Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.29

Awesome62.24%
Worth A Look: 19.39%
Just Average: 7.65%
Pretty Crappy: 6.63%
Sucks: 4.08%

7 reviews, 154 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Office Space
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Scattered Laughs Sink Comedy's 2nd Half"
3 stars

Office Space (** ½) - If the final 80 minutes of this film were as funny as its opening 10, this could have gone on to cult classic status, instead of the sometimes-funny comedy that it is. I was applauding during the brief rush hour sequence that opens the film, especially during the Hindu character’s fit of rage on his steering wheel. But just like Rushmore, the film chooses its moments for its big laughs and never really knows what its supposed to be about.

There’s a lot of truth in the comedy of this movie. I truly appreciated the scenes involving the upper management calling staff meetings in an attempt to motivate their employees. But the movie really has no plot and kinda steps wrong when it tries to invent one halfway through especially after the very funny “no cares whatsoever” sequence at the office. Mike Judge was wise not to make the inspiration for this film, his cartoon character Milton, as the lead, even if he is used perhaps a bit too much. I wanted less Milton and more Jennifer Aniston who has less screen time than in a single Friends episode. There’s a lot more that could have been done with her job, especially being directly located next to the office we spend time in. They should either have used her more or kept her out entirely. I couldn’t help think about how much more could have been done with the upper management “yuppies” versus the working class stiffs who keep getting screwed. The ending of the film is kind of anticlimactic complete with a minor moral lesson that would have been made fun of in an edgier movie.

I was actually reminded of one of my student films, Videoworld, about one evening in a video store. It’s only 36 minutes long and crams as much info about working in retail video as humanly possible. I can only imagine what I could have done with a few million dollars and a 90-minute running time.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1205&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 17:25:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2009 South By Southwest Film Festival For more in the 2009 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

6/10/14 JordanSmith I want to make sure that it is very important to see whether or not his is something that i 5 stars
12/05/12 Delbert One of the best comedies of the 90's. 5 stars
2/28/11 Captain Slog A cult classic. My favourite comedy of all time 5 stars
9/05/10 Neha Funny & intresting. but gets slow at points. Can associate to this life 3 stars
7/12/10 Marlin Boring from the start. Had to push to see the whole movie. The end was sort of good. 2 stars
5/01/10 PAUL SHORTT AMUSING DEMOLITION OF CORPORATE CULTURE, WITH SHARP DIALOGUE AND WITTY ONE-LINERS 3 stars
9/12/09 Andrew D A good try to analyze office life. But unfortunately, there is no solution to such life. 4 stars
8/18/09 Jeff Wilder Hilarious first half. Second half devolves into stupidity. 3 stars
7/07/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Pretty much the most hialious movie ever!! It has alot of dark comedy but its a riot! 5 stars
4/10/09 Dane Youssef A cubicle-eye view of the ugliness of white-collar coprorate. With the passion of Dilbert. 5 stars
9/04/08 Kevin White Best movie ever 5 stars
8/26/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 3 stars
8/05/08 Bnorm If you dont like this movie you can drink my pee 5 stars
3/02/08 ladavies when things suck at work I channel Peter Gibbons 5 stars
6/05/07 dude i didn't really think this movie was very funny 1 stars
1/27/07 David Pollastrini very well done 4 stars
1/12/07 MP Bartley Very very funny. Great performances across the board. 4 stars
8/27/06 Dan Excellent. I swear that I've seen some of these characters in my office! 5 stars
5/11/06 HL "If I had a million dollars?....................I'd do nothing!" 5 stars
3/14/06 mazman holy shit pacman this movie is old 1 stars
10/30/05 Wisamane Damn it feels good to be A GANGSTA!!!...In the office, LOL THE BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
8/24/05 Indrid Cold Absolutely hilarious, I just wish it was longer and the plot wasn't so thin. 5 stars
8/17/05 ES i work in an office, but i don't get this movie being so popular 3 stars
5/22/05 Rohit must see 5 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers One of the greatest! Funny as Hell! I can't stop watching it! 5 stars
9/30/04 nate werling this film is hilarious i thought i was going to piss my little boxers, and then die 5 stars
9/26/04 P.Rodriguez uuummmmm yeah I, uuuum yeah love this movie....yeah 5 stars
9/25/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 Sounds like a case of the Mondays 5 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G this movie is fucking sick as fuck, I mean FUCK 5 stars
7/31/04 Jess This movie is genius in every respect. Hail to the pions of the world! 5 stars
7/18/04 scrambled brain mmmyeahhh, i'm gonna have to ask you to "go ahead" and watch this movie, m'kay? 4 stars
7/16/04 NPSTR How can you not like this movie? SOMEBODY is a crack baby 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot A gem of a movie,don't tell too many people tho,our little secret. 5 stars
5/04/04 Wallace I Think this movie was brilliant. It completely captured working in the real world! 5 stars
3/26/04 The Swede Infectiously quotable masterstroke. An anthem for the corporately used. 5 stars
3/10/04 Mike Nutter Anyone who has ever had the experience of working in an office will understand this movie. 5 stars
2/15/04 Stephen Goble culturally necessary--a cult film whose bits and pieces have become part of the landscape. 4 stars
1/02/04 Admiral Piett davebo&hawkboy should have their reviewer status revoked.Bet they loved Gigli, though. 5 stars
11/18/03 Josh Standlee Love this movie! I'll never forget it! 5 stars
10/20/03 Charles Tatum We can all associate; I now officially "don't care" at work 4 stars
10/14/03 Chris I have not met a single person that didnt LOVE this movie 5 stars
10/06/03 KDawg I think Hawkboy is a no-talent ass clown. This movie is great! 5 stars
9/19/03 Dan A must-see for anyone who has ever worked at a "corporate-minded" company 5 stars
9/15/03 Schjlatah "the Magnificent" This movie was divinly inspired. It changed my life. damn it feels good to be a gangsta' 5 stars
8/31/03 DM Wickedly funny-but not as good in the second half 4 stars
8/04/03 P.Rodriguez Yeahhh, I think Yeahhh that Dave um, is a crap reviewer um... Yeahhh 5 stars
7/15/03 Brewsterma You should see this movie. Yeah, that would be great... 5 stars
7/10/03 Joseph Taylor Great film, highly rec. !! 5 stars
6/26/03 cochese I love it. more more more. 5 stars
5/05/03 cocoa well id give this movie a kick ass rating because...it kicked total ass 5 stars
4/27/03 Hooters gurl Ooooh, yeah...can you move a little to the left...terrific! 5 stars
4/21/03 JEFF FOR ANYONE WHOSE WORKED IN A OFFICE, ITS RIGHT ON THE MARK 5 stars
4/14/03 Phil Hefel AWESOME MOVIE! BEST FILM EVER! 5 stars
4/09/03 Lumberg If U didn't like this movie, then you've obviously never worked in an office cubicle. 5 stars
4/08/03 Joe Worker Obviously Dave never worked in the corporate office of a big company. The movie is great! 4 stars
3/31/03 Rebecca "F*cking A" 5 stars
3/10/03 GMan Mr. Beavis and Butt-head directed/wrote this funny-ass parody of office jobs. Lags a bit... 4 stars
3/09/03 Nicole This film is so retarded that you can't help but laugh. If you work in an office.... 5 stars
3/08/03 Butt-head Umm...yeah, if you could just go ahead and TRY to watch this movie, that would be terrific. 5 stars
3/07/03 Senator Blutarsky Hit all the office stereotypes on the head. LAughed so hard, I gave the "oh.." face 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Too much attitude garnished on such mediocre material. More of an idea than an actual film. 2 stars
2/24/03 Jason V whoever said this movie sux can suck a dick! 5 stars
1/30/03 Milton's #1 Fan I love this movie, it's bloody funny. Milton always makes me laugh with those thick glasses 5 stars
1/25/03 R. This is life at the last five software companies I worked for... 5 stars
12/31/02 Dominic Peter... Whaaat's happening? Say.... I'm gonna need you to come in on Saturday. 5 stars
12/02/02 joe_co_1 It gets better the more you watch it...Watch it more than once...it's so funny! 5 stars
11/19/02 Brian Jacobson see if you can catch peter playing Tetris! 4 stars
11/19/02 R.W. Welch Lo-key office comedy, nicely done but lacks pacing. 3 stars
11/12/02 milton pure comedic genius - this reviewer doesn't have a clue! 5 stars
11/11/02 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng I love this movie. I laugh out loud every time I watch it. A classic!! 5 stars
11/10/02 peter funniest move ever 5 stars
11/01/02 j awesome 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 "Fuckin-A" this movie was great. I've seen it some 25 times. Truly an American classic. 5 stars
10/04/02 Mike Lievense This movie rocks!! 5 stars
8/24/02 joe this is the funniest movie ever 5 stars
8/21/02 Jon Shaft This movie rules, a comic classic 5 stars
8/19/02 Aristera Hilarious movie and damn accurate of corporate life 5 stars
8/03/02 Jim Promising dead-on office satire derailed by embezzlement plot 4 stars
7/28/02 Adam Voorhees Every hadda shitty office job? then watch this and laugh your ass off! 5 stars
6/17/02 Del Leonard is hilarious... "Watch your cornhole bud!" Fucking hilarious 5 stars
6/09/02 Phil M. Aficionado Gem. If you work in Corporate America, you'll smile & yuck it up. Smart acting/directing. 5 stars
5/24/02 online_at_work what the guy in front of me said. fuckign great. 5 stars
5/17/02 BLAKKRAGE666 TO THE POINT AND FUNNY AS FUCK. 5 stars
5/14/02 miltoness this movie made me laugh SOOo hard! 5 stars
4/13/02 RAR I love this movie. 5 stars
4/10/02 The Bomb 69 i get an "O" face just thinking about it!!!! O, O, O 5 stars
4/09/02 Jill BEST EVER 5 stars
4/07/02 stoolie-bird makes me laugh every time..... 4 stars
3/06/02 slim THIS MOVIE ROCKS!!!!! 5 stars
2/19/02 luda hoe if you didn't think this movie was funny, you should kill yourself 5 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden Scattershot Comedy, With Mis-Fire Gags Left To Right, With No Avail. 2 stars
1/04/02 peter c allen jr a cult classic..a must see! 5 stars
1/04/02 Akisu Desmond ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES OF ALL TIME!!! 5 stars
12/08/01 Jim Instant favorite. 5 stars
11/24/01 Smoogles Why do I keep renting this movie over and over? Why don't I just buy the darn thing? 5 stars
11/01/01 Bada Bing Crosby Looks like someone has a case of the Mondays! 5 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Hilarious! I'm doing my "O" face just thinking about it! 5 stars
8/21/01 Tim Clark One of the funniest movies ever - practically every line is quotable 5 stars
8/09/01 Spartacus I...I..will p-put stricknine in the guacamole of those who dont like this movie 5 stars
8/08/01 Alan You need to have been victimized by corporate America to appreciate this excellent flick!!! 5 stars
8/06/01 Kevin Heyl Judge strikes again 5 stars
8/06/01 Jake Yeah, um, I loved this movie! 5 stars
8/02/01 Stevo Omg, there is someone who doesn't like this movie? wow 5 stars
7/28/01 Milton I could...s-set this w-website on fire. 5 stars
7/14/01 Josh Tybur I assume that those who don't like this movie have never worked in an office.... 5 stars
6/20/01 Shanna Couldn't be more true to life (from a comical perspective)! 5 stars
6/19/01 Elvisfan Does someone have a case of the Mondays? 5 stars
6/11/01 SlipNSlide Hawkboy is a toolboy. Ron Livingstone is the shit. Marion, IA, fellas! 5 stars
4/17/01 Wendy Fisher This movie is SO hilarious!! 5 stars
4/16/01 Brian Greatest "did you ever notice" movie about work ever... 5 stars
3/29/01 Cam Berg This is my favorite movie in the whole world!!!! 5 stars
2/22/01 Kyle VERY FUNNY 5 stars
2/22/01 Misirlou This was a fantastic movie, not only funny but it had a lot of good insights about work 5 stars
2/20/01 L.J. Goldblatt This movie is da shit. Fuckin A man. 5 stars
2/14/01 Monday Morning Brilliant, hilarious satire. Only room-temperature I.Q. types would not get/like it. 5 stars
2/09/01 Drifter Bob The bestr movie ever made. This is office life. Its a hilarious documentary not a comedy. 5 stars
1/14/01 Invader I luv this movie,its perfect satire,god I wish life would work out this way. 5 stars
11/23/00 chiefaldog the cast list doesn't mention Ron Livingston. he's only the lead in this perfect movie! 5 stars
10/29/00 zeitgeist "yo, peter! check out channel 9. self-breast exam!" 5 stars
10/20/00 JB This movie is one of the funniest movies Ive ever seen. Also one of the best comedies ever. 5 stars
9/14/00 Jed Barely funny & only amusing just one BIG disappointment. 2 stars
4/24/00 John Lyons Very funny movie! 5 stars
4/14/00 ChiefAlDog One of my top ten comedies. BIG laughs. Michael Bolton IS a no talent ass-clown. 5 stars
3/19/00 Randys Twin This movie was hilarious! With Milton not being a main character he still stole the show! 5 stars
3/13/00 Bozo I second the review by "Lucy B" below; made "Clockwatchers" lookl like "Dr. Zhivago" 4 stars
2/29/00 LucyB Hilarious! Some weaknesses but mostly LOL. A Must see for anyone who's worked in an office. 4 stars
2/16/00 The Bomb 69 About to get my "O" face!! Oh, Oh!! Classic!! 4 stars
11/24/99 Manos2weapon This film isn't the worse of office parodies but its far from the best. 2 stars
10/05/99 strike Steven Root as Milton was hilarious, the rest wasn´t. 3 stars
8/22/99 ege Really really really really fucking awesome. laughed my ass off!! 5 stars
5/18/99 Javachik I think this movie was pretty damn funny, especially the Tarentino-esque scenes. 5 stars
4/20/99 Ah Dooey I expected more from the guy who brought us Beavis and Butthead and King of the Hill 5 stars
4/16/99 Dax R. Scott People in the software biz (me) will laugh their asses off. Others probably won't get it. 5 stars
4/09/99 Keith Calder Parts of this movie were VERY funny. Very inconsistant, especially the second half. 3 stars
3/17/99 Scott Stipe Funny, Loved the Jimmy James(Newsradio) guy!!! 5 stars
3/14/99 Heidi Campbell I could barely sit through it! The only good scene was the killing of the fax machine.! 2 stars
3/12/99 Blubberbot Very funny. Lots of kooky jokes. 4 stars
3/09/99 Freyja Funny and SMART, which is rare and unappreciated these days. 5 stars
3/09/99 Kirgo1 Funniest movie this year..you should go see this..no one is seeing it..very sad! 5 stars
3/06/99 Beef funny, witty, and remarkably sexy 4 stars
3/05/99 Mike Rotch Wildly imanginative and funny movie. 4 stars
3/03/99 Bill Hartman SMART Funny movie. Great escape after a long week of work! 4 stars
3/03/99 Mr Showbiz A wily inventive workplace comedy. 4 stars
3/02/99 Rachel It was all right. Gotta love Diedrich Bader 4 stars
3/01/99 slimshady funny as hell, the crazy guy that mumbles was the shit 4 stars
2/24/99 Viral Messiah Excellent! Work sucks ass! 5 stars
2/24/99 Alexis Funny outlook on work 4 stars
2/23/99 Heather Plenty of laughs, like a male version of Clockwatchers 5 stars
2/22/99 Dave Glaiser This movie wasn't great but it kept maling me laugh!!! 4 stars
2/21/99 Kozmic Laughs were spaced out evenly through the flick so you won't walk out ,real disappointed. 3 stars
2/21/99 Deadmonkey The gangsta rap playing in the background of this really white movie was worth $8.00 4 stars
2/20/99 Mr Film Intelligence required to appreciate this comedy.. Does have 'Beavis' comedy as well. 4 stars
2/19/99 Jeff pretty crappy-- maybe a couple of grins--but not a single laugh 2 stars
2/12/99 Kirgo1 a terrific comedy 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Feb-1999 (R)
  DVD: 01-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Apr-1999 (M)


Directed by
  Mike Judge

Written by
  Mike Judge

Cast
  Ron Livingston
  Jennifer Aniston
  David Herman
  Stephen Root
  Gary Cole
  Ajay Naidu



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast