Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome: 16.26%
Worth A Look30.89%
Just Average: 24.39%
Pretty Crappy: 8.94%
Sucks: 19.51%

5 reviews, 93 user ratings



Friday the 13th Part III
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"It's in three dimensions! And all of them suck."
1 stars

The most important issue we can address in regards to “Friday the 13th Part III” is consistency. For as similar as these movies all are to each other, they are shockingly bad about continuity.

This trend even spreads to the very title of this, the second sequel in the now-nine-part slasher series. The onscreen title is “Friday the 13th Part III.” The theatrical trailer, however, said, “Friday the 13th Part 3: 3D.” The video cover just says “Friday the 13th Part 3” and omits the “3D” part, possibly because the video, alas, only comes in two dimensions. (Well, the videotape itself is three-dimensional, obviously. I mean to say the MOVIE is flat.)

While “III” and “3” in these cases mean the same thing, the fact that someone thought they could be used interchangeably bespeaks a great deal of sloppiness. Movie titles aren’t nicknames or colloquialisms. They’re TITLES, for crying out loud. If your name is Fred, you don’t approve of people spelling it “Fredd” or “Phred.” It’s Fred, dammit, F-R-E-D. No exceptions.

(When “Star Wars: Episode One -- The Phantom Menace” came out, we newspaper types fretted endlessly about getting the punctuation just right: There’s a colon after “Star Wars” and a dash after “Episode One.” The folks at 20th Century Fox were consistent with that, too. None of their promotional materials had “Star Wars -- Episode One: The Phantom Menace,” or “Star Wars? Episode One! The Phantom Menace,” or even “Star Wars @ Episode One @ The Phantom Menace.com.”)

So anyway, “Friday the 13th Part Three” was indeed filmed in 3D. I’m guessing director Steve Miner, fresh off the comparative success of “Part 2,” was wondering how he could make his next sequel seem different despite being 100 percent the same. Then someone suggested 3D, which made sense, it being the third movie and all. (Too bad part four didn’t use the fourth dimension and take itself back in time to a point when film hadn’t been invented.)

A movie fan at the Internet Movie Database (imdb.com) begins his praise of “Friday the 13th Part the Third” with this subject line: “Jason is back!! He gets the hockey mask.” That pretty much sums it up.

This film takes place the day after the last one, with Jason just having killed several folks at Crystal Lake. Despite this, a group of boldly stupid teen-agers is going to spend the weekend at a cabin on the lake. One presumes they are going to an entirely different part of the lake, as surely the part where Jason just got done killing everybody would be closed to the public for cleaning and fumigation.

Or maybe not. As I said, we’re not big on continuity. In this film, Jason has no hair and is a bit leaner than he was in the last one, despite it being only a day later. Apparently, he trimmed down and got a haircut between movies -- except that, in a flashback that allegedly took place BETWEEN parts 1 and 2, he looks the way he does NOW, in part 3. Which means he was trim and hairless, then beefed up and got a crazy ‘fro for “Part 2,” then went back to his old look again, overnight, for “Part 3.” This guy has more styles than Madonna, and just as many chromosomes.

Jason also developed superhuman strength at some point. In “Part 3,” he uses his bare hands to squash a guy’s head. This is done only so the guy’s eyeball can pop out at the screen -- 3D, remember -- with no regard for the power it would take to do it in real life. The filmmakers inadvertently and randomly building the “myth” of Jason -- the Jason who is not just a frightened retard who loved his mama, but who is some kind of unnatural and immortal beast.

Once again, Jason is quite efficient in dispatching his victims (12 this time around, three more than each of the last two movies). He sneaks around stealthily, kills everyone in one blow, and never gets caught. Then, when it comes time to pursue the woman who is by default the “protagonist” and who therefore will live, he becomes embarrassingly sloppy. She pushes him, and he falls down. He gets knocked unconscious by the crudest of tools. Then, when she hangs him and he breaks his neck, he’s still alive. If it weren’t for the fact that he apparently can’t be killed, this clumsy ox would have died in the forest years ago.

“Part 3” ends exactly the same way the first film did, and pretty close to the second. The main character wakes up in a canoe after having escaped Jason. Then Jason’s mom -- who in the first movie was decapitated and had her sweater taken as a souvenir -- pops up out of the lake, head and sweater intact, and grabs the girl. Then we cut to her being hauled away by paramedics, the body-out-of-the-lake incident dismissed as a delusion.

“Part 3” is no better or worse than “Part 1.” Which is to say, it’s very bad, even for a dumb horror flick. At least they’re consistent on that point.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1140&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/30/01 18:42:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/21/13 Marwan Barazi I love this series. For me it is a landmark in the horror cinema of the eighties 5 stars
12/10/12 Jamie Best of the series, by far!! 3 stars
8/06/12 keith miron Repetitive, but never boring 3 stars
10/24/10 art I TAKE IT BACK,THIS {FRIDAY THE 13th 3D} IS MY FAVORITE! 5 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT DREADFUL AND BADLY ACTED 1 stars
1/17/10 art MY FAVORITE FRIDAYS WERE PART"S one AND two,3 was a DISSAPOINTMENT! 1 stars
12/12/09 art THE BEST FRIDAY"S WERE ONE,TWO AND THIS ONE {THREE}. 4 stars
11/29/09 Edward Great Beginning middle is mediocre end is awesome 4 stars
10/29/09 art IF YOU HAVE SEEN ONE,FRIDAY THE 13th FILM,you HAVE SEEN THEM ALL! 2 stars
7/22/09 art FRIDAY THE 13TH ONE AND TWO are THE BEST,this {3Dsequal} is when it went downhill! ] 1 stars
7/10/09 hunt a pretty good friday the 13th 3 stars
11/21/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Film! 4 stars
10/17/08 AshleyRockO Great film. A lil dated, but still very well made for what it is. 5 stars
4/15/08 art WHEN I SAID FRIDAY THE 13TH WAS THE BEST SLASHER FILM I LIED IT STUNK JUST LIKE PART TWO AN 1 stars
5/03/07 john I think they're all cheesy but part 3 is my favorite. I love the opening credits, so 80's. 4 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini one of the best in the series 5 stars
11/04/06 MP Bartley 3-D and the disco credits have dated horribly, but the cheapness gives a grim, nasty edge. 3 stars
9/25/06 RogerEbert Love those Friday the 13th films 5 stars
1/16/06 Anthony Feor How about no 2 stars
11/23/05 cr scary and jason get his trademark hockey mask, but the acting sucks, heroine sucks! 2 stars
10/21/05 cypress Jason needs to go to hell, oh wait, he did and that didn't even work 2 stars
10/13/05 Darren O Another solid entry, though somewhat cheesy. Dana Kimmell is the best FRIDAY heroine. 4 stars
10/13/05 ram1brn some people just dont know when to quit should have stopped at 1 1 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Lame sequel lacks even the gritty edge of 1 and 2... 1 stars
7/13/05 Brandy Harrington Soooo scary! The knife is coming out of the T.V. I'm gonna have Nightmares!!! 1 stars
6/27/05 R 3-D!! HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! 1 stars
5/26/05 tony pretty darn slow! But is good in 3-D 3 stars
10/12/04 kevin watts BEST OF THE EARLY FILMS 4 stars
7/30/04 delmar dartt like to have sent in mail of all of the movies 3 stars
7/16/04 Joe If this movie were a science expariment, it would be Chyrnobyl 1 stars
7/01/04 American Slasher Goddess Creepy and scary, another good entry in the series 4 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark It's just a rehash of the first two, but it's still a lot of fun. 4 stars
4/16/04 A Reader Dreadful and unoriginal movie, but great 80's nostalgia, and Dana Kimmell is a MAJOR babe. 3 stars
4/07/04 phoenix Awesome. Scary and atmosperic. They needed to cut down on the 3d effects. 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ DON'T BOTHER...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
2/17/04 Ramey Unbelievably 80's- Pretty good installment- TERRIBLE music. 4 stars
2/05/04 c.r Jason in 3d cool, but a lot bad acting and weed smoking was fine! 3 stars
1/14/04 Hüseyin Demiray I saw this film 1983 at cinema and I was very good ,Now,I get vcd. I love this film 5 stars
12/13/03 G.K. good 3 stars
12/13/03 American Slasher Goddess Scary and creepy third installment in the series. 4 stars
12/13/03 J Finally, Jason gets his hockey mask, and one the movie best chases. 5 stars
12/13/03 Vinylspinr I saw in 3D. If you can find it playing for a buck or two...it might be worth your time. 2 stars
12/12/03 Samuel a good movie, basically the same as part 2 tho 3 stars
12/12/03 Jason X This movie kicks ass!! 4 stars
12/12/03 Karie pretty scary!!! 4 stars
12/11/03 The Killer each of these films are worse than the last... 3 stars
12/11/03 Doofus good movie! 4 stars
12/11/03 Captain Spaulding The same as part 2 basically, but i liked part 2 so i like this one!! 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel horror_blood you mutherfucking faggit, you bad mouth me on every review i do, burn in hell! 3 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Scary and creepy third installment in the series. 4 stars
11/01/03 J Finally, Jason gets his hockey mask, and one the movie best chases. 5 stars
10/29/03 Vinylspinr I saw in 3D. If you can find it playing for a buck or two...it might be worth your time. 2 stars
10/15/03 Erik Van Sant The hockey mask is born! Better than the second film and a killer opening song. 5 stars
10/07/03 Double G JAson Finally got his hockey mask! 5 stars
9/30/03 horror_blood Without 3-D, this is still worth a look. And shut up Samuel Justus you Scream loving fag. 4 stars
9/16/03 Samuel Justus why do ppl like these movies? they are the same over and over!! 1 stars
8/29/03 darren THE LAST OF THE SCARY ONES-BEST FINAL CONFRONTATION 4 stars
7/21/03 Double G This movie is the best Friday the 13th ever, starting after P3 they get more gay every time 4 stars
4/07/03 s truss not bad 4 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Gets the job done well enough -- but needed more damn nudity! 3 stars
11/27/02 Kyle Yeah. 2 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum The best of the series, but that's like picking your favorite cancer 4 stars
8/15/02 Shaun fun 4 stars
7/29/02 Titi I dont think the movie was THAT bad! 3 stars
7/15/02 Peschi420 "in my opinion, this is one of the greatest horror films ever made' 5 stars
6/11/02 jeff fucking loved it 5 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi oh mommy, oh daddy....i am a big ol baddie :'( 1 stars
4/24/02 maximal01 Wow..adolescense in the woods messes up good looks, 'cuz JASON'S FACE IS UGLY AS FUCK! 2 stars
4/12/02 Chutemaster Anyone that has seen this in 3D will find it very entertaining. 5 stars
4/03/02 cat Not since Jaws 3D have I wanted to shoot myself so much. At least include glasses with it. 2 stars
1/15/02 David A. Predictable but entertaining. Great fun on a Saturday night with pizza. 4 stars
11/29/01 Rutt13 Probably my favorite one, the motorcycle gang is funny 4 stars
11/05/01 Jake Dana is sassy! Can't be alive!! Jason chases well in this, not like 4 when he's anywhere. 3 stars
10/25/01 Sthenno Piece of cheap Shlock Shock, but Dana Kimmell makes the shit fun! 2 stars
9/30/01 Phoenix A study in stupid, stupid acting, stupid special effects, and stupid direction. 1 stars
9/15/01 Mr. Hat Better than later sequels. 3 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk Jason kills stoned hippies...one of my favorites of the series. 5 stars
8/02/01 Chris K. This film ripped-off Mario Bava's TWITCH OF THE DEATH NERVE (1971), which IS BETTER! 1 stars
4/14/01 LiL I mean, come on, eyeballs popping out of head?! 1 stars
2/25/01 cheers bar bob verry good 5 stars
1/14/01 Sklorsh Worst movie in this series....and that's really saying something. 1 stars
12/04/00 Justin Who ever said that Dana Kimmell "Sucked all ass" can go fuck there fagotty ass selves. 5 stars
8/18/00 Rich Corle Great film. Could have been gorier and scarier 5 stars
8/12/00 Bender Not the most entertaining in the series, but it has the most scares along with Part 2. 4 stars
8/11/00 Justin Entertaining and suprisingly scary, the 3d is cheesy, but here Jason gets the mask! SWEET!! 4 stars
4/30/00 Bender In my opinion this and Part 2 are the scariest and best in the series 4 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog Average acting, but has its chilling moments. Dana Kimmell was great, that Shelly guy funny 4 stars
3/01/00 Kyle Broflovski THAT'S how he got the mask?? Okay...whatever...thank you...fuck you... 1 stars
1/17/00 Jedi15 Well, Jason finally gets his hockey mask. Whoopiee. Horse shit! 1 stars
10/04/99 rob This is the one that ruined it. That stupid hockey mask killed it. 1 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury No tits!? Oh well.. no wait the girls in this one were good looking... for 80's chicks.. 3 stars
2/14/99 Raheem Destiny Yo man! I be liking this shit yo! Slice that white bitch up some more yo! 5 stars
10/29/98 Negative Creep He gets His Hockey Mask from the funny kid in this one! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1982 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1983 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast