it 2 stars
3/22/06 tabiya karim best worst best worst 5 stars
3/08/06 Anthony Feor Hilary needs a new agent 1 stars
11/07/05 Lee Can only be liked by 12-year-old girls, extremely gay men, and soccer moms. 1 stars
10/26/05 ya mum gay gay gay 1 stars
10/22/05 Kale "Someone's watching over me" . . . and he's telling me not to see this crap. 1 stars
9/24/05 emely i love tjis movie because its my same story written in a diffrent person! 5 stars
9/03/05 Paige bennett I loved the movie and i can really relate to it a lot! 5 stars
8/08/05 Milana This movie is just perfect full of music and life and reality .soo great. Just fantastic!!! 5 stars
7/31/05 danielle the best film ihave ever seen 5 stars
7/20/05 Chris Typical Hilary Duff movie 1 stars
7/17/05 carolina y think raice your voice is an amazing movie and thinking what you said y SAID YOU SUCK 5 stars
6/27/05 dan garbage anough said 1 stars
6/02/05 heather campbell I loved It 5 stars
5/10/05 Robin Garrow I loved this film. I deffomatly am going to buy it. 5 stars
5/07/05 Burtie it was good for her, it was a challenge, it was like her first dramatic role 4 stars
4/20/05 Riviera I'm also a teenage girl with a dream. It is to throw Ms. Duff into a big bucket of acid. 1 stars
4/05/05 Julietta Davis I love Hillary Duff! I have dreams too! 5 stars
4/01/05 Megan I liked it well enough 4 stars
3/30/05 Madeira I'm going to raise my voice: THIS MOVIE SUCKS!!! 1 stars
3/27/05 Netsurfer Holy shit this movie sucks. 1 stars
2/23/05 Mary JD I didn't particularily like this film. I'm not a big fan of Hilary Duff 1 stars
2/06/05 craig varney made for tv at best 2 stars
2/04/05 Melissa wait for DVD 3 stars
1/18/05 liz the best 5 stars
12/15/04 Gray lame 1 stars
12/10/04 aida hernandez the movie was fantastic! i actually made me cry at the end. 5 stars
12/02/04 Hilary Adamson Groovy until cliche of stalker kisses guy& turns his girlfriend against him. 3 stars
10/28/04 kristy it was kewl as and i have seen it 10 times 5 stars
10/24/04 Frankie NICE 5 stars
10/22/04 Jaimee Kitzmiller It was a good movie 5 stars
10/19/04 none its the best hilary duff movie yet! 5 stars
10/15/04 Naka Awful remake of "Save the Last Dance." Duff is a talentless whore. 1 stars
10/14/04 Raven Sparx it was great it showed you to follow your dreams no matter what 5 stars
10/14/04 eugene well its not as good as DEBBIE DOES DALLAS 1 stars
10/11/04 jessica brumit I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! ITS SO SAD BUT HAPPY AT THE SAME TIME..I CRIED! 5 stars
10/11/04 Colin Hillary Duff's carear begins a Countdown to Extinction 1 stars
10/10/04 Kris Lindsay Lohan could kick this chick's ass! 1 stars
10/06/04 Lauren Skinner 1 stars
10/01/04 Ray Bah 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Oct-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 15-Feb-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-2005


Directed by
  Sean McNamara

Written by
  Sam Schreiber

Cast
  Hilary Duff
  Jason Ritter
  John Corbett
  Rebecca De Mornay
  David Keith
  Rita Wilson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast