Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.55

Awesome67.11%
Worth A Look: 26.32%
Just Average: 3.95%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 2.63%

1 review, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Robocop (1987)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I'd buy THAT for a dollar!"
4 stars

Dead or alive, you're gonna watch this movie.

I saw this on cable just a few nights ago. It was edited, but even then, it's still damn good.

Say what you will about director Paul Verhoeven, but the guy makes violence cool. I like the fact that while this is an action movie, first and foremost, there's certain elements of satire. Not necessarily humor, like the forced one-liners of most action films, but genuine satire. Like a family boardgame called Nukem that plays like Battleship on crack. Or there's a scene where a robot police officer enters a boardroom full of executives. One exec is told to pull a gun on the machine to demonstrate its cpabilities. He does. The robot tells him to put down the weapon. He does. The robot tells him to put down the weapon again, counts to five, and then shoots the poor bastard. I laugh my ass off everytime I see that.

Anyway. It's Detroit sometime in the future, and crime's running rampant. Murphy (Peter Weller) is a hero cop who gets killed in the line of duty. Some guy gets the bright idea to make a cop who's part man, part machine, since cops are getting killed pretty frequently, most afraid to go out there. So Murphy, not by choice, becomes Robocop, a cyborg supercop who does what he can to clean up his town. He eventually goes after the man who killed him (Kurtwood Smith), who tells him he was put up to it by an exec of the company who ultimately built him (Ronny Cox). Robocop heads after him, then ends up in a fight with another big ol' robot.

Lots of action, lots of violence, and it's got that black comedy/satire feel to it. Weller is awesome as Robocop; he'd never have a role like that again.

Definitely one of the better action films out there.

Drop it!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1244&reviewer=7
originally posted: 11/09/98 10:47:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

3/10/15 Joe One of the best sci-fi movies ever 5 stars
12/30/10 Jeff Wilder Effective sci-fi action. Verhoeven's direction helps it rise above the pack. 4 stars
11/11/10 PAUL SHORTT VIOLENT BUT SHARP, SLICK, WELL MADE SCI-FI 4 stars
9/22/10 alex murphy i'm glad my personal nightmare amused you. thank you for your cooperation. 5 stars
9/27/08 Shaun Wallner I really enjoyed this film. 5 stars
7/09/08 ben dover awesome 5 stars
5/18/08 jm awesome! 5 stars
9/09/07 Jubei Great 90's ultra-violence.The only decent Robocop movie. 4 stars
7/10/07 fools♫gold Let's just say it's about as classic as "Secret Window"... 4 stars
7/08/07 action movie fan great sci/fi action film very violent at times but engrossing=highly recommended 5 stars
6/11/07 al smith a classic the violence in the uncut version is off the scale 5 stars
1/14/07 Austin Wertman liked it 4 stars
11/30/06 David Pollastrini brilliant, great gore 5 stars
9/21/06 Booksworm I was 3 years old in '90. Saw it then; too violent.Saw it again; fuckin' great. 5 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen Even a hack like Verhoeven can have a success now and then 5 stars
5/28/06 JM Synth A Masterpiece, and an introduction to one of the best characters of the last 20 years 5 stars
3/12/06 date movie sucks terrible movie 1 stars
10/29/05 chris great movie a classic !! 5 stars
8/16/05 ES brilliant, social commentary and lots of violence= to be followed by the worst tv show ever 5 stars
3/26/05 indrid cold Many hate Verhoeven, but this is fantastic sci-fi and wicked satire. 5 stars
2/05/05 Tom Benton A sci-fi masterpiece; Verhoeven knows what he's doing. 5 stars
11/18/04 Zeus everything about this movie was great 5 stars
4/17/04 BaztarD_101 An instant Sci-Fi classic 5 stars
2/16/04 Stefan Halka Only Verhoeven could transform a b-movie idea into a cool film. 4 stars
11/28/03 john a modern sci fi classic - ironic, intelligent and extremly violent 5 stars
10/21/03 Billy I agree.... Robocop 1 was a GREAT satirical action film. Weller was superb. 5 stars
7/17/03 Animator dude Brutal fun 5 stars
7/14/03 Jon Lyrik Hilarious, exciting, and slick: the perfect satrical action movie. 5 stars
7/11/03 Indrid Cold Subtle as a sledgehammer, but great action, wicked satire, and fantastic FX. 5 stars
6/30/03 AD fuckin great 5 stars
6/23/03 Jack Bourbon A little outdated now, but INCREDIBLE when it came out. 5 stars
4/22/03 mr. Pink "I'll buy that for a dollar!!" 5 stars
10/06/02 STEVE A.I. TERMINATOR ALIENS AN ROBOCOP.ILL BUY THAT FOR A DOLLAR HAHAHA.DID YOU GET YOUR SHOTS? 5 stars
6/24/02 the future of law enforcement A great story, awesome effects, inventive storytelling, cool dialogue, and a big-ass gun... 5 stars
4/23/02 maximal01 Well, this kicked a shit out of "Transformers" when it came to machines. Still enjoyable! 5 stars
4/10/02 R.W. Welch Good comic book sci-fi opus, jolly fun. 4 stars
2/26/02 Alan Smithee Superb. I've loved this movie ever since I was 12 in 1987. Check it out uncut though. 5 stars
2/18/02 Edwin She shouldn't have looked at his willy 5 stars
2/15/02 murat A MUST SEE.The motherfucker boddicker could have made part 2 great 4 stars
12/06/01 jawsboy a shitty and gritty cult classic. Not bad, but not great. 3 stars
11/30/01 travis what would happen if they show this at theaters again?i will by my ticket head of time 5 stars
11/23/01 Shams Huque A great sci-fi action film. 5 stars
11/11/01 Kenneth E. Carper Just try to make a better movie motherfucker just try! You cant! Robocop fuckin' rules!!!!! 5 stars
10/06/01 jawsboy good action and acting. great costume by bottin. an ok movie with cool idea, but overated.. 3 stars
9/17/01 Butterbean A pretty cool movie that was a novelty in it's day 5 stars
9/12/01 travis robertson wish i seen it at the movies 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg great idea 5 stars
6/21/01 dale hardiman an awesome film,paul verhoeven is the master of directing violent action films, 5 stars
6/14/01 zombie great action flick 5 stars
6/07/01 Rampage This movie owns. Hey SID, get a room! 5 stars
3/17/01 Corbin Dallas Kicks ass just like The Matrix, Fifth Element, or Total Recall. 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla i have to say that this was another great comic strip action flick!!! 5 stars
11/03/00 TJ St John DEAD OR ALIVE..... 5 stars
8/07/00 Jeff K. Kick ass. Often imitated, never duplicated. ED-209 owns you. 5 stars
2/15/00 Kyle Broflovski Dare I say it? A good, intelligent action picture. The sequels were shite, though... 5 stars
12/14/99 JASON dAL It is one of the best movie's i've ever seen. 5 stars
12/12/99 SID An overrated piece of shit. Starship Troopers was better. 1 stars
11/09/99 Gary Durso Directive 10 is to see this movie! 5 stars
9/19/99 Weird Andy "Bitches...Leave." 5 stars
9/16/99 strike this one can't be imitated. the one and only satire-action movie. 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg What's the big deal? I fell asleep halfway through. 3 stars
4/08/99 Ah Dooey Damn good movie. 4 stars
1/09/99 Johny Criterion's dvd is the best way to watch this very good film 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Verhoeven is one of the best!!! 5 stars
11/03/98 Bad Kosh Watched it 10 times, worth a look... one of my favorites! 4 stars
10/28/98 J-Guy (the MFC) I adored it when I was little. lots of action. exciting, good story. 4 stars
10/27/98 Lord Of The Dunce Verhoeven can direct. He always has an undertoned society commentary. Story often lacking. 4 stars
10/26/98 Negative Creep When this was released Murphy was one of the most human and feeling action heroes around. 5 stars
10/26/98 Silent Rob If they could only make an 'Iron Man' movie that was this good! The sequels SUCKED!! 5 stars
10/26/98 Cage One of my favs.. Great mix of action, story, humor, emotion, and blood!! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1987 (R)
  DVD: 08-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1988 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast