Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.49

Awesome65.28%
Worth A Look: 25%
Just Average: 5.56%
Pretty Crappy: 1.39%
Sucks: 2.78%

3 reviews, 54 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pee Wee's Big Adventure
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I know you are, but what am I? (repeat incessantly)."
5 stars

Go ahead and scream your head off! We're miles from where anyone can hear you!

Pee Wee Herman. The guy's just a big kid. The love of his life?
His bicycle.

But when that bike gets stolen, look out. Pee Wee's on a mission. He crosses the country looking for it, ending up at the Alamo (note to travellers: there is no basement). Along the way, he meets a truckload of weird people, dances to Tequila in a biker bar, and gets a small role ("Paging Mr. Herman, Mr. Herman, you have a telephone call at the front desk.") in the feature film story of his life, all in search of his beloved bicycle. The story is actually pretty short, but for Pee Wee, it's like you're unravelling a big cable-knit sweater that someone keeps
knitting and knitting and knitting and knitting and knitting and knitting....

*ahem* Sorry.

There's so many jokes, so many gags. Some work, some don't. But it's still funny as hell. Besides, this movie was co-written by Phil Hartman. Phil Hartman!

Forget that Pee Wee got arrested for that whole porn theater thing. This movie's much funnier than his mug shot.

There's things about me you don't know, Dottie. Things you wouldn't understand. Things you couldn't understand. Things you *shouldn't* understand.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1186&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/21/98 10:30:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/24/14 dr.lao I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would 4 stars
1/10/11 liddie any body see the connection to de sica's Bicycle thief 5 stars
5/03/10 PAUL SHORTT STRANGE BUT AMUSING 3 stars
8/29/09 Dane Youssef A defining moment in my very childhood. Does as much for children as Mia Farrow 5 stars
2/02/08 Anne Loved the humor and innocence 5 stars
8/11/07 Bitchflaps Innocent fun, one of Tim Burton's very few good films. 4 stars
2/19/06 chris f this film rocks!!!! 5 stars
8/05/05 Zack Tim Burton's hilarious first film. Great script from Phil Hartman(!) 5 stars
8/05/05 the sliceman Im 32 yrs old and overly excited when I find this on tv 5 stars
1/24/05 Jeff Anderson TIM BURTON'S MASTERPIECE! Memorable characters & a terrific Danny Elfman score are a blast! 5 stars
10/29/04 Nitro Methane The best part is the last 10 minutes 5 stars
9/03/04 T.B. It stupid to look for a bike 1 stars
6/20/04 Daveman Wonderfully bizarre, this is Tim Burton at his most humorous, better than Beetlejuice. 4 stars
3/24/04 Lord Haw Haw Hilarious, imaginative, just plain fun. Too bad he destroyed his own career. 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge You'd have to be a real curmudgeon not to laugh at Pee-Wee's antics. Fast-paced cartoon fun 5 stars
1/09/04 Allison I'm proud to have this in my DVD collection! I KNOW YOU ARE, BUT WHAT AM I? Genius!!! 5 stars
11/01/03 Lorax This movie kicks ass! "NO NOTHING RIGHT NOW MR. HERMAN!" 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese I cant get past the masterbation thing. 3 stars
6/08/03 earl hoffert insanely subversive 5 stars
4/25/03 John Aster Habig Funnier than all Ernest films aside from Ernest Goes To Jail 5 stars
1/02/03 rotten s. milk Better than that stupid fucking "Big Top Pee-wee". 5 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Hilarious, even for un-Pee Wee fans 5 stars
10/08/02 Kitfo the Citizen Kane of my generation 5 stars
2/14/02 dick ryder the best movie ever 5 stars
12/16/01 SPANKSTAR Great movie. Children these days are deprived 5 stars
8/23/01 J.C. Great Flick 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Burton's debut is a childhood favorite. Still funny after all these years. 5 stars
8/06/01 Angel Fabulous Movie, a classic 5 stars
6/28/01 Elvisfan Great fucking movie.what the hell were you people watching? 5 stars
5/21/01 Ray McCoy I'm sorry, there wasn't enough momentum in the story, and the jokes were rather dry 3 stars
2/14/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Pee-Wee Hermans finest hour...don't knock it till you see it. 4 stars
1/02/01 Stefan Youngs Amazing character, great escapism. A charming film. 5 stars
11/28/00 matt ralston my favorite movie of all time! 5 stars
10/29/00 Big Al pee wees in under rated actor hes so good its scary 1 stars
9/11/00 Jed Forget Sleepy Hollow & M.A or the modern batflicks 1 & 2 this is T.B's best. 4 stars
8/09/00 rhettibus replete with brilliant gag after brilliant gag 5 stars
6/06/00 Bender So retarded, you can't help but laugh 4 stars
5/09/00 The Bomb 69 hilarious 5 stars
5/07/00 Paul Klenk Screamingly funny, side-aching laughs, juvenlie/infantile humor ever. P.W. is inspired! 5 stars
3/05/00 Jamie Funniest movie ever! 5 stars
12/17/99 SID The feel and look of the movie is so unique, I have to reccomend it. 4 stars
12/03/99 Rachel funny, cleverly stupid, slightly psychotic movie 4 stars
9/09/99 Jason Kinsey I've loved this movie since I was 7 5 stars
7/06/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ** (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug go pee-wee, go pee- wee! 4 stars
1/24/99 Chloe Marie Ernestine (clatter@hotmail.com) This movie is one of my favorites. It's terriffic!! "Tell 'em Large Marge sent you." 5 stars
11/05/98 tom blah--pee wee makes me nauseous 2 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Twisted magic from the minds of Herman, Hartman and Burton. Godzilla and Santa, sheeesh! 4 stars
10/22/98 Negative Creep That 'Rebel' line is great. And So is this Movie. PAGING MR. HERMAN! 4 stars
10/21/98 CaptNish Phil's dead and Paul's career is, but damn could those two write a flick... 5 stars
10/21/98 Kwyjibo Not enough depth to fill a feature film. Some funny moments but overall boring. 3 stars
10/20/98 J-Guy I PITY THE FOO' THAT DONT SEE DIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/20/98 Johny An offbeat, extremely funny flick 5 stars
10/20/98 grunter Surreal playfulness, stylish, edgy and genuine belly-laughs; Reubens and Burton are GOD 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1986 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1987 (PG)


Directed by
  Tim Burton

Written by
  Phil Hartman
  Paul Reubens

Cast
  Paul Reubens
  Elizabeth Daily
  Mark Holton
  Diane Salinger
  Judd Omen
  Irving Hellman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast