Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.46

Awesome70.59%
Worth A Look: 19.61%
Just Average: 0.98%
Pretty Crappy: 2.94%
Sucks: 5.88%

6 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Do the Right Thing
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Carina Hoskisson

"Fight the Power!"
5 stars

This film changed the way I looked at movies

I think I first caught this movie on USA on a summer afternoon. I'd heard about DTRT and decided to check it out, I had no idea it would change the entire way I see things. I had to rent it the next night to see the whole thing.

The plot centers on Mookie (Lee) a pizza delivery guy for the local pizzaria owned by Sal (Aiello.) On the hottest day of the summer, the pressures of inner city life are high and the people of the neighborhood are about to find out where their community's breaking point lies.
I just couldn't get over the use of music in the film. I'd never heard it used to punctuate quite in the way that Lee did. The layering of jazz and hip-hop with the heavyness of the weather created a feeling of opression and paranoia. Just as your instinct tells you the music should get quieter, it gets louder until you're feeling the pressure too. It literally made me fidget.
Do The Right Thing definately has some of my favorite performances. Danny Aiello's is by far my choice for the best of his work. Rosie Perez play's Tina, the mother of Mookie's child and she gives a fine performance as a trapped single mother who still loves her child's father. Of course, John Turturro is wonderful as always. Bill Nunn's portrayal of Radio Raheem, a major catalyst, touched me. I know, batteries are a wierd thing to empathize with...
There are too many more performances to mention. Watch for a pre-Pulp Fiction Samuel L. Jackson as Mister Senor Love Daddy.

Most of all I wrestled, and still wrestle, with the ethical choices made.

Lee's right thing to do still puzzles me, but please see the film, one of Lee's absolute best.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1106&reviewer=44
originally posted: 10/10/98 02:50:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/19/17 Ken Spike Lee's magnum opus. 5 stars
4/28/12 Dennis Justin Do the Right Thing...Don't avoid seeing this film. 5 stars
3/15/12 stanley welles do the right thing ... avoid this mess 1 stars
3/02/11 chris c A ticking time bomb of hate explodes during the summer of '89: nobody follows the title 5 stars
8/07/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING, WITTY AND PROVOCATIVE 4 stars
3/09/10 Richard Brandt Hard-charging, right-headed film about wrong-headed people 5 stars
5/22/09 Jeff Wilder Spike Lee's best film. The movie that Crash tried to be. 5 stars
4/30/09 Vince One of the worst movies of all time. Contradicts itself a lot & lousy characters all over 1 stars
5/19/08 jointz The fact that DTRT has filmgoers debating to this day truly speaks for its brilliance. 5 stars
7/05/07 fools♫gold Chill! So this isn't the greatest user review. 100000000000000000000000000000000000% 5 stars
6/14/07 William Goss Moderately heavy-handed and preachy, but important nonetheless. 4 stars
12/04/06 David Cohen Preachy, hypocritical and why the @#$! are people talking to the camera? 2 stars
4/28/06 mike jones spike looks awefully funny with his chicken legs 4 stars
3/01/06 Geoffrey D. Holman /Priest Spike Lee is one of the industries finest writers and directors.... 5 stars
12/11/05 daniel absolute masterpiece 5 stars
12/08/05 Bianca Goodin Loved it, the movie really makes people think 5 stars
8/05/05 Zack No comment 5 stars
7/06/05 Isaac Baranoff GREAT MOVIE! 5 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands One of the most brilliantly realistic movies of all time. 5 stars
5/27/05 Weltner Anti-White,black racist propaganda.Whitey racist,blacks totally innocent.Go to hell,spike! 1 stars
12/26/04 mjoc Spiek Lee rearing his ugly racist head!! Bad movie! 1 stars
9/08/04 R.W. Welch Innovative style and camera work portray bad day in the hood. Solid acting. 4 stars
7/18/04 scrambled brain one of the best movies *ever*, and i'm not even a spike lee fan 5 stars
6/21/04 T. Maj The best film of the 80s; unforgettable 5 stars
2/18/04 john a powerful and thoughtful film - very well made 5 stars
12/08/03 CLear Day Many Layers, Several Stories, Anyone who would call this film RACIST is likely to be one! 5 stars
8/21/03 Goofy Maxwell Spike's riotous "mob" movie...reminds me of A Bronx Tale;drama 'bout race hate can alienate 5 stars
7/16/03 cochese Spike Lee is a racist, bigot, who should be ostracized, but hes not...cause hes black. 1 stars
6/01/03 Ana very good 4 stars
5/16/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!) Possibly the most truthful fucking movie of all time, Hi, KMG. Assholes. 5 stars
12/07/02 Frank Cobbina A must-see movie 5 stars
10/26/02 Mr. Hat Brilliant social commentary and nice music, acting, directing, and writing. 4 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Spike ran out of ideas and threw a trash can through a window 2 stars
10/09/02 Kitfo Aristotle would have approved. 5 stars
7/27/02 Butterbean I appreciate this movie as I grow older. I wish Spike would make more non-racial movies. 4 stars
7/26/02 I Can't Swim I can't believe the amount of children that post their SHITE here! Movie is great! 5 stars
7/21/02 The Man KMG and Hi need to be put down, though some characters are racist, the film is not.Flawless 5 stars
4/22/02 KMG How is doing the right thing trashing a pizza parlor, Spike, you racist turd!? 2 stars
3/30/02 hi what a niggerfestival 1 stars
1/21/02 anju it was a good movie...it makes you think about the things that are happening in real life 4 stars
12/20/01 John Linton Roberson The key: there is no "hero". Still a great film; could be a play. 5 stars
12/03/01 Alphonso Harrell I think that Lee is a great director and he is attacking issues of racism on both sides 5 stars
8/18/01 Edwin Menguin Spike Lee is a crap actor, it would have been better without him 4 stars
4/23/01 BGuha It was a educational and interesting flick. It showed everyday life. 5 stars
3/25/01 shannon leigh excellant movie, spike lee's best 5 stars
1/13/01 rita I had to make a review on it. 5 stars
6/14/00 Elvisfan Spike's only masterpiece - now & forever 5 stars
5/08/00 macdaddy willy this was the s*&t 5 stars
2/22/00 Jedi I really liked this movie, but the ending bothered me 5 stars
1/29/00 Mic Do the right thing - watch this film (although I HATE Rosie Perez). 4 stars
1/29/00 JonnyAngel I wasn't really feeling it, but definatly worth a look 4 stars
12/03/99 Saket Narula One of Lee's greatest movies.DTRT asks you to decide what the Right Thing Is? War OR Peace. 5 stars
10/10/99 Weird Andy Doesn't live up to the hype. Some excellent performances, though. 3 stars
8/19/99 Japtalian Spike Lee at his best. Everyone should see this movie. 5 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Great film, and great cast. I like how Lee lets us decide who did the right thing. 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Spike Lees 2nd best movie (after Malcolm X). 5 stars
5/28/99 Bob, Lord of Evil The question is; Does Lee know who did the right thing himself? 5 stars
5/02/99 The Bomb 69 thought provoking, something wasn't quite right though 4 stars
2/02/99 Vick Di Brecci Kinda simplistic, corny at times, very nice atmosphere, great moments & overall look 4 stars
11/30/98 Mr.Pink Not the masterpiece that many people think it is, but still a good film. 4 stars
11/26/98 broku a movie that actually makes you think. who did the right thing 5 stars
11/12/98 Lord Of The Dunce Had such high hopes for Spike after this movie. It's just breathtaking. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Sensational filmmaking. If only Spike had followed this path instead of cashing up. 5 stars
10/14/98 Bluntman PERFECT! BRILLIANT! YES!!!!! 5 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} M-m-m-m-m-MOOOKIE!! Great characters, great flick, great look, awesome film. 5 stars
10/09/98 Nate Dogg Definately Spike's best piece 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1989 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1989 (M)


Directed by
  Spike Lee

Written by
  Spike Lee

Cast
  Danny Aiello
  Ossie Davis
  Ruby Dee
  Richard Edson
  John Turturro
  Spike Lee



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast