Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.24

Awesome: 13.33%
Worth A Look: 10.67%
Just Average: 13.33%
Pretty Crappy: 12%
Sucks50.67%

1 review, 69 user ratings



Rocky 5
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"You 'n me...supposed to be like dis, Tommy!"
1 stars

Yo. This movie stinks. Yo.

Sly, Sly, Sly.

You had to go and play a charicature of a character. Why? Why did this movie need to be made?

Rocky (Stallone), now retired from boxing after sitting through a lengthy, pointless flashback from the last movie, decides to live vicariously through a young fighter, the unfortunately named Tommy Gunn (the now retired Tommy Morrison, who went pro after this movie was made) that he found essentially on the street. Rocky neglects his own kid (the unwilling - or unable - to act convincingly Sage Stallone) and spends his time training Tommy. Tommy gets a big head and joins a Don King-inspired promoter (Richard Gant), and then Rocky, fed up that he didn't get any credit for Tommy's success, beats the tar out of him in a street fight, televised live by newscrews.

Where are the cops when they should be figuring out why traffic's at a standstill because of a mob of people and an assault in the street?

Oh yeah, it's Rocky. Silly me. Let the boys fight.

Horribly acted. Morrison's a statue, and Stallone, as I said, isn't acting as Rocky, he's acting as everyone else acting as Rocky. Nevermind that Burgess Meredith's character died TWO movies ago, he's back for this one. So's Paulie (Burt Young), who's just about due to kick the bucket himself.

Adriaaaaaaaaaan (Talia Shire) frets, tells Rocky to not alienate his son, and hugs people.

Rocky beats Tommy up, and everyoe goes home happy.

Except for the audience.

A vanity project for a former box office star trying to recapture the glory. Too bad it's crap.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1252&reviewer=7
originally posted: 11/30/98 11:21:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/08/13 Neil The weakest of all the rocky movies. But it still wasnt that bad 3 stars
3/05/12 Monday Morning Laughably bad. Maybe Rocky 6 will be better. HA HA 2 stars
6/27/11 art Rocky at his most PATHETIC! 1 stars
4/30/11 Bronson I'm an angel on your shoulder" GAG."Frankie Fear(!) Vomit Sly n son stinks 1 stars
2/12/11 Monday Morning What a bunch of morons - including us for watching it. 2 stars
8/24/09 PAUL SHORTT WHEREAS THE FIRST AND SUPERIOR ROCKY HAD HEART, THIS TRIES AND FAILS TO HAVE BRAINS 1 stars
1/09/09 sayan gia ton poutso reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1 stars
2/19/08 Anthony Feor obviously the weakest of the series but still has some potential 3 stars
8/30/07 John Sferrazza This film is better now that it was not the last one -Rocky needed to find himself again 3 stars
8/08/07 EZ $$ worst rocky by far 2 stars
6/19/07 Charles Tatum Annoying, obvious, and sometimes inept 1 stars
2/02/07 MP Bartley Yeah, this one's pretty bad - street fight notwithstanding. Stallone plays a caricature. 2 stars
1/27/07 Rockyfan4life Wouldve been repetive to have Rocky box him, so the street fight worked.back to the roots 5 stars
8/22/06 David Cohen I actually liked it a lot better than Rocky 4 3 stars
5/24/06 Jack Sommersby Underrated, entertaining, and affecting stuff. 4 stars
4/14/06 Steven Lewis My least fav. of the 5 b/c Tommy Gunn is stupid but the film is a reflection of the first. 3 stars
2/23/06 akshai amazing film love da street fight best rocky 5 stars
2/12/06 Anthony Rocky just went down the drain 1 stars
1/25/06 JM Synth A pleasent, if unremarkable, end to the series; unworthy of the flack it recieved 4 stars
12/03/05 Keithers Worth seeing just to watch them talking about rockys past fights 2 stars
11/12/05 Clubber lang Decent storyline, but doesn't really work as a boxing movie. 3 stars
8/26/05 ES good, but sly should have held off til now to make this one and not fought with the kid 4 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy Better than Rhinestone 4 stars
5/27/05 tony This movie is sappy, chezzy and all the shit mixed into one. 2 stars
3/25/05 Cameron Cubbison Not as satisfying an entry, but the character comes full circle and there's good writing 4 stars
2/20/05 Mike Nothing more than exploitation of one or two great films. Out of ideas. Campy 1 stars
1/22/05 Jeff Anderson Pathetic waste of time! S.S., it's time to hang up your gloves with this once & for all! 1 stars
1/04/05 keithers.. 4 was a great ending for rocky fans....this ruins the whole thing 1 stars
7/14/04 Sean Scanlan The worst Rockky movie ever 1 stars
7/09/04 ram durai rocky the best 5 stars
6/30/04 Wayne Hughes Bloody silly purely for the fact that Rocky's kid has aged 6 years over night. 1 stars
3/23/04 Ken Stryker Made More Sence then Rocky 4 3 stars
3/04/04 Nixon very underrated! the "see it in your eyes" montage is amazing! 5 stars
1/18/04 michaelb14 One of the better Rocky Movies, not the standard formula 4 stars
1/16/04 J Part 4 should of been the last one! Who's up 4 a little street fight! 1 stars
12/06/03 john a versy sad end to one of the movies best loved chara - on the nose and rather dullchters 1 stars
10/04/03 Sugarfoot Not that bad....It has a few decent moments. 2 stars
5/31/03 Geo78665 Works better as a character driven movie, than a boxing one. 3 stars
5/05/03 Andrew Carden Stallone At His Best, but The Film Series At It's Weakest Point. Slow and Mindless. 3 stars
3/09/03 Jack Sommersby Surprisingly affecting. Some of Stallone's best acting. 4 stars
3/08/03 jack b nimble atrocious abortion 1 stars
5/16/02 Chris 'n' Conor Rocky would have been better off if Ivan Drago killed him too. 1 stars
3/12/02 Big Bird This is one of the best movies in the series. Ranks with 1 and 2. 3 and 4 could be skippe 5 stars
12/11/01 Todd Carmichael Rocky V sucks my quiet cock 1 stars
9/13/01 Cledus Brown cool movie 5 stars
4/13/01 Mike Tyson I want rocky, i am the best heavyweight ever, rocky aint in my league 5 stars
4/11/01 fifu oh god rocky no!!! 1 stars
3/25/01 Danielle its the best movie!besides Rockie 4 5 stars
1/02/01 David M. (The biggest Rocky fan ever) I loved Rock IV and lll but I hated Rocky V. It sucked so bad! 1 stars
11/27/00 Scott Rosier There is a reason that only the first 4 are shown during Rocky marathons on TBS 2 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla do yourself a favor and don't watch the shitty sequels, watch the original, this is garbage 1 stars
10/29/00 Luke I think Rocky 5 was great. I mean after he lost all his money he went back to being poor 5 stars
8/22/00 zall You Adriaan I fell down and cant get up 1 stars
6/15/00 Lester Piggot Not a very game filly 1 stars
4/19/00 Jason Quinn Rocky 5 doesn't exist as far I'm concerned. 1 stars
4/06/00 SID Maybe in a few years it will get the respect it deserves. Okay, maybe not. 4 stars
3/11/00 August Gorman Can Rocky Get Any Better!! Excellent !! CANT WAIT FOR ROCKY 6 SUPERB 5 stars
1/08/00 John Markham I feel sorry for everyone involved in this, your families must be ashamed. 1 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Good idea's maybe hard to come by but it doesn't mean you have to resort to making this . 1 stars
9/16/99 Jeff Michels just piss poor 1 stars
8/19/99 JussMe Juss Fuckin Sucks!!! 1 stars
8/18/99 Jason Kinsey Not the best film I've ever seen. I've seen better porn films. 2 stars
8/13/99 Deanna V for vomit. Stallone wants to make Rocky VI, someone stop him pleeeese!! 1 stars
7/06/99 Ben Leostein Rating: 0 (out of ****) Category: "Terrible" 1 stars
2/19/99 Piz if R1-4 didn't come before, it's a decent film to watch, could have been worse. 3 stars
12/20/98 Binky A travesty in every respect. Stinker. Not even fans of Sly will like it. 1 stars
11/03/98 Bad Kosh Oh boy.... What the hell's wrong with Rocky V? God, that sucked! 1 stars
11/02/98 Silent Rob Oh, I get it, now Rocky's all human-n-shit, again, right? Arrrgh! 1 stars
10/31/98 Oz Total crap. Self indulgence. Shouldn't have happened. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1990 (PG-13)
  DVD: 08-Feb-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1990 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast