Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.69

Awesome40.96%
Worth A Look: 23.28%
Just Average: 12.89%
Pretty Crappy: 9.56%
Sucks: 13.31%

23 reviews, 343 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Star Wars: Episode 3 - Revenge of the Sith
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"The critic-proof saga goes for one last ride."
4 stars

It’s somewhat amazing the level of critical and fanboy divide of the saga known as “Star Wars” and how far people will go to either praise or have vengeance over the entire series. Granted, I’m not the biggest devotee of the series but I am a fan; I was not born until 1979, so George Lucas’ space opera never really came across my path until the late 80’s when NBC aired them all on TV in the ridiculous pan-and-scan format. I then TRULY discovered the films on widescreen laserdisc a few years later and found myself engorged with the worlds that George Lucas and his collaborators came up with. Not only is it great storytelling, but Lucas’ work set forth a new benchmark in visual storytelling with some of the greatest pyrotechnics ever put down.

Then 1997 came. The computer graphics revolution was making its way into cinema, and Lucas went back and “revitalized” the films with updated effects and restored sequences. I have no problem with a slight edit here or an added scene through a director’s cut maybe a year or two after the release, but to revise it the way Lucasfilm did was a shame. I knew these films, and I felt that the Star Wars world had slowly become history. What I wouldn’t give to be back in 1977 in line at the Grauman’s Chinese watching a 70mm print of the original film…

The prequels that birthed in 1999 have still not left that much of an impression on me. I’m glad that they have their fans and I’m not going to debate that, but the escapist Saturday afternoon feel has somewhat dissipated into the computer, whiz-bang computer graphics industry of today. Where Episode I: The Phantom Menace failed in its overdone visual world (the obvious “Hey! I’m making a huge visual world with too many flying things!” was the reason that its visual effects Oscar lost to The Matrix) and Episode II: Attack of the Clones shot itself in the foot for dead-boring politics for the majority of its running time, the new Episode III: Revenge of the Sith film finds stronger footing in telling a straight A-to-B story arc. This is the best of the prequels.

What I especially liked out of the film was how the visual world blends so well into the later (or original) chapters in the story. In the film’s first virtuoso shot, we follow a long take where ships and fighters are established into the action. We first meet Obi-Wan (Ewan McGregor) and Anakin (Hayden Christensen) as they are out to rescue Palpatine (Ian McDarmind) from the clutches of Count Dooku. Once defeated, Anakin becomes closer and closer to Palpatine, whose true identity becomes slowly revealed as someone that Anakin forms a close bond to. Dark things are happening. Meanwhile, Anakin’s marriage to Padme (Natalie Portman) remains a secret, but it gets more complicated when she reveals that she is with child. Meanwhile, there are so many characters fighting for screen time like Obi Wan (Ewan McGregor) who is struggling with Anakin’s power, to Yoda (voice of Frank Oz) who is becoming more and more physically agile with each film.

The problem with the performances is that the dialogue is so poor that we don’t believe they are in the world that they are in. The entire film has been made on a blue screen soundstage (much like the recent Sin City and Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow) and at times the actors look like they are performing from rear projections of each other. The stiff, awkward line-reading from Hayden Christensen makes me sad to think that his performance from Shattered Glass was a fluke, and Natalie Portman doesn’t do much better as Padme, who has a laughable sequence towards the end where her realization of Anakin’s power causes her to say “You’re breaking my heart. You’re going down a path I can’t follow.” Strange to think that she gave two of the better performances of last year in Garden State and Closer.

The major exception to this is the performance of Ian McDarmind as Senator Palpatine. Here is a wonderful bad guy worth remembering. His dark, brooding voice and menace towards the Jedi council ranks right up there, ironically, with Darth Vader from the earlier films. Mention must also be made to Christopher Lee, whose brief appearance as Count Dooku in this chapter reminded me of the menace he performed not only in Episode II, but as Sauraman in the ]Lord of the Rings films.

Visually, Lucas has spared no expense. Entire worlds and cities are created with the tools at Industrial Light and Magic; from the previously mentioned first shot that establishes warring ships to weird, strange planets; at times we will tend to get sensory overload from it all, but there is still a limitless imagination, and the later scenes blend nicely into the next chapter which was filmed 28 years ago. Lucas has returned to shooting in High-Definition video (Episode II was also shot this way) but since most of the film rests with computer graphics, the limitations to HD are only present in the dialogue sequences, which have an odd, off-kilter look compared to the rest of the films. High-Definition is still nowhere compared to shooting on film, and it’s too bad that he couldn’t use those 35mm cameras that made the older films look so wonderful.

Despite all of my praise and criticism, “Episode III: Revenge of the Sith” is still worth seeing and pretty much critic-proof. Your enjoyment will come out of how much you bring into it and how much history you have with the series. That said, with the prequels finished and the series wrapped, there’s a definite edge missing in these recent films than the galaxy far, far away from 1977. And if one day Mr. Lucas could reissue the original, unaltered versions of the film to the home video medium, then we could return to that history that occurred a long time ago.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=12284&reviewer=350
originally posted: 05/26/05 14:42:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/19/15 hhshjjsjj star wars: revenge of the SHIT 1 stars
1/08/15 vendoza worst movie of all time! 1 stars
1/13/13 austin love it 5 stars
9/11/12 austin great 5 stars
8/15/12 Michael Good film but very dark and emotional for me 4 stars
5/28/11 Shaun A This is more like it. The emotional intensity that should've been in all the prequels. 4 stars
5/25/11 Glenn Hardy This movie is definately one of my favorite. it was so GOOD! 5 stars
5/30/10 gc Without a doubt, the best of the prequels, in fact, why did they even make the first 2? 4 stars
3/25/10 JW Slightly more entertaining than a fish tank 2 stars
3/03/10 zaine KOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/02/10 PAUL SHORTT AN IDEAL, CONVINCING FINALE FOR THIS FRANCHISE 3 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef Lucas gets it right. A Shakespherian story of epic proportions. MUST-SEE 5 stars
7/17/09 MP Bartley Pretty, but simply fails to engage on any emotional or intellectual level. 3 stars
4/23/09 GordonD SW Rocks. The 6 Films are > LOTR (books or movies) 5 stars
3/16/09 Liz sux?? yeah =] 1 stars
10/06/08 Shaun Wallner One of my favorite all time films. 5 stars
7/14/08 Karen great movie 4 stars
7/05/08 dan halberg Be warned, Hayden tries his best to ruin it 4 stars
4/24/08 frieda moudy a Lucas film - a must see! 5 stars
12/14/07 Jason Great movie, pacy and full of action. Piss weak protagonist. 4 stars
10/20/07 fools♫gold keeps everything fresh 5 stars
8/13/07 bob revenge of the shit 1 stars
6/08/07 Danielle Ophelia Solid ending, but I don't know...maybe I'm just not as enamored as I used to be. 4 stars
5/28/07 LUCA ONE OF THE BEST EVER 5 stars
5/02/07 henry the force sucks! 1 stars
4/17/07 David Pollastrini best of the prequels 4 stars
4/17/07 Stevo UK Lucas, stop with the kids stuff. watch Starship troopers. now THATS a movie. 1 stars
3/24/07 swfan must hype it up so t dont look that bad..oh wait it is 2 stars
3/16/07 Darth Binks Liked it at the flicks, hated it on 2nd viewing 2 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega The force is finally within you when you've watched this. 5 stars
2/03/07 bob LOL amazing acting,how deluded u starwars fans are!!! 2 stars
1/27/07 mets1986 Fabtastic............... 5 stars
1/25/07 jared barton the best of the "star wars" saga. Amazing acting and special effects 5 stars
1/19/07 droidshit!! should crawl back to the shallow-end of the film makeing genepool 1 stars
1/08/07 starwars was once good about 20-30 years ago..... since then its just been hanging around like a bad stink!! 2 stars
12/03/06 DasuberDing Friggin' Awesome and I am not a nerd! 5 stars
11/25/06 Kristen VERY GOOD 5 stars
11/24/06 chris f ignore the freaks who rate it bad best star wars movie since esb 5 stars
11/12/06 cody a great ending to the prequel movies, great action and just edge of seat excitement. 4 stars
11/09/06 Austin Wertman THE BEST OF THE ENTIRE SAGA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/01/06 3man THE movie of 2005. 5 stars
10/27/06 Richard It had more substance and solidity than the other prequels. 4 stars
10/23/06 basher george lucas is a shit director and starwars smells of it 1 stars
10/02/06 Basher lotr is a miles better trilogy 2 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Fantastic!! easily as good as the original Star Wars episodes. More action the the first 5 5 stars
9/04/06 The Maz only nerds love it 1 stars
8/16/06 anthonyuk good special effects but still garbage, g lucas shame on you 2 stars
7/25/06 Quigley A very good, entertaining movie. The CG was great; the Grievous duel kicked serious butt 5 stars
7/13/06 David Cohen Unlike episodes I and II, this one deserves the name of "Star Wars" 4 stars
7/07/06 Dan Yes. Good. 5 stars
6/21/06 drydock54321 loved the movie. That yoda can fight! Hate their silly character names though 5 stars
5/01/06 Jack The First two blew mucus. This one rocks!!! 5 stars
3/30/06 adrienne this movie is soo cool, i see it again and again 5 stars
3/14/06 rupert good special effects,shame it still sux bigtime,g.lucas=faggot 1 stars
3/14/06 Eileen Good if only to make up for the 1st two. Full of problems, not as satisfying on repeats 3 stars
2/25/06 Dan Awesome movies, you either like this movie, or hate Star Wars. Simple. 5 stars
2/02/06 van zwaar LOL lucas back for another ass poke 1 stars
1/23/06 Del The Fight with Count Dooku rocked! This story wrapped up the loose ends. 5 stars
1/09/06 hunt i like this movie, especially the scene were anakin and obi wan are fighting on mustafar 4 stars
1/08/06 Quigley horrid acting and dialogue, but the CG and the action redeem this film. yoda needs an oscar 5 stars
12/19/05 kr one of the most boring movies I have ever seen slept through the whole thing 2 stars
12/16/05 rupert the force is a crok of shit more like 1 stars
12/15/05 ........... the force is strong with this one 5 stars
11/30/05 van zwaar yoda pushes stool u mean 1 stars
11/26/05 Anus REVENGE OF THE SHIT. 1 stars
11/23/05 cr great end to the new star wars movies and it action packed to very end and yoda kicks butt! 4 stars
11/23/05 dobo fuks potter revenge of the poofs arrrggh!! 1 stars
11/22/05 Guy Lucas should never be allowed near a word processor/typewriter again. 1 stars
11/21/05 Kurtis J. Beard Best of the prequels. But that's not saying much. 3 stars
11/18/05 dobo fuks potter the ending was good tho:) 2 stars
11/14/05 Quigley awesome graphics on top of a lame plot with absolutely atrocious acting and script. 5 stars
11/13/05 jar jar mesa tink sttar wars sucks. except for the bits with mesa in it! 1 stars
11/12/05 cooler star wars sucks 1 stars
11/10/05 Mark Radburn This Retarded Movie should BURN IN HELL!!!! 1 stars
11/02/05 tatum Great effects hampered by "dialogue for the stupid" 4 stars
10/28/05 Jeremy Hooghy BEST MOVIE EVER MADE! ROTS ROCKS! 5 stars
10/27/05 chris best star wars movie of the newest 3 5 stars
10/18/05 Quigley the movie is a visual thrill ride, but the acting and script are horrendous. kudos to yoda 5 stars
10/09/05 Anus REVENGE OF THE SHIT! 1 stars
10/07/05 Klondo NNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/02/05 Tim the Enchanter Finally a sequel worthy to even be mentioned with the original trilogy 5 stars
9/28/05 Phil Brilliant film! Let down by Ewan McGregor and Natile Portmans bad acting! 5 stars
9/20/05 indeed it is shit! 1 stars
9/17/05 tony SHIT!SHIT! STAR WARS SUCKS! GOD ALFUCKINGING MIGHTY! i want my money back! 1 stars
9/15/05 .... martin the fag 2 stars
9/15/05 Martin Whoa! naysayers! You obviously don't understand dramatic irony and nuance, brilliant movie. 5 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes best Star Wars movie since "The Empire Strikes Back" 5 stars
9/02/05 mcsmeger R2 stick ur c*ck in my A8s 1 stars
9/02/05 Prequels stink! Original Trilogy forever! 2 stars
9/02/05 Zack It finished the story i liked the action but the acting is horific 2 stars
9/01/05 dobi agreed 1 stars
8/31/05 dave it's Fuckin terrible 1 stars
8/27/05 Quigley this film rules visually, but the acting and script were horrendous. Good altogether. 5 stars
8/27/05 D Buckley Nooooooooooooooo!!!!! 1 stars
8/26/05 dobi or a stool pusher 1 stars
8/25/05 EZ Best Star Wars film without a doubt. 5 stars
8/24/05 dobi if ur a cock smoker 1 stars
8/23/05 Dude awesome, the best yet 5 stars
8/22/05 dobi SHIT! 1 stars
8/16/05 ES weak end, This movie is a too small band-aid for the severed artery of fan disappointment 3 stars
8/15/05 Klondo Darth Vader's mask was symettrical. ahhhh...Motif. 1 stars
8/11/05 Kelly eh it finally over!!dialouge/acting need work but the action is enjoyable 3 stars
8/05/05 van zwaar SFX=aload of blue screen bullshit/moneyshot/moneyshot after another moneyshot/lucasisafag 2 stars
8/01/05 Quigley the speical effects are truly stunning. yoda was the best actor. lucas finally got it right 5 stars
8/01/05 ALDO worst of the prequels. Jimmy Smits should have been the main character 1 stars
7/29/05 littlebill *FIRE THE EMERGENCY BOOSTERS*ummmm u muppets 1 stars
7/28/05 guy hedul a retard could star in this movie and it would still be just as fucking great 5 stars
7/27/05 SWphanny MUST TRY AND HYPE IT UP SO IT DOESNT LOOK THAT BAD..oh wait it is 1 stars
7/27/05 .... REVENGE OF THE SHIT 1 stars
7/27/05 william chandra what could i say,love it,its good,it's GOOD(with carrey style) 5 stars
7/26/05 Captain Craig A ¨B¨movie with ¨B¨actors glazed over with special effects. Ho-hum! 2 stars
7/24/05 Dan Simply awesome, helluva way to end off the fascinating series. 5 stars
7/24/05 Indrid Cold Not much better than Ep.1&2, but all 3 are better than most sci fi, you know it. 5 stars
7/22/05 Naruto I loved this gr8 movie. Even if Anakin turn bit too quickly anti-Jedi. Darth Vader rules! 5 stars
7/21/05 Quigley Incredible visual effects, but depended on style and people who can't act out a bad script 5 stars
7/20/05 William Vollmer a very good finish to the begining of the saga 5 stars
7/20/05 Sir Dude Come on, this was a pretty good movie, one of the best Star Wars easily. 4 stars
7/16/05 Brandy Harrington Once again, Lucas dumps out antoher shit-ass movie, and you nerds like it. 1 stars
7/14/05 Mike I've heard better dialogue and seen better acting at my nephews kindergarten graduation. 1 stars
7/13/05 Matthew Rudawsky This is the prequel fans have been waiting for ever since Episode I was announced. 5 stars
7/13/05 Ronald Newbold My Daughter loved it. I thought is was good but not great 4 stars
7/11/05 madison the best of all of them 5 stars
7/10/05 slanes It completes the saga and if you're a star wars fan, you have to see it. 4 stars
7/09/05 Bugz Anakin - Too cool to become the evil henchman 4 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma It would have been perfect for me if those fucking geeks didn't cheer every 20 minutes 4 stars
7/08/05 mark bihm this is the best star wars film ever! 5 stars
7/05/05 zeitgeist Better than the previous two, not saying much. Lucas is an overrated hack 3 stars
7/05/05 jim not emotional at all 3 stars
7/03/05 Jay Norris Story sped along too quickly to be believable. Anakin fell far too quickly and easily. 4 stars
7/01/05 van zwaar blue screens,shit acting and digital wankery all over the shop 1 stars
6/30/05 Worthy Slacker A masterpiece and triumph in storytelling and filmaking. Among the greatest endings ever! 5 stars
6/30/05 Tom S. A flawed masterpiece with a second half as good as any of the best movies ever made 5 stars
6/30/05 Quigley a visual masterpiece, though has some gross acting and screenwriting. 5 stars
6/29/05 Star Wars Gurl #1 I have seen the movie four times and I loved it.Ialmost cried at the end 5 stars
6/29/05 Matthew Guertler I loved it. It was sad at the end of the movie 5 stars
6/28/05 Madison I think the movie is one of my favorites and why does the HOT guy( Anikan) have be evil? 5 stars
6/28/05 Obi Wan Very good film and Lucas closes the show on a good note. 5 stars
6/28/05 .... mindless fukin shit/only the ending was good 2 stars
6/27/05 R george, to quote "Crash," you embarrass me. you embarrass yourself. 1 stars
6/26/05 Tony Nogales George Lucas is heartless. 1 stars
6/26/05 Gecko Fanfoot Biggest letdown in film history... 1 stars
6/26/05 Lucero de la Torre The best of endings for the best of film sagas 5 stars
6/25/05 bobby Loved the action sequences and the special effects. 5 stars
6/25/05 The Dark Knight 1st Hour was as bad as Ep. 1 and 2... 2nd hour was incredible! 5 stars
6/24/05 Angelos Kakos The best one since "Empire"!!! 5 stars
6/23/05 Grafik Would make a wonderful *silent film*. 2 stars
6/22/05 Inflamed Testicles A huge improvement over the last two. 4 stars
6/22/05 MICHAEL A. DEMAY FANTASTIC/AWESOME 5 stars
6/21/05 van zwaar wat are u doin son?...im going for a sith*toilet flushes* 1 stars
6/21/05 indy absolutely fantastic! 5 stars
6/20/05 R i think vader said it best: "NOOOOOOOOOO!" 2 stars
6/19/05 .... REVENGE OF THE SMELLY SHIT 1 stars
6/18/05 Ry It seems like people are getting use to mediocre films. 3 stars
6/18/05 aldo better than ep 1&2 but still doesn't has the good old touch the classics had 4 stars
6/15/05 adrian ace definatley the best. was torn between empire, but this is definatley the best one now 5 stars
6/14/05 Maalstrom better, but still needs a dialouge writer 4 stars
6/14/05 Phil Brilliant fights and a great conclusion. Definitely a good film 4 stars
6/14/05 Quigley a very awesome CG creation, but had atrociuos acting and script 5 stars
6/13/05 E-FUNK Shit. But a step in the right direction after the first two abortions. 1 stars
6/12/05 cinkcool By far best of the three 5 stars
6/12/05 napoleon dynamite it was the coolest movie ever!!! 5 stars
6/12/05 andre may betst films of the prequels.i knew you still had it george 5 stars
6/12/05 Johnny Kay Generally very disappointing and crap. I don't know what is worse 'The Phantom Mencace', 'A 1 stars
6/11/05 Brent Awesome stuff soem stuff i wished different but still a A+ film anyways 5 stars
6/11/05 Gecko Fanfoot Another cardboard adventure in Lucas mindfuck 1 stars
6/11/05 Manu Ginobli Smells like shit. 1 stars
6/11/05 Daveman The original triology is better, but this is, by far, the best of the prequals. 4 stars
6/10/05 Lucy Sexy jedis ( and Chewbacca too! ) 5 stars
6/10/05 K. Sear I fully expected to hate it and enjoyed it (almost) entirely. 4 stars
6/09/05 unknown what can i say?its bloody excellent! non stop action all the way. 5 stars
6/09/05 Paterfam001 If you don't care about the people, there's no drama, for all the CGI mastery in the world. 2 stars
6/09/05 Rock-Steady Once again lucas takes a shit on the script,and you nerds like it. 1 stars
6/08/05 senator blutarsky You people are a bunch of pomp-ass idiots. You have no heart if you can't enjoy this film. 5 stars
6/08/05 james floyd Overrated! 1 stars
6/08/05 elpintogrande REVENGE OF THE SHIT 1 stars
6/08/05 James P Amazing, awesome and fantastic. 5 stars
6/07/05 Agent Sands Good: FX, music, McGregor. Hilariously bad: Everything else. 3 stars
6/07/05 Drew Peltier I had to see it twice to appreciate it fully. 5 stars
6/07/05 Jake wasn't moved at all 2 stars
6/06/05 Ronin Unlike 2 others this one at last has a soul. I was so moved by Anakin's tragedy... 5 stars
6/06/05 Shenzi Moraltin R.O.T.S. is the coolest movie ever BAR NONE. 5 stars
6/06/05 Anthony G Piece of shit, good job writing another bullshit plot lucas. 1 stars
6/05/05 X The best thing about this movie is that Jar Jar doesn't talk 5 stars
6/05/05 Dan GREAT! 5 stars
6/04/05 Ubu the Ripper What a load of crap. Lucas is such a lousy director it's painful to watch. 1 stars
6/04/05 Charlene Javier If there's a next time, please allocate budget for screenplay. 3 stars
6/04/05 Denise Gannon inane dialogue, horrible delivery of said inanity by actors, Padmé? stop blubbering! 2 stars
6/04/05 dmm bloated, self indulgent... oh wait that's just GL's ego. 3 stars
6/04/05 Mike Jozic Better the second time 'round and low on exposition but a great ride overall. 4 stars
6/02/05 dylan heiferman great movie best in the whole series 5 stars
6/02/05 deadwiz lacking the starwars feel, but overall a decent flick. 4 stars
6/02/05 Quigley awesome! great CG achievement, but pretty sick acting from Padme and bad writing by lucas 5 stars
6/02/05 ZIM Too deadly solemn for a 'Star Wars' movie; acting and screenplay is atrocious 2 stars
6/02/05 Jenny Absolutely unbelievably fantastically brilliant!!!!!! A must-see!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/02/05 JFK great resolution by george lucas. great movie 5 stars
6/02/05 Darth Sparky Rigid acting, terrible hair. Nothing new. 3 stars
6/01/05 Nadine Best movie of 2005 5 stars
6/01/05 JAMES THE CIRCLE IS NOW COMPLETE! 5 stars
5/31/05 Obi Wan Lucas got it right and sent us on our way with a bang!! 5 stars
5/31/05 Scott Reynolds When it is BAD, it's almost unbearable. But when it's good, you feel like it's the old days 4 stars
5/31/05 Jiz Better than the last two shitpiles. WTF is with that gaping plot hole at the end though? 4 stars
5/31/05 Paul S V, III, II, VI, I, IV 5 stars
5/31/05 Jon All flash, no substance. Mediocre acting, atrocious dialogue...my god. 3 stars
5/30/05 Darth Skippy oh so boring 2 stars
5/30/05 Jim Let's see ... V, IV, III, VI, II, I. 4 stars
5/30/05 Nancy Horosco Mother of Luke And Leia 4 stars
5/30/05 Alex The Sith rule! To hell with the idiot Jedi. 5 stars
5/30/05 Steve Newman I am in my 40s now - this was a class act - just like the first one almost 30 years ago!!! 4 stars
5/30/05 Joses Kickass. Better than the first two. No Jar-Jar! 5 stars
5/29/05 X better than the other two sequels 5 stars
5/29/05 Nicholas Sheldon Lucas is a hack as a writer and director. There is a specific reason EMPIRE was good. ;) 3 stars
5/29/05 Lord Jiggy Tedious and emotionally unconvincing. 3 stars
5/29/05 alex scenes with princess and Anakin together make me sick, bad acting! otherwise loved it 4 stars
5/28/05 Chris Howe Flashback - everyone thought Clones was good at the begining too. Lame-o movie. 1 stars
5/28/05 Alextron This is like the coolest film ever made! 5 stars
5/28/05 Neckface good 5 stars
5/28/05 harry mullholand good 3 stars
5/28/05 Flounder This is the best movie of the year thus far. 5 stars
5/28/05 Alyson This movie had awesome fight scenes. I'd see it again. Battle of the hot Jedis. 5 stars
5/28/05 movie samurai at last, the series has a soul again... the end of a cultural phenomenon 5 stars
5/28/05 Ben i cant wait for it to come out on dvd. i will buy it 5 stars
5/28/05 Fred Wesly You need Spielburg to tell the story correctly 3 stars
5/27/05 Michael Sorensen Lame! 2 stars
5/27/05 Jimmy James horrendous dialogue and plot incosistancies abound, otherwise a decent sendoff of theseries 3 stars
5/27/05 Mider Excellent fights. 5 stars
5/27/05 Chuckie Anakin was da bomb!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/27/05 Sabu Thaliyath "watch not ..you must.." (special Fx was good..but overdose) 2 stars
5/27/05 juli meh 1 stars
5/27/05 Christy Schultz Great connection to Episode IV. Much better than I or II 5 stars
5/27/05 Quigley one the greatest visual achievements in cinema history. some cheap eye candy, but very cool 5 stars
5/27/05 Jake Stands on it's own as a great film 5 stars
5/26/05 Pippin007 The force is strong with this one! 4 stars
5/26/05 Leon I found it great, really entertaining and the best since 4 and 5. 5 stars
5/26/05 MF It's the fourth best Star Wars film, but still better then most of the dreck the comes out 4 stars
5/26/05 Dan Great ass fucking movie!!!!$!%! 5 stars
5/25/05 nads Needs more fart jokes. 3 stars
5/25/05 John not for me. No thanks 1 stars
5/25/05 David Great fun, it makes IV, V, & VI even stronger 5 stars
5/25/05 Sir Spam-a-lot meh - okay, better than the other prequels 4 stars
5/25/05 George Lucas owes me $6.50 Had some cool moments but the lame parts were so lame that it cheapens the whole series 1 stars
5/25/05 Orbiter Nicely done. Very sad, moving, i felt guilty after seeing it. 5 stars
5/25/05 Pawn Wtf Are You Talking About ^ its Awsome... 5 stars
5/24/05 Neckface cool 5 stars
5/24/05 Master Frosh What the hell is "Star Wars?" 1 stars
5/24/05 Jake Awesome! A fitting end to an epic saga. 5 stars
5/24/05 Anna this was one of the best moveis that i have ever seen. Go see it!! Anikan is so hot!!!! 5 stars
5/24/05 Charleston Good, but another wasted opportunity in a trilogy full of wasted opportunities. 3 stars
5/24/05 JBP Absolute garbage. two and a half hours George now owes me! 1 stars
5/24/05 Benjamin Ewan and Ian McDiarmid's acting, the drama, and the SFX save this movie. Best since ESB 5 stars
5/24/05 ad distracted by acting 4 stars
5/24/05 whatevas meh 1 stars
5/24/05 You're an Idiot About as dark as a Care Bears Movie. Vader screaming "NOOOO!!"! at the end was laughable 1 stars
5/24/05 KR Dialogue/acting horrible, but what else is new? Lucas could never do dialogue. Still... 4 stars
5/24/05 brody best film in the series 5 stars
5/23/05 Tony It looked like the old cheesy Battlestar Galactica t.v. show. 3 stars
5/23/05 Uncle Salty On a positive note, at least this shit is over 2 stars
5/23/05 gray not for kids could have been better but not much 5 stars
5/23/05 haha Awesome, best of the three 5 stars
5/23/05 Ronin Don't let young children watch it... It has several heavy scenes... 5 stars
5/23/05 Chris pretty bumm and bang, that's it! 3 stars
5/23/05 NaeWar I really loved this movie! Can't stop thinking about it. Fun to go home & watch Ep. IV!!! 5 stars
5/23/05 ju great 5 stars
5/23/05 Michael Adams An all around great film 5 stars
5/23/05 Koitus WOW!!! Opening throws you right into the action! Gotta love Greivous' light saber scene! 5 stars
5/23/05 JQ ending is the only best part 1 stars
5/23/05 I-K Pretty to look at, but what clunky, unoriginal mass-market sci-fi isn't these days? 2 stars
5/23/05 chris. geez. thank god for that. 5 stars
5/23/05 jango meh 1 stars
5/23/05 Dan Da Man This movie clearly epitomizes the blurrily drawn line between good and evil. 5 Stars. 5 stars
5/23/05 Lord Richard fucking awesomr 5 stars
5/23/05 Emily Li It totally rocked out LOUDDDD!!!!! 5 stars
5/22/05 Green Gremlin Not as good as epidodes 4-5, but has some powerful moments 4 stars
5/22/05 Phil When you hear Vader breath on the big screen it sends shivers down ya spine! 5 stars
5/22/05 Josef This movie really seriously sucks cock 1 stars
5/22/05 Jeff Botting For a site that claims it "bitch slaps Hollywood", you sure do suck Lucus' dick 2 stars
5/22/05 Flounder This is the Star Wars film that we have been waiting for! 5 stars
5/22/05 Stephane Beyond all expectations 5 stars
5/22/05 thejames good ending, bad acting, doesnt save the prequel trilogoy. 3 stars
5/22/05 Dan Awesome. Helluva way to end the epic story of Star Wars. You idiots don't got a clue. 5 stars
5/22/05 Monster W. Kung Watching the new ones only makes the old ones look better. Better than I and II, but... 3 stars
5/22/05 Jamal YO STAR WARS IS OFF DA CHAIN!!!! 5 stars
5/22/05 Simba best episode yet i think, but still a star wars 4 stars
5/22/05 Neckface Underated 5 stars
5/22/05 kaz better than the last two but not without flaws. 4 stars
5/22/05 P.Rodriguez Superb!! 5 stars
5/22/05 Zefram Mann Definately worth the wait. 5 stars
5/22/05 mariano1 meh 1 stars
5/22/05 Den Cool 5 stars
5/21/05 Stephen Best Yet 5 stars
5/21/05 luke awesome 5 stars
5/21/05 Titus Better, but still not great. 3 stars
5/21/05 Shawn it's alright, not the best Star Wars. 3 stars
5/21/05 Martin Schofield I thought it was brilliant and seamlessly integrated the computer effects with a surprising 5 stars
5/21/05 Marce Definetly worth watching! If only for the shirtless Hayden about an hour into the movie ;-) 4 stars
5/21/05 Cham You know how it ends, but it's still a thrill seeing it all play out. 5 stars
5/21/05 Stefan Fitting end to the new trilogy, only suffers from moments of over the top dialogue. 4 stars
5/21/05 mariano I bow to George Lucas. BILLIONS OF THANKS 5 stars
5/21/05 Paul Garchow Tedious dialogue to endure before rewarding action sequences. Padme deserved better! 4 stars
5/21/05 Hack-SAW Shoddy acting, questionable dialouge, long fight scenes... What can I say? 4 stars
5/21/05 malcolm fights: excellent. acting: stiff. suspense: none. we've known how it ends for 15 years. 3 stars
5/21/05 maysin willie aames If CGI & bad dialogue are your bag this is your movie 3 stars
5/21/05 Deb How good is this film! Wonderful job Mr. Lucas. 5 stars
5/21/05 Brig. Gen. Ripper The empire grows within you Darth Invader 5 stars
5/21/05 Vicious Bloody excellent. 5 stars
5/20/05 Mider Masterpeace 5 stars
5/20/05 Alex No words can describe it! 5 stars
5/20/05 Tyrantis Not on par with Empire, but it blows the prequels out of the water. 4 stars
5/20/05 Chudiza AWESOME!!! 5 stars
5/20/05 Intelligent One boring crap. Worse than the second and MUCH worse than the last three. 2 stars
5/20/05 Obi Wan A Very Good Movie. Yet it had the potential for much much more! 5 stars
5/20/05 Terry Good but bloated at times 3 stars
5/20/05 Cobra Commander Better than the first 2 but no Empire strikes back 3 stars
5/20/05 Ole Man Bourbon My girlfriend was bawling, to my amusement 5 stars
5/20/05 Kellie Go when you're wide awake, because it's fun to watch but takes so long to get through. 5 stars
5/20/05 Negative Exceeded my expectations. Thanks, George. 5 stars
5/20/05 Vman I could not agree more with Scott. A great film. 5 stars
5/20/05 Christy Schultz I loved it. It connects well to the last three films. 5 stars
5/20/05 Pliego Will definetly be remembered fondly by the fans and the general audience. 5 stars
5/20/05 michaelb14 A truely great Star Wars movie, a few flaws due to bad dialogue but otherwise.......Fucking 5 stars
5/19/05 John P. One word - wow. OK, two more - almost perfect. 5 stars
5/19/05 AndersonFilms.com The Bridge from this to the Movies made 30 years ago is perfect. 5 stars
5/19/05 Heasby Fantastic! 5 stars
5/19/05 Senator Blutarsky The scene with Palpatine vs. Windu was spectacularly evil 5 stars
5/19/05 Sanosuke George rewarded our patience! Great movie! 5 stars
5/19/05 Indrid Cold Spectacular Anakin vs. Obi-Wan finale, but somehow doesn't quite find the magic though. 4 stars
5/19/05 earl hofert Finally. 5 stars
5/19/05 Jim Groff The movie was great and a close second to Empire as being my favorite 5 stars
5/19/05 Kristina Williams seeing Padme croak was worth the wait 4 stars
5/19/05 Paul wait, Darth Vader is Luke Skywalker's father?? 4 stars
5/19/05 Melina Very sad, but fulfilling 5 stars
5/19/05 Darren Shea Dark and violent, its only flaw is the awful lack of chemistry between the "loving" couple. 4 stars
5/19/05 BrianWilly Totally worth it. Awesome in every way!! 5 stars
5/19/05 Brad totally makes up for the lacklustre ep1 and 2... great stuff 5 stars
5/19/05 Devastator Given me back some faith...I can understand Lucas' vision a little more 5 stars
5/19/05 JamesVG The very top of my expectations. I can stand being a fan again. 5 stars
5/19/05 Jack Bourbon Emotionally intense. Sad to see it end when it almost seems like a reborn franchise 5 stars
5/19/05 Ahnold The best of the 3 prequels. SW 1&2 better, but definitely worth a look 4 stars
5/19/05 bullit16 George Lucas ... you are forgiven for the mistakes of Episodes I and II 5 stars
5/19/05 mitchogletree as darth vader would say--- NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! (the killins' were good) 3 stars
5/19/05 croweater888 This smokes episode 1 and 2-its a fitting tie in to the classic originals 5 stars
5/18/05 Manik The best movie I've seen in my life! 5 stars
5/18/05 Gothmog The high note of the saga. 5 stars
5/18/05 Todd Better than Empire Strikes Back. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-May-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 01-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-May-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast