Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.47

Awesome: 19.02%
Worth A Look41.72%
Just Average: 17.18%
Pretty Crappy: 11.66%
Sucks: 10.43%

10 reviews, 103 user ratings



Constantine
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Mark Rodger-Snelson

"A quite watchable metaphysical action flick"
3 stars

Based on the DC Comic series Hellblazer, Constantine is a theological noir film that is a nice blend of action and supernatural horror.

John Constantine (Keanu Reeves) is a cancer ridden, chain smoking exorcist who hunts down half breed demons and sends them back to hell. Having committed the mortal sin of suicide many years earlier Constantine had a snapshot tour of hell whilst he was technically dead for four minutes before the doctors revived him. Determined not to spend his afterlife in the bowels of hell, he is on a mission to please God in the hope that his previous sins may be overlooked when his time comes.

Angela (Rachel Weisz), a very sceptical police detective enlists Constantineís service to help solve the mysterious death of her twin sister. The investigation leads them to do battle with demons whose numbers seem to be on the rise. They also uncover a plot involving the Son of Satan that could bring about the apocalypse which, if he can stop it, Constantine sees as his ticket to redemption.

The special effects in Constantine are amazing. The visualisation of hell is spectacular and the computer generated demons Constantine faces are very realistic. On the acting front Keanu does his deadpan anti-hero thing again, a style that isnít about to win him an Oscar but suits the character fine here. Rachel Weisz is very good in her role as is the supporting cast which includes Tilda Swinton as Gabriel and Peter Stormare as Satan. It does get a little bogged down in biblical mysticism for its own good which may be a little too much for an audience expecting a no-brainer action flick.

Fans of the source may never forgive director Francis Lawrence for moving the story from England to Los Angeles and making Constantine a dark haired American (in the comic he is a blond Englishman). But if you forget the original comic and see it as a movie in its own right, it is still far superior to the likes of End of Days when it comes to big budget apocalyptic action flicks.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=11745&reviewer=388
originally posted: 04/12/05 06:31:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell flawed but imaginative 4 stars
4/26/09 Man Out 6 Bucks Lked it. If only because I thought it a SeaBiscuit sequel, and it wasn't 4 stars
1/02/09 the dork knight ...why do the characters whisper so much? 3 stars
8/03/08 Farnsy Yes I agree, I hated it 1 stars
6/21/08 Jeffrey G You're either going to love it or hate it. I loved it.. 5 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT SLOW, SILLY, STUPID, INTOLERABLE, OFFENSIVE 1 stars
10/23/07 Ivana Mann Unintelligible dialogue,incomprehensible "plot."The Exorcist for frat boys.Blech! 1 stars
5/02/07 Tracey Chambers love this movie. cool story. pretty good acting. 5 stars
4/11/07 fools♫gold I can't decide whether I like it or not, and I like it when that happens! 2 stars
1/30/07 William Boyle A good story badly told. Reeves is Mr Smith on tranquillizers. 3 stars
12/04/06 porcelain piece one of the best films ive seen ... <333 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist The film would have been better if they ditched that cheeseball, Keanu Reeves,if you ask me 2 stars
6/26/06 Criddic2 Effects, art direction fine; overdone much of the time tho 3 stars
4/20/06 Isis Bethea This movie is the best i have seen since the Matrix. I love Keanu Reeves in this movie 5 stars
3/18/06 Martin Very interesting and beautiful site. It is a lot of helpful information. Thanks! 5 stars
2/19/06 kirk a work of art! 5 stars
12/29/05 Simon Entertained; but terribly acted and scripted. 3 stars
11/25/05 CONSTANTINE AWSOME... Could've been BETTER; the sequeal should redeem itself!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/15/05 Adrian As far as comic book movies go, it's great. Other than that, its mediocre. 4 stars
10/25/05 Last Tango Imp Heiress Why hasn't the spear of destiny been beaten into the pruning hook of deatiny by now? 4 stars
10/16/05 BillW God has forsaken us...He allowed this hideous film to be made! 1 stars
10/11/05 CONSTANTINE AWESOME... Sort of! 5 stars
9/12/05 Indrid Cold Special effects: 50 million. Decent script: priceless, apparently. 2 stars
8/28/05 John F fell sleep!!!!!!!! 2 stars
8/18/05 ES feelings of hellboy and van helsing, never a good sign 1 stars
8/16/05 Betty Ann Kahn Probably the worst movie I have ever seen. First of all, it's based on the premise that Hel 1 stars
8/16/05 john smith mediocre acting, other than that it was awesome 4 stars
8/08/05 jada boring, yawn, glad it was only a rental 2 stars
8/06/05 Monday Morning Impressive effects but the story and acting were truly terrible 2 stars
8/04/05 JFK great film 4 stars
8/01/05 tatum No big deal... 4 stars
7/31/05 Kenny Tew The only good thing about this film is that its bad enough to be laugh out loud funny. 1 stars
7/29/05 john constantine this movie is the bomb. 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Reeves redeemsself from the Matrix fiasco. Stunning. 5 stars
7/25/05 Dan Kind of hard to follow, but still very thought provoking. 4 stars
7/08/05 Moctezuma Dark, original, and downright fun. I loved it! 5 stars
7/02/05 kaz at last!! an adult comic book story!! 5 stars
6/04/05 Denise Gannon yo duuuude... i can't act! i can like say the words but i'm sooo uuuunconvincing duuude. 2 stars
5/21/05 Cham Not an ounce of originality to be found, but a great flick for the big screen. 3 stars
5/11/05 Mike Didn't like it, sorry. 2 stars
4/29/05 Mider great stuff 4 stars
4/29/05 Mider Excellent 4 stars
4/29/05 Peter Only Rachel Weisz gives a great performance here 3 stars
4/20/05 Krisan definatly spooky :) 4 stars
4/19/05 Nicole Baugh Wasn't what I epected it to be form trailer, but I still liked it. 4 stars
4/19/05 The Sorrow This is way better than "HELLBOY"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/18/05 Maril Smith Loved this film - Keanu Reeves played an excellent sarcastic hero in an intriguing plot 5 stars
4/16/05 Cary Gordon A little to Keanu-ized for those who liked the books, but still decent. 4 stars
4/16/05 Gail Crawford well done, intense 5 stars
4/13/05 Littlepurch I enjoyed it.Keanu and Weisz great leads. Wasn't all mindless action.Liked Satan at da end. 4 stars
4/09/05 Vince Dull fanboy drivel 1 stars
4/01/05 irene diaz Entertaining, but not very good plot wise 3 stars
3/25/05 Brad If you check your brain out at the door, it's fun 4 stars
3/24/05 hannaho As a fan of the comic book, I've got to say somewhat disappointing. 3 stars
3/23/05 Christine I really liked this one very much and Keanu was great! 5 stars
3/22/05 Victoria Ross I like watching Keanu Reeves in any movie. 4 stars
3/21/05 Obi Wan One of the DVD collection! Very good film, Keanu was better than most days! 5 stars
3/21/05 xxplosive Had it's faults but in all it was good. 4 stars
3/19/05 Lord Jiggy Worthy effort, visually stunning, interesting pace. Check it out. 4 stars
3/18/05 Rachel Freaking loved it, and did anyone stay after the credits? 5 stars
3/18/05 PAMELA HANSEN a msut see for all a definite mustr buy whenon dvd cannot wait 5 stars
3/15/05 G I thought the movie was good, did not see any holes in the plot, excellent FX. 5 stars
3/11/05 The Sorrow One of the best medicore "comic-book-adaptations" ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
3/09/05 kaz hey..i liked a walk in the clouds!! 5 stars
3/08/05 Shirley the noir mood is fascinating 5 stars
3/07/05 Caiphn What does he say? "Demons.. and talons".. can't remember, but funny! 3 stars
3/05/05 maxomai Good flick, left me wanting more. Keanu doesn't fit here. 4 stars
3/02/05 Adam almost as bad as another Keanu reves movie "A walk in the clouds" 1 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung keanu, stick to matrix movies 2 stars
3/01/05 Jack Bourbon Nonsensical, and Peter Stormare was silly 2 stars
3/01/05 If the Spear of Destiny really fulfilled Biblical prophecy..... It would have been beaten into the Pruning Hook of Destiny by now! 3 stars
3/01/05 "Tilda Swinton" is really Cate Blanchett Exorcist meets Alien meets Clockstoppers. Still peculiarly appealing somehow. 4 stars
3/01/05 milk funny and action packed. a real treat. make sure you stay after the trailer. ^__^ 5 stars
2/27/05 Meryl Wonderful. First movie I've loved in a long time. 5 stars
2/27/05 mike a total waste of time 1 stars
2/26/05 M Its like a 2 hr long anti smoking ad! Very silly!! 2 stars
2/26/05 Graves Lets hope that "Constantine 2" is far more like the "Hellblazer" comics + it'll be better!! 3 stars
2/25/05 James Kiang Not being too familiar with the source material, I found the movie sufficiently dark. 4 stars
2/25/05 Elizabeth S Enjoyed the visuals, theme, and Keanu's world-weary performance. 3 stars
2/24/05 "Tilda Swinton" is really Cate Blanchett Exorcist meets Alien meets Clockstoppers. Still peculiarly appealing somehow. 4 stars
2/24/05 Comixchick Read the comic from day one; still thought the movie was OK. Not great, OK. 4 stars
2/24/05 kaz LOVED IT!! Dream cast..spellbinding visuals 5 stars
2/22/05 othree Not Reeves' most excellent adventure +s on characters and comedy, best apocalyptic scenery 3 stars
2/22/05 Kefanii Nothing like the Hellblazer series, but who cares (besides bitter fans)? It was fantastic. 5 stars
2/22/05 Derek Movie Reviwers are FAR too analytical, but that's their job. Movie was GREAT 5 stars
2/22/05 Reign It's very nice. Especially for feeling psychic like me. 4 stars
2/22/05 re morgan I thought it was a 7 out of 10. i'm not familiar with the comic - it was good tho 4 stars
2/21/05 Graham K Cchei: go having read the comic book and you won't like it. Trust me. 2 stars
2/21/05 guisada good. 4 stars
2/20/05 Ahnold Stupid, very, very stupid. 1 stars
2/20/05 Jim The Movie Freak The longest anti-smoking ad ever! Kinda lame, kinda interesting. A rental at best. 3 stars
2/20/05 K Cchei Go knowing it's based on a comic book and you will enjoy it 5 stars
2/20/05 Mark D Fulwiler dumb 2 stars
2/20/05 Edler The story has some problems, badly organized, lots of holes, but not bad 4 stars
2/20/05 leon trotsky This should have sucked...but somehow it came together OK. 4 stars
2/20/05 Gray not bad, but could have been great 3 stars
2/20/05 jeff nothin special. slow at times. 3 stars
2/19/05 y2mckay Far better than I expected. Fresh, sharply written, and KEANU IS GOOD! (I'm shocked too) 4 stars
2/19/05 KingNeutron Gabriel the 1/2 angel had a nice booty. :) 5 stars
2/19/05 BrianWilly I really liked it; a great mind**** of a film 5 stars
2/18/05 nick2k not bad for a movie about religion... 4 stars
2/18/05 Ronald Salazar I enjoyed the movie. 4 stars
2/12/05 dbx Saw it; was not at all what I expected; so much fun! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Feb-2005 (R)
  DVD: 19-Jul-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Feb-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast