Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.19

Awesome: 4.44%
Worth A Look: 23.33%
Just Average: 11.11%
Pretty Crappy: 8.89%
Sucks52.22%

4 reviews, 66 user ratings



Friday the 13th: A New Beginning
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"In a 9-movie series, there's bound to be one that's worthless. This is it."
1 stars

While it is safe to say none of the "Friday the 13th" movies was particularly worth making, I believe Part 5 -- "A New Beginning" -- is the one that brought the least for our collective edification.

(Note: "Friday the 13th: A New Beginning" should not be confused with "Little House: A New Beginning," which is what "Little House on the Prairie" was called during its last season. One was badly written, virtually unwatchable dreck; the other was about a killer with a hockey mask.)

Instead of picking up where Part 4 left off -- with Corey Feldman playing a now-psychotic 12-year-old with the potential to become the new Jason -- Part 5 serves merely as a derailing. In fact, you could drop Part 5 altogether and parts 4 and 6 would still fit together (especially since Part 5 adds the detail of Jason having been cremated, which becomes an awkward bit of information in Part 6, when his non-cremated corpse is dug up from its grave). It adds nothing to the mythology of Jason, and is certainly no more or less scary than its predecessors. (It is, however, the only film in the series in which a character says, "I'll be right back" and then actually comes back.)

You see, Jason does not appear in "Friday the 13th: A New Beginning," except in the ludicrous dream sequence that opens the film. Instead, we are subjected to the work of a copycat killer. There are similarities between this and the first film, in that we do not know until the finale who the killer is. Well, unless you having ever seen a movie before, in which case you narrow it down to two possibilities quite early. One of those possibilities would have made it a good movie; the other one -- the one the filmmakers chose -- makes it very, very stupid.

The identity of the killer is telegraphed in an obvious manner, thanks to some hamfisted directing from Mr. David Steinmann. Steinmann had previously directed "The Unseen" (1981) and "Savage Street" (1984), notable for featuring a nude Linda Blair. After "Friday the 13th: A New Beginning," he literally never worked on another film. He is now roaming the forests of New Jersey, murdering teens at random.

Part 5 takes a bold new step in the field of teen-murdering. While its predecessors dealt with teens staying at a cabin in the woods, Part 5 is about TROUBLED teens who live at a HALF-WAY HOUSE. OK, so it's a half-way cabin, and it's in the woods, but we'll take any bold new steps we can get.

Part 5 also returns to the formula established by the previous films (and temporarily abandoned in Part 4), where the non-killing scenes serve only to line up a bunch of characters whom we hate and wish death upon. There's a foul-mouthed redneck woman and her loathsome, pig-screwing son; a pimpy black man named Demon; a pseudo-jive-talking black kid played by Shavar Ross (who played Arnold's buddy Dudley on "Diff'rent Strokes"); and others too numerous to mention. We want them to die.

And die they do! Tommy Jarvis, now a bit older and no longer played by Corey Feldman, keeps seeing hallucinations of his old nemesis, and now it would seem someone is actually posing as Jason and killing folks. This does not ease Tommy's neuroses any, as you might imagine, and he lashes out here and there against people who deserve it. (Honestly, it's hard to know who to root for in these things. The murderer, who is heartless, cruel and evil? Or the people he hacks apart, each of whom is offensive enough to deserve a fate far worse than a mere hacking? I never thought my sense of justice and morality would be tested by the "Friday the 13th" series, but I certainly think twice now before condemning accused murderers I read about in the paper. Sure, I think, maybe this guy did slay a few innocent people. But maybe some of those "innocent" people said the F-word a lot and accused local teens of "screwing their heads off" before riding off on a filthy motorcycle driven by their filthy sons.)

I'm guessing David Steinmann was traumatized after seeing Linda Blair naked in "Savage Street," because in this movie, he has a trashy diner waitress standing in a public restroom, primping before a date, then flashing her boobs at herself in the mirror and saying, "Show time!" A clear-thinking director does not make his actresses do this, I don't care how much cocaine is part of his daily diet.

"A New Beginning" features classic dialogue such as this:

LOATHSOME PERSON: I have to take a crap!
OTHER LOATHSOME PERSON: Crap, my ass!

There are 21 murders in this installment, the most so far. By the end, the people are dying so quickly, there's not even time to show the murders. We just stumble on the bodies and assume the faux Jason is responsible. This would have been a good time to kill someone randomly, because you could have written your name and phone number on the victim, and the cops still would have blamed Jason for it.

The end is a serious letdown, either because you hadn't figured out who the killer was and were disappointed when you found out, or because you HAD figured it out and were disappointed to learn you were right. You should know that in the end, the killer's Jason-like hockey mask is placed in someone's hospital room, apparently as a souvenir, which is questionable enough already, but really just as an excuse for setting up the "creepy" final shot, which is even more askew.

We really should permit only grown-ups to make movies.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1138&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/06/01 01:56:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/22/17 morris campbell same old shit nothing new here 1 stars
6/23/14 The Big D The best plot and coolest characters of the series--will the real Jason please stand up? 4 stars
3/31/12 My sweetness Brainless 80's fun... Always good for some laughs... I miss these movies 4 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT GRUESOME, UNIMAGINATIVE AND DISGUSTING 1 stars
12/28/09 art BY RIGHT"S, FRIDAY THE 13TH PART 3D should have been the LAST! 1 stars
11/06/09 art THE FIRST TWO FRIDAY THE 13TH FILM"S WERE GREAT!,IT WENT DOWNHILL AFTER THE FIRST TWO! 1 stars
7/29/09 art THE ORIGINAL FRIDAY THE 13TH WAS THE BEST,IT WENT DOWNHILL AFTER THAT! 1 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini Didn't see that twist coming! 4 stars
11/14/06 MP Bartley Dire comic relief, awful writing, acting and characters and terrible macho posturing. 1 stars
1/16/06 Anthony Feor Is Jason really back.....of course he is or there wouldn't be a movie 1 stars
11/23/05 cr scary,gory,and nudity, but the copycat killer does cut it and annoying characters 2 stars
10/13/05 Darren O At least it tried to be different. Nice final confrontation, but too many bodies. 3 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot A New Beginning nobody wanted... 1 stars
7/13/05 Brandy Harrington JASON IS BACK FROM THE DEAD! 1 stars
6/27/05 R riiiiight... 1 stars
5/26/05 tony Predictible and chezzy. Not even a horror movie 1 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark Unfairly maligned, this is one of the better films and adds a new twist to the series. 3 stars
6/02/04 phoenix What no Jason? Still pretty affective though, with Tommy a interesting character. 4 stars
6/02/04 J Some nice scence, but the kills are.... well they can do better! 4 stars
3/29/04 American Slasher Goddess Passable stuff,but one of the weakest entries,though. 3 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Very clever... I think?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/23/04 Spastiqua Pretty awful - except for that wicked Violet chick who does the robot. She was cool 2 stars
2/17/04 Ramey One Of The Worst Installments- Good Nudity Doseage Though. Otherwise Crap! 2 stars
1/26/04 Eric With Matthews as Tommy it would have been alot better 2 stars
12/13/03 Samuel not very good at all 3 stars
12/12/03 Jason X I dont know what ppl have against this movie, i liked it 3 stars
12/12/03 Takara not much... 3 stars
12/11/03 Captain Spaulding incredibly Ignorant!! 1 stars
12/09/03 horror_blood I Blow cocks, cause thats what i'm good at!! It just tastes so damn good!! 1 stars
11/10/03 Jor.Armstrong Comedic Genius. Wasn't the little black kid "Willis" on "Different Strokes" 5 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Dumb and fun. But the Jason wannabe concept just dosen't work. 3 stars
11/01/03 J The movie is freaken bad including the chainsaw part. The nudity is not neccesary. 4 stars
10/15/03 Erik Van Sant Lame concept that pissed off fans and fell flat on its fuckin face. Worst of the series. 2 stars
9/16/03 Samuel Justus why?????? who likes this shit ? ! ? 1 stars
8/29/03 darren AN UNNEFFECTIVE MONTAGE OF QUICK CUTS AND OFF SCREEN KILLS-BUT NICE SENSE OF HUMOUR 3 stars
7/21/03 Double G The 1st time I say this movie I liked it, the 2nd time I hated it, so i dunno. 3 stars
7/19/03 jason is awesome you "SUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" this was an awesome entry i to the friday series with some of the best kills so fuck you!!! 5 stars
5/21/03 Andrew Carden Not As Bad As They Say; Not Scary or Funny...but Interesting. 4 stars
3/16/03 Kyle HORRID. STAY THE FUCK AWAY. 1 stars
11/02/02 Zanti Sensational wet shirt scene with Melanie Kinnaman; worth the entrance fee just for that!!! 4 stars
10/30/02 heather it is a great and fun movie.It makes you jump 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Let's all make a new beginning and stop renting this damn series 1 stars
9/18/02 Tar Mac Danny Steinmann must have intended to destroy the series with this total shit!!! 1 stars
8/15/02 Shaun worst in the series, but good kills 2 stars
4/26/02 maximal01 Wow. A maniacal, white-collar paramedic killed about a dozen kids. <yawn> a waste of tape. 1 stars
1/19/02 moira very dissapointing, like all sequels do, it goes off track 2 stars
12/06/01 Sthenno Why is this even allowed to be shown on cable?Nothing redeeming about it,a piece of garbage 1 stars
10/09/01 HM3 If your're a fan of slasher movies with no suspense, how could you not like this? 4 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This one had a twist and the ending only raises more questions???????????? 4 stars
9/17/01 Justine Chouinard Well, to tell you the truth, this movie wasn't my favorite at all. I didn't like it. 1 stars
9/15/01 Mr. Hat The prey are dumber than ever, especially the survivors. This sucked yack scrotum! 1 stars
9/11/01 anti_virez I admit "NEW BEGINNING" Sucked, But it does have it moments. Cool 'Bloodied-JASON' shots 3 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk Utter piece of shite! 1 stars
5/02/01 Gracy Lionheart YAY...the best out of the series!!! Has the highest body count. (Go ahead, count em) 4 stars
4/14/01 LiL What the fuck happened to the final chapter? 1 stars
1/16/01 RUSSELL FURR PART 5 DOMINATES ALTHOUGHT ITS NOT JASON ITS STILL DAMN GOOD 5 stars
8/11/00 Justin the worst of the series ( and that says a LOT) stupid ending fucks with a killer franchise 1 stars
6/26/00 Eat Me, Jason I wrote my college thesis on the crappiness of Part 5; every shot can be dissected 1 stars
5/24/00 SID I take comfort in knowing what the worst movie series in history is. 1 stars
5/13/00 Bender What a hoot! Not neary as scary as the first 3, but just as entertaining and better thn P4 4 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog No Jason, no Scares but there's plenty more to see including a chick doing a robo dance! 4 stars
3/01/00 Kyle Broflovski You got your kids killed while fucking, and assorted impalings...jolly good fun... 2 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury The BEST! LoL! There were priceless moments in this one. YOU ARE ALL HIGH! 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce This was crap. K-Dog, you're high. 1 stars
10/29/98 Negative Creep SUCKĄ 1 stars
10/16/98 Johny I think this was the once I hated most, but who remembers one from another 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1985 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1985 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast