Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.91

Awesome: 12.2%
Worth A Look: 17.07%
Just Average37.8%
Pretty Crappy: 15.85%
Sucks: 17.07%

2 reviews, 70 user ratings



Halloween 5
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"It could have been worse."
3 stars

It ain't all bad.

Basically I quite like this film, for these reasons

- I enjoyed the continuation of characters (here the film follows Dr Loomins and Jamie Carruthers) that developed them more from the last movie.

- I fucking loved the ending.. I was the only one though.

- Even though Donald Pleasence was the same in all the films he was still great.

Other than that it stank like cheesy poofs.

But I still enjoyed it.. It is a good sequel as far as horror sequels go...

It could have been worse.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1130&reviewer=23
originally posted: 10/15/98 06:12:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/10/12 Jamie Even worse than part 4. 1 stars
4/05/12 SEAN DUTRA loved myers and loomis, but every new character sucks ass. so annoying 3 stars
11/15/09 art HALLOWEEN WILL ALWAYS LIVE IN THE SHADOW OF FRIDAY THE 13TH! 1 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini one of the FT13 movies had a similar ending. the originator rips off the rip-off 4 stars
12/22/06 blarginbadigalnohif Very good sequel to Halloween 4 4 stars
8/08/06 Doreen Loved it....awesome movie! 5 stars
10/15/05 Darren O Well directed and stylish, but the plot lumbers towards a very unsatisfying climax. 2 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington He fuckin' cried?!? This series has reached a new low. 1 stars
11/04/04 dave how many times can this dickhead come back 1 stars
8/04/04 Cynthia Hall he is the greatest actor meet him dick warlock if he wasn't married i would marry him 5 stars
7/31/04 jmsynth Actualy prefered it to 4, with a great black comedy scene, but enough already! 3 stars
7/24/04 Phoenix II Just Average. 3 stars
6/06/04 Ryan Clark Feels like a reprise of Halloween 4... because it is, only not as good. 2 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ What on Earth possed Dominique Othenin-Girad to direct THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
2/06/04 c.r This movie of the halloween series was scary but was lackluster upside part 4 3 stars
12/26/03 Sara Good 4 stars
11/28/03 john pointless 2 stars
10/31/03 American Slasher Goddess Extremely dumb, it's saved somewhat by Pleasence, Harris and last 15 mins in the house. 2 stars
10/19/03 Josh Standlee Who the hell shows the little kids saving the day in an R rated slasher movie! 1 stars
10/09/03 Erik Van Sant Girard should be castrated for this installment. Danielle Harris is great. 1 stars
8/29/03 DARREN STYLISH DIRECTION CAN'T OVERCOME PLOT HOLES AND A TIRED PERFORMANCE BY DONALD PLEASENCE 2 stars
7/21/03 Double G This movies was okay, it had mainly the same plot as before except the girl is retarded. 3 stars
4/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik A dull, rushed, "been-here-done-that" attempt to milk this cash cow to death. 1 stars
3/30/03 Talena This film wasn't as bad as people drag on 5 stars
2/09/03 C.B I just wanna say that im a huge halloween fan, and this film was amazing, worth seeing. 5 stars
1/24/03 M.C. Not the best film in the series, could stuck to original or part 4 mask, great non the less 4 stars
10/27/02 Mickey D Movie is great..Horror...But I have to say..Halloween Resurection is the best ever! 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum One of the most forgettable films in years 2 stars
10/12/02 Donkey Fong Danielle Harris is a remarkably astute actress for a child. Not as bad as parts 3 or 6 3 stars
8/16/02 Scott Back to his old trricks, The Shape isn't horrible in this one. The movie is only decent tho 3 stars
8/16/02 Joe Calio Some bad acting...but Myers is scary as hell in this one... 3 stars
8/15/02 Shaun Michaels mask sucks, Tina sucks, but not the worst film in the world 3 stars
7/25/02 dustin the best one 5 stars
7/11/02 Tony This movie kicked ass! It reeks of the 80's people, Tina was cool! My fave halloween. 5 stars
7/09/02 authorNYSE Just as H & H2 were married in storyline H4 & H5 are married at the hip. 4 stars
7/08/02 RAJIV eheew 5 stars
7/07/02 Samantha D. It's pretty good but not the best. 3 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well, spank my ass and call me Charlie, i actually liked this!!!! 5 stars
5/31/02 Charles Tatum After the promise of 4, took a nose dive 1 stars
4/03/02 cat Not the best of the series, but for God's sake, check out Jason in Manhattan people! 4 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy This Movie plain and simple fucking sucks 1 stars
2/28/02 Chowie The scene where the teens are screwing and the guy gets it with a pitch fork 4 stars
2/16/02 Jake Weak plot the cast bites but I kinda liked Donald and Danielle. 2 stars
2/02/02 Stuart Richards The only Halloween film with no real plot developments, but creepy and some good deaths!!! 3 stars
12/12/01 ben wasden In this case, revenge isn't sweet - it's downright boring 1 stars
11/23/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dr. Loomis VS Michael Myers in this, well thought movie? it was OK but, why the script?!!!! 4 stars
10/30/01 Henry Ginsberg I actualy fell asleep watching this film. 1 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Too mushy. 3 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk I'd like to strangle the fucks who made this movie. But it's still Mikey Myers... 2 stars
8/01/01 Elgyn Totally by-the-numbers. Nothing new happens during the whole movie! 1 stars
7/12/01 SeStA! This was pretty good, sure it was slow, but the ending definitely delivers! 4 stars
4/13/01 LiL I thought this movie was pretty good, yes the beginning was slow but the ending was great! 4 stars
3/21/01 Sthenno A waste.Fine direction is all there is.Teens running around screaming.More slashing garbage 1 stars
3/12/01 Jake It gets worse the more I see it, weak plot. 2 stars
2/10/01 tinka coco pretty good, well not fantastic, I like Kyle's point of view, but i'll rate it a bit higher 3 stars
8/08/00 Snilfwad It was mint, excptionally funny, I laughed till I nearly died! 5 stars
7/29/00 Bender Decent, but a big step back from part 4. 3 stars
6/02/00 Josh Smith Why? Why? They should have finished with the great part 4. But it has some chilling moments 2 stars
4/21/00 John Carpenter I bow beforee this movie!Better than anything I've ever made!Hail me-King Hack! 5 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog Chesy- but great. That Tina chick's performance cracks me up each time 4 stars
3/23/00 Aaron Schweighardt Lacks potential from the past movies, and is kind of lame. 3 stars
3/14/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs Pretty good. 2nd best of the Halloween movies. Danielle was good. Violent! 4 stars
3/01/00 Kyle Broflovski Yo, "Uncle Boogeyman"--slash THIS!!!!! 2 stars
2/05/00 Steve Layne Next to the least in the series which is part 3 3 stars
11/12/99 Gary Durso Some scares....some stupidity. 3 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury The ending sucked! Dani Harris gets blown away by some guy dressed in black.. wee 4 stars
12/20/98 mike it's getting a little old here....time for some new ideas 3 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Oh my God... Myers just ate my balls! You bastard! 3 stars
10/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Ending is fine, but not worth watching the rest of this crap for. 2 stars
10/14/98 Bluntman Piece of crap. Not a damn thing works in this movie. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Oct-1989 (R)
  DVD: 25-Jul-2006

UK
  N/A (18)

Australia
  02-Jul-1990 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast