Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.52

Awesome63.77%
Worth A Look: 30.43%
Just Average: 2.9%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 2.9%

1 review, 63 user ratings



National Lampoon's Vacation
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Why aren't we flying? Because getting there is half the fun."
4 stars

The Wagon Queen Family Truckster. You think you hate it now, but wait till you drive it.

I think, next to Fletch, this is the best Chevy Chase movie ever. Seriously.

If you can get past the fact that it's a little bit dated, it's actually pretty funny. It's the family vacation from hell, and it spawned three sequels (all of them inferior).

Think about it: how many times have you taken a vacation to somewhere that you had been planning for weeks, months or even years, and dammit if something doesn't get screwed up. Imagine that on a much larger scale, and you've got the entire Griswold family. They end up in fleabag motels, they have inbreeds for family (led by Randy Quaid as white trash Cousin Eddie), and they kill - in succession - a dog and an aunt, neither of them intentionally. When they do get to WallyWorld, the bastion of goodness and fun, and it's closed, Clark (Chase) goes off the deep end, and takes his family through the park anyway, holding a portly security guard (John Candy) hostage with a BB gun ("What? Are you kidding me? This is a 'Magnum P.I.'!").

Funny, funny, funnny, although I never understood what was so hot about Christie Brinkley.

I think you're all fucked in the head. We're ten hours from the fucking fun park and you want to bail out. Well I'll tell you something. This is no longer a vacation. It's a quest. It's a quest for fun. I'm gonna have fun and you're gonna have fun. We're all gonna have so much fucking fun we'll need plastic surgery to remove our godamn smiles. You'll be whistling 'Zip-A-Dee Doo-Dah' out of you're assholes! I gotta be crazy! I'm on a pilgrimage to see a moose. Praise Marty Moose! Holy Shit!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1117&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/12/98 09:58:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.
For more in the National Lampoon Movies series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

7/05/17 JASON GREAT FROM BEGINING TO END 5 stars
7/13/12 keith miron The best movie of 1983 ? 5 stars
1/24/11 Diehard art do u even like movies pull out the stick and laugh ur face wont crack 5 stars
12/12/10 David A. I don't care what Howard Stern says--Chevy Chase is funny!!! 5 stars
7/01/10 art HORRIBLE! 1 stars
2/13/10 Brian The scene with everyone asleep in the car is great! Chase's best except for Caddyshack! 5 stars
2/10/08 Pamela White it is all Karma for Clark 4 stars
5/04/07 tom Nine years worth of comments! &I love the Ford LTD 4 stars
1/02/06 Anthony Feor The best vacation movie to date 5 stars
7/30/05 Chris A classic, indeed. 5 stars
5/26/05 tony A classic funny film! 5 stars
5/12/05 Jennifer Regan A classic, must see 5 stars
3/24/05 indrid cold A few funny scenes, but I don't get why it's such a cult classic. 3 stars
1/16/05 Jeff Anderson A TOTAL DELIGHT!! Irresistibly nutty, perfectly acted, and funny as hell. H. Ramis' best. 5 stars
7/27/04 Ken A very, very funny film! It's better each time you watch it! 4 stars
7/17/04 Phil M. Aficionado Some laugh out loud lines; great characters; not great art but more than "cute"==> cutting 4 stars
1/26/04 x-nonymous Funny as hell! 4 stars
1/26/04 john bale Spot on comedy of clever slapstick, cast all contribute. Griswolds are real funny people 5 stars
10/10/03 JimmyC One of the best comedy movies ever 5 stars
8/30/03 Kitty Kelso my sis Cat was the one who got me into this movie 5 stars
6/17/03 Andrew Callaway Very, very funny. If you didn't like Caddyshack you may want to want till it comes on TV. 4 stars
3/16/03 G-man i loved to go on this vacation 5 stars
11/07/02 Jay Fucking hilarious!!! 5 stars
10/28/02 Jay I dare anyone who doesn't like this movie to smash my dick and testicles w/a steel shoe!!!! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum I still hum "Holiday Road" when I get in the station wagon 4 stars
9/27/02 Tom Fleeman Chevy Chase has no RIVAL! A great flick! 5 stars
7/27/02 moviemachine Chevy Chase is funny here! 5 stars
7/03/02 gary vidmar chevy chase is the ultimate obsessive "geek" dad. Hilarious work! 5 stars
6/02/02 R.W. Welch Lightweight but often funny account of family's nightmare vacation. 4 stars
5/10/02 Butterbean This and European vacation were the highlights of Chase's career. 5 stars
4/05/02 Justin We're all gonna have so much fucking fun! This is a funny movie! 5 stars
3/21/02 Patrick Cool, Dad, can we go up on it? - "No." 5 stars
11/27/01 C.B the car was great 5 stars
10/27/01 Andrew Carden This Movie Is Extremly Funny and Hiliarious. 5 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) All except for the murdered Dog, "Vacation" is really really really really really fun...... 4 stars
7/25/01 Matt Engel You leave his dead mother tied to a lawn chair in his back yard I'm sure he won't mind!! 5 stars
6/22/01 King Jackass Ahhh, another comic classic! 5 stars
6/09/01 Ford Car Fan i liked the station wagon (note: The truckster is actually a 1983 Ford LTD Country Squire). 5 stars
5/30/01 Chevy Murray 50 feet 5 stars
5/24/01 Chaz Melonic The best vacation movie. I want a Wagon Queen Family truckster 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary Saw it for the first time today. Best Vacation movie! 5 stars
4/09/01 Aaron One of my all time favorites. I saw a Truckster that was used in the movie at a car show!! 5 stars
2/14/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) My family is just like the Griswolds...I totally relate!!!! 5 stars
2/13/01 Lee Chevy Chase being put to good use causes laughter and lots of it 5 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Griswold's rule!! Very funny movie. Oh, Sparky! 5 stars
1/14/01 Dave Best movie ever made! Period. 5 stars
10/24/00 Andrew The Wagon Queen Family Truckster - it's a damn fine automobile!! 5 stars
10/09/00 Monday Morning Randy Quaid's character is worth two stars right there. 5 stars
9/05/00 Bender Hilarious Road movie. The best of the series. 5 stars
9/01/00 Lnio Evgueni Coria Mendoza An American classic! 4 stars
5/31/00 Ben Larson Not great 1 stars
4/04/00 Steve Chase It's a classic - original STILL the best. HILARIOUS! 5 stars
2/17/00 steve layne One of the movies I watched a lot as a kid and it still is very funny 4 stars
10/15/99 Mike Henderson Better than cleaning latrines with a toothbrush!!!!! 5 stars
9/13/99 Jason Kinsey the best Vacation movie by far! 5 stars
7/09/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
5/12/99 ras_jose@yahoo.com funny in spots, randy quaid is everyones relative-from-hell. 4 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog I laughed my ass off, Randy Quaid is everyones worst relative 5 stars
1/22/99 C Dub The original Vacation, an all time classic comedy. Absolutely hilarious. 5 stars
12/10/98 Scott Hill You have got to be a parent to apreciate this movie. 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob The springboard that propelled Hughes towards 16 Candles 4 stars
10/10/98 J-Guy pretty good, not the best. watch it on tv, or rent it to see some titty. 3 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} When you remember it was the early 80's when this came out, it comes across much better. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1983 (R)
  DVD: 19-Aug-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1983 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast