Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.11

Awesome59.57%
Worth A Look: 16.98%
Just Average: 4.94%
Pretty Crappy: 11.73%
Sucks: 6.79%

18 reviews, 216 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Sin City
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Marc Kandel

"A glorious canvas of blood-soaked retribution and street justice"
5 stars

There can be no finer praise from me for "Sin City," than to say that in addition to a driven, fist clenching, momentous cinematic presence, Robert Rodriguez’s and Frank Miller’s work stands as a near note-perfect adaptation of Miller’s source material in its visuals, narrative, and theme, producing a triumphant testament to sex, violence, private justice and vengeance. Sleep well Charles Bronson, we learned something after all.

This is my pick for feel good family movie of the year. I trumpet evil men being taken down brutally, graphically, and repeatedly. It gives me enormous pleasure to watch the administration of excessive force to hateful people utilizing blunt or edged instruments. I love watching assholes get shot in the face, stabbed in the gut, perforated in the testicles. Sin City gives me all of this and more- no compromises. Everything I loved in the books, just about everything I absolutely needed to see on the screen- it was all there. The transference of the medium, the characters, the way Frank Miller’s inks, pencils and story coagulate into a symphony of stark wonder on flat white paper- it was all there, different, but the same. With the release of Sin City there now exists a synthesis of two separate mediums, nigh indistinguishable from each other- a feat I can scarce believe were it not for the truth right in front of my eyes.

Robert Rodriguez has gone above and beyond his duty as a director to bring the truth and heart of beautiful art and story, even to the point of telling the Director’s Guild to fuck itself (he was nicer in his description of events, but at least that is how it is played over and over in my mind producing a vulpine grin every time), so that he could actually give the original creator, Frank Miller, a hands-on opportunity to tell his tale in a completely new way without having to see his creation off at the docks under the control of another captain. Bravo, Bravi, Bravissimi. I have no idea how to write in Italian, but you get the idea.

"Sin City" follows the tale of three good men in the most corrupt, vile city in America- an amalgam of Vegas, Manhattan, New Orleans, Los Angeles- Scumhole USA. Now the definition of “good” can be a bit shaky in Basin City- sometimes it’s a misfit who manages to kill all the right people, sometimes it’s a haunted man who needs to atone for a life badly lived that has left him with the need to punish bad people, sometimes it’s a cop who knows that to fight corruption and evil, you have to make terrible sacrifices and stand by them no matter the cost. It’s a throwback to the good ol’ days of 70’s inner city strife blended with the troubled noir of the 40’s and 50’s painted with bold modern day technological strokes. I’m not going to say anymore on the plot (there are three intertwined tales based on three separate stories from the graphic novel) it will make itself apparent very quickly and you can just sit back and enjoy the wild ride.

The cast gives the audience their very best work- each and every member of the ensemble turns in sterling efforts to complete an extremely detailed portrait of a black city in need of some light. Of our three main players- Mickey Rourke (Marv), Bruce Willis (Hartigan), and Clive Owen (Dwight McCarthy): I can barely express how beautifully they inhabit the characters given them. Suffice to say these I believed in these men, each and every one- these were the characters I knew. I could go into standouts- but my point is that you will remember everyone- each distinct character is given a signature moment and as a whole give you a deep look into the abyss inhabited by these souls of Sin City.

Of the three stories, I will say the one that resonates with me the most, the one that moved me to tears and laughter and clenched teeth and fists more than once is “The Hard Goodbye”- the story of Marv, the malformed, unstoppable, confused brute, and his murderous, frenzied quest to avenge the death of the one woman who ever showed him love. This is a wrenching, fierce tale that could easily lapse into tepid, needless, gratuitous displays of torture and mayhem (and if you are a reader of more whitebread public reviews, you’ll get just that), but Marv’s adrift, misunderstood soul, naked on display as he struggles to make sense of his surroundings and hunt down the people who took Goldie, his dream woman away from him gives the tale a beating, sorrowful heart that makes it more than just a standard payback flick.

Marv is God’s lonely man, Sin City is the only place that makes sense to him, Goldie is his angel, his soul, and God help whoever has taken this fleeting happiness away from him. God help them because Marv is coming for them. This is not to say that the other two tales are any less stirring, but personal choice is and will always be Marv’s hard goodbye, for Mickey Rourke’s inspired touch and bravura comeback performance, and for possibly one of my favorite monologues to be found in fiction- graphic or otherwise- Marv’s definition of hell.

I will also at this time tender a sincere apology to Jessica Alba, whom I have misused on the Hollywood Bitchslap forums over my qualms about her character not appearing topless in the film- this was a major point of anger for me, as anyone who has read the novels knows what an iconic, defining visual this is for the series, and I was offended that the movie would be tamed for her apparent “It-Girl” unwillingness to tarnish her current yet ever ephemeral A-list image with nudity in a career that has sported none thus far. My feelings are that in this film, for this character, it was a necessity and only served to heighten the juxtaposition of the innocent with the sensual.

Happily, despite the scarcity of Alba Aureole, her performance as Nancy still brought everything across needed to define her lovely character and the dangerous universe she inhabits- I’m still not pleased with the decision, finding Rodriguez’s reasoning shaky and elusive (evidently he felt she wouldn’t do it if he asked her, and really didn’t see it as necessary anyway). The Alba refusal I find laughable as there are just under a thousand actresses capable of doing what is required, and Alba’s name is hardly the one that got the film greenlighted. If she refused, show her the door and grab someone else. For the questionable necessity of the nudity- it seems an odd omission considering the meticulous attention paid to every other last visual detail. Nonetheless, her performance did the job, and I am pleased this once to say I stand corrected and humbled.

And no assholes, I really don’t care what her chest looks like- if you want to take a second to pick up the books, you will understand where I’m coming from- you should pick up the books anyway, but that’s a whole other argument. Besides, there are still breasts aplenty in this film, and no, I’m not going to get specific, because that would be doing the actresses whose performances deserve resounding applause a great disservice by simply reducing them to T&A references. Point being- Alba does a nice job beyond any expectation I had and has proven me wrong and I now look forward to the Fantastic Four film with less trepidation about her performance as the Invisible Woman. Good for you kid.

I’m a harsh sonofabitch- I call em’ like I see em’ and I don’t see much I like- so I can only stress how pleased and gratified I am to view a film that met every expectation. This was the film I had been waiting to see for some long time- with shit overflowing in every surrounding theatre and barely an interest in any rentals out there, this was my one must see amid lesser cinematic obligations and distractions. I drank this movie in like fine wine letting it roll across my senses and caress the synapses in my brain.

So am I just jumping on the bandwagon? Is it really worth all the fuss, all the 5-stars and instant glorification? Am I just sucking up to the popular crowd? Fuck no. I shot the popular crowd in high school I cut the bandwagon’s fucking brakes. “Sin City” is a Film. An honest-to-God Film deserving of the name standing tall amongst the fields of dogshit in the surrounding theatres “Robots,” “Miss Congeniality 2,” “Beauty Shop…” are you fucking kidding me? Are you actually trying to pass this bile soaked sputum off as entertainment? “Sin City” is a reason to go to the theatre- it showcases talent, craft, heart, and skill- there is no exaggeration to be found here. It exists. It makes no excuses, no compromises and it tells the story it is supposed to tell. God Bless.

This picture is the real deal. Not Million Dollar Baby or Vera Drake “you have to see It” stuff- but a film you WANT to see- no hype, no PR, no fucking bullshit- Go, go see it now. Anybody tries to stop you or tell you different, rip their goddam head off.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=11918&reviewer=358
originally posted: 04/05/05 08:48:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
8/23/16 Louise Switched off after 15 mins. Overdone and self-indulgent nonsense. 2 stars
10/09/10 R.W. Welch Graphic nihilism; interesting as a curiosity. 3 stars
4/17/10 PAUL SHORTT BLEAK AND NASTY 2 stars
2/10/10 art ROURKE IS EXCELLENT IN SIN CITY,AND WAS TERRIBLE IN the wrestler! 4 stars
11/22/09 Jeff Wilder The edgiest and best movie of 2005 5 stars
9/03/09 Placido Greeting. Nobody can be exactly like me. Sometimes even I have trouble doing it. Help me! I 3 stars
7/01/09 Therm the 'Worth a Look' 4-star label frustrates me, cuz i suppose this is, but it is NOT good 2 stars
5/05/09 art A FABULOUS R-RATED COMIC STRIP MOVIE! 5 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef "Sin City" is a modern day "Dick Tracy." Best comic book movie ever. Never a movie like it. 5 stars
12/03/08 Marco E. really good represantation of NEO NOIR 5 stars
10/01/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
5/28/08 MDH-Matt Best film of 2005. Period. 'Nuff said. 5 stars
1/02/08 James The best movie i've ever seen. Outstanding. 5 stars
9/24/07 aaron wow. i was completely amzing,, for i thought this would be like smokin aces but in back anu 5 stars
8/07/07 Romantic Heretic A dark and delicious piece of work. Watched frequently and much enjoyed. 5 stars
6/09/07 Danielle Ophelia Oh, yeah. YEAH. 5 stars
5/14/07 Dave I didn't really like it 1 stars
5/14/07 movieman boring 1 stars
5/09/07 Adrian One of my all time favorites. 5 stars
3/29/07 fools♫gold Cansomeone giveanexamplewhereitwas done before and better? Nope,tissomthinrathernew. 4/5 or 5 stars
3/25/07 Eric R Perfect for the genre. Hint: Not for everyone. 4 stars
3/19/07 dude compelling 4 stars
3/10/07 Roy F. Moore Donny, I don't use drugs at all. And I STILL hated this anti-Catholic flick. Trash it. 1 stars
2/26/07 Donny M How could you not like this film. Some people need to lay off the crack 5 stars
2/12/07 The chode So GOOD 5 stars
1/15/07 jeannie karlsen clive owen is to die for 5 stars
1/09/07 johnnyfog Stylish and pays attention to dialogue and character. A thinking man's bloodfest! 5 stars
12/21/06 Doug quite good. 5 stars
11/15/06 LORD DEATH this movie was overdone, trying to rely on style to hide its stupidity. so painfully stupid 1 stars
10/17/06 AJ Muller can you handle Frank Miller's world? if yes, this here be PERFECTION. nothing like it, ever 5 stars
10/02/06 Beau the plot goes no where, repetetive scenes and lost interest within the first 10 minutues 2 stars
9/21/06 matt good at first, but gets boring after a while. Some bad acting. Why is it perpetually night? 3 stars
9/19/06 Booksworm I bought "The Hard Goodbye" the day I went to see this movie. Loved 'em both. 5 stars
8/20/06 Gene Great Filmmaking 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Interesting visual FX, but borefully&too repeatitively violent, I could'nt even finish it. 2 stars
7/25/06 dan a very cool but dark film 4 stars
7/22/06 Agent Sands Pure superficial popcorn entertainment, just brisk action and violence. 4 stars
7/19/06 Trish Sucked me right in, and I have never read the novels 5 stars
6/26/06 Mr Boo Best Movie I've ever seen by far 5 stars
6/12/06 Indrid Cold Possibly the most accurate translation of a comic book ever. But is it good? Meh. 3 stars
6/07/06 GEORGE GARBAGE 1 stars
6/06/06 Dave Webber More style than substance - but sorta works in a frivious way. 4 stars
6/05/06 Thomas rubbish 1 stars
5/14/06 Diane P definitely not for me extremely violent couldn't appreciate it 2 stars
5/08/06 Reklc Best comic book adaptation EVER!!! Great movie!!! 5 stars
4/30/06 CPT Hoolie The cool look can't make up for the excessive subject matter 2 stars
4/18/06 Annie G Violent enough that I had to look away often (and I'm not squeamish). 3 stars
4/18/06 Dave A gruesome but clever picture with a storyline like Pulp Fiction. 4 stars
4/03/06 Mike Loved to see it in black and white,great movie, different,can't wait for sin city 2. 4 stars
4/02/06 Jules Good actors,no plot/character build up.bad movie. 2 stars
3/17/06 MP Bartley Great entertainment, that oozes style - but it can't cover the essential hollowness 4 stars
2/26/06 djacosta You're gonna love this, Baby 5 stars
2/20/06 Agent Sands Overrated as hell, but it's great simple entertainment. 4 stars
1/23/06 Michael Shaw I totally agree with the majprity of people on this movie it was awesome 5 stars
1/19/06 Crackhead I smoked a joint to this one and now i am in a mental institution. GooBIEFJDIFMASKLDzm,x 5 stars
1/10/06 Tony Watt Your review is as good as the flick, tough guy! 5 stars
1/08/06 MF It's worth it for the visuals 4 stars
1/03/06 Piz Was expecting better, Shut it off after an hour or so. 2 stars
12/31/05 Tanya very creative The actors were great 5 stars
12/26/05 Nicole The story is so-so, but it's incredible to look at 4 stars
12/23/05 Michele awesome 5 stars
12/20/05 JJ flash and style can't overcome the fact it has ZERO plot! 2 stars
12/14/05 Sam Bonner 3 stars
12/12/05 _|6|0// (_)773r 7r45(-) 1 stars
12/11/05 Simon worth a look cuz that style is just amazing to look at... but oh so hollow and mindless 4 stars
11/20/05 Sam Atherton Absolutely awesome 5 stars
11/19/05 JeromeBosch Damn, that’s a fine looking coat! 5 stars
11/15/05 Adrian Left me speechless. One of the greatest movies of all time, in my opinion. 5 stars
11/08/05 Littlepurch Great film. Incredibly violent, but it all helps the gripping plot. Acting fab all round. 5 stars
10/25/05 mero A cracker of a film that's saturated with STYLE 4 stars
10/25/05 Jonathon Holmes the first great film of 2005 5 stars
10/22/05 lizard181 More Please 5 stars
10/14/05 eddiejohns Not to deep as far as plot. Loved the comic book look. 4 stars
10/12/05 Wisamane Kill bill sucked! this is nothing like it! SIN CITY IS REALLY CREATIVE! GOOD MOVIE!!!!! 5 stars
10/10/05 DM Such style I didn't realize the complete lack of substance until after. 4 stars
10/09/05 Agent Sands A digrace to film noir in terms of femmes fatale, but rather entertaining nonetheless. 4 stars
10/02/05 Indrid Cold Brilliant use of immersive, artistic CGI. Oh yeah, the movie is OK too. 4 stars
9/29/05 Eden Kill Bill aside, this is the most striking film iv seen in ages 5 stars
9/26/05 David Great idea, very origional, but I still don't get it completely, maybe that's what the sequ 5 stars
9/26/05 Punk_Ass This is an awesome movie. Watched it, then watched it again, then went out and bought it 5 stars
9/23/05 ESTEFANI QUIROZ NO ME GUSTO POR QUE CASI NO SALE JOSH HARTNETT 2 stars
9/20/05 Kurt Stallings The film's heart, it's pure commitment to its own dark message, never skips a beat. 5 stars
9/16/05 Jonathon Holmes the first great film of 2005 5 stars
9/15/05 Monday Morning All style, no substance. And the style wasn't great either. 1 stars
9/13/05 bbbr awesome 5 stars
9/13/05 Sylvanthunder Just plain Awesome, film Noir at its best! Style at its best, it has never been done before 5 stars
9/09/05 Alex i guess expected too much 2 stars
9/08/05 Aaron Madtson I HATED IT! 1 stars
9/07/05 bac one of the best movies i've seen for a while 5 stars
9/07/05 Johnny Best movie of this year. 5 stars
9/04/05 erakon Great movie!! It embodies all that the graphic novels stood for and does it in a clever way 5 stars
8/31/05 Owen Imholte Unique portrayal of Noir Style, nothing to back it up, turns out a big let down in the end 1 stars
8/29/05 Mike No redeeming qualities whatsoever 1 stars
8/27/05 Tom Burns This has to be the best movie made from a graphic novel. 5 stars
8/27/05 Moctezuma A fun movie 5 stars
8/23/05 fruity wow? 5 stars
8/22/05 HardStyle Brilliant style. perf. Atmosphere. Breath taking.fascinating. too short comment section ^^ 5 stars
8/20/05 Monster W. Kung Crap. 2 stars
8/18/05 tatum What it lacks in its screenplay, it make up for with its style 4 stars
8/18/05 Hinotori Scott is right. Under all the violence is a truly uncompromising moral core. 5 stars
8/14/05 Brandy Harrington Good film, but very overrated. Since when does stylish directing make a film a masterpiece? 4 stars
8/12/05 ES I'm thinking about changing my name to Marv= As good as gold 5 stars
8/09/05 JFK Oh, man!!! I've been shot!!!! 5 stars
8/02/05 Sean D Not bad for a one-time see. Not a buyer on DVD for me. Seen better...not to many worse. 3 stars
7/25/05 John Bale Brilliant visuals wastd by excessive sadistic violence and mayhem 2 stars
7/24/05 Naka Oh. My. God. 5 stars
7/17/05 Donna A. I really loved this movie. Now waiting for the DVD to come out. I have it on my buy list. 5 stars
7/17/05 kellie Disgrace, what is up with hollywood anyway, having these sleeze dress with nothing on 1 stars
7/15/05 Green Gremlin Makes Batman look like"Peanuts" !!! 5 stars
7/15/05 Danno the Movie Manno Best film Ive seen in years... Every single frame was perfect. 5 stars
7/10/05 ty mills easily the best film ive seen all year, no contest 5 stars
7/02/05 Byzantine_101 I must admit... IT GOES INTO OVERKILL, but it works surprisingly enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
6/25/05 Paul It was RUBBISH. Walked out half way! 1 stars
6/24/05 Phil Pretty damn cool 4 stars
6/20/05 Naka Absolutely, positively glorious. Nothing less then a modern classic. 5 stars
6/16/05 Manu Ginobli Nice film 4 stars
6/14/05 KC A genre on it's own 5 stars
6/14/05 jameth burketh Easily the best film in a bad year for film. Visually sharp as its stories. 5 stars
6/13/05 Colin Smart Exellent film making and watching 5 stars
6/11/05 Monster W. Kung Meh... since when it takes good set design to be rated as "masterpiece"? 2 stars
6/10/05 Rock-Steady Fucking non stop action, I could not believe how good this was. Fuck you randy 5 stars
6/09/05 randy bickler Tarantino...another glorified slasher waste of HD 1 stars
6/07/05 Agent Sands Yes, it expands on the visual techniques from Schindler's List. Otherwise, a bit overrated. 4 stars
6/06/05 Anthony G Awesome, entertained THE ENTIRE GOD DAMN TIME BIATCH!111 5 stars
5/29/05 Burnt Film Noir 2000 5 stars
5/24/05 Jake This movie is the reason CGI was even invented! 5 stars
5/24/05 The shizz This movie was awesome 5 stars
5/21/05 Cham Visually stunning, though what's on screen isn't that compelling. Mickey Rourke steals it. 4 stars
5/16/05 rfsf what the fuck was that i could habe been in a brrte movie ass FUCK 5 stars
5/16/05 Paterfam001 Dire: Bruce - how are you gonna explain this wet-dream to Scout & Rumer? 1 stars
5/09/05 K. Sear Visually stunning and faithful to the original. Very worthwhile. 5 stars
5/05/05 Mattomic Runs a bit long, but it's one of the best comic book movies to come out in a long time. 4 stars
5/05/05 Kristi i thought it would be a great movie but it dissapointed me. it was a bit BoRiNg!!! 2 stars
5/03/05 Kyle Kapetanakis A suberb experiment in masturbatory cinema - violent, perverted, a true guilty pleasure. 5 stars
5/01/05 Teri GOOD 4 stars
4/25/05 E-FUNK Balls-to-the-wall actiona and gore. Absolutely merciless. Mickey Rourke is a god. 5 stars
4/25/05 Jim Frank Miller's fingerprints are all over this bad boy, and it rocks. 5 stars
4/24/05 Koitus W-o-w... This should have been NC-17; most violent movie since Kill Bill Vol. 1 I've seen. 2 stars
4/23/05 APT2 coolest movie ever made 5 stars
4/22/05 John this movie hits one note incessently over and over again...boring. Rourke is good 2 stars
4/21/05 vagile Too literal translation from the books 5 stars
4/20/05 Dan Perfect transformation from Frank Miller's art to the screen; read the comics first. 4 stars
4/19/05 Obi Wan Wow!! Rodriguez finally gives us his MasterPiece...Great work by Rourke,Jessica & Rosario 5 stars
4/19/05 Nicole Baugh Awesome movie! And Elijiah Wood was GREAT in this. Talk about a freaky part. 5 stars
4/18/05 Al Guy I wanted to like it . . . but I didn't. 2 stars
4/17/05 Kim Anderson icy brilliance, violence balanced by anti-heros with hearts,sexy and political. 5 stars
4/16/05 MDP Pure art; genius 5 stars
4/16/05 Diego this movie was sooo cool!!!! 5 stars
4/14/05 Baghdad Iraq 1 stars
4/13/05 Billy Mickey Rourke was awesome 4 stars
4/12/05 Junior LaRoche Loved it! Better than Kill Bill and Once upon a Time in Mexico! 4 stars
4/12/05 cheetosnwine@hotmail.com A Masterpiece! 5 stars
4/11/05 Caiphn Knew nothing about this film, was very impressed, not for people who hate violence. 5 stars
4/11/05 nate plate epic is the only word that explains it 5 stars
4/11/05 Lynnaea Visually, it works. Plot/character reactions unconvincing. 3 stars
4/11/05 SuFi Weinberg says it how it is 5 stars
4/10/05 Landshark When you kick ass like this, there's gonna be hell to pay. 5 stars
4/09/05 Gray great art WAY to much tourture though 3 stars
4/09/05 Vince Nice look, but repetitive and quite dull 2 stars
4/09/05 T Fuck the playerhaters, this movie rocks the socks 5 stars
4/08/05 hannaho Has got to be the best comic book adaptation since Batman. 5 stars
4/08/05 Maalstrom Great visuals along with a few interesting plots. 5 stars
4/08/05 chris. see it with your mom 5 stars
4/08/05 Tanya Grays Loved it 5 stars
4/07/05 Lucas Fun exercise in style; too shallow to be great though 3 stars
4/07/05 luke great 5 stars
4/07/05 michaelb14 A world with no shades of gray only the hard black and white of Basin City 5 stars
4/07/05 emily fantastic mood, dialogue, stylisticly gorgeous, and badass! 5 stars
4/06/05 Mider Its nice to see something thats not craptacular. 5 stars
4/06/05 brody WOW..... 5 stars
4/06/05 drfardook Visually top notch. Actors were nicely ironic with the stiled dialog... actresses sucked 5 stars
4/06/05 Rosaline Giornelli Spectacular Adaptation! CGI used as it was meant to be used. 5 stars
4/06/05 KingNeutron Some scenes were too-obviously CGI backgrounds; but overall I'd see it again. 4 stars
4/05/05 Vicious Highly enjoyable, and the most artful violence I've seen in some time. 5 stars
4/05/05 joe so fine 5 stars
4/05/05 Alison Smart twisted, over-the-top violence 4 stars
4/05/05 dan Visually stunning...brilliant movie!! Mickey Rourke rocked!! 5 stars
4/05/05 Russell Finally a flm that does not give a shit and goes all the way. Finally. 5 stars
4/05/05 booby best r rated movie in too long 5 stars
4/04/05 killbill03 Finally a film worth the price of admission 5 stars
4/04/05 Mr. Eff Style? Incredible. Acting? Spotty. Worth seeing? Most definitely. 4 stars
4/04/05 Uncle Phucker Amazing looking, amazing characters, amazing action, and amazing women. 5 stars
4/04/05 Mary Amazing. Among the best of the comic book films. 5 stars
4/04/05 Wildcarde1 What the movie industry needed a bit of originality and style 5 stars
4/03/05 Patrick it was like watching the comic come to life, amazing. 5 stars
4/03/05 Jack Bourbon Oh come on, it wasn't that good. "Mexico" was better. Willis and Rourke good, rest blah 4 stars
4/03/05 Josh Bays Amazing Comic Book on Film 5 stars
4/03/05 Brian the best movie of 2005 already? 5 stars
4/03/05 Goggman Greatest comic book movie ever! 5 stars
4/03/05 ELI BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR!...so far :) 5 stars
4/03/05 Brad Movie that employs a ton of special effects but has a lot of heart. And it kicks ass 5 stars
4/03/05 Heidialyssa Awesome movie. Stylistic and one that others will attempt to mimic, without success. 5 stars
4/03/05 ajay 95% awesome, there were a couple of dull moments tho. 4 stars
4/03/05 Jack Outstanding 5 stars
4/02/05 Tom Benton One of the best damn movies ever made;comical, funny ... a hell of a film. 5 stars
4/02/05 MorallySound Wow! 5 stars
4/02/05 impartial judgement I'd hit it 5 stars
4/02/05 carlton i'll be hornswoogled 5 stars
4/02/05 gromm A movie with a soul that stays true to itself 110% It doesn't get any better than this. 5 stars
4/02/05 too-much-coffee mistress Woo! 5 stars
4/02/05 Kristina Williams Oh man.....MARV! 5 stars
4/02/05 Eric a perfect marraige of hard-boiled violence and comic book sensibility 5 stars
4/02/05 Mason Near perfect. 5 stars
4/02/05 leo Wow. What a fantastically original movie. Best in years. 5 stars
4/02/05 Jim The Movie Freak It Doesn't Get Better Than This! Should Cheer Up All The Catholics Out There :) 5 stars
4/02/05 Cobra Commander "Count it!" 5 stars
4/02/05 mitchogletree see the best "comic" book adaptation ever. It'll make your April Fool's. 5 stars
4/01/05 Ted Great 5 stars
4/01/05 Average Joe This movie is incredible. As long as you have a strong stomach, see this movie. Now. 5 stars
4/01/05 jcjs holy cow, loved it to pieces...got to see again soon 5 stars
4/01/05 brody WOW..... 5 stars
4/01/05 Naka Absolutely fantastic! SEE THIS FILM! 5 stars
4/01/05 malcolm violent. hammy. melodramatic. just like it was supposed to be. 4 stars
4/01/05 impartial judgement woah 5 stars
4/01/05 BrianWilly Hot DAMN my life is better for having seen this 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Apr-2005 (R)
  DVD: 13-Dec-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Jul-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast