Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.06

Awesome41.25%
Worth A Look: 33.75%
Just Average: 17.5%
Pretty Crappy: 4.38%
Sucks: 3.13%

11 reviews, 94 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Mark Rodger-Snelson

"Visually spectacular and thoroughly entertaining"
4 stars

Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events is a wonderfully dark children’s tale that is both visually spectacular and hilarious to boot. Based on the series of books by Daniel Handler, this movie combines the first three stories to create one of the most original and inventive children’s movies since Tim Burton’s A Nightmare Before Christmas.

Jude Law does a nice job narrating as Lemony Snicket and from the onset he warns that this is not your average warm and fuzzy children’s story. He introduces us to the Baudelaire children Violet (Emily Browning), Klaus (Liam Aiken) and baby Sunny (Kara & Shelby Hoffman) just as they are informed that their parents have perished in a mysterious fire at their mansion home. Before the kids are given a moment to comprehend their loss they are place in the guardianship of a distant relative Count Olaf who wants nothing more than the children’s vast inheritance which is held by the public trust. He lives in a grotty, run down house where he puts the kids to work cleaning vast piles of dishes, scrubbing floors and cooking dinner for his outcast amateur actor friends. Meanwhile, Olaf brushes up on inheritance law and thinks up dastardly ways to get his hands on the money. Each child has a special talent to help them outwit Olaf: Violet is an inventor and can build useful contraptions out of just about anything, Klaus is a vast source of knowledge due to his favourite pastime of reading and he absorbs contents of books like a sponge and baby Sunny is a very good biter.

During the film the children are in and out of the care of a couple oddball relatives including Uncle Monty (Billy Connolly) a charmingly eccentric man who collects snakes and also Aunt Josephine (Meryl Streep) who was a daredevil in her younger days but now seems to fear everything from household appliances to real estate agents (but paradoxically lives in a house that perilously overhangs an enormous cliff). All the while, Count Olaf attempts to get the children back into his care and closer to the inheritance by paying visits to the new guardians in disguise.

The sets, costuming and cinematography all blend together to create a dreamlike world which is pure eye candy and impossible to turn away from. There is an obvious Tim Burton influence here which is hardly surprising when you learn that the production design and costuming was in the hands of two long time Burton collaborators Rick Heinrichs and Colleen Atwood (Sleepy Hollow, Edward Scissorhands). It seems as though Carrey was let off the leash in this film and he looks to be relishing in his role of Count Olaf. Billy Connolly is suitably charming and eccentric as Uncle Monty and Meryl Streep’s Aunt Jospehine would have to be one of the goofiest characters she has played to date but she fits into this fairytale world perfectly. The children are great as well with 15 year old Australian actress Emily Browning confidently taking on the much coveted role of Violet. Special mention should also go to the paper cut-out animated closing credits which are definitely worth sticking around for.

Lemony Snicket’s… does visit a fairly gloomy world but there is light to found within and many a laugh to be had with Carrey’s over the top portrayal of Count Olaf (and the impostors he also plays). Much has been made about how children may be scared of this film but there is nothing here that comes close to the Dementors in the third instalment of Harry Potter. There are some particularly nasty carnivorous leeches but the damage they cause is only implied and never shown.

It may be a little too dark for the very young but nevertheless it is a great family movie for those looking for something with a little more edge than the sugar coated fluff that Disney usually churns out.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=11348&reviewer=388
originally posted: 05/28/05 17:17:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/19/08 PAUL SHORTT A SENSE OF FRESHNESS AND DISCOVERY PENETRATES THE GLOOM 3 stars
3/07/08 peter i think this movie was pretty shit i think the baudelaire children should have died 1 stars
2/09/08 Samantha P i really liked this movie, i hope they make more, Jim Carrey was great as Count Olaf! 4 stars
11/03/07 Tiffany Losco Wierd but good. Jim Carreys funny 5 stars
7/14/07 Vincent Ebriega Not just beyond expectations, but beyond a usual juvenille production. 3.5/5. 4 stars
7/11/07 Hello Stranger emily browning is a great actress. cheers to liam as well 5 stars
11/10/06 Bill Hi all 5 stars
10/12/06 Xier Hernandez wow..it was really great...cool !!!!!! 5 stars
8/12/06 Andy Liam Aiken is the best part of the film 5 stars
7/19/06 David Cohen Jim Carrey's haminess ruined what should have been a classic 3 stars
6/27/06 joe koski good movie but the books are better 3 stars
6/18/06 chienne I'd never heard of LS, never read a book, but loved the film and have bought the books 5 stars
6/02/06 Elizabeth Wiley great 5 stars
5/27/06 Sarah its great! 5 stars
5/21/06 Diane P a little boring for me but my daughter loved it 3 stars
5/15/06 ororo manro It is agreat film and i would definatly watch it again,because of the unique acting skills. 1 stars
5/12/06 mr.seraph the only parts i found interested where those which included Jim Carrey 2 stars
4/04/06 John Aster Habig big fan of the books and Carrey but it was a bad adaptation, the kids actually saved it 3 stars
4/03/06 JRE the books are a lot more interresting, however Carrey did an amazing job 3 stars
3/29/06 Monique it was kool 5 stars
3/29/06 Amy cunninghamsy An exellent movie to watch 5 stars
12/11/05 Bad Critic Jim Carrey and Billy Connolly gave good performances, but it only covered three books! 3 stars
10/24/05 Stephanie The Book Is Way Better Should Have Been One Book One Movie Not Three Books In One Movie 2 stars
10/22/05 Deaf. I loved this movie! Jim Carrey is just so good at being evil. 5 stars
8/29/05 ES Started great but fizzled, they should have done a H. potter & stayed closer to the books 3 stars
8/22/05 Quigley the movie ruled. carrey was perfect. liam aiken was horrible. not to mention good CG. 5 stars
8/14/05 John Aster Habig big fan of the books and Carrey but it was a bad adaptation, the kids actually saved it 3 stars
8/08/05 reggie splendid!!! 5 stars
8/05/05 Zack Okay, it was better than "The Grinch, I'll admit, but.... 2 stars
8/01/05 Annie the kids did incredible, carrey was just creepy though 3 stars
7/23/05 summer Liam aiken sucks 1 stars
7/20/05 Sir Dude Loved it. Some of the best parts were deleted scenes, though. 5 stars
7/16/05 Pardue, sara Great Movie, The theme, imagination, and the fun is a enjoyable. 4 stars
7/03/05 Vic bull shit one of carey lesser funny movie...very tedious it dragged on 1 stars
7/02/05 anonymous It is a wonderful movie and Carrey, Browning and Aiken did phenominal! 5 stars
6/20/05 Honestly Movie good. Hated Jim; no one else available? Not looking forward to another with Jim. 3 stars
6/20/05 darick See it (especially if you haven't read the books) 4 stars
6/07/05 Darcy my son loved it 4 stars
6/04/05 Ubu the Ripper A great flick. Carrey is best when he is doing dark humor. 5 stars
5/27/05 JFK great photography and a great jim carrey performance 4 stars
5/27/05 Quigley Jim Carrey shows off his pure film magic in this. a hilarious movie. meryl streep rocked! 5 stars
5/16/05 E-FUNK I hate child-actors, but not a single complaint in this. Carrey fucking owns this. 4 stars
5/10/05 suzie suezetta good movie but not at all like the books 4 stars
5/06/05 ken good movie , very inteeresting 4 stars
5/02/05 Gary Jim Carrey was extraordinary in this 5 stars
4/30/05 Steve Newman seen this film twice - it gets better every time 4 stars
4/26/05 louis ok, but i expect more from jim, so i is good, but can be better 4 stars
4/26/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble Beware of the spyglass. Its not in the books. It was added by the director. I smell sequal. 4 stars
4/19/05 Nicole Baugh I don't really care for Jim Carrey much but this movie was pretty good. 4 stars
4/18/05 Renita Long Fun! 4 stars
4/16/05 Lynnette Stevens We loved this movie! 5 stars
4/09/05 Jillyn It was funny and really cute, and suprisingly followed the books pretty well 5 stars
2/25/05 Mia Griggs Too gloomy - my 5 year old was scared and he likes Harry Potter 3 stars
2/24/05 Evangelica Schnapfenschalz Good, despite that Carrey (better as grinch) is monotonoutsly flat as unrelenting villain. 4 stars
2/16/05 Littlepurch Pleasing adaption of excelent bks.Glad they took enough poetic license to change some bits. 5 stars
2/05/05 Tom Benton Though fans of the books may be disappointed, the film will please the average moviegoer. 3 stars
2/04/05 Ann Klonicki This was a little over the top for young kids 3 stars
2/03/05 Mirella Rodriguez Great Movie, not for young kids 4 stars
2/03/05 craig varney great jim carrey can play anything 5 stars
2/03/05 Debbi Kalstein fun 4 stars
2/02/05 photocopy Buy posters from this movie at AllPosters.com 5 stars
1/29/05 Gretchen Lowe I was expecting something else, I don't like children's movies:) Sorry 4 stars
1/26/05 Angelique Gloster I loved the movie it was the funniest movie I've ever seen! 5 stars
1/26/05 JesseL Nice dark comedy. Carey's aping can get wearisome. Biting baby makes it. 4 stars
1/19/05 ELI Had some stupid parts, but overall it was good! :) Good visuals 4 stars
1/17/05 Paterfam001 Not funny, not scary. I can't see kids getting excited about this movie. 2 stars
1/17/05 Shaira Liam is hott! 5 stars
1/13/05 Andi it totally was not a movie worth seeing again 1 stars
1/12/05 Robby Boyajian Great Movie but, doesn't follow the book to well 4 stars
1/11/05 Seth S. Wow... It was mandititory (for school) but it was WAY better than the books! ***** 5 stars
1/06/05 Angel C. It gave a interesting twist and a new look at the book series. It is a good film, the next 4 stars
1/05/05 Chuck Craig Carry is a little over the top, but acceptable. 4 stars
1/05/05 Mrk If you are a slight bit creative, you will enjoy this film. Very well acted. 5 stars
1/02/05 Lil Poor adaptation 2 stars
1/01/05 NoRefill Pretty bored during movie. Almost fell asleep twice. Just couldn't get into it. 3 stars
1/01/05 Karel cool! 4 stars
1/01/05 Maalstrom Always entertained when Carrey's on scene 4 stars
12/30/04 Jennifer I love the books and the movie was a wonderful adaptation! It was better than awesome! 5 stars
12/30/04 Worthy Slacker WOW! What a surprise. Expected a "formula" kid movie and got a "Top 10 film of the year". 5 stars
12/29/04 Max Trying too hard to be a tim burton film! 2 stars
12/28/04 Tom Ciorciari Like Charles Addams on acid, if that's possible 4 stars
12/27/04 aubree supeer duper 5 stars
12/23/04 Titus A bit rushed, and perhaps a bit too goofy for the story, but still great 4 stars
12/21/04 John Aster Habig Love all 11 books! The kids were well cast, but adults were ok with mediocre adaptation 4 stars
12/21/04 bobbi Excellent movie, a little shallow at the end but probably because of possible sequel 5 stars
12/20/04 Devon Awesome movie, worth your money 5 stars
12/20/04 michaelb14 great story, and great telling 5 stars
12/19/04 Daveman Impressive sets, sometimes funny but pretty pedestrian all in all. 2 stars
12/18/04 Naka HAH! A pleasent surprise. 5 stars
12/18/04 KingNeutron Liam Aiken was the only weak link. Very dark and gripping story. 4 stars
12/18/04 Mahone Awesome sets, but that's about it 3 stars
12/17/04 Littlepurch Some fantastic, some dragged, but everyone should try it and will enjoy some. 4 stars
12/17/04 Cat Love the Books. Love the Film 5 stars
12/16/04 Joe Cool 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Dec-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 26-Apr-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Dec-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast