Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.81

Awesome: 13.33%
Worth A Look56.67%
Just Average: 27.78%
Pretty Crappy: 2.22%
Sucks: 0%

9 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

All Is True by Jay Seaver

Fugue by Jay Seaver

Aniara by Jay Seaver

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum by Jay Seaver

Long Day's Journey Into Night (2018) by Jay Seaver

Shadow by Jay Seaver

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché by Jay Seaver

Hustle, The by Peter Sobczynski

Detective Pikachu by Peter Sobczynski

Mope by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Negotiator, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by VioLenT BoB

"You never say no to a kidnapper. But Say no to the Box Office."
3 stars

2 Great Actors.....1 Shitty story....

The trailer is pretty misleading as a few things in there don't even happen in the movie.

You don't ever give a shit about SLJ's Character, much Less Spacey's.

It's a 2 hour bore fest, that is only sometimes broken by the hijinks of one of the hostages(The guy who Played PIG VOMIT in Private Parts).

Avoid this movie.

It was the best sleep I got all week.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=12&reviewer=16
originally posted: 08/14/98 00:07:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/19/14 PAUL SHORTT SLICK, FAST-PACED THRILLER, WITH A GOOD CAST 3 stars
5/10/06 Agent Sands Overrated, I think. Good, though. 4 stars
9/30/05 Indrid Cold I suppose the acting elevates it somewhat above average, but nothing to write home about. 4 stars
12/12/03 R.W. Welch A tad overdone and overlong but nicely acted. 3 stars
3/31/03 Jack Sommersby Hey, look -- it's a lame-brained rip-off of "The Fugitive"!! 2 stars
2/06/03 123 despite predictable outcome, this movie rocks, my personal fave 5 stars
9/17/02 palaboy101 This is the movie the Pasay City police should've seen! 5 stars
9/27/01 Henry Ginsberg Very clever,but it had a really dumb ending. 4 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Better than I thought it would be! Wonderfully directed by "Friday"'s director. 4 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Surprisingly good film with a great cast revolving around an interesting story. So...yeah. 4 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright ZZZ. Uninspired actioner,notable only for wasting its excellent cast.Next time, try harder. 3 stars
8/28/00 Chris Drake Formulaic plot, difficult to endure even with Jackson & Spacey 2 stars
7/06/00 Bruce Superb acting and directing, this is an action thriller that delivers 5 stars
2/15/00 Neil Austin Lovley Jubbly 4 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler suspenseful 5 stars
1/12/00 paul smart and savvy 5 stars
1/10/00 dr.d tense and taut 5 stars
12/28/99 Pitt Very good suspense. Good dialogue. Liked it alot! 4 stars
7/30/99 Matthew Bartley If it wasnt for Kev and Sam Id probably have switched off 4 stars
7/09/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
6/24/99 David Keech Great cast makes up for fairly horrid script. Good comic relief from that male hostage. 4 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 Jackson. Spacey. Need I say more? 5 stars
11/30/98 Kirgo Excellent action flik! 5 stars
11/12/98 chi-fan It kept me interested throughout 5 stars
11/01/98 skylar i love the dialogues between kevin and sam. :) 5 stars
10/26/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Sam Jackson/Kev Spacey hit it off !,plots a bit exaggerated though,"1 HOT MOVIE!" 4 stars
10/24/98 Ash This film kicks ass, its not the usual action flick,RECOMMENDED,the bad guys bite though 4 stars
9/14/98 Negative Creep Go see it just to watch Sam Jackson curse. Now Motherfucker¡ 3 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor The actors mostly make this film what it is. 4 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein This movie was so much better than I expected. SO much better. 5 stars
8/25/98 Chuck-D Much like strange days, this film needs to have a different ending 3 stars
8/24/98 Puppy78 (You know who i am) spacey made a deal with the devil never to be in a bad film 4 stars
8/22/98 {{{OZ}}} I can't fault this film after a summer of shite. Spacey rocks. I loved it. 5 stars
8/19/98 Johny I would have given it a better rating if the ending was more effective 3 stars
8/16/98 Miss Stress any movie where 90% of the audience comes out yawning can't be good 3 stars
8/12/98 Pumpkin Great film. Superb acting. Better than I thought 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Oct-1998 (MA)


Directed by
  F. Gary Gray

Written by
  James DeMonaco
  Kevin Foxx

Cast
  Samuel L.Jackson
  Kevin Spacey
  David Morse
  Ron Rifkin
  John Spencer
  J.T. Walsh



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast