Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.47

Awesome: 19.02%
Worth A Look41.72%
Just Average: 17.18%
Pretty Crappy: 11.66%
Sucks: 10.43%

10 reviews, 103 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Constantine
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Laura Kyle

"A kick-ass time."
4 stars

Keanu Reeves may very well be a one-note actor, but he bangs his head against that one note quite emphatically, and it usually makes for a good movie. And while Constantine can’t be taken seriously enough to undo (or add on to) Stigmata’s anti-Catholic subversion, it sure as hell is a fun ride.

Reeves takes the soul he sold to Satan in The Devil’s Advocate and his Matrix persona as the One, and molds it all into Constantine – a demon killer who gives exorcists everywhere a run for their money; he would've had Linda Blair back to normal before she ever got a chance to spin her head around.

Constantine investigates the supernatural underbelly of half-breeds, or part human, part devil and/or angel, beings that walk the streets everyday. But there’s a bigger plan for him that begins to unfold when he meets police detective Angela (Rachel Weisz), who seeks him out for enlightenment about her twin sister’s mysterious suicide.

Reeves’ fairly effective performance here is probably more a result of first-time director Francis Lawrence telling him to play it down, not necessarily his own raw talent – I think Reeves studied the William Shatner Priceline commercials as preparation for the acting in this film. But nevertheless, he’s perfect as Heaven’s hit-man, plagued with a lung cancer that is set to send him straight to Hell.

Many of the lines are pure cheese, the philosophy backing it all up is flimsily stated, and the plot is a little hard to sort through at times, but the comic book series that Constantine is based on is merely set-up for Lawrence’s thrilling action sequences and eye-popping glimpses into Hell. That’s not to say every scene of dialogue was scripted in haste or that only a lazy effort was put into the character development, but Constantine would be a really substandard affair if it weren’t for the digital mastery and extraordinarily paced suspense.

There’s just enough newness and weirdness to keep Constantine continually entertaining and interesting, despite some of its moments of “you gotta be kidding me” and the two main characters are indeed a pair destined for Matrix-esque sequeldom. Pretty impressive for a directorial debut.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=11745&reviewer=369
originally posted: 03/18/05 12:38:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell flawed but imaginative 4 stars
4/26/09 Man Out 6 Bucks Lked it. If only because I thought it a SeaBiscuit sequel, and it wasn't 4 stars
1/02/09 the dork knight ...why do the characters whisper so much? 3 stars
8/03/08 Farnsy Yes I agree, I hated it 1 stars
6/21/08 Jeffrey G You're either going to love it or hate it. I loved it.. 5 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT SLOW, SILLY, STUPID, INTOLERABLE, OFFENSIVE 1 stars
10/23/07 Ivana Mann Unintelligible dialogue,incomprehensible "plot."The Exorcist for frat boys.Blech! 1 stars
5/02/07 Tracey Chambers love this movie. cool story. pretty good acting. 5 stars
4/11/07 fools♫gold I can't decide whether I like it or not, and I like it when that happens! 2 stars
1/30/07 William Boyle A good story badly told. Reeves is Mr Smith on tranquillizers. 3 stars
12/04/06 porcelain piece one of the best films ive seen ... <333 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist The film would have been better if they ditched that cheeseball, Keanu Reeves,if you ask me 2 stars
6/26/06 Criddic2 Effects, art direction fine; overdone much of the time tho 3 stars
4/20/06 Isis Bethea This movie is the best i have seen since the Matrix. I love Keanu Reeves in this movie 5 stars
3/18/06 Martin Very interesting and beautiful site. It is a lot of helpful information. Thanks! 5 stars
2/19/06 kirk a work of art! 5 stars
12/29/05 Simon Entertained; but terribly acted and scripted. 3 stars
11/25/05 CONSTANTINE AWSOME... Could've been BETTER; the sequeal should redeem itself!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/15/05 Adrian As far as comic book movies go, it's great. Other than that, its mediocre. 4 stars
10/25/05 Last Tango Imp Heiress Why hasn't the spear of destiny been beaten into the pruning hook of deatiny by now? 4 stars
10/16/05 BillW God has forsaken us...He allowed this hideous film to be made! 1 stars
10/11/05 CONSTANTINE AWESOME... Sort of! 5 stars
9/12/05 Indrid Cold Special effects: 50 million. Decent script: priceless, apparently. 2 stars
8/28/05 John F fell sleep!!!!!!!! 2 stars
8/18/05 ES feelings of hellboy and van helsing, never a good sign 1 stars
8/16/05 Betty Ann Kahn Probably the worst movie I have ever seen. First of all, it's based on the premise that Hel 1 stars
8/16/05 john smith mediocre acting, other than that it was awesome 4 stars
8/08/05 jada boring, yawn, glad it was only a rental 2 stars
8/06/05 Monday Morning Impressive effects but the story and acting were truly terrible 2 stars
8/04/05 JFK great film 4 stars
8/01/05 tatum No big deal... 4 stars
7/31/05 Kenny Tew The only good thing about this film is that its bad enough to be laugh out loud funny. 1 stars
7/29/05 john constantine this movie is the bomb. 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Reeves redeemsself from the Matrix fiasco. Stunning. 5 stars
7/25/05 Dan Kind of hard to follow, but still very thought provoking. 4 stars
7/08/05 Moctezuma Dark, original, and downright fun. I loved it! 5 stars
7/02/05 kaz at last!! an adult comic book story!! 5 stars
6/04/05 Denise Gannon yo duuuude... i can't act! i can like say the words but i'm sooo uuuunconvincing duuude. 2 stars
5/21/05 Cham Not an ounce of originality to be found, but a great flick for the big screen. 3 stars
5/11/05 Mike Didn't like it, sorry. 2 stars
4/29/05 Mider great stuff 4 stars
4/29/05 Mider Excellent 4 stars
4/29/05 Peter Only Rachel Weisz gives a great performance here 3 stars
4/20/05 Krisan definatly spooky :) 4 stars
4/19/05 Nicole Baugh Wasn't what I epected it to be form trailer, but I still liked it. 4 stars
4/19/05 The Sorrow This is way better than "HELLBOY"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/18/05 Maril Smith Loved this film - Keanu Reeves played an excellent sarcastic hero in an intriguing plot 5 stars
4/16/05 Cary Gordon A little to Keanu-ized for those who liked the books, but still decent. 4 stars
4/16/05 Gail Crawford well done, intense 5 stars
4/13/05 Littlepurch I enjoyed it.Keanu and Weisz great leads. Wasn't all mindless action.Liked Satan at da end. 4 stars
4/09/05 Vince Dull fanboy drivel 1 stars
4/01/05 irene diaz Entertaining, but not very good plot wise 3 stars
3/25/05 Brad If you check your brain out at the door, it's fun 4 stars
3/24/05 hannaho As a fan of the comic book, I've got to say somewhat disappointing. 3 stars
3/23/05 Christine I really liked this one very much and Keanu was great! 5 stars
3/22/05 Victoria Ross I like watching Keanu Reeves in any movie. 4 stars
3/21/05 Obi Wan One of the DVD collection! Very good film, Keanu was better than most days! 5 stars
3/21/05 xxplosive Had it's faults but in all it was good. 4 stars
3/19/05 Lord Jiggy Worthy effort, visually stunning, interesting pace. Check it out. 4 stars
3/18/05 Rachel Freaking loved it, and did anyone stay after the credits? 5 stars
3/18/05 PAMELA HANSEN a msut see for all a definite mustr buy whenon dvd cannot wait 5 stars
3/15/05 G I thought the movie was good, did not see any holes in the plot, excellent FX. 5 stars
3/11/05 The Sorrow One of the best medicore "comic-book-adaptations" ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
3/09/05 kaz hey..i liked a walk in the clouds!! 5 stars
3/08/05 Shirley the noir mood is fascinating 5 stars
3/07/05 Caiphn What does he say? "Demons.. and talons".. can't remember, but funny! 3 stars
3/05/05 maxomai Good flick, left me wanting more. Keanu doesn't fit here. 4 stars
3/02/05 Adam almost as bad as another Keanu reves movie "A walk in the clouds" 1 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung keanu, stick to matrix movies 2 stars
3/01/05 Jack Bourbon Nonsensical, and Peter Stormare was silly 2 stars
3/01/05 If the Spear of Destiny really fulfilled Biblical prophecy..... It would have been beaten into the Pruning Hook of Destiny by now! 3 stars
3/01/05 "Tilda Swinton" is really Cate Blanchett Exorcist meets Alien meets Clockstoppers. Still peculiarly appealing somehow. 4 stars
3/01/05 milk funny and action packed. a real treat. make sure you stay after the trailer. ^__^ 5 stars
2/27/05 Meryl Wonderful. First movie I've loved in a long time. 5 stars
2/27/05 mike a total waste of time 1 stars
2/26/05 M Its like a 2 hr long anti smoking ad! Very silly!! 2 stars
2/26/05 Graves Lets hope that "Constantine 2" is far more like the "Hellblazer" comics + it'll be better!! 3 stars
2/25/05 James Kiang Not being too familiar with the source material, I found the movie sufficiently dark. 4 stars
2/25/05 Elizabeth S Enjoyed the visuals, theme, and Keanu's world-weary performance. 3 stars
2/24/05 "Tilda Swinton" is really Cate Blanchett Exorcist meets Alien meets Clockstoppers. Still peculiarly appealing somehow. 4 stars
2/24/05 Comixchick Read the comic from day one; still thought the movie was OK. Not great, OK. 4 stars
2/24/05 kaz LOVED IT!! Dream cast..spellbinding visuals 5 stars
2/22/05 othree Not Reeves' most excellent adventure +s on characters and comedy, best apocalyptic scenery 3 stars
2/22/05 Kefanii Nothing like the Hellblazer series, but who cares (besides bitter fans)? It was fantastic. 5 stars
2/22/05 Derek Movie Reviwers are FAR too analytical, but that's their job. Movie was GREAT 5 stars
2/22/05 Reign It's very nice. Especially for feeling psychic like me. 4 stars
2/22/05 re morgan I thought it was a 7 out of 10. i'm not familiar with the comic - it was good tho 4 stars
2/21/05 Graham K Cchei: go having read the comic book and you won't like it. Trust me. 2 stars
2/21/05 guisada good. 4 stars
2/20/05 Ahnold Stupid, very, very stupid. 1 stars
2/20/05 Jim The Movie Freak The longest anti-smoking ad ever! Kinda lame, kinda interesting. A rental at best. 3 stars
2/20/05 K Cchei Go knowing it's based on a comic book and you will enjoy it 5 stars
2/20/05 Mark D Fulwiler dumb 2 stars
2/20/05 Edler The story has some problems, badly organized, lots of holes, but not bad 4 stars
2/20/05 leon trotsky This should have sucked...but somehow it came together OK. 4 stars
2/20/05 Gray not bad, but could have been great 3 stars
2/20/05 jeff nothin special. slow at times. 3 stars
2/19/05 y2mckay Far better than I expected. Fresh, sharply written, and KEANU IS GOOD! (I'm shocked too) 4 stars
2/19/05 KingNeutron Gabriel the 1/2 angel had a nice booty. :) 5 stars
2/19/05 BrianWilly I really liked it; a great mind**** of a film 5 stars
2/18/05 nick2k not bad for a movie about religion... 4 stars
2/18/05 Ronald Salazar I enjoyed the movie. 4 stars
2/12/05 dbx Saw it; was not at all what I expected; so much fun! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Feb-2005 (R)
  DVD: 19-Jul-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Feb-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast