Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.58

Awesome: 12.05%
Worth A Look: 15.66%
Just Average: 19.28%
Pretty Crappy: 24.1%
Sucks28.92%

2 reviews, 71 user ratings



Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Jason does take Manhattan, but not until you've waited around for an hour."
2 stars

Of all the "Friday the 13th" movies -- and I think there were 19 or 20 or them -- "Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan" probably annoyed me the most. And that's really saying something, too, considering Part 6 gave me the dry heaves and Part 5 killed my dad.

Part 8 has the alluring title of "Jason Takes Manhattan," which causes one to think of so many wonderful things. At last, Jason will be out of the woods and in civilization! New York is a crazy place; will anyone even notice him? Jason is a guy who kills (or tries to kill) every person he sees. How will he react in a city with several million people? The mind reels at the possibilities. We've sat through seven crappy movies so far; now, finally, there might be some pay-off, some reason to have learned so much about the automated killing machine we call Jason.

And then ... Jason doesn't actually GET to Manhattan until more than an hour of the film has passed. And when he does arrive, he spends 20 minutes chasing kids through a deserted part of town that could be ANY city. We only get a few minutes of "only in New York" material, and it's all at a point in the movie when no one cares anymore, i.e., the end. It's the ol' bait-and-switch. We're lured in with promises of Manhattan mayhem, and all we get is more of the same stupid stuff.

The bulk of the film takes place on a cruise ship. Jason gets reawakened from his watery grave by a boat anchor ("I have to go drop the anchor" is what the beefy teen says, and now my friends and I go around saying "I have to go drop the anchor" as if it's a euphemism for something), and wouldn't you know it, he's pissed. I admit, I'm cranky when someone wakes me up, too, and I've been known to glare at a roommate or snap at a coworker. But I draw the line at homicide, except in rare cases where all the donuts are gone when I arrive at work.

Anyway, Jason winds up aboard a tiny cruise ship that is carrying the local high school's very small senior class out to sea for a graduation trip. Somehow, Crystal Lake now leads to a river (so we're told), which goes out to the ocean, and it all starts at a point where there are a lot of mountains nearby, despite there being none in New Jersey, which is where Crystal Lake is. Once again, no one's bothering to watch the previous movies before making a new one.

There's an evil teacher chaperoning the trip, and he's the uncle of Suzi, the main character. She had some kind of trauma as a kid that now makes her afraid of the water, for fear dead old Jason Voorhees will drag her down to her death. Helpfully, a real snotty girl who thinks Suzi is weird (which she is) pushes her overboard, forcing her to face her fear and almost die in the process.

Then Jason starts killing people on the ship. For the first time in the history of the "Friday the 13th" movies, everyone who is still alive actually discovers that someone among them has been killed, realizes there's a murderer in their midst, and starts looking for him. (They split up to do this, naturally.) In the past, no one ever found a body unless they were about to become one, too. Congratulations on finally wising up, you bunch of dunderheaded teen-agers.

It becomes a bedroom farce, with Jason slipping out of one room on the ship just as someone enters the one next to it. Eventually, everyone dies except for Suzi, her gayish boyfriend Jim, the evil teacher and a couple others. They get on a lifeboat that floats into New York Harbor. They land on a dock, followed closely by Jason, who either hung onto the boat like a barnacle or swam after them. In either case, you have to ask: Why? Why not just stay at Crystal Lake and wait for a new batch of victims to arrive? He apparently has some personal vendetta against this particular group of people, but darned if I know what it is.

In the end, he gets killed by a sea of toxic waste in the sewer, which melts away all the Jason-ness and leaves behind the little boy who drowned in Crystal Lake all those years ago. If this makes sense to you, then you deserve this movie.

More than any other film in the series, Part 8 has Jason defying all laws of time and space. He appears around one corner, the victim runs, and next thing you know, Jason is on the deck above them. Or he'll appear outside a window and then come through the door on the opposite wall. It's not sloppy editing; it's meant to suggest Jason can move really quickly. But I'm not buying it.

He commits some pretty weak murders in this one, too. In one instance, he kills someone -- really -- just by strangling them. And old classic, sure, but not very exciting to watch. Another time, he throws a guy overboard, and we're supposed to think that did him in.

Making up for the lame murders, though, is a great one where he literally punches a guy's head off. That's the sort of thing that SHOULD be the only reason the series was conceived: outrageous deaths done with flair.

Goodness knows we're not watching just so we can see the sights of Manhattan.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1135&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/16/01 23:54:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT IMAGINATIVELY MADE BUT PREDICTABLE 2 stars
11/07/09 art THEY SHOULD HAVE STOPPED AFTER FRIDAY THE 13TH PART TWO! 2 stars
7/11/09 HUNT IT ONE OF MY FAVORITE FRIDAY THE 13TH MOVIES. 4 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Film! 5 stars
10/04/08 blarginbadigalnohif this is a piece of SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/15/08 art I WALKED OUT ON THIS IN A NEW YORK MINUTE 1 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini Needed more time in the city and less on the boat 5 stars
2/05/07 action movie fan god awful!!!! silly and dumb not scary at all a total waste 1 stars
12/15/06 MP Bartley Lively, if tame, entry with very little Manhattan. 3 stars
11/09/06 American Slasher Goddess The scenes with Jason in Manhatten aren't bad, but the rest of it is extremely dull. 1 stars
1/16/06 Anthony Feor This franchaise has been officially flushed down the toilet 1 stars
11/23/05 cr great chase scenes and pretty good acting,few good kills 3 stars
10/23/05 Agent Sands Much more interesting than the last six sequels. 3 stars
10/13/05 Darren O Occasionally stylish, though a change in location does very little to inject much life. 2 stars
9/24/05 Total Crap Has funny kills and other moments but just another gay sequel. 1 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Absoluately dull sequel, It's like watching The Love Boat. 1 stars
7/13/05 Brandy Harrington Jason flies planes into the World Trade Center! Osama Bin Voorhees! 1 stars
5/26/05 tony Jason in the city! FUN FUN FUN!. But still very horrible 3 stars
11/14/04 nick this is alright but it could of been alot better. 3 stars
11/04/04 dave what the fuck 1 stars
10/12/04 kevin watts NOT BAD,ATLEAST A DIFFERENT SETTING 3 stars
7/01/04 American Slasher Goddess Watchable, but one of the least of the series 3 stars
6/08/04 phoenix Pretty funny, and the naked girl at the beginning gave me a major hard on. 4 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark This is the absolute worst in a series that should have ended a long time ago. 1 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Wha?... Jason come'on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
2/05/04 c.r a good movie, but change of scenary hurt it some and only say it kept me entertain! 3 stars
2/03/04 Chad Foster Awesome Go Kelly Hu 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric The 2nd worst of them all.The rooftop boxing match was the highlight 2 stars
12/12/03 Samuel most of the movie was spent on a boat !?! 2 stars
12/11/03 Captain Spaulding not very good compared to the rest of the series!! 1 stars
12/11/03 Rob Hedden ha! ha! fooled you! at least i made money ...dumbass teenagers! but they keep comin back!! 1 stars
12/09/03 Tommy silly!! 1 stars
11/10/03 Jor.Armstrong Pathetic. "Takes Manhatten", more like " 1 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Nothing extremely great, but not as bad as what people have made it out to be. 3 stars
11/01/03 Craig Jason at his best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/15/03 Erik Van Sant Jason's at the helm of this shit cruise...and boy does it suck. Almost as bad as 5 and 9. 2 stars
9/16/03 Samuel Justus What in the Fuck?? Most of the movie is spent on a boat! 1 stars
8/31/03 cody my third favorite sequel of the series and like way it change the rules. 3 stars
8/29/03 darren STYLISH DIRECTION-BUT SAD ENDING AND CHEAT OF A TITLE 2 stars
7/21/03 Double G I hated it, any movie that takes place in Mahatten sucks!!! 1 stars
7/07/03 Chainsaw Slasher Brutal Jason, agreesive death scenes. jason at his best. screw plot 5 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Dull-as-hell film waits till the last quarter to get to Manhattan! 1 stars
12/13/02 Collin More accurately subtitled Jason Takes Vancouver 1 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Poor Manhattan, they didn't do anything to deserve this film 1 stars
8/15/02 Shaun Jason takes the Titanic: Still not that bad 3 stars
8/09/02 Tyner Actually filmed in Vancouver,not that it fucking matters 1 stars
7/17/02 Jona A real let down only 2 mins in NY, the rest he is in a very obvious studio set 2 stars
6/19/02 Brandon Critics really need to get a life and quit bashing F13, Jason Kicks Ass! 5 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well....this is no halloween h20, but it's probably the best in the series....U RULE CHOWIE 4 stars
4/26/02 maximal01 Forget watching Tina get forcibly high... I want to see Jason get fucked up on drugs-wowee! 1 stars
4/03/02 cat OH MY GOD, I can't believe they kept making these. Maybe outer space will be ok huh? 2 stars
3/09/02 Chowie probably the best in the series 2 stars
11/29/01 Rutt13 a pile of trash 1 stars
11/06/01 Pat Cordell The best friday the 13th film and horrorfilm ever 5 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Okay this was dull but, its good, when jason takes of his mask and scares those punks!!!!!! 4 stars
9/15/01 Mr. Hat Strange, dark, pessimistic, scary, kinda good. 3 stars
8/15/01 Tj Tharp Was a great horror film .It was the best film in the Friday the 13th series. 4 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk Oh my gosh...did that suck... 2 stars
4/14/01 LiL Fuck off! 1 stars
1/18/01 jason manley I think this film is brilliant 5 stars
8/12/00 Bender Too dull. The series really went down the shithole with this one. 2 stars
8/11/00 Justin the best of the new beginning of F13 (after part 5) its scary funny and very entertaining 5 stars
7/17/00 AaronZombie Second best of the series. Great plot, acting, and soundtrack. 4 stars
4/29/00 Negative Norm This film is wonderful shit!See i if you love good old fashion shitty movies! 5 stars
4/29/00 Negative Norm fun shite 1 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog Kelly Hu and that cocaine bitch were this films only grace yet their grace was shortlived 3 stars
3/30/00 TIGGER Pretty bad. Go see Scream 3 instead 2 stars
3/01/00 Kyle Broflovski By this one I was crazy, jaded, ripped raw. Bring on the next serial slasher...PLEASE!!!!! 2 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury Take a cruise with Jason. I think the moral was the fountain of youth is in the Mnh. sewers 3 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce BEst of the bunhc, cos it's so damn stupid. 4 stars
10/29/98 Negative Creep This one's kinda funny. Dont understand the ending or how he returned from that for part 9. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1989 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1990 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast