Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.4

Awesome: 7.32%
Worth A Look: 19.51%
Just Average: 21.95%
Pretty Crappy: 8.54%
Sucks42.68%

2 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Ah, blessed competence! How rarely has your light shone upon this series!"
3 stars

Part 6 in the “Halloween” series, given the numberless title “Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers,” is marked by some genuine competence, and even a few scary parts. Notably, it is the first film since the original not to be shot in the ‘80s, which probably helped. (How many ‘80s films can you name that were ACTUALLY scary? I think there was something about the decade that sucked the terror out of everything. I blame the hairstyles. Nothing’s scary when people’s hair is feathered.)

Now, you mustn’t get the wrong idea about “Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers.” It is still not a “good” film, at least not in the traditional sense of that word. But it is generally competent -- that is, it appears to have been made by grown-ups, not by retarded preschoolers.

We meet Tommy Doyle, who you will remember was the boy Laurie Strode was babysitting that fateful night in 1978 when Michael Myers killed everybody. Tommy is about 25 now, living in a boarding house across the street from the Myers home, and being really creepy. Perhaps that last part is obvious, considering he lives across the street from the house formerly occupied by the man who traumatized him as a child.

The Myers home -- restored to its original smallness after being a Victorian mansion in “Halloween 5” -- is now occupied by the Strodes. The Strodes are related to the Strode family who adopted Michael Myers’ sister Laurie, who is now dead, until the next film, when she is alive after all.

But we are getting ahead of ourselves. The current Strode family couldn’t be more dysfunctional if it tried. Dad is a sloppy, abusive drunk. Mom is wimpy. Son Tim is a tooly teen-ager with a skanky girlfriend. Kara is in college, home after being gone for five years (they don’t tell us why; I don’t know why they bother telling us anything at all). She has a little boy named Danny. Everyone hates each other. Breakfast at the Strode house is like breakfast in Danang, circa 1965.

Most of the Strodes are unaware that this is the house where the evil started. How they managed this unawareness is beyond me, since the whole town can talk of nothing but Michael Myers. You’d think the subject of where Michael used to live would come up at least occasionally, but maybe the Strodes were too busy hating each other to notice.

Coinciding with all this exposition is a sequence where little Jamie from the last two movies, now at the ripe old age of 15, has given birth to a baby boy. Some weird cult wants to kill the baby because it has Michael’s blood in it (since Jamie is his niece), but Jamie and infant escape, chased by Michael himself, who wants to kill them because he wants to kill any relative he can find. (Michael is no longer welcome at the genealogy library.)

Michael kills Jamie, but not before she hides the baby in a bus station, where Tommy finds him. Then Tommy has to find old Dr. Loomis, who by this time is as insane and senile as a British monarch, and together they try to warn the Strodes that evil is headed to town. And of course it’s Halloween, and Kara’s little boy Danny comes under the influence of a weird voice-in-the-head -- the same voice, apparently, that inspired Michael to do all that killing back in 1978.

Oh, and meanwhile there’s also a weird doctor named Wynn who wants Jamie’s baby because it’s the embodiment of evil, or some kind of crap like that. Honestly, I just watched this movie four days ago, and already I have no idea what it was all about. I didn’t take enough notes on the plot; all I have is, “Why would Wynn want an evil baby?” Which I think is a pretty good question. I also recall there being talk of a star constellation called “Thorn” that appears randomly, and when it appears on Halloween, WATCH OUT!

Also, there’s a horrible radio personality who says loathsome things and then gets killed, thank goodness. Also, there are no police in this movie, probably because Loomis and Co. finally realized they always do more harm than good. Also, there’s a crazy old lady who runs the boarding house and regales young Danny with delightful stories about how Halloween used to represent murder and mayhem. (Seriously, what gets into old people sometimes?)

Twelve people die in this movie, which is a decent score, but not great. The fact that some of them are Strodes helps a little. The fact that none of them is Michael does not help at all.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1131&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/04/02 15:14:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/17 morris campbell a curse indeed awful art quit flipfloping 1 stars
10/31/14 David Hollingsworth an unworthy sequel 1 stars
10/30/12 Earle Wynn Everything that H20 isn't meaning this takes more chances and least delivers something new! 4 stars
7/21/10 art I TAKE BACK what i said,HALLOWEEN IS the best,FRIDAY the 13H,doesn't measure up! 3 stars
6/21/10 Sarah Michael Myers gets arrested. LOL. Enough said. 1 stars
5/21/09 Mike B Total crap. Explains nothing. 50+ face palms. Cannot be enjoyed without mild retardation. 1 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go I thought part 5 was bad...but then came this crap! It's a wonder 7 was ever made... 1 stars
10/31/07 m azing if uve folowed the story of the othr movies, u wld undrstnd it, aparently not many of u hav 3 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini confusing 4 stars
12/22/06 blarginbadigalnohif ok movie 3 stars
10/30/06 JM Synth Poor, but not as smug as 7&8 2 stars
11/26/05 cr a druid mike flim, scary and believe it not it's gory and freaky ,confusing ending 3 stars
10/15/05 Darren O It's sad how a simple and effective slasher series could sink to such pointless drivel. 1 stars
7/13/05 Brandy Harrington Garbage! 1 stars
11/04/04 dave ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha, ohh sorry i thought it was a comedy 1 stars
7/24/04 Phoenix II This is kinda stupid. 2 stars
6/06/04 Ryan Clark The worst film in the series and one of the worst films ever made - unscary and repetitive. 1 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ At least it explains why Micahel kills his entire family bloodline... More Thorn Cult!!!!! 5 stars
12/26/03 Sara Not as good as some 3 stars
11/24/03 Thiago Not really that bad. I thought it was GOOD. 4 stars
10/31/03 American Slasher Goddess Incoherent crap 1 stars
10/15/03 Erik Van Sant OK, the druid thing sucked...but Myers was fucking brutal for most of the movie. 4 stars
7/21/03 Double G This movie was the 2nd worst one yet, what happened to Jaime Lee Curtis or Danielle Harris? 2 stars
6/28/03 Dave Hopman Bring on the superior H6 Director's Cut! I have read about it's a GOOD movie! 3 stars
5/26/03 mee GGREAT 5 stars
3/12/03 Sarah This is the worst Halloween movie...and what happened to Danielle Harris? 1 stars
1/24/03 M.C. This installment in the Halloween series is off the chainz (very good) 4 stars
9/11/02 Jake I thought it was intense. The leading characters do a great job, beats H20! he he he... 3 stars
8/16/02 Scott Plot lines a' thinning............. 3 stars
8/16/02 Joe Calio A completely worthless piece of shit. 1 stars
8/15/02 Shaun I'd rather Michaels reasons for killing be left secret, and more Loomis 3 stars
6/21/02 Kever I loved Halloween. This movie is CRAP !!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/04/02 Charles Tatum Someone kill this series 1 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi oh my gosh, what the fuck, here's a nice piece of shit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/03/02 cat A bit confusing and changed? but it's Michael Myers, come on! 4 stars
3/30/02 Film Dude WHAT THE FUCK WAS THAT? WHO THE FUCK WERE THEY? WHAT THE FUCK HAPPENED TO THAT GUYS HEAD? 1 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy This Movie Sucked More Than Anything That has ever sucked before 1 stars
2/16/02 Jake Compared to the goofy parts 4 & 5 It has much stronger acting, directing, music and cast!! 4 stars
2/02/02 Stuart Richards By far the worst in the seris, 1 star for Micheal being in it, 1 star for the exploding hea 2 stars
12/12/01 ben wasden By this point, the Halloween series appears to be cursed itself 1 stars
11/23/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My favourite one! i hope they get the T.V. version of this on DVD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/30/01 Henry Ginsberg When that guy's head exploded ialmost died laughing.Kinda reminds me of school science. 1 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The best since "Halloween II" 4 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk The darkest of the series. I thought it worked until the explanation of Mike's madness. 4 stars
8/01/01 Elgyn Pretty crappy.....but it still has a few cool scenes. 2 stars
7/13/01 Owen Salmon See The Producer's Cut! It's excellent! 3 stars
4/13/01 LiL Well, here's a nice piece of shit 1 stars
4/08/01 C.T I've seen this movie, i think its awesome, even though the producer's cut was more specific 5 stars
3/29/01 Andrew Carden The theme of lesbians in the beginning ruined an already bad movie. 2 stars
3/21/01 Sthenno Sleek direction and gore,a fantastic Halloween feel,but it falls just short. 3 stars
3/12/01 Jake Alot stronger than 4 & 5 I found it scary, Good ending. 4 stars
1/01/01 Patient X hiss!boo! 1 stars
12/11/00 ashi toledano scary,and fun 5 stars
9/25/00 Jed Underrated? Not at all! For diehard halloween fans & such only! 1 stars
7/29/00 Bender I don't know why, but this is an entertaining entry in my opinion. Way better than Part 5> 4 stars
6/12/00 DAVID THIS MOVIE IS REALLY UNDERRATED 4 stars
6/11/00 Jed I agree with K-Dog this time,I hope the other halloween films were better than this. 1 stars
6/09/00 Owen Salmon This is okay, but the Producer's Cut is far superior. 4 stars
5/26/00 Aaron The producer's cut is better and it's the best of the series. 5 stars
4/29/00 Joseph P. Ulibas Check out the producer's cut! 4 stars
3/01/00 Kyle Broflovski Screwed, blued, and tattooed. Can only reccommend as a tranquilizer. 1 stars
2/24/00 steve layne Underrated it delivers the goods. in my opinion the 3rd best in the series. 4 stars
2/05/00 Steve Layne Underrated and a iie with part 4 for the 3rd best in the series 4 stars
1/04/00 dog person i hated this bomb. it was a total turkey! 1 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury I like the deaths. It had all the right things in it to make it worth a look.(forget story) 3 stars
3/03/99 Rachel NOT the worst sequel I've seen. Mikey, his mask & Paul Rudd should count for something. 2 stars
1/11/99 J. Springer This is really bizarre. Quite off the wall and not scary at all. 1 stars
12/14/98 Binky Ugh. Concept driven into shit, but I still rate it up above H20. 1 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Godammit... Michael Myers look like Barney on Prozac! Kill him! 1 stars
10/14/98 Bluntman Oh my... 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Sep-1995 (R)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2011

UK
  N/A (18)

Australia
  02-Feb-1996 (MA)


Directed by
  Joe Chappelle

Written by
  Daniel Farrands

Cast
  Donald Pleasence
  Paul Rudd
  Marianne Hagan
  Mitch Ryan
  Kim Darby
  Bradford English



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast