Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.97

Awesome43.88%
Worth A Look: 26.53%
Just Average: 16.33%
Pretty Crappy: 9.18%
Sucks: 4.08%

4 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I Have a Date with Spring by Jay Seaver

Halloween (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

All About Nina by Jay Seaver

Lost, Found by Jay Seaver

Night of the Living Dead (1968) by Rob Gonsalves

Neomanila by Jay Seaver

First Man by Peter Sobczynski

Bad Times At The El Royale by Peter Sobczynski

Being Natural by Jay Seaver

Suspiria (1978) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Lost Boys, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kevin Thomas

"Too much tooth, not enough bite..."
3 stars

When this movie begins ( a montage of happy families and teens enjoying a hot day at the beach theme park to the sound of The Doorís ĎPeople are Strangeí), I thought it might develop into something a little more interesting. Maybe have some undertones about the strains and freedoms of social exclusion or something. Sadly, it didnít, it simply eased itself down the well-trodden paths of the standard vampire flick.

When a new family move to town, a warning is thrown in the face of the youngest boy about the dangers of the rampant vampire population by two comic book nerds, whereas the eldest is seduced into a world of never growing old by head Batman Kiefer Sutherland. Then, um, thatís about it for most of the movie. The youngest runs around trying to figure out how to save his brother, while his dim witted sibling is disturbed to realise that he has to, like, kill people and stuff.

The movie is a victim of the same trap that has caught so many movies before it that itís difficult to keep count. It sets a very dark and intriguing atmosphere during the opening third, then fails to maintain it once the Lost Boys get a bit more toothy. Once the foreboding atmosphere falls apart, there are only some mildly amusing scenes involving garlic before a lacklustre Ďsurpriseí (you know, the kind of surprise thatís ever so slightly obvious from an hour in) ending. It is a shame, as the atmosphere put in place was very promising.

The only standout performance comes from Kiefer Sutherland, and the rest of the cast seem to spend the whole time being mildly irritated by the respective intrusions to their respective routines. Hell, if they donít care, why should we?

This could have been something really interesting, but manages to side step virtually anything that could have given it a bit more neck to get your teeth into. In the end, itís just another mediocre horror movie that canít maintain itís own momentum. Salvaged by the opening section, but let down by the rest.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1170&reviewer=368
originally posted: 06/23/04 21:26:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/17 morris campbell the wimp boys is more like it toothless vampire flick 1 stars
4/07/15 LadyBakon My favorite vampire movie! No glitter and walking in daylight here folks! 5 stars
11/24/13 Vanessa C. I liked this older movie. the new vampire movies suck. 4 stars
9/09/13 gene kelly teen wolf was a far superior 80s film; like top gun, this a big steaming pile of fertilizer 1 stars
12/26/10 Tamra Kasey Saw it when I was 15.I am now 38,still love it! 5 stars
5/01/10 Amy Green Watch this movie fairly regularly-can't get enough-a classic. 5 stars
2/02/10 PAUL SHORTT WILD, JUVENILE AND PREDICTABLE 1 stars
12/12/08 Annie G Typical 80ís divorced mom, obnoxious kids, big hair movie with vampires. Why so popular? 2 stars
8/27/08 michael thomas it was okay but ive seen alot better 3 stars
8/11/08 Gerald S Vampires and comedy shouldn't be in same movie-and the music and effects are so corny today 2 stars
4/25/07 UvIndex Bizzare Ending. I love it! 5 stars
12/07/06 UGB Got to be one of the best vampire movies ever 5 stars
11/28/06 Lynn Leighton it is a great movie i love it !!!! and the guys are sooo hot ! 5 stars
11/02/06 David Pollastrini needs more gore! 5 stars
11/02/06 Neli Great vampire flick. Fun and stylish. Kiefer is incredibly magnetic. 5 stars
9/26/06 Stoner This movie rox and Kiefer is the sexiest vampire ever!!!! 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist One of the best vampire flicks since Bram Stoker's Dracula!! 5 stars
9/01/05 Eden The first have is awesome, but the second is total crap. So its average 3 stars
2/16/05 C Vega one of the best 80's movies with an awesome cast and a great soundtrack 5 stars
1/29/05 Jeff Anderson Kiefer Sutherland MAKES & RULES THIS CLASSIC! Jami Gertz is incredibly, incredibly HOT!!!!! 5 stars
1/13/05 becki best film ever made, kiefer looks bad but sexy 5 stars
9/30/04 Archanist_101 Kiefer Sutherland + mullet = HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/02/04 Jessica D. love the movie..the guys are hot....great movie 5 stars
7/08/04 J Cadiramen The premiere vampire flick... dark and gritty, but with a noir humour. 4 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva I love Kiefer as David 5 stars
6/25/04 Thomas Pacheco One of the best Horror filme ever. 5 stars
6/23/04 Jack Sommersby Good fun. Solid contributions all around. 4 stars
6/16/04 Daveman Good entertainment, with the welcome addition of Corey Feldman on top form. 3 stars
3/14/04 GBFH watching it right now. awesome movie. 5 stars
1/11/04 Samuel a very good vampire flick 3 stars
12/17/03 tasha it was excellent deffinently 5 stars hot actors (corey feldman and haim ) 5 stars
7/21/03 Double G Pretty Good Movie 4 stars
6/24/03 candy Nothing sucks in this movie except the vampires! 5 stars
5/27/03 Scott Howard Fun 3 stars
3/12/03 kelley jewell i love this movie to death 5 stars
2/23/03 Margaret No Oscar winner but really cool, dark, fun, and entertaining! 4 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Sexy, cool soundtrack 5 stars
10/19/02 Emily Why do you think it is a cult film? Fantastic! 5 stars
10/15/02 Dennis Kay first class classic of goth 5 stars
9/29/02 Fuze44 Yes, people are strange. 4 stars
8/11/02 zine "death By Stero" Really WIRTH a Look, Billy Wirth 5 stars
7/23/02 TheChronic I've never liked the movie so my rating is biased, do not judge from it 3 stars
7/10/02 CVJ NWO Excellent film one of the best vampire films of the generation 5 stars
4/02/02 Butterbean This reminds us that Schumacher was once a good director. 4 stars
3/22/02 Mark Hickford F*cking Awesome 5 stars
2/25/02 K y L e A GREAT movie. 5 stars
2/21/02 Xaver It's fun! Everytime I see the little guy turn into a vampire, I know why I like the film. 4 stars
2/04/02 Frances Ok I guess but not THAT wonderful. 3 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden Fair Vampire Flick. Not Enough Substance or Excitement. 3 stars
12/14/01 Kimberly My favorite movie of all time! 5 stars
11/26/01 Kimberly Zastawny the greatest movie ever definetly a classic of it's time 5 stars
9/17/01 AnnyFanny Looks like it was a great film in its day!Punk 4eva! 4 stars
9/15/01 Dai The first race scene is the best ever filmed! I love that song!! 5 stars
9/09/01 Suz I think this is one of the best 80's films I've seen...gore, laughs, romance... 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Great non-cheezy vamp flick. The only time Kiefer Sutherland looked hot 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk A great movie about vampires from the 80's. Funny and at times a bit frightening. 5 stars
7/08/01 Aimee this movie was the best! alex winter ( plays marko, hes from bill and ted movies) rules! 5 stars
7/03/01 Jed Lawrence This is the undisputed king of vampire movies! feldman and haim at their greatest 5 stars
5/31/01 perverted pixie Knarly, vamp flick. One to watch when your bunking off school. 5 stars
3/29/01 Kool AID Billy wirth is hottt!!!!!! 5 stars
2/16/01 Jake fun flick and not too shabby. 4 stars
7/04/00 brock hood best vampire movie ever 5 stars
2/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Four words for those who slapped this with bad reviews: BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER 5 stars
10/25/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **Ĺ (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 3 stars
7/03/99 J-Dogg Hate this shit. hate all fuckin' vampire flicks. 2 stars
6/19/99 Evol Love it; great movie. 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Great. 4 stars
5/14/99 Jaddax top vampire movie 5 stars
4/09/99 Michael Grimm My wife made me do it, it did film at Santa Cruz though 5 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury Almost gets the right mood. But little boys and vampires don't mix 1 stars
11/17/98 Jules Some horrible acting failed to ruin a fun flick 4 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob How can such a suck film be so good...? 3 stars
10/19/98 SBGirl^_^ good flick, hot guys, decent story, and a few good jumps, very worthwhile 4 stars
10/19/98 Bluntman Loads of fun. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1987 (R)
  DVD: 10-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1988 (M)


Directed by
  Joel Schumacher

Written by
  Jeffrey Boam

Cast
  Jason Patric
  Corey Haim
  Corey Feldman
  Dianne Weist
  Kiefer Sutherland
  Jami Gertz



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast