Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.2

Awesome54.08%
Worth A Look: 30.61%
Just Average: 2.04%
Pretty Crappy: 8.16%
Sucks: 5.1%

4 reviews, 74 user ratings



Exorcist III, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"The best horror sequal ever."
5 stars

This is THE most underrated horror of all time.

Basically this film is where part two should be as it totally ignores it.

It is a highly intelligent film made by William Peter Blatty because he was disappointed with the original. It is based on his book Exorcist:legion.

It stars George C Scott, and he gives a spectacular performance.
I won't tell you any of the story except it takes place 20 years after the original.

This film is brilliantly scripted, directed, acted.. Basically I feel it is a perfect horror, It is very frightning, very intense, and very well thought out. Unlike virtually all others.

I fell that this surpasses number one as a better film. (although a classic the original was too 'bitty' and inconsistant in its pace)

See this film, I implore you if you want to see a great horror film.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1144&reviewer=23
originally posted: 10/15/98 11:54:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/17 morris campbell not nearly good as the original 3 stars
4/01/16 Wakko One of my favourite movies of all time. 5 stars
8/25/15 Saif What an underrated film! One of the best sequels. 4 stars
11/21/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Film! 5 stars
9/01/08 Kim Better than the first! 5 stars
7/18/08 we are legion, for we are many... Brad Dourif is absolutley brilliant. Dialogue was haunting. My favorite horror hands down 5 stars
9/03/07 tank1229 One of the best holy shit moments ever 5 stars
7/14/07 Naomi Sxhwartz Great 4 stars
3/16/07 Anthony C The Best Horror Movie ive seen yet! Very Scary,A Awesome Story. 5 stars
3/09/07 Sugarfoot I actually liked this better than the first, although i'm a huge George C. Scott fan. 5 stars
12/12/06 mig Really great film, way under-rated. 5 stars
10/21/06 Neil Great movie, though ending dipped somewhat 4 stars
10/11/06 Bob Very Scary 4 stars
10/11/06 MP Bartley Unexpectedly eerie. Also contains one of THE most frightening jump scenes ever. 4 stars
10/10/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
7/11/06 ian afford scott & dourif excellent,nearly poo'd my pants at hospital scene !! 5 stars
3/18/06 mr. mike "heretic" was more entertaining 3 stars
11/02/05 M One scene will haunt me forever! 4 stars
9/26/05 Omar Excellent 5 stars
3/25/05 Roderick Fitzgerald Great performances, dialogue, atmosphere, and direction. A magnificent sequel! Brilliant! 5 stars
11/01/04 ODH Very underrated horror flick, a worthy sequel to the original horror classic 4 stars
9/20/04 Brian Eason Much better than the original Exorcist, which was dull and not scary at all. 5 stars
9/03/04 David Fowler Near perfect version, by Blatty, of his own novel. Scott is brilliant! 5 stars
8/23/04 sdfr it was a good movie. lots ppl hated it, i dunno why.. 4 stars
8/12/04 tank1229 good lord this movie scared the s**t out of me 5 stars
7/16/04 Nix Turn up the sound. Evil is lurking. 5 stars
7/01/04 anthony delmar Very Creep and Intense 5 stars
4/10/04 American Slasher Goddess Worthy third entry to the classic original. 4 stars
2/17/04 Brian An absolutely gripping piece of horror that scares not with blood and guts but pacing 5 stars
1/28/04 Matt Angner A Quality Sequel to The Exorcist 4 stars
12/26/03 J Not scary, but worth watchin'! ** 1/2 out 4 5 stars
12/15/03 Mr. Hyde When I think about it...I look over my shoulder... 5 stars
11/27/03 John well written and extremly scary you'll jump out of your seat in THE SCENE 5 stars
11/03/03 Lars Kelsen Well-crafted second sequel helmed by the original shocker's creator. 4 stars
10/24/03 Sammy I started watching this movie..... it is accually pretty good!!! 5 stars
10/13/03 Ian too slow 2 stars
7/19/03 PJ Makes Exorcist II look like Police academy 7 5 stars
6/09/03 Bobby Galeana Jr. Too boring? Too boring? What the hell is wrong with you? 5 stars
4/08/03 Ross Bernard Not close to as disturbing or scary as first, but that one scene in the hall freaked me out 4 stars
7/19/02 ! Alot better than shit part 2, u can just see Blatty directed it.. 4 stars
2/13/02 Brian Yes, it's scary, but more importantly it's spooky. The difference is "atmosphere". 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. Best Exorcist movie. It was a supernatural crime drama, inspired by the Zodiac Killer in CA 4 stars
11/11/01 jawsboy pretty creepy flick, hurt somewhat by some dumb scenes. the hospital scene really caught me 4 stars
10/29/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The freakiest of the 3. 4 stars
9/21/01 Pop will eat itself wonderfull 5 stars
8/13/01 Adam Great movie, needs to be looked at as a great horror movie! 4 stars
8/11/01 Andrew Carden The Worst Of All 3. Too Boring. 1 stars
8/07/01 Me Amazing film making 5 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk Goddamn, if this isn't one of the scariest movies I've ever seen. Dourif is phenomenal. 5 stars
7/19/01 wizzman Incredible film! Exorcist III is what horror is and what it should be. 5 stars
5/31/01 Gary gets the job done... 4 stars
5/17/01 Alexander Absolutely BORING, TEDIOUS & STUPID. Why bother. 1 stars
4/28/01 The Jedi Droid The scariest fucking movie I have ever seen..... 5 stars
4/25/01 Gary Bradley Superb and very frightening 5 stars
3/18/01 Roxanna Bellarishna I have not seen it but it will be the best film that I have ever seen. 5 stars
2/09/01 the dude THIS MOVIE IS FUCKING AWESOME, AND WHOEVER SAYS IT ISN'T DOESN'T APPRECIATE TRUE HORROR!!!! 5 stars
1/12/01 Christopher Revilla's mother sucks cocks in hell! FUCKING AWESOME! 5 stars
1/02/01 SeBiShOr2k A must be seen which could teach people what life really is... 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla this film should've been called "tribute to George C. Scott", a total fucking waste of time 1 stars
11/17/00 Gary Bradley Agreed. Not only better than the original, but a superlative horror film on all counts. 5 stars
11/01/00 Buffalo A bit slow, but Jesus (statue), that one scene was one of the scariest I've ever seen! 4 stars
10/12/00 Terrie Smith Hell of a lot better than the second film; Scott & Dourif make it worthwhile. 4 stars
9/18/00 Patient X Awesome!A marvelous sequel! 5 stars
6/07/00 Aaron Boring, but i've seen worse. I actually liked part II. 2 stars
4/29/00 Matt I'm gonna give it a bad rating just to screw with the ratings! 1 stars
1/19/00 Jedi15 Better. MUCH better. After the shitty Exorcist II, it had to get better. And it DID. Great! 5 stars
12/28/99 Christian Some faults, but EXCELLENT. 5 stars
8/26/99 sparky Not as good as the original, but does have some truly great scares! 4 stars
8/23/99 imallsticky@netscape.net Sometimes what a film DOESN'T show is scarier. 4 stars
8/23/99 Warrick Smith Brad Dourif is brilliant, George C. Scott alternately witty and intense. better each view. 5 stars
8/16/99 Bob (ajohan21@aol.com) Horrifying; well-acted; a fantastic film 5 stars
7/03/99 Steve Farrell Criminally underrated and ignored. 4 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Pants. 1 stars
5/23/99 Allie excellent suspense 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Aug-1990 (R)
  DVD: 10-Oct-2006

UK
  23-Nov-1990 (15)

Australia
  14-Feb-1991 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast