Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.49

Awesome: 22.54%
Worth A Look: 10.56%
Just Average: 8.45%
Pretty Crappy: 9.86%
Sucks48.59%

5 reviews, 112 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Showgirls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Ack. Ooh, nipples."
1 stars

You got something wrong with your nipples?

The great thing about this movie is that it doesn't realize how campy it is. It's all being played straight, like it's high drama, like it's Schindler's List in Vegas or something. But when you watch it, what are you feeling? Titillation? From extravagant costumes and choreographed dance? Or are you sitting in your living room, weeping, saying to no one in particular, "You know (sob) I really identify with Nomi?"

What it is, plain and simple, is a big Hollywood masturbation movie (don't see many of those, do ya?) that just doesn't work on any level. The characters are clones of every female character ever written by screenwriter Joe Eszterhas (Basic Instinct): the girls all use sharp objects (a switchblade shows up not five minutes in to the movie) and are bitchy as hell. They may kill you, too, but they also may have sex with you before they kill you. The men are lecherous with one or two redeeming qualities or saintly with a bunch of flaws.

Eszterhas also seems to think that all women talk like this: "Tell me, how do you like your breasts?"

Right.

Nomi (Elizabeth Berkley) dreams of a better life than just working in cheap, sleazy strip clubs. So she goes to Vegas to work in really expensive, high class strip clubs.

A girl's got to aim high, I guess.

It's not as kinky as Basic Instinct supposedly is, and it's not as dramatic as star Elizabeth Berkley thinks it is when she defends it. That's right, the only shock value comes from seeing the girl from Saved By The Bell showing us her boobies, and in a movie overflowing with nudity, it's not even all that shocking.

If you're looking for titillation, rent a porno. if you're looking for camp, rent Rocky Horror. But don't rent this.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1247&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/26/98 10:07:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 CineVegas Film Festival For more in the 2005 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/12/17 morris campbell shitty showgirls u should skip it 1 stars
4/24/15 David Hollingsworth Makes Howard the Duck look like The Third Man 1 stars
8/03/14 D. The R. The most abysmally awful big budget production of the 20th century, hands down! 1 stars
4/26/12 Hugh Grant Campy crap. How did Colin Firth miss out in getting a part in this pc? 1 stars
10/13/10 art LIZ BERKLY really show's off her "TALENT"S" 1 stars
9/11/10 Nadine Russo Saw it. It was all right. Gina Gershon is a great actress. 2 stars
6/12/10 PAUL SHORTT SHALLOW, SILLY AND BADLY ACTED 1 stars
12/25/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Typical Hollywood Hostess twnikie bull. Why didn't the public lap this up? 1 stars
4/18/08 Pamela White T and A but no more 1 stars
3/12/08 Bozzy Herpos This film is complete and utter shite. I agree with the reveiwer, it is high camp. Dogshit. 1 stars
7/19/06 David Cohen Pull yer head out John Smith: This movie sucks like a hoover 1 stars
6/09/05 Indrid Cold Despite the "so bad it's good" status, it really is not very enjoyable. 2 stars
6/04/05 Hack-SAW SORRY FOR THE RATING BUT... Gina Gershon WAS THE ONLY SAVING GRACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/19/05 That Guy As far as crappy movies go, this one, well...sucks. Yawn... 2 stars
3/11/05 The Sorrow Gina Gershon, was the only thing that was pure in this absolutley gritty flick... 3 stars
12/22/04 Jason Kaul Anybody who watched "Saved By The Bell" for Elizabeth Berkley should jack off to this movie 2 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams Versace never sounded so tacky 1 stars
12/02/04 luisalopez excelent movie 5 stars
9/27/04 ELI HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!! This shit is so STUPID!!!! 1 stars
9/04/04 Archanist_101 It's not TOO BAD... But it does go over board with the sexual & violent content... 4 stars
5/16/04 mwildema whoa! shouldn't this have a stronger rating 1 stars
2/28/04 Nicole Saw edited version on VH1 and it made no sense - probably because alot of the film was cut 2 stars
1/31/04 Cypher gg 5 stars
1/19/04 michel Totally agree with Mark Adnum's review. Verhoeven's gonna have the last word!! 5 stars
1/11/04 Farnq Y Fairly honest movie about showbiz 4 stars
12/31/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. Not a bad movie. To all who disagree, "Back off, motherfucker!" 3 stars
12/09/03 Samuel I was 6 when i watched it I dont really remember alot! 3 stars
11/30/03 I Would The funniest film ever made... oh it's not a comedy? Oh dear. 2 stars
11/28/03 john rather silly 2 stars
11/05/03 nil pretty 2 stars
10/02/03 Z - a WOMAN actually physically painful to watch. watched in disbelief of its badness (sob) 1 stars
9/29/03 JohnnyXXX Not as bad as what most people claimed it to be. It was quite entertaining. 4 stars
8/05/03 Double G Elizabeth Berkley is so hot, but its not such a great movie. 4 stars
8/05/03 AD it wasnt that bad 4 stars
8/03/03 Nicole Had no plot - perhaps because I saw the edited version, which cuts the movie in half 2 stars
7/02/03 Lush It's sheer cackiness actually makes it entertaining. 1 stars
6/25/03 Matthew Gutiérrez this movie really rocked, as opposed to others. i liked the dancing and elizabeth berkley 5 stars
5/18/03 Erykk Gershon is a doll...she is better than this. 1 stars
5/11/03 Jack Bourbon If I were making a T&A piece, I'd try to get someone hotter than Berkley (and likely fail) 1 stars
4/28/03 Mr. Do Entertaining. 4 stars
4/22/03 mr. Pink Reviewer Mark Adnum is right on the money on this one. 5 stars
4/07/03 Jack Sommersby Could have been a trashy classic had it not taken itself seriously. 2 stars
2/04/03 Atanu Nath a very smart review from Mark. hated the lead though. but i like Gershon. 3 stars
2/01/03 fjfvdd This one can only be enjoyed by morons with a shitload of time on their hands. 1 stars
11/10/02 Chiendog As much fun as a magnifying glass and an anthill on a sunny day. 4 stars
10/15/02 Ken Mark Adnum = Walter Chaw? Verhoeven deserved cancer for this. 1 stars
7/22/02 Mark Adnum Uh, that's a "NO" on both counts, jdajd 5 stars
7/18/02 jdajd Mark Adnum HAS to be related to someone in this movie or just a plain moron 1 stars
7/11/02 Mark Adnum Everybody's different, I guess, tad 5 stars
7/07/02 internetwhore hahahahahhaha! the funniest piece of celluloid to ever be let loose on the masses! 5 stars
6/23/02 Baal Can't understand any of the bad comments. Come on, people, it's fun to watch! 5 stars
4/25/02 Charles Tatum If I need boobs, I will just watch real porn 1 stars
4/16/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Does Kyle McLachlan have a chainsaw for a penis? He must the way she was thrashing around. 1 stars
4/03/02 jhon i like it 5 stars
4/02/02 Edfink Lombardo Shit, shit, shit. Laughably terrible dialogue and acting. An unerotic mess. 1 stars
3/07/02 Jenny Tullwartz Her name ain't even Lola. Doesn't even have very appealing nudity for those who want it. 2 stars
3/01/02 Mo Anand The critics hated it...I for one like it...it's entertaining. 4 stars
2/27/02 John Linton Roberson Definitely worth watching, among friends, mocking it merrily all the way through. 1 stars
2/26/02 Alan Smithee A truly awful film. But Gina Gershon is still one of the most beautiful women EVER!!!! 1 stars
2/01/02 Bertha Venation All its missing is Patty Duke, she could have played Helen Lawson this time 5 stars
12/03/01 Crunchyfrog I came and came and came...then left 5 stars
10/06/01 jawsboy great pussy & ass!! , piece of shit film making however 1 stars
9/20/01 Monster W. Kung Jake, you are the ultime joke on movie making. Cut your throat. This movie is horseshit! 1 stars
8/27/01 phil m. afficiando makes you wonder about the lives of those who made this thing 1 stars
8/18/01 Edwin Menguin Was this film deliberatley crap?, In the pool is she being knifed in the minge? 1 stars
6/28/01 Frank This movie is so wretched that it's fabulous! 4 stars
4/20/01 i love movies Coyote Ugly is worse! No jigglies in that one! 2 stars
4/17/01 fred not even a nice dick to look at.... boooooo 1 stars
3/27/01 The M.E. The most consistently awful, hilarious thing I've ever seen. Priceless entertainment. 5 stars
3/09/01 Jake I know its bad but it is sooo damn entertaining. 4 stars
3/07/01 I love movies was Verhoeven trying to make the worst movie of all time? I hope he was... 1 stars
2/20/01 Rocket Boy Possibly one of the worst Hollywood films ever, but for sheer laughter, wow. 5 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi This film is one reason Hollywood Bitchslap was born. 1 stars
1/31/01 jordan i've watched this film many times to try to like it. i can't. 1 stars
11/20/00 Randy Eischer The pork in the pool made it all worthwhile 3 stars
10/17/00 Croweater Was everyone on drugs in this movie?? God this was awful! 1 stars
10/04/00 terry c ah jeez i'm gonna be sick all over berkley,bbbllllaaaahhh 1 stars
9/18/00 Terrie Smith Absolute crap; one of the worst I've seen for many a year. Terrible acting. 1 stars
8/05/00 Bruce AWFUL 1 stars
7/13/00 ID This film is BAD 1 stars
6/24/00 SwatchDog Hilarious! I got it at Versase. Not Oscar Material, but has definitely earned cult status 5 stars
5/17/00 Creeper simply repulsive 1 stars
4/07/00 burdenit KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK 3 stars
3/24/00 Lipian Well, it wasnt that fucking great but the tits were o.k. 4 stars
2/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Pasties, periods, pussy-tarts--everything that sucks about being female... 1 stars
1/21/00 movieman It gave me a hard-on, I masturbate to it 1 stars
1/04/00 Nice Guy Eddie ranks as one of the worst movies I've seen, I was extremely bored throughout. 1 stars
12/05/99 Big M Quote from showgils: "I've eaten dogfood before"-"really?"-"Yeah."-"Yeah dogfood is nice." 2 stars
11/06/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Its my favourite scary movie , absolutely frightening . Randy Meeks 1 stars
9/24/99 alyssa Who the hell was she sleeping with?? Oh maybe Paul Verhoeven??? 1 stars
9/18/99 Real McCoy If you like PUSSY then you like this Movie 5 stars
9/17/99 TheScream Bad movies can be so delicious. This one is a hot fudge sundae. Not good for you, but yummy 5 stars
9/16/99 strike Let's just say that I think or at least hope that someday this movie won't be ridiculed. 4 stars
9/13/99 K Pillsbury pure, unadulterated crap 1 stars
8/17/99 John Roberson Should be shown to screenwriters as example of what not to do. 1 stars
7/10/99 Caligula Filming a turd for 2 hours would be more entertaining 1 stars
4/06/99 rich n great bodies,and funny it does't take itself serious. 4 stars
3/18/99 Bob "T I T S"; Ben is a faggot 5 stars
3/07/99 Ben Timms Lame, Lame, LAME!!! 1 stars
3/06/99 little jerry Elizabeth Berkley is like a blow-up doll come angrily alive.Best scene-sauce on the chips. 5 stars
3/04/99 Jimmi "Saved by the breats" 5 stars
2/06/99 Don Wilson Has some really cute pussy! 5 stars
1/09/99 Jo Mama oh my goodness! mercy! i saw gina girshon's boobies! 4 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink America is in denial to sexuality and their own society, the reaction to Showgirls provesit 5 stars
11/23/98 DrEvil Could only have been if Oprah was in it. "They took my milk." Gives me shivers. 1 stars
11/13/98 Rageboy BLAH! A big-budget porno that isn't even sexy. 1 stars
11/01/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Confrontational but more 'UMF' was needed,sexy and silly at the least. 4 stars
10/28/98 J-Guy (the MFC) boring crap. too much titty (if that's possible). badbadbad. 1 stars
10/27/98 Matt A.C. would be very dissapointed in little Jesse. 5 stars
10/27/98 Lord Of The Dunce Give this movie credit for being the perfect hype/promotion/masturbation vehicle. Great. 5 stars
10/26/98 Christ Monkey Joe Eszterhas is a dialogue genius! "Must be weird not having people cum on you!!!" GENIUS! 5 stars
10/26/98 Cage Didn't listen to anyone and rented it... I had hope, but was let down. Wanted more titty... 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Sep-1995 (R)
  DVD: 27-Jul-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Oct-1995 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast