Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.91

Awesome: 12.2%
Worth A Look: 17.07%
Just Average37.8%
Pretty Crappy: 15.85%
Sucks: 17.07%

2 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Halloween 5
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"It could have been worse."
3 stars

It ain't all bad.

Basically I quite like this film, for these reasons

- I enjoyed the continuation of characters (here the film follows Dr Loomins and Jamie Carruthers) that developed them more from the last movie.

- I fucking loved the ending.. I was the only one though.

- Even though Donald Pleasence was the same in all the films he was still great.

Other than that it stank like cheesy poofs.

But I still enjoyed it.. It is a good sequel as far as horror sequels go...

It could have been worse.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1130&reviewer=23
originally posted: 10/15/98 06:12:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/10/12 Jamie Even worse than part 4. 1 stars
4/05/12 SEAN DUTRA loved myers and loomis, but every new character sucks ass. so annoying 3 stars
11/15/09 art HALLOWEEN WILL ALWAYS LIVE IN THE SHADOW OF FRIDAY THE 13TH! 1 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini one of the FT13 movies had a similar ending. the originator rips off the rip-off 4 stars
12/22/06 blarginbadigalnohif Very good sequel to Halloween 4 4 stars
8/08/06 Doreen Loved it....awesome movie! 5 stars
10/15/05 Darren O Well directed and stylish, but the plot lumbers towards a very unsatisfying climax. 2 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington He fuckin' cried?!? This series has reached a new low. 1 stars
11/04/04 dave how many times can this dickhead come back 1 stars
8/04/04 Cynthia Hall he is the greatest actor meet him dick warlock if he wasn't married i would marry him 5 stars
7/31/04 jmsynth Actualy prefered it to 4, with a great black comedy scene, but enough already! 3 stars
7/24/04 Phoenix II Just Average. 3 stars
6/06/04 Ryan Clark Feels like a reprise of Halloween 4... because it is, only not as good. 2 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ What on Earth possed Dominique Othenin-Girad to direct THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
2/06/04 c.r This movie of the halloween series was scary but was lackluster upside part 4 3 stars
12/26/03 Sara Good 4 stars
11/28/03 john pointless 2 stars
10/31/03 American Slasher Goddess Extremely dumb, it's saved somewhat by Pleasence, Harris and last 15 mins in the house. 2 stars
10/19/03 Josh Standlee Who the hell shows the little kids saving the day in an R rated slasher movie! 1 stars
10/09/03 Erik Van Sant Girard should be castrated for this installment. Danielle Harris is great. 1 stars
8/29/03 DARREN STYLISH DIRECTION CAN'T OVERCOME PLOT HOLES AND A TIRED PERFORMANCE BY DONALD PLEASENCE 2 stars
7/21/03 Double G This movies was okay, it had mainly the same plot as before except the girl is retarded. 3 stars
4/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik A dull, rushed, "been-here-done-that" attempt to milk this cash cow to death. 1 stars
3/30/03 Talena This film wasn't as bad as people drag on 5 stars
2/09/03 C.B I just wanna say that im a huge halloween fan, and this film was amazing, worth seeing. 5 stars
1/24/03 M.C. Not the best film in the series, could stuck to original or part 4 mask, great non the less 4 stars
10/27/02 Mickey D Movie is great..Horror...But I have to say..Halloween Resurection is the best ever! 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum One of the most forgettable films in years 2 stars
10/12/02 Donkey Fong Danielle Harris is a remarkably astute actress for a child. Not as bad as parts 3 or 6 3 stars
8/16/02 Scott Back to his old trricks, The Shape isn't horrible in this one. The movie is only decent tho 3 stars
8/16/02 Joe Calio Some bad acting...but Myers is scary as hell in this one... 3 stars
8/15/02 Shaun Michaels mask sucks, Tina sucks, but not the worst film in the world 3 stars
7/25/02 dustin the best one 5 stars
7/11/02 Tony This movie kicked ass! It reeks of the 80's people, Tina was cool! My fave halloween. 5 stars
7/09/02 authorNYSE Just as H & H2 were married in storyline H4 & H5 are married at the hip. 4 stars
7/08/02 RAJIV eheew 5 stars
7/07/02 Samantha D. It's pretty good but not the best. 3 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well, spank my ass and call me Charlie, i actually liked this!!!! 5 stars
5/31/02 Charles Tatum After the promise of 4, took a nose dive 1 stars
4/03/02 cat Not the best of the series, but for God's sake, check out Jason in Manhattan people! 4 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy This Movie plain and simple fucking sucks 1 stars
2/28/02 Chowie The scene where the teens are screwing and the guy gets it with a pitch fork 4 stars
2/16/02 Jake Weak plot the cast bites but I kinda liked Donald and Danielle. 2 stars
2/02/02 Stuart Richards The only Halloween film with no real plot developments, but creepy and some good deaths!!! 3 stars
12/12/01 ben wasden In this case, revenge isn't sweet - it's downright boring 1 stars
11/23/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dr. Loomis VS Michael Myers in this, well thought movie? it was OK but, why the script?!!!! 4 stars
10/30/01 Henry Ginsberg I actualy fell asleep watching this film. 1 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Too mushy. 3 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk I'd like to strangle the fucks who made this movie. But it's still Mikey Myers... 2 stars
8/01/01 Elgyn Totally by-the-numbers. Nothing new happens during the whole movie! 1 stars
7/12/01 SeStA! This was pretty good, sure it was slow, but the ending definitely delivers! 4 stars
4/13/01 LiL I thought this movie was pretty good, yes the beginning was slow but the ending was great! 4 stars
3/21/01 Sthenno A waste.Fine direction is all there is.Teens running around screaming.More slashing garbage 1 stars
3/12/01 Jake It gets worse the more I see it, weak plot. 2 stars
2/10/01 tinka coco pretty good, well not fantastic, I like Kyle's point of view, but i'll rate it a bit higher 3 stars
8/08/00 Snilfwad It was mint, excptionally funny, I laughed till I nearly died! 5 stars
7/29/00 Bender Decent, but a big step back from part 4. 3 stars
6/02/00 Josh Smith Why? Why? They should have finished with the great part 4. But it has some chilling moments 2 stars
4/21/00 John Carpenter I bow beforee this movie!Better than anything I've ever made!Hail me-King Hack! 5 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog Chesy- but great. That Tina chick's performance cracks me up each time 4 stars
3/23/00 Aaron Schweighardt Lacks potential from the past movies, and is kind of lame. 3 stars
3/14/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs Pretty good. 2nd best of the Halloween movies. Danielle was good. Violent! 4 stars
3/01/00 Kyle Broflovski Yo, "Uncle Boogeyman"--slash THIS!!!!! 2 stars
2/05/00 Steve Layne Next to the least in the series which is part 3 3 stars
11/12/99 Gary Durso Some scares....some stupidity. 3 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury The ending sucked! Dani Harris gets blown away by some guy dressed in black.. wee 4 stars
12/20/98 mike it's getting a little old here....time for some new ideas 3 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Oh my God... Myers just ate my balls! You bastard! 3 stars
10/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Ending is fine, but not worth watching the rest of this crap for. 2 stars
10/14/98 Bluntman Piece of crap. Not a damn thing works in this movie. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Oct-1989 (R)
  DVD: 25-Jul-2006

UK
  N/A (18)

Australia
  02-Jul-1990 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast