Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.29

Awesome62.24%
Worth A Look: 19.39%
Just Average: 7.65%
Pretty Crappy: 6.63%
Sucks: 4.08%

7 reviews, 154 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Office Space
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"I'm gonna need you to go ahead and rent this movie on Sunday."
5 stars

Mike Judge has sort of snuck in the back door and become America's premier satirist.

Since the humble beginnings of "Frog Baseball," in which a prototypical Beavis and Butt-Head set the stage for the later exploits of the South Park gang, Judge has taken on MTV (on B&B's show), road movies (in Beavis and Butt-Head Do America), Texan stereotypes (in King of the Hill), and now, in Office Space, the fertile soil of the cubicle world. Is Judge's timing shrewd or bad? Dilbert, both in the funnies and on TV, has covered much of the same ground, as has The Drew Carey Show, which has long been considered a kind of unofficial live-action Dilbert.

So what's left for Judge to puncture? A lot, as it happens. Like the best satire, Office Space is only marginally about its surface subject. The outrages here are exaggerated, but just slightly. Who hasn't worked for a boss like Bill Lumbergh (Gary Cole -- finally, Satan as Mike Brady), a Valium-smooth weasel who squashes the dignity of his underlings without ever seeming unreasonable? Or a boss who insists that you display the proper company spirit by wearing clownish buttons that weigh you down like chain mail? You don't have to do time in a cubicle to run across gung-ho goblins like these; they're everywhere. Where do they come from? Are they born that way, or does moral imbecility come with a degree in management?

For Peter Gibbons (Ron Livingston), the problem isn't just Bill Lumbergh. It's everything about his job -- the pointless meetings, the senseless policies, the meaningless tasks. Peter is supposed to be working on Y2K-compatible software, an honorable goal, but the corporate mentality could drain the pride out of giving candy to orphans. Peter thinks he's sick of his life, but he's really just sick of the office (which has taken over his life). His reawakening comes, ironically, when he's in deep sleep: a botched hypnotherapy session leaves him fearless and impulsive -- he becomes the Bulworth of the cubicles, and his sudden yeah-whatever attitude has the opposite effect of pushing him further up the ranks. (It's a bit like what happened to George Costanza when he decided to do everything "opposite.")

Together with his fellow cubicle-prisoners Samir (Ajay Naidu) and Michael Bolton (David Herman) -- "It's just a coincidence," Michael has muttered about six million times since the mid-'80s -- Peter devises a hacking scam to steal some of the company's money. Without pushing it too much, Judge suggests that when intelligent people spend too much time in the corporate pool (which esteems money above all else), they may adopt the ethics of sharks. Looking around the office, you realize that everyone except the managers is there for the money (the managers are in it for the power). Job security -- being able to pay the bills -- has become not a basic obligation but the sole meaning of life.

All of which sounds a little too hefty for a Mike Judge comedy, so let it be said that Office Space, while planting all these thoughts in your head, is also consistently funny. Jennifer Aniston basically functions as the movie's "girl" -- Peter's love interest -- but her character's waitressing job allows for a few terrific digs at public-service jobs, in which the employer's policies have precious little to do with the customer's essential needs. Ron Livingston is a little bland by design -- he's the movie's Hank Hill, the straight man for such off-the-wall characters as the cringing Milton (Stephen Root, as hilariously servile here as he is hilariously domineering on TV's NewsRadio) or the movie's Boomhauer stand-in, Lawrence (Diedrich Bader), a construction worker who seems a whole lot happier than his next-door neighbor Peter.

For Peter, Lawrence represents a different way of life and work, and that's the difference between this movie and 'Dilbert' or 'Drew Carey': Those characters are trapped in their positions, but Judge points to a way out -- or at least a more graceful way of reconciling one's job and one's life. Not bad for a guy who made his rep by splattering frogs.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1205&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/24/07 21:33:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2009 South By Southwest Film Festival For more in the 2009 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

6/10/14 JordanSmith I want to make sure that it is very important to see whether or not his is something that i 5 stars
12/05/12 Delbert One of the best comedies of the 90's. 5 stars
2/28/11 Captain Slog A cult classic. My favourite comedy of all time 5 stars
9/05/10 Neha Funny & intresting. but gets slow at points. Can associate to this life 3 stars
7/12/10 Marlin Boring from the start. Had to push to see the whole movie. The end was sort of good. 2 stars
5/01/10 PAUL SHORTT AMUSING DEMOLITION OF CORPORATE CULTURE, WITH SHARP DIALOGUE AND WITTY ONE-LINERS 3 stars
9/12/09 Andrew D A good try to analyze office life. But unfortunately, there is no solution to such life. 4 stars
8/18/09 Jeff Wilder Hilarious first half. Second half devolves into stupidity. 3 stars
7/07/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Pretty much the most hialious movie ever!! It has alot of dark comedy but its a riot! 5 stars
4/10/09 Dane Youssef A cubicle-eye view of the ugliness of white-collar coprorate. With the passion of Dilbert. 5 stars
9/04/08 Kevin White Best movie ever 5 stars
8/26/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 3 stars
8/05/08 Bnorm If you dont like this movie you can drink my pee 5 stars
3/02/08 ladavies when things suck at work I channel Peter Gibbons 5 stars
6/05/07 dude i didn't really think this movie was very funny 1 stars
1/27/07 David Pollastrini very well done 4 stars
1/12/07 MP Bartley Very very funny. Great performances across the board. 4 stars
8/27/06 Dan Excellent. I swear that I've seen some of these characters in my office! 5 stars
5/11/06 HL "If I had a million dollars?....................I'd do nothing!" 5 stars
3/14/06 mazman holy shit pacman this movie is old 1 stars
10/30/05 Wisamane Damn it feels good to be A GANGSTA!!!...In the office, LOL THE BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
8/24/05 Indrid Cold Absolutely hilarious, I just wish it was longer and the plot wasn't so thin. 5 stars
8/17/05 ES i work in an office, but i don't get this movie being so popular 3 stars
5/22/05 Rohit must see 5 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers One of the greatest! Funny as Hell! I can't stop watching it! 5 stars
9/30/04 nate werling this film is hilarious i thought i was going to piss my little boxers, and then die 5 stars
9/26/04 P.Rodriguez uuummmmm yeah I, uuuum yeah love this movie....yeah 5 stars
9/25/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 Sounds like a case of the Mondays 5 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G this movie is fucking sick as fuck, I mean FUCK 5 stars
7/31/04 Jess This movie is genius in every respect. Hail to the pions of the world! 5 stars
7/18/04 scrambled brain mmmyeahhh, i'm gonna have to ask you to "go ahead" and watch this movie, m'kay? 4 stars
7/16/04 NPSTR How can you not like this movie? SOMEBODY is a crack baby 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot A gem of a movie,don't tell too many people tho,our little secret. 5 stars
5/04/04 Wallace I Think this movie was brilliant. It completely captured working in the real world! 5 stars
3/26/04 The Swede Infectiously quotable masterstroke. An anthem for the corporately used. 5 stars
3/10/04 Mike Nutter Anyone who has ever had the experience of working in an office will understand this movie. 5 stars
2/15/04 Stephen Goble culturally necessary--a cult film whose bits and pieces have become part of the landscape. 4 stars
1/02/04 Admiral Piett davebo&hawkboy should have their reviewer status revoked.Bet they loved Gigli, though. 5 stars
11/18/03 Josh Standlee Love this movie! I'll never forget it! 5 stars
10/20/03 Charles Tatum We can all associate; I now officially "don't care" at work 4 stars
10/14/03 Chris I have not met a single person that didnt LOVE this movie 5 stars
10/06/03 KDawg I think Hawkboy is a no-talent ass clown. This movie is great! 5 stars
9/19/03 Dan A must-see for anyone who has ever worked at a "corporate-minded" company 5 stars
9/15/03 Schjlatah "the Magnificent" This movie was divinly inspired. It changed my life. damn it feels good to be a gangsta' 5 stars
8/31/03 DM Wickedly funny-but not as good in the second half 4 stars
8/04/03 P.Rodriguez Yeahhh, I think Yeahhh that Dave um, is a crap reviewer um... Yeahhh 5 stars
7/15/03 Brewsterma You should see this movie. Yeah, that would be great... 5 stars
7/10/03 Joseph Taylor Great film, highly rec. !! 5 stars
6/26/03 cochese I love it. more more more. 5 stars
5/05/03 cocoa well id give this movie a kick ass rating because...it kicked total ass 5 stars
4/27/03 Hooters gurl Ooooh, yeah...can you move a little to the left...terrific! 5 stars
4/21/03 JEFF FOR ANYONE WHOSE WORKED IN A OFFICE, ITS RIGHT ON THE MARK 5 stars
4/14/03 Phil Hefel AWESOME MOVIE! BEST FILM EVER! 5 stars
4/09/03 Lumberg If U didn't like this movie, then you've obviously never worked in an office cubicle. 5 stars
4/08/03 Joe Worker Obviously Dave never worked in the corporate office of a big company. The movie is great! 4 stars
3/31/03 Rebecca "F*cking A" 5 stars
3/10/03 GMan Mr. Beavis and Butt-head directed/wrote this funny-ass parody of office jobs. Lags a bit... 4 stars
3/09/03 Nicole This film is so retarded that you can't help but laugh. If you work in an office.... 5 stars
3/08/03 Butt-head Umm...yeah, if you could just go ahead and TRY to watch this movie, that would be terrific. 5 stars
3/07/03 Senator Blutarsky Hit all the office stereotypes on the head. LAughed so hard, I gave the "oh.." face 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Too much attitude garnished on such mediocre material. More of an idea than an actual film. 2 stars
2/24/03 Jason V whoever said this movie sux can suck a dick! 5 stars
1/30/03 Milton's #1 Fan I love this movie, it's bloody funny. Milton always makes me laugh with those thick glasses 5 stars
1/25/03 R. This is life at the last five software companies I worked for... 5 stars
12/31/02 Dominic Peter... Whaaat's happening? Say.... I'm gonna need you to come in on Saturday. 5 stars
12/02/02 joe_co_1 It gets better the more you watch it...Watch it more than once...it's so funny! 5 stars
11/19/02 Brian Jacobson see if you can catch peter playing Tetris! 4 stars
11/19/02 R.W. Welch Lo-key office comedy, nicely done but lacks pacing. 3 stars
11/12/02 milton pure comedic genius - this reviewer doesn't have a clue! 5 stars
11/11/02 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng I love this movie. I laugh out loud every time I watch it. A classic!! 5 stars
11/10/02 peter funniest move ever 5 stars
11/01/02 j awesome 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 "Fuckin-A" this movie was great. I've seen it some 25 times. Truly an American classic. 5 stars
10/04/02 Mike Lievense This movie rocks!! 5 stars
8/24/02 joe this is the funniest movie ever 5 stars
8/21/02 Jon Shaft This movie rules, a comic classic 5 stars
8/19/02 Aristera Hilarious movie and damn accurate of corporate life 5 stars
8/03/02 Jim Promising dead-on office satire derailed by embezzlement plot 4 stars
7/28/02 Adam Voorhees Every hadda shitty office job? then watch this and laugh your ass off! 5 stars
6/17/02 Del Leonard is hilarious... "Watch your cornhole bud!" Fucking hilarious 5 stars
6/09/02 Phil M. Aficionado Gem. If you work in Corporate America, you'll smile & yuck it up. Smart acting/directing. 5 stars
5/24/02 online_at_work what the guy in front of me said. fuckign great. 5 stars
5/17/02 BLAKKRAGE666 TO THE POINT AND FUNNY AS FUCK. 5 stars
5/14/02 miltoness this movie made me laugh SOOo hard! 5 stars
4/13/02 RAR I love this movie. 5 stars
4/10/02 The Bomb 69 i get an "O" face just thinking about it!!!! O, O, O 5 stars
4/09/02 Jill BEST EVER 5 stars
4/07/02 stoolie-bird makes me laugh every time..... 4 stars
3/06/02 slim THIS MOVIE ROCKS!!!!! 5 stars
2/19/02 luda hoe if you didn't think this movie was funny, you should kill yourself 5 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden Scattershot Comedy, With Mis-Fire Gags Left To Right, With No Avail. 2 stars
1/04/02 peter c allen jr a cult classic..a must see! 5 stars
1/04/02 Akisu Desmond ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES OF ALL TIME!!! 5 stars
12/08/01 Jim Instant favorite. 5 stars
11/24/01 Smoogles Why do I keep renting this movie over and over? Why don't I just buy the darn thing? 5 stars
11/01/01 Bada Bing Crosby Looks like someone has a case of the Mondays! 5 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Hilarious! I'm doing my "O" face just thinking about it! 5 stars
8/21/01 Tim Clark One of the funniest movies ever - practically every line is quotable 5 stars
8/09/01 Spartacus I...I..will p-put stricknine in the guacamole of those who dont like this movie 5 stars
8/08/01 Alan You need to have been victimized by corporate America to appreciate this excellent flick!!! 5 stars
8/06/01 Kevin Heyl Judge strikes again 5 stars
8/06/01 Jake Yeah, um, I loved this movie! 5 stars
8/02/01 Stevo Omg, there is someone who doesn't like this movie? wow 5 stars
7/28/01 Milton I could...s-set this w-website on fire. 5 stars
7/14/01 Josh Tybur I assume that those who don't like this movie have never worked in an office.... 5 stars
6/20/01 Shanna Couldn't be more true to life (from a comical perspective)! 5 stars
6/19/01 Elvisfan Does someone have a case of the Mondays? 5 stars
6/11/01 SlipNSlide Hawkboy is a toolboy. Ron Livingstone is the shit. Marion, IA, fellas! 5 stars
4/17/01 Wendy Fisher This movie is SO hilarious!! 5 stars
4/16/01 Brian Greatest "did you ever notice" movie about work ever... 5 stars
3/29/01 Cam Berg This is my favorite movie in the whole world!!!! 5 stars
2/22/01 Kyle VERY FUNNY 5 stars
2/22/01 Misirlou This was a fantastic movie, not only funny but it had a lot of good insights about work 5 stars
2/20/01 L.J. Goldblatt This movie is da shit. Fuckin A man. 5 stars
2/14/01 Monday Morning Brilliant, hilarious satire. Only room-temperature I.Q. types would not get/like it. 5 stars
2/09/01 Drifter Bob The bestr movie ever made. This is office life. Its a hilarious documentary not a comedy. 5 stars
1/14/01 Invader I luv this movie,its perfect satire,god I wish life would work out this way. 5 stars
11/23/00 chiefaldog the cast list doesn't mention Ron Livingston. he's only the lead in this perfect movie! 5 stars
10/29/00 zeitgeist "yo, peter! check out channel 9. self-breast exam!" 5 stars
10/20/00 JB This movie is one of the funniest movies Ive ever seen. Also one of the best comedies ever. 5 stars
9/14/00 Jed Barely funny & only amusing just one BIG disappointment. 2 stars
4/24/00 John Lyons Very funny movie! 5 stars
4/14/00 ChiefAlDog One of my top ten comedies. BIG laughs. Michael Bolton IS a no talent ass-clown. 5 stars
3/19/00 Randys Twin This movie was hilarious! With Milton not being a main character he still stole the show! 5 stars
3/13/00 Bozo I second the review by "Lucy B" below; made "Clockwatchers" lookl like "Dr. Zhivago" 4 stars
2/29/00 LucyB Hilarious! Some weaknesses but mostly LOL. A Must see for anyone who's worked in an office. 4 stars
2/16/00 The Bomb 69 About to get my "O" face!! Oh, Oh!! Classic!! 4 stars
11/24/99 Manos2weapon This film isn't the worse of office parodies but its far from the best. 2 stars
10/05/99 strike Steven Root as Milton was hilarious, the rest wasn´t. 3 stars
8/22/99 ege Really really really really fucking awesome. laughed my ass off!! 5 stars
5/18/99 Javachik I think this movie was pretty damn funny, especially the Tarentino-esque scenes. 5 stars
4/20/99 Ah Dooey I expected more from the guy who brought us Beavis and Butthead and King of the Hill 5 stars
4/16/99 Dax R. Scott People in the software biz (me) will laugh their asses off. Others probably won't get it. 5 stars
4/09/99 Keith Calder Parts of this movie were VERY funny. Very inconsistant, especially the second half. 3 stars
3/17/99 Scott Stipe Funny, Loved the Jimmy James(Newsradio) guy!!! 5 stars
3/14/99 Heidi Campbell I could barely sit through it! The only good scene was the killing of the fax machine.! 2 stars
3/12/99 Blubberbot Very funny. Lots of kooky jokes. 4 stars
3/09/99 Freyja Funny and SMART, which is rare and unappreciated these days. 5 stars
3/09/99 Kirgo1 Funniest movie this year..you should go see this..no one is seeing it..very sad! 5 stars
3/06/99 Beef funny, witty, and remarkably sexy 4 stars
3/05/99 Mike Rotch Wildly imanginative and funny movie. 4 stars
3/03/99 Bill Hartman SMART Funny movie. Great escape after a long week of work! 4 stars
3/03/99 Mr Showbiz A wily inventive workplace comedy. 4 stars
3/02/99 Rachel It was all right. Gotta love Diedrich Bader 4 stars
3/01/99 slimshady funny as hell, the crazy guy that mumbles was the shit 4 stars
2/24/99 Viral Messiah Excellent! Work sucks ass! 5 stars
2/24/99 Alexis Funny outlook on work 4 stars
2/23/99 Heather Plenty of laughs, like a male version of Clockwatchers 5 stars
2/22/99 Dave Glaiser This movie wasn't great but it kept maling me laugh!!! 4 stars
2/21/99 Kozmic Laughs were spaced out evenly through the flick so you won't walk out ,real disappointed. 3 stars
2/21/99 Deadmonkey The gangsta rap playing in the background of this really white movie was worth $8.00 4 stars
2/20/99 Mr Film Intelligence required to appreciate this comedy.. Does have 'Beavis' comedy as well. 4 stars
2/19/99 Jeff pretty crappy-- maybe a couple of grins--but not a single laugh 2 stars
2/12/99 Kirgo1 a terrific comedy 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Feb-1999 (R)
  DVD: 01-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Apr-1999 (M)


Directed by
  Mike Judge

Written by
  Mike Judge

Cast
  Ron Livingston
  Jennifer Aniston
  David Herman
  Stephen Root
  Gary Cole
  Ajay Naidu



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast