Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.11

Awesome59.57%
Worth A Look: 16.98%
Just Average: 4.94%
Pretty Crappy: 11.73%
Sucks: 6.79%

18 reviews, 216 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Sin City
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"Yes, it's a good movie. No, it's not a great movie."
3 stars

The paradox of “Sin City” is that it’s an outstandingly inventive film that’s actually not that inventive at all. Every one of director Robert Rodriguez’ visuals come direct from Frank Miller’s graphic novels, so much so that the film strains to copy point for point images from the books. The result: the movie has a look that crackles - yet it’s the work of a copy.

This is not to say that “Sin City” fails. On the contrary, part of its success comes from the fan boy glee that fills every corner of every frame. Rodriguez set out to make a comic book brought to life, and he succeeded, treating Miller’s work as storyboards and doing so with such faithfulness that anyone familiar with the book series will be floored at the notion of Miller’s masterful artwork painstakingly recreated in real life. Miller is arguably the best comic book maker around (he’s also responsible for the groundbreaking Batman effort “The Dark Knight Returns” and the savage reader fave “Ronin”), his work on his “Sin City” series an impressive feat of artistic storytelling. Rodriguez couldn’t have found a better artist to emulate. (Miller’s so responsible for the movie’s look that Rodriguez gives him a directorial credit.)

The strange thing, however, is that by creating a digital world reminiscent of the exaggerated look of Warren Beatty’s “Dick Tracy,” Rodriguez has made something that’s more cartoony than the source material ever was. Sure, the books were full of graphic novel exaggeration, but they remained grounded in a dark, heavy seriousness. The film, in forming a world that looks as though it’s a live action comic book, occasionally drops the seriousness. Physics is put on hold - punched characters fly across the street in gee-isn’t-this-like-the-funny-papers hyperbole. A handful of cast members (most notably the distractingly bad Brittany Murphy) treat the dialogue like parody, pumping out their lines as though they’re in a film noir spoof. This decision detracts from the intended tone of the piece: hard, cold, mean.

Thankfully, the leading players keep their cool. Clive Owen, Bruce Willis, and, most notably of all, Mickey Rourke all treat their roles with deadly seriousness. Unlike Murphy, who turns her character into a caricature, these three actors help sell the film’s comic book style by passing it off as legit. Each stars in his own short story - the three are woven together following the “Pulp Fiction” template of time-overlapping storytelling - in which a wrong is avenged with blood and death. These three tales push themselves into outlandish territories, yet the solid performances of all three lend the script both an emotional edge and an unlimited supply of ice-cold cool.

Because if “Sin City” is nothing else, it’s oh so cool. Rodriguez picks up on Miller’s feel for classic film noir slang and technique, the result being a film that lets us hear cool actors spit out cool dialogue in cool narration. After all, what’s not to love about Clive Owen growling in voice-over about some crazy dame? Cool.

And yet, this is a shallow cool. I keep coming back to “Pulp Fiction,” which earned its title by delivering the cheap, tawdry thrills a pulp provides, at the expense of a more meaningful character depth. “Sin City” follows the same design; whereas the books had time to fill in some passion and logic behind its characters’ actions, the movie, which has to plow on at lightning speed in order to fit three stories into its two-hour timeframe, drops the greater depths. Rodriguez reveals a knowledge for one of film noir’s best parts - the slick slang and bitter attitudes - but he forgets that behind the best noirs, there’s a level of humanity. At least “Pulp Fiction” gave its antiheroes time to chill, to win the viewer over; “Sin City” has no time for such pleasantries. It’s a more extreme pulp, gritty, nonstop, no time for plot when there’s action to be had.

How odd that a film intended to faithfully replicate Miller’s work would leave out some of the best stuff. I doubt fanboys would have objected to an extra thirty minutes or so in the running time, which would have given the viewer something more to the characters. As it is, everyone here’s a blank slate. The cast performs the action and says the dialogue, but there’s no broader story under them to kick in the extra oomph.

As a result, everything whips by all too quickly. Rodriguez doesn’t provide enough time for the audience to soak it all in - only Willis’ character gets some development time, but that’s because he’s in prison with nothing else to do. There’s no time here to learn more about the girls of “old town” (demoted from key players in the books to meaningless extras in the film), or the backstory that links the Clive Owen and Rosario Dawson characters (creating an awkward sense that we’re missing one or two key scenes), or the underlying reasons for why anybody’s doing anything. We’re too busy getting tossed around from one cool shot to the next, and by the time we’re halfway through Rourke’s sequence, we’re too tired from trying to keep up.

Of course, Rourke’s performance is so remarkable, with so much raw power blasting through all those thick layers of makeup, that the manic ride is worth the trip. “Sin City” is a movie that’s all about attitude, and Rourke delivers in spades. As does Willis, Owen, and a particularly demented Benicio Del Toro, who pops by as a jilted ex with a voice that sounds like Dr. John swallowed Wolfman Jack’s razorblades. But really, this is Rourke’s show, and he shines.

But again, it’s all too superficial. Rodriguez spends far too much time trying to emulate the look of the comics that he ignores things like pacing, character, and story. It’s that paradox again. The digital enhancements that bring the black and white world of “Sin City” to life, with its carefully placed splashes of color, makes for an eye-popping, jaw-dropping visual feast. Yet it’s not inventive at all, really, as Rodriguez is merely aping designs already created.

And where there’s paradox, there’s irony. Rodriguez strains to stick too close to the source material in order to create a vibrate cinematic experience - but sticking so close ultimately lessens the cinematic experience. The movie’s best moments are when the filmmaker allows himself to deviate from the books (a winking epilogue, a witty “Die Hard” reference). Had Rodriguez allowed himself the chance to open up his film, to cut loose the restraints of the make-it-match-frame-by-frame visuals, to spend more time with the script and less time with the camera, he might have transformed “Sin City” from a good movie into a great one.

What surprises me is just how overwhelmed so many others have become over this film. Me, I was merely whelmed. Visually, it’s amazing stuff, and the cast is first rate (a few bits of miscasting aside - Alexis Bledel is completely out of place here). It’s a fun, energetic, wild ride, loaded with fast dialogue, uncanny situations, and wicked action. But in the end, it’s an empty film, lost in its own gimmickry to truly hit as hard as it wants. A fun movie? Yes. A cool movie? You bet. But a masterpiece? Not really.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=11918&reviewer=392
originally posted: 04/03/05 23:24:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
8/23/16 Louise Switched off after 15 mins. Overdone and self-indulgent nonsense. 2 stars
10/09/10 R.W. Welch Graphic nihilism; interesting as a curiosity. 3 stars
4/17/10 PAUL SHORTT BLEAK AND NASTY 2 stars
2/10/10 art ROURKE IS EXCELLENT IN SIN CITY,AND WAS TERRIBLE IN the wrestler! 4 stars
11/22/09 Jeff Wilder The edgiest and best movie of 2005 5 stars
9/03/09 Placido Greeting. Nobody can be exactly like me. Sometimes even I have trouble doing it. Help me! I 3 stars
7/01/09 Therm the 'Worth a Look' 4-star label frustrates me, cuz i suppose this is, but it is NOT good 2 stars
5/05/09 art A FABULOUS R-RATED COMIC STRIP MOVIE! 5 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef "Sin City" is a modern day "Dick Tracy." Best comic book movie ever. Never a movie like it. 5 stars
12/03/08 Marco E. really good represantation of NEO NOIR 5 stars
10/01/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
5/28/08 MDH-Matt Best film of 2005. Period. 'Nuff said. 5 stars
1/02/08 James The best movie i've ever seen. Outstanding. 5 stars
9/24/07 aaron wow. i was completely amzing,, for i thought this would be like smokin aces but in back anu 5 stars
8/07/07 Romantic Heretic A dark and delicious piece of work. Watched frequently and much enjoyed. 5 stars
6/09/07 Danielle Ophelia Oh, yeah. YEAH. 5 stars
5/14/07 Dave I didn't really like it 1 stars
5/14/07 movieman boring 1 stars
5/09/07 Adrian One of my all time favorites. 5 stars
3/29/07 fools♫gold Cansomeone giveanexamplewhereitwas done before and better? Nope,tissomthinrathernew. 4/5 or 5 stars
3/25/07 Eric R Perfect for the genre. Hint: Not for everyone. 4 stars
3/19/07 dude compelling 4 stars
3/10/07 Roy F. Moore Donny, I don't use drugs at all. And I STILL hated this anti-Catholic flick. Trash it. 1 stars
2/26/07 Donny M How could you not like this film. Some people need to lay off the crack 5 stars
2/12/07 The chode So GOOD 5 stars
1/15/07 jeannie karlsen clive owen is to die for 5 stars
1/09/07 johnnyfog Stylish and pays attention to dialogue and character. A thinking man's bloodfest! 5 stars
12/21/06 Doug quite good. 5 stars
11/15/06 LORD DEATH this movie was overdone, trying to rely on style to hide its stupidity. so painfully stupid 1 stars
10/17/06 AJ Muller can you handle Frank Miller's world? if yes, this here be PERFECTION. nothing like it, ever 5 stars
10/02/06 Beau the plot goes no where, repetetive scenes and lost interest within the first 10 minutues 2 stars
9/21/06 matt good at first, but gets boring after a while. Some bad acting. Why is it perpetually night? 3 stars
9/19/06 Booksworm I bought "The Hard Goodbye" the day I went to see this movie. Loved 'em both. 5 stars
8/20/06 Gene Great Filmmaking 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Interesting visual FX, but borefully&too repeatitively violent, I could'nt even finish it. 2 stars
7/25/06 dan a very cool but dark film 4 stars
7/22/06 Agent Sands Pure superficial popcorn entertainment, just brisk action and violence. 4 stars
7/19/06 Trish Sucked me right in, and I have never read the novels 5 stars
6/26/06 Mr Boo Best Movie I've ever seen by far 5 stars
6/12/06 Indrid Cold Possibly the most accurate translation of a comic book ever. But is it good? Meh. 3 stars
6/07/06 GEORGE GARBAGE 1 stars
6/06/06 Dave Webber More style than substance - but sorta works in a frivious way. 4 stars
6/05/06 Thomas rubbish 1 stars
5/14/06 Diane P definitely not for me extremely violent couldn't appreciate it 2 stars
5/08/06 Reklc Best comic book adaptation EVER!!! Great movie!!! 5 stars
4/30/06 CPT Hoolie The cool look can't make up for the excessive subject matter 2 stars
4/18/06 Annie G Violent enough that I had to look away often (and I'm not squeamish). 3 stars
4/18/06 Dave A gruesome but clever picture with a storyline like Pulp Fiction. 4 stars
4/03/06 Mike Loved to see it in black and white,great movie, different,can't wait for sin city 2. 4 stars
4/02/06 Jules Good actors,no plot/character build up.bad movie. 2 stars
3/17/06 MP Bartley Great entertainment, that oozes style - but it can't cover the essential hollowness 4 stars
2/26/06 djacosta You're gonna love this, Baby 5 stars
2/20/06 Agent Sands Overrated as hell, but it's great simple entertainment. 4 stars
1/23/06 Michael Shaw I totally agree with the majprity of people on this movie it was awesome 5 stars
1/19/06 Crackhead I smoked a joint to this one and now i am in a mental institution. GooBIEFJDIFMASKLDzm,x 5 stars
1/10/06 Tony Watt Your review is as good as the flick, tough guy! 5 stars
1/08/06 MF It's worth it for the visuals 4 stars
1/03/06 Piz Was expecting better, Shut it off after an hour or so. 2 stars
12/31/05 Tanya very creative The actors were great 5 stars
12/26/05 Nicole The story is so-so, but it's incredible to look at 4 stars
12/23/05 Michele awesome 5 stars
12/20/05 JJ flash and style can't overcome the fact it has ZERO plot! 2 stars
12/14/05 Sam Bonner 3 stars
12/12/05 _|6|0// (_)773r 7r45(-) 1 stars
12/11/05 Simon worth a look cuz that style is just amazing to look at... but oh so hollow and mindless 4 stars
11/20/05 Sam Atherton Absolutely awesome 5 stars
11/19/05 JeromeBosch Damn, that’s a fine looking coat! 5 stars
11/15/05 Adrian Left me speechless. One of the greatest movies of all time, in my opinion. 5 stars
11/08/05 Littlepurch Great film. Incredibly violent, but it all helps the gripping plot. Acting fab all round. 5 stars
10/25/05 mero A cracker of a film that's saturated with STYLE 4 stars
10/25/05 Jonathon Holmes the first great film of 2005 5 stars
10/22/05 lizard181 More Please 5 stars
10/14/05 eddiejohns Not to deep as far as plot. Loved the comic book look. 4 stars
10/12/05 Wisamane Kill bill sucked! this is nothing like it! SIN CITY IS REALLY CREATIVE! GOOD MOVIE!!!!! 5 stars
10/10/05 DM Such style I didn't realize the complete lack of substance until after. 4 stars
10/09/05 Agent Sands A digrace to film noir in terms of femmes fatale, but rather entertaining nonetheless. 4 stars
10/02/05 Indrid Cold Brilliant use of immersive, artistic CGI. Oh yeah, the movie is OK too. 4 stars
9/29/05 Eden Kill Bill aside, this is the most striking film iv seen in ages 5 stars
9/26/05 David Great idea, very origional, but I still don't get it completely, maybe that's what the sequ 5 stars
9/26/05 Punk_Ass This is an awesome movie. Watched it, then watched it again, then went out and bought it 5 stars
9/23/05 ESTEFANI QUIROZ NO ME GUSTO POR QUE CASI NO SALE JOSH HARTNETT 2 stars
9/20/05 Kurt Stallings The film's heart, it's pure commitment to its own dark message, never skips a beat. 5 stars
9/16/05 Jonathon Holmes the first great film of 2005 5 stars
9/15/05 Monday Morning All style, no substance. And the style wasn't great either. 1 stars
9/13/05 bbbr awesome 5 stars
9/13/05 Sylvanthunder Just plain Awesome, film Noir at its best! Style at its best, it has never been done before 5 stars
9/09/05 Alex i guess expected too much 2 stars
9/08/05 Aaron Madtson I HATED IT! 1 stars
9/07/05 bac one of the best movies i've seen for a while 5 stars
9/07/05 Johnny Best movie of this year. 5 stars
9/04/05 erakon Great movie!! It embodies all that the graphic novels stood for and does it in a clever way 5 stars
8/31/05 Owen Imholte Unique portrayal of Noir Style, nothing to back it up, turns out a big let down in the end 1 stars
8/29/05 Mike No redeeming qualities whatsoever 1 stars
8/27/05 Tom Burns This has to be the best movie made from a graphic novel. 5 stars
8/27/05 Moctezuma A fun movie 5 stars
8/23/05 fruity wow? 5 stars
8/22/05 HardStyle Brilliant style. perf. Atmosphere. Breath taking.fascinating. too short comment section ^^ 5 stars
8/20/05 Monster W. Kung Crap. 2 stars
8/18/05 tatum What it lacks in its screenplay, it make up for with its style 4 stars
8/18/05 Hinotori Scott is right. Under all the violence is a truly uncompromising moral core. 5 stars
8/14/05 Brandy Harrington Good film, but very overrated. Since when does stylish directing make a film a masterpiece? 4 stars
8/12/05 ES I'm thinking about changing my name to Marv= As good as gold 5 stars
8/09/05 JFK Oh, man!!! I've been shot!!!! 5 stars
8/02/05 Sean D Not bad for a one-time see. Not a buyer on DVD for me. Seen better...not to many worse. 3 stars
7/25/05 John Bale Brilliant visuals wastd by excessive sadistic violence and mayhem 2 stars
7/24/05 Naka Oh. My. God. 5 stars
7/17/05 Donna A. I really loved this movie. Now waiting for the DVD to come out. I have it on my buy list. 5 stars
7/17/05 kellie Disgrace, what is up with hollywood anyway, having these sleeze dress with nothing on 1 stars
7/15/05 Green Gremlin Makes Batman look like"Peanuts" !!! 5 stars
7/15/05 Danno the Movie Manno Best film Ive seen in years... Every single frame was perfect. 5 stars
7/10/05 ty mills easily the best film ive seen all year, no contest 5 stars
7/02/05 Byzantine_101 I must admit... IT GOES INTO OVERKILL, but it works surprisingly enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
6/25/05 Paul It was RUBBISH. Walked out half way! 1 stars
6/24/05 Phil Pretty damn cool 4 stars
6/20/05 Naka Absolutely, positively glorious. Nothing less then a modern classic. 5 stars
6/16/05 Manu Ginobli Nice film 4 stars
6/14/05 KC A genre on it's own 5 stars
6/14/05 jameth burketh Easily the best film in a bad year for film. Visually sharp as its stories. 5 stars
6/13/05 Colin Smart Exellent film making and watching 5 stars
6/11/05 Monster W. Kung Meh... since when it takes good set design to be rated as "masterpiece"? 2 stars
6/10/05 Rock-Steady Fucking non stop action, I could not believe how good this was. Fuck you randy 5 stars
6/09/05 randy bickler Tarantino...another glorified slasher waste of HD 1 stars
6/07/05 Agent Sands Yes, it expands on the visual techniques from Schindler's List. Otherwise, a bit overrated. 4 stars
6/06/05 Anthony G Awesome, entertained THE ENTIRE GOD DAMN TIME BIATCH!111 5 stars
5/29/05 Burnt Film Noir 2000 5 stars
5/24/05 Jake This movie is the reason CGI was even invented! 5 stars
5/24/05 The shizz This movie was awesome 5 stars
5/21/05 Cham Visually stunning, though what's on screen isn't that compelling. Mickey Rourke steals it. 4 stars
5/16/05 rfsf what the fuck was that i could habe been in a brrte movie ass FUCK 5 stars
5/16/05 Paterfam001 Dire: Bruce - how are you gonna explain this wet-dream to Scout & Rumer? 1 stars
5/09/05 K. Sear Visually stunning and faithful to the original. Very worthwhile. 5 stars
5/05/05 Mattomic Runs a bit long, but it's one of the best comic book movies to come out in a long time. 4 stars
5/05/05 Kristi i thought it would be a great movie but it dissapointed me. it was a bit BoRiNg!!! 2 stars
5/03/05 Kyle Kapetanakis A suberb experiment in masturbatory cinema - violent, perverted, a true guilty pleasure. 5 stars
5/01/05 Teri GOOD 4 stars
4/25/05 E-FUNK Balls-to-the-wall actiona and gore. Absolutely merciless. Mickey Rourke is a god. 5 stars
4/25/05 Jim Frank Miller's fingerprints are all over this bad boy, and it rocks. 5 stars
4/24/05 Koitus W-o-w... This should have been NC-17; most violent movie since Kill Bill Vol. 1 I've seen. 2 stars
4/23/05 APT2 coolest movie ever made 5 stars
4/22/05 John this movie hits one note incessently over and over again...boring. Rourke is good 2 stars
4/21/05 vagile Too literal translation from the books 5 stars
4/20/05 Dan Perfect transformation from Frank Miller's art to the screen; read the comics first. 4 stars
4/19/05 Obi Wan Wow!! Rodriguez finally gives us his MasterPiece...Great work by Rourke,Jessica & Rosario 5 stars
4/19/05 Nicole Baugh Awesome movie! And Elijiah Wood was GREAT in this. Talk about a freaky part. 5 stars
4/18/05 Al Guy I wanted to like it . . . but I didn't. 2 stars
4/17/05 Kim Anderson icy brilliance, violence balanced by anti-heros with hearts,sexy and political. 5 stars
4/16/05 MDP Pure art; genius 5 stars
4/16/05 Diego this movie was sooo cool!!!! 5 stars
4/14/05 Baghdad Iraq 1 stars
4/13/05 Billy Mickey Rourke was awesome 4 stars
4/12/05 Junior LaRoche Loved it! Better than Kill Bill and Once upon a Time in Mexico! 4 stars
4/12/05 cheetosnwine@hotmail.com A Masterpiece! 5 stars
4/11/05 Caiphn Knew nothing about this film, was very impressed, not for people who hate violence. 5 stars
4/11/05 nate plate epic is the only word that explains it 5 stars
4/11/05 Lynnaea Visually, it works. Plot/character reactions unconvincing. 3 stars
4/11/05 SuFi Weinberg says it how it is 5 stars
4/10/05 Landshark When you kick ass like this, there's gonna be hell to pay. 5 stars
4/09/05 Gray great art WAY to much tourture though 3 stars
4/09/05 Vince Nice look, but repetitive and quite dull 2 stars
4/09/05 T Fuck the playerhaters, this movie rocks the socks 5 stars
4/08/05 hannaho Has got to be the best comic book adaptation since Batman. 5 stars
4/08/05 Maalstrom Great visuals along with a few interesting plots. 5 stars
4/08/05 chris. see it with your mom 5 stars
4/08/05 Tanya Grays Loved it 5 stars
4/07/05 Lucas Fun exercise in style; too shallow to be great though 3 stars
4/07/05 luke great 5 stars
4/07/05 michaelb14 A world with no shades of gray only the hard black and white of Basin City 5 stars
4/07/05 emily fantastic mood, dialogue, stylisticly gorgeous, and badass! 5 stars
4/06/05 Mider Its nice to see something thats not craptacular. 5 stars
4/06/05 brody WOW..... 5 stars
4/06/05 drfardook Visually top notch. Actors were nicely ironic with the stiled dialog... actresses sucked 5 stars
4/06/05 Rosaline Giornelli Spectacular Adaptation! CGI used as it was meant to be used. 5 stars
4/06/05 KingNeutron Some scenes were too-obviously CGI backgrounds; but overall I'd see it again. 4 stars
4/05/05 Vicious Highly enjoyable, and the most artful violence I've seen in some time. 5 stars
4/05/05 joe so fine 5 stars
4/05/05 Alison Smart twisted, over-the-top violence 4 stars
4/05/05 dan Visually stunning...brilliant movie!! Mickey Rourke rocked!! 5 stars
4/05/05 Russell Finally a flm that does not give a shit and goes all the way. Finally. 5 stars
4/05/05 booby best r rated movie in too long 5 stars
4/04/05 killbill03 Finally a film worth the price of admission 5 stars
4/04/05 Mr. Eff Style? Incredible. Acting? Spotty. Worth seeing? Most definitely. 4 stars
4/04/05 Uncle Phucker Amazing looking, amazing characters, amazing action, and amazing women. 5 stars
4/04/05 Mary Amazing. Among the best of the comic book films. 5 stars
4/04/05 Wildcarde1 What the movie industry needed a bit of originality and style 5 stars
4/03/05 Patrick it was like watching the comic come to life, amazing. 5 stars
4/03/05 Jack Bourbon Oh come on, it wasn't that good. "Mexico" was better. Willis and Rourke good, rest blah 4 stars
4/03/05 Josh Bays Amazing Comic Book on Film 5 stars
4/03/05 Brian the best movie of 2005 already? 5 stars
4/03/05 Goggman Greatest comic book movie ever! 5 stars
4/03/05 ELI BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR!...so far :) 5 stars
4/03/05 Brad Movie that employs a ton of special effects but has a lot of heart. And it kicks ass 5 stars
4/03/05 Heidialyssa Awesome movie. Stylistic and one that others will attempt to mimic, without success. 5 stars
4/03/05 ajay 95% awesome, there were a couple of dull moments tho. 4 stars
4/03/05 Jack Outstanding 5 stars
4/02/05 Tom Benton One of the best damn movies ever made;comical, funny ... a hell of a film. 5 stars
4/02/05 MorallySound Wow! 5 stars
4/02/05 impartial judgement I'd hit it 5 stars
4/02/05 carlton i'll be hornswoogled 5 stars
4/02/05 gromm A movie with a soul that stays true to itself 110% It doesn't get any better than this. 5 stars
4/02/05 too-much-coffee mistress Woo! 5 stars
4/02/05 Kristina Williams Oh man.....MARV! 5 stars
4/02/05 Eric a perfect marraige of hard-boiled violence and comic book sensibility 5 stars
4/02/05 Mason Near perfect. 5 stars
4/02/05 leo Wow. What a fantastically original movie. Best in years. 5 stars
4/02/05 Jim The Movie Freak It Doesn't Get Better Than This! Should Cheer Up All The Catholics Out There :) 5 stars
4/02/05 Cobra Commander "Count it!" 5 stars
4/02/05 mitchogletree see the best "comic" book adaptation ever. It'll make your April Fool's. 5 stars
4/01/05 Ted Great 5 stars
4/01/05 Average Joe This movie is incredible. As long as you have a strong stomach, see this movie. Now. 5 stars
4/01/05 jcjs holy cow, loved it to pieces...got to see again soon 5 stars
4/01/05 brody WOW..... 5 stars
4/01/05 Naka Absolutely fantastic! SEE THIS FILM! 5 stars
4/01/05 malcolm violent. hammy. melodramatic. just like it was supposed to be. 4 stars
4/01/05 impartial judgement woah 5 stars
4/01/05 BrianWilly Hot DAMN my life is better for having seen this 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Apr-2005 (R)
  DVD: 13-Dec-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Jul-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast