Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome41.3%
Worth A Look: 20.65%
Just Average: 10.87%
Pretty Crappy: 20.65%
Sucks: 6.52%

1 review, 86 user ratings



Rocky 4
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Russians are evil. Rocky will hurt them."
2 stars

Wow. Americans. They can beat ANYONE! Scary Black Men (Rocky 1-3), and now Evil Russians!

In this epic, another one of Rocky's friends dies. But this time it's because he gets pounded in the head several times by Dolph Lundgren. Quite frankly, I couldn't blame Dolph; the whole James Brown musical number leading up to the fight woulda made me ready to kill too. So Rocky gets all mad, declares revenge, Adrian tells him not to fight, Pauly drinks, Mickey…well, Mickey doesn't do much. He died in the last one. I guess Mickey gears up for his role in the "Grumpy Old Men" series. So anyways, Rocky goes to Russia and trains to the strains of some Scorpions or Air Supply tune…Why do most Rocky training sequences involve mostly household chores? In this one, he chops a lot of wood. I can't wait for the next Rocky, where he vacuums.
In the end, there's a big fight, and Rocky loses for most of it, and then the crowd starts chanting "Rocky, Rocky, Rocky", which strikes me as odd, because all the crowd is made up of evil Russians, some of whom are wearing "Bud Light" T-shirts. Rocky fights back, and…oh, I wouldn't dream of giving away the amazing surprise ending.
This movie could double as a political ad for the Cold War days. The USA will defeat Russia because, well, they've got heart. Of course, the Russians have steroids, but never mind. My favorite character in this movie is Apollo Creed, mostly because I envy him. He died early, and didn't have to suffer through the rest of this shitpile.

Watch this film if you doubt the almighty power of the USA! USA! USA! USA! USA!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1253&reviewer=27
originally posted: 11/03/98 11:38:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/05/15 johnnyfaye Make no mistake, this is a bad movie that possesses an excellent end fight. Maybe the best? 2 stars
2/12/11 Monday Morning What are youse doin? I'm singlehandedly bringin down Commonizm. Yo. 2 stars
8/29/10 JIM rocky looking around his corner man @ drago and drago doing the same each warrior standsup 5 stars
8/13/10 art "THE BEST ROCKY MOVIE", I ROLL MY eye's! 3 stars
7/23/10 bagwell5 2nd worst in the series( 5 is the worst ). Half the movie is a music video & flashbacks 2 stars
10/24/09 Jewel OMG! I luv it!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/21/09 PAUL SHORTT A CAMP CLASSIC, FUNNY FOR ALL THE WRONG REASONS 2 stars
8/06/09 SailorStrawberryKagome One of the greatest movies of all time 5 stars
6/16/08 Johnnyfaye Temple of Doom cyndrom...shit movie with the best ending I have ever seen......means decent 3 stars
5/26/08 Subhajit its the best of all sequels, blood warming movie and extremely motivating 5 stars
4/01/08 Tim Incredibly simpleminded but also very enjoyable and exciting; succeeds on a visceral level 3 stars
2/19/08 Anthony Feor A typical American propaganda machine that is saved by the best fight and training montage 3 stars
2/09/08 bloomy On a par with Rocky II as the best of the series 5 stars
8/08/07 EZ $$ Ah such a great movie 5 stars
6/27/07 David Pollastrini best of the sequels 3 stars
6/16/07 johnnyfog Drago and his wife have matching haircuts 4 stars
3/06/07 Stu Easily The Best Rocky Movie! 5 stars
8/22/06 David Cohen Ah, remember the Reagan years? 2 stars
6/05/06 Wipef A Good movie with great Boxing violence. 4 stars
3/19/06 Klondo eat shit, Hawkboy. Bring on part 6. 5 stars
2/12/06 Anthony A stereotypical movie and it was great 4 stars
1/28/06 Michael Rocky Rocky Rocky 4 stars
12/03/05 Keithers There is nooooo reason to like this film but Rocky That final fight wins you over everytime 4 stars
8/26/05 ES 'I must break you', drago rules 4 stars
8/02/05 ALDO OK, some really bad scenes, but awesome montages, and I get a boner when Rocky cuts Drago 4 stars
6/24/05 Mr Fluffy The best Rock film bar none. Better even than Over the Top 5 stars
6/19/05 paulie mike sucks dick for not liking this.... what a fag 5 stars
6/01/05 jo Very action packed movie 5 stars
5/27/05 tony EXELLENT PICTURE! Rocked my world 5 stars
5/14/05 Indrid Cold Ludicrous, but still a wonderfully exhilirating, patriotic experience. 4 stars
3/25/05 Cameron Cubbison The most personal battle, slam-bang action. Awesome training montage. Talia Shire is great 5 stars
2/20/05 Mike Ridiculous pummelfest. About as unrealistic and stupid as it gets. 1 stars
1/04/05 keithers.. It's bad...but boy doesn't it get the adrenaline going!! 2 stars
12/03/04 Steven See Rocky is like watching your dead grandmother climb a tree with monkeys. Oh and I am gay 2 stars
11/18/04 Zeus why did Apollo have to go? 4 stars
8/11/04 Summer I love the action 5 stars
7/08/04 YASSER SHAWKY I ADORE Sylvester Stallone 5 stars
4/05/04 Dean Corney but good 4 stars
2/08/04 Nixon "I must break you!" what a classic adrenaline rushing movie. DRAGO is a tough ass! 5 stars
1/16/04 J Hey!! Hey!! Rocky vs the Ruskie 4 stars
12/06/03 john an overly long music video with a stupid cold war "message" for the simple minded 2 stars
7/28/03 Monster W. Kung Another piece of crap from Stallone's staples. 1 stars
7/08/03 Alex Damn Ruskys 5 stars
5/22/03 John John Johnson Italian midget beats up tall commusist scum 5 stars
5/15/03 dl77 motivating 5 stars
5/05/03 Andrew Carden Fantastic Flashback Sequence, Stallone Is Good, but The Spark Is Gone. Overlong. 3 stars
4/02/03 Gary D This was my favorite growing up..... 5 stars
3/24/03 Sugarfoot Very bad, but very entertaining 2 stars
3/11/03 Albert Cruz Stallion at his best a perfect (5 out of 5) 5 stars
3/09/03 Jack Sommersby Barely recommendable. More a music video than a film. 3 stars
3/08/03 jack b nimble Propoganda at it's finest ...also see rambo2 5 stars
1/31/03 Maz good film but in reality the russian would have beaten the crap out of rocky! 5 stars
4/09/02 Nick This is the greatest movie ever 5 stars
3/07/02 Mo Anand The best of the series...great flashback sequence with great music 4 stars
1/07/02 sumit some gr8 movies are there & this one is also 5 stars
12/08/01 Cracked head Very godawful. 1 stars
10/28/01 Shams Huque The training montage was pretty cool! 4 stars
10/18/01 Ninja Boy I LOVE THIS MOVIE!AND WHY DO THE CRITICS ALWAYS WANT EMOTIONS IN EACH AND EVERY MOVIE. 5 stars
8/11/01 mn Even though I know how it will end, I still get so caught up in it every time I watch it. 5 stars
7/28/01 JesseL Brigitte could have kicked Stallone's ass. She probably did in real life. 1 stars
6/12/01 A.V. Scott This movie is the third only to Slap Shot and Animal House 5 stars
4/11/01 fifu bad but has a great match at the end (endure crap for the finally) 2 stars
3/25/01 Danielle this my fave movie EVER how could it get any thing besides an awesome! 5 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung The lowest point of the whole series. After this tripe I didn't bother seeing Rocky V. 1 stars
1/26/01 Tony Letizio It's a movie, not a documentary; it's not supposed to be realistic. This movie is great. 5 stars
1/02/01 David M. (The biggest Rocky fan ever) Rocky IV is the best! I cant believe people hate it. 5 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla ok the fourth one, falls down as an incompetent, patriotic-ass piece of shit 2 stars
10/31/00 Robert Blackwell This is one of my favorite movies of all time its the best 5 stars
10/28/00 JOSE MUY BUENA DEMASIADO BUENA 5 stars
6/13/00 Terry screw realism! superb! worth watching for the training scenes alone. 4 stars
5/20/00 Steve Layne No other movie gets me more pumped up than this one. Also Its the best in the series. 5 stars
5/19/00 Matt Come on, dude... its awesome for a Rocky movie. Best fight of the series!! 4 stars
2/29/00 Bill Awesome training scenes. 5 stars
2/05/00 Steve Layne The most exciing and entertaining in the series 5 stars
12/31/99 Chad Mureta FUCK YOU HAWKBOY...I THOUGHT ROCKY 4 WAS A KICK ASS MOVIE !!!! 5 stars
12/23/99 Brandon Decker It was a great film, it showed great courage and heart. 4 stars
11/18/99 Gary Durso Lots of excitement....just dont look for logic 4 stars
10/27/99 David Daly It was awful. Stallone embarrased himself. 1 stars
7/06/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **½ (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
6/28/99 Breshnev Apollo Creed (Carl Weathers) was great as usual. A real human character. 5 stars
2/19/99 Piz great soundtrack, only the fight was cool, Dolf made a nice bad guy. 3 stars
11/03/98 Bad Kosh Get rid of the Russian Rocky, he's a bad boy. Bad to the bone.... 2 stars
11/02/98 Silent Rob Well done, flag waving crap. Sly to his audience, "I must break you!" 2 stars
11/01/98 Vick Di Brecci You will lose... if you ever have to sit through this movie more than once 3 stars
11/01/98 Negative Creep Worst of the Series. but damn it all. KILL the Russian ROCKY! 3 stars
10/31/98 Oz Despite this being totally stereotypical, it was a pretty damn good film to sit through. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1985 (PG)
  DVD: 08-Feb-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1986 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast