Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.06

Awesome56.72%
Worth A Look: 17.16%
Just Average: 11.19%
Pretty Crappy: 5.22%
Sucks: 9.7%

9 reviews, 80 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Orgazmo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Nothing is sadder than a sad Japanese man."
4 stars

Trey Parker, co-mastermind (with Matt Stone) of "South Park" and other nuclear bombs dropped onto good taste, may be a whiz at sending up mainstream entertainment, but that doesn't mean he doesn't love it at least a little.

Orgazmo, which was slapped with an NC-17 rating for no very good reason other than occasional forensic dialogue about porn-film practices, follows a self-consciously cheesy heroic narrative. Joe Young (Parker himself) is a squeaky-clean Mormon who needs to make some money to pay for his upcoming marriage to the equally lily-white Lisa (Robyn Lynne). Going door-to-door to spread the good word about Jesus, he stumbles onto the making of a porn movie. The irascible director Maxxx Orbison (Michael Dean Jacobs) unleashes his bodyguards on Joe, who makes short work of them with his martial-arts skills. (Parker, the press materials inform us, has a black belt in Tae Kwan Do.) Maxxx gets an idea: He'll cast Joe as the titular hero of Orgazmo, a low-rent superhero porno (his current Orgazmo is a klutzy wimp). So Joe becomes Orgazmo, a masked avenger who zaps evildoers with his Orgazmorator, which -- you guessed it -- subdues his foes with debilitating petits morts.

The notion of a devoutly religious dork rising to the top of the triple-X industry is a one-joke premise, but the one joke is pretty good. In Orgazmo, Parker gets to conflate the clichés of action flicks and porno flicks, and the parody often comes close to appreciation. Parker skewers the wooden acting of porn, though most of the performances in the "straight" portion of the film, with one or two exceptions, are pretty much on the same level. Dian Bachar scores as Orgazmo's sidekick Choda Boy, in real life an engineering geek named Ben who got into the industry for the sex. The seen-it-all Ben makes a fine foil for the perpetually horrified Joe, who more or less gets tossed into the deep end of porn filmmaking. (He's been assured that he won't have to perform any actual intercourse; for the money shots, several progressively mismatching "stunt cocks" are called in.) A particular scene-stealer is David Dunn as the foul A-Cup, who considers himself the ultimate bad-ass and delights in waving his own farts into people's faces. If Dunn isn't an alpha-male jackass in real life, he sure as hell knows how to play one.

The plot thickens when Joe's career as Orgazmo takes off; his video sells by the ton, winning AVN awards left and right, and even appears on legit magazine covers. Meanwhile, Joe is paralyzed with fear that pure innocent Lisa may discover how Joe's been earning that wedding money (he tells her he's starring in a sequel to Death of a Salesman). In another plot thread, local goons are threatening the sushi bar of a Japanese hip-hop wannabe who calls himself G-Fresh (Masao Maki), and Joe outfits himself with a real, working Orgazmorator and hits the streets with Choda Boy. Throughout all this, Parker (as an actor as well as writer/director) invests Joe with a wide-eyed sincerity that the movie half goofs on and half admires. Mormons don't come in for much bitch-slapping in Orgazmo; Parker respects people who are serious and devout about their religion (as long as it isn't Scientology) without being judgmental assholes about it. As in all his other work, there's a sweetness in Orgazmo that leavens the smutty stuff. The movie even manages to be anti-porn-industry (the guys who run it can be dangerous sleazeballs) without really being anti-porn. Anyone renting the movie hoping for porn, or even NC-17 arousal, is in for a disappointment: Whenever one of the porn actresses is about to disrobe, some guy's ugly, pimply ass moves into frame to cover the female nudity. If the NC-17 rating hadn't hurt Orgazmo's chances at decent distribution (it ended up being a cult video), Parker might have enjoyed the irony that a movie with nary a nipple could break through the R-rated envelope.

Orgazmo is uneven and scrappy, but that's part of its point and its charm. Any movie that finds room for the character Sancho, who announces at every opportunity that he...is Sancho (and doesn't do anything else), earns itself a small spot in my heart. The film also gave a legitimacy-hungry Ron Jeremy a chance to act in a flick that didn't involve him spurting all over someone, and the script (by Parker and an uncredited Stone, who appears as the lighting guy who prefaces every statement with "I'm not queer or nothin', but...") has its share of Parker-esque surreal divertissements, like Choda Boy's renunciation of his deadly Hamster Style fighting, which you know he'll break out again at a key moment at the end.

As for the special "unrated" version found on the DVD? Even seasoned scientists studying the two versions in a lab might not find much difference between them; you certainly won't get any lost female nudity, though you might get a few extra seconds of some guy's hairy ass.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1197&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/17/06 22:29:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/10 Tony Baloza Piss pants funny 5 stars
2/04/09 Adam It's cheap, nasty, irreverant, gross. I love it! 5 stars
6/08/08 ben dover well funny 4 stars
4/06/08 mr.mike Tolerable , with R Jeremy a plus 3 stars
2/07/08 Anthony Feor It wants to be funny, but it tries way to hard 1 stars
11/30/06 David Pollastrini need to shave your ball? 2 stars
10/08/06 William Goss Kinda funny, but might've been better as a short. If only I saw this in middle school... 3 stars
7/26/06 Billy i must be dreaming 5 stars
5/10/06 Stealth "I dont want to sound like a queer or nothin....but i tihnk unicorns are kickass!!" 5 stars
3/09/06 Dk Takes bad taste a little to far........ 3 stars
7/16/05 Mahone Definitely worth the price of admission. Stupidly funny, as expected. 5 stars
4/05/05 Ethan Very, very funny; great porn humor 5 stars
11/27/04 Brandon the movie is really fucking funny 5 stars
9/22/04 RLane Funny 4 stars
8/14/04 sky This is the funniest god damnmovie i ever seen 5 stars
8/05/04 dlax84 funniest movie of all time go to hell jack somersby 5 stars
7/14/04 j hansen one of the funniest movies i've ever seen, IF you take it for what it is 5 stars
6/28/04 Orgasmic Great fun! Loved it! Something to watch whenever u need a pick-me-up. 5 stars
6/04/04 Kyle This is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen in my life. Go see it now! 5 stars
5/23/04 Butterbean Trey&Matt has made funnier stuff. But some moments here are rewind worthy! 4 stars
2/02/04 Mr Uptite This movie has gotten a bad rep. If you think American Pie is funny this movie is 4 U. 5 stars
12/13/03 Mr. Hat A funny guilty pleasure. It's a spoof. It has reason for being poorly made. 4 stars
7/13/03 DVDA Learn how to spell before you try to bad-mouth a movie you fucking cum bucket 5 stars
6/21/03 Jack Sommersby Lame and surprisingly tame stuff. Not a single laugh to be had. 1 stars
6/16/03 Mark Reeb On my "top ten bestcomedies ever list" 5 stars
5/27/03 kasha it's fuckin hilarious, anyone who does not like this movie deserves to go to hell and die!! 5 stars
2/09/03 Chiendog C'mon Trey, where's the fuckin' sequel? 5 stars
10/27/02 brian campbell top dollar film, funny as fuck 5 stars
10/25/02 salvador flores none 5 stars
10/07/02 J-Po Like all good comedies, best parts of this are with the bad guys. Fucking hilarious Shit 5 stars
10/07/02 Rob Hillarious, with eye candy too! Ass-fuck Twins rule !!!! 5 stars
8/24/02 Turkish best comedy porno ive ever seen 1 stars
8/10/02 penis shitty ass sacreligous movie 1 stars
8/07/02 Caiphn Pretty darn funny. 5 stars
7/29/02 Claire I almost soiled myself laughing. Treat yourself to this movie. Cheap laughs galore! 5 stars
7/25/02 Matthew Sanchez I can't comment. Just watch it. 5 stars
7/13/02 the Grinch I don't wanna sound gay or nothin', but this movie definitely had its moments! 4 stars
6/26/02 Chris Cline Chasie Lain 5 stars
4/03/02 Edfink Lombardo A surprisingly hysterical comedy! Stone and Parker are at the top of their game... 5 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson It has Ron "Shave My Back" Jeremy, say no more! 5 stars
3/19/02 Fredrik Awsome... I AM SANCHO 5 stars
3/06/02 holly the grandma humps her walker. ha ha ha. 5 stars
1/27/02 Sarah I laughed myself right off the couch. An excellent cult comedy. 5 stars
1/19/02 Andrew Carden Excellent Porn. 5 stars
1/09/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Fucking hilarious. Trey Parker and Matt Stone are masters of......masters! 5 stars
12/06/01 Naked Mariachi Mi verga es chiquita y muy fea.... 5 stars
12/05/01 Tia I loved this movie. It was so great. Your life is incomplete until you watch it 5 stars
10/25/01 G-FRESH!! "Dose punks from necks doe came in here an woop ma sowee black ass!!" 5 stars
10/25/01 shep_ramsay ass fuck twins wooooooooooooooo 5 stars
10/14/01 The Bomb 69 very funny shit, I didn't know Ron Jeremy could act!! 5 stars
10/11/01 Chris Woods I like to sound like a queer and all but I like this movie, I AM SANCHO =D 5 stars
9/17/01 Neutered Man I'll be back in the sequel 5 stars
8/06/01 Joe Zappa I love "Orgazmo." It's a porno romp with a moral, kind of like a more adult "South Park." 4 stars
6/21/01 Suck My Balls Spank My Own Ass & Hey How Ya Doin' Review If Your A Trey Parker Fan You'll Love This 5 stars
6/18/01 Kevin Lived down the street from Ron Jeremy once. My hero. 5 stars
4/28/01 ric It was bad, but is it just me or isn't Chasey Lain the hottest woman in the world? 1 stars
4/16/01 julesie04 "... but I haven't slapped my ass yet..." 4 stars
4/15/01 Liam funniest film i ever seen ! SUCK THAT COCK !!!! 5 stars
3/26/01 trent dude i don't want to sound like a queer or nothing but i think this movie kicks ass! 5 stars
2/26/01 Jona Worthington Chasey Lain and friends...need I say more? Some funny moments kept me happy, and then some! 5 stars
12/29/00 Dave Enough said, this movie kicks ass!!! 5 stars
12/07/00 Sancho I am SANCHO! 5 stars
12/05/00 AtlantaBill When I think of my favorite movies, I think Citizen Kane, Saving Private Ryan, and Orgazmo 5 stars
10/30/00 jason kinsey laughed so hard- I spoojed in my pants 5 stars
10/23/00 Bitch I dont wanna sound like a queer or nuthin, but this made me wanna choke the chicken 5 stars
2/03/00 arnold the is damn funny.why is it nc-17 5 stars
8/17/99 John Roberson Oddly tame. 4 stars
7/14/99 Marshy Obviously cheap, drags a bit in places but damn funny overall!! 4 stars
4/12/99 Jon Jackson Baseketball was one of the shittiest movies I ever saw, but Orgazmo was simply the SHIT! 5 stars
2/02/99 Michelle Me Belle The greatest! Matt and Trey and Dian are awesome! Theres nothing more to say! 5 stars
12/04/98 Orgazmo Fuck you, grunter, go grunt on some dude's cock. Matt and Trey rule!!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Orbital Syntax This movie rocks hard!!! COCK ROCKET!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/19/98 J Sucked hard 1 stars
11/16/98 StenoHead See it on video so nobody can see you giggle. 4 stars
11/10/98 James T. Montgomery I shit my pants laughing 5 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce Just like Cannibal! The Musical, some very funny moments, but not as hilarious as expected. 4 stars
11/02/98 grunter Trey and Matt, your 15 min. are up. Don't let the door smack yr ass on the way out. 1 stars
10/30/98 NRRD Funny is sheit! 5 stars
10/29/98 Simon super 5 stars
10/24/98 lash this movie KICKS ASS!! HILARIOUS!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Oct-1998 (NR)
  DVD: 29-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1999


Directed by
  Trey Parker

Written by
  Trey Parker

Cast
  Trey Parker
  Matt Stone
  Dian Bacher
  Robyn Lynne
  Michael Dean Jacobs
  Ron Jeremy



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast