Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 19.2%
Worth A Look39.2%
Just Average: 20.8%
Pretty Crappy: 8%
Sucks: 12.8%

8 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Wedding Crashers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Isla Fisher is the cutest thing...ever."
4 stars

“Wedding Crashers” made me laugh. It entertained me; it made me smile and pretty much wiped me clean in the giggle department. I can’t say much in defence for its flimsy plot about these two guys who crash weddings; add to that some of the totally unnecessary supporting characters, and especially for how the film somewhat derails at the end, but I was having such a good time getting there that the flaws didn’t matter all that much.

This insane comedy works for the most part for the delirious performance by Vince Vaughn. Playing a fast talking divorce lawyer named Jeremy Klein; the man’s speed of his comedic routine is nothing short of amazing. Partnered with fellow lawyer John Beckwith (Owen Wilson), the two make interesting pair who have an even more interesting pastime: Wedding season – the season where they show up at weddings uninvited and eat, drink, and, most importantly, woo the female species with their talents.

The film’s first twenty minutes are a riot, where we see Jeremy and John in action at various weddings around their Washington D.C. home, using different aliases and varying job descriptions just in case anyone asks where these two guys came from. Jumping into every shenanigan at the party and using every hook (John dancing with the flower girl, Jeremy making balloon animals for the kids) up their sleeve, their outgoing personality gets them exactly what they want.

At one particular wedding however, things come to a head. John and Jeremy crash a wedding where the father of the bride is none other than Mr. Cleary (Christopher Walken), who is the Secretary of the Treasury for the government. It’s here that Jeremy meets Mr. Cleary’s daughter Gloria (Isla Fisher), a young bridesmaid that may not be all she’s cracked up to be, and where John meets Gloria’s sister Claire (Rachel McAdams from The Notebook), another bridesmaid who seems to like John enough, but already has a boyfriend (Bradley Cooper) who is rich and well groomed enough into the family.

It’s funny to see the dramatic role reversal that happens in “Wedding Crashers.” For John, who is beginning to question the very reason why they crash all these weddings (he’s beginning to find it a bit redundant) falls for Claire while under a false identity. And for Jeremy, he is taken over by the ecstatic Gloria who turns out to be a nymphomaniac and won’t give him a moment alone. Their friendship is also tested as they head back to the Cleary residence and stay over for the night. Jeremy wants nothing more than to get away before the truth gets out, but John wants to be closer to Claire no matter what.

The film’s success rests on the lead performances. Vince Vaughn does his best work since Swingers here; fast-talking and fiercely improvisational, his best moments come when he tries to talk himself out of a situation. He’s such a wild card that he makes Owen Wilson tame by comparison, but thankfully Wilson is still funny and likable. Rachel McAdams is just as likeable here as she was in “The Notebook” from last year, and Isla Fisher (whose last credit is “Scooby Doo” of all movies) is wonderful as Gloria. She has some of the funniest moments in the film, especially in one scene where she tells Jeremy not to leave her. (“Don’t you ever leave me, because I’ll find you!” she says with a scary giggle.)

Of course, the film is problematic. Cleary’s wife (Jane Seymour) comes onto John in one scene and their tryst is completely forgotten afterwards. Claire’s boyfriend, who becomes her fiancée during the course of the film, is unrealistically evil. And sadly, for a film with Christopher Walken, there are no Walken Moments anywhere to be found (you know, the ones where he hilariously stops the film in its tracks by way of his trademark bad joke or gesture). Events fall even more apart at the end when John goes after Claire. The film’s running time is 118 minutes and could have easily been trimmed by about 20 or so.

With all of that said, I laughed more during “Wedding Crashers” than any other film this year. The film works on the strength of how far John and Jeremy will go in their wedding crashing quest, and it’s nice to see a comedy in this day and age that’s not a remake or a sequel. It may not be perfect, but it’s pretty damn funny.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=12583&reviewer=350
originally posted: 07/21/05 23:39:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/15/15 stanley welles sloppy and endless and endlessly sloppy 1 stars
4/11/10 art AN EXCELLENT SATIRE!,don't let this one get away! 5 stars
7/11/09 the dork knight About as overrated as Something About mary, and not as funny. 3 stars
10/20/08 RYAN GILBEY Dan Burns should have gotten a nomination for Creating Wedding Crashers the best Comedy eve 5 stars
10/16/08 BIG FAN DAN BURNS THE CREATOR OF 2005 #1 COMEDY "WEDDING CRASHERS" HIT A HOME RUN AGAIN, BEST FILM 5 stars
7/29/08 the dork knight It gets funnier toward the end, but not by much 3 stars
6/20/08 PAUL SHORTT BY MY COUNT, IT DOESNT JUST CRASH, IT BURNS 1 stars
6/25/07 johnnyfog Overrated. Vaughn's scenes are funny, but the rest is blah. 3 stars
5/12/07 Claude Tyson Claudelicous so delicious gecko bags 1 stars
4/17/07 David Pollastrini lots of hot women in this! 3 stars
2/24/07 AJ Muller Funny as all hell; Vaughn and Wilson lock it up, Walken rocks, McAdams is perfect. 4 stars
12/29/06 DavidWebber Good not great, but fun. 4 stars
12/12/06 Dude Very Funny 4 stars
11/10/06 Jamethon At last! A COMPLETELY laugh-free comedy! How bold and original! 1 stars
10/19/06 LaWRY I BASHED UP THEO pardoen 1 stars
10/13/06 Eric It was alright... overrated though. Some funny scenes, but lots of gaps in between them. 3 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard YUCK! I got up and left the theater after 30 minutes. Stupid & idiodic. 1 stars
9/13/06 Travis Barker this movie was a good funny laugh, my homeboys and i comment the jokes all the time 5 stars
8/01/06 drydock54321 nice funny movie 4 stars
7/31/06 Mike Brian McKay is an ignorant jack ass 5 stars
7/30/06 Lawrence Sabadi Lawry Kix Ass 1 stars
6/07/06 Ashley Hinz Rent or buy the Unrated Version, just to see the grandma some more. 5 stars
6/04/06 millersxing Definitely not on my all-time list of funniest comedies. Ho-hum. 3 stars
5/22/06 Lawrence Sabadi very funny movie...................lawry rules 2006 4 stars
3/11/06 Chris Wilbik Pretty lame, not many funny scenes and rather boring. 2 stars
3/06/06 Steven Lewis hilarious, a must own 5 stars
1/23/06 Phil M. Aficionado Just read EricDSnider's review. Spot on. Cute flick but nothing special 3 stars
1/23/06 Del Very few funny parts. Turned the DVD off halfway through. 1 stars
1/17/06 Ole Man Bourbon Nothing even happens during the first hour. Meh. 2 stars
1/15/06 Jim Cute but overly long. Like a wedding reception. 4 stars
1/14/06 chris f really funny film 5 stars
1/08/06 Anthony Feor It loses a star for Bore and stupid crude humor that was not needed, But still funny 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth Okay but too many romcom cliches, not enough laughs, overated 3 stars
1/01/06 Jeff Anderson Hilarious & refreshingly alive! Vaughn & Wilson are great, but Fisher is an absolute scream 5 stars
12/24/05 emre kaplan very very very sweat girl claire cleary.... 5 stars
10/31/05 TESSA A. EBARRETE TEH BEST COMEDY FILM I'VE SEEN IN YEARS. THE TEAM UP OF OWEN AND RACHEL IS GREAT. HOPE THEY 5 stars
10/26/05 Michael Kondo this movie was actually quite funny, i had my doubts when i first got there but it was good 5 stars
10/26/05 venty Hi-o 5 stars
10/26/05 deadwiz The begining was slow and repetitive, after that a decent flick. 3 stars
10/25/05 The EZ1 Best Comedy of the Year...so far. 4 stars
10/17/05 Agent Sands 1st 45 minutes: Hilarious pretend-con flick. After that: A ridiculous, uneven mess. 3 stars
10/11/05 Adrienne Absolutely hilarious, laughed so hard, I started to cough, I'll wanna learn every line 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod absolutely an insult to human intelligence the lowest of the low 1 stars
9/05/05 Frenzy Really good comedi 4 stars
8/24/05 Tom Benton One of the best comedies of the last decade. Wilson, Vaughn and Jane Seymour are excellent. 4 stars
8/22/05 deeza Pathetic, not funny, poor script - a mess. 1 stars
8/13/05 Zephyr J Hideous. Awful Directing sinks good cast. 1 stars
8/11/05 Sully Isla Fisher can tie me up any night....she's on fire...!!!! 4 stars
8/10/05 Christian This movie was very unfunny. Just watch for the great chemistry between Wilson & Vaughn. 2 stars
8/08/05 Taylor Fladgate A very fun romp...as a comedy, it's the best this year 5 stars
8/06/05 sbpat21 very funny, but way too long 4 stars
8/06/05 Roy Smith I liked Will Farrel. The End Times are Here! 5 stars
8/05/05 Will S Nice, funny movie - yes its an unoriginal plot, but the script and acting are brilliant! 4 stars
8/05/05 Christopher Jones This movie was a very funny movie. This is the most laughs I've had in a while. 5 stars
8/03/05 orpy worst movie I've seen in a while 1 stars
8/03/05 Dan Great first half, crappy second half 3 stars
8/01/05 Clatz Laughed hard at times, but what was up with Walken? He looked half asleep in this film. 4 stars
8/01/05 Greg This is what the older comedy audience has been waiting for since American Wedding. 5 stars
7/31/05 R clarance, autumn, i don't want to criticize you, i just want to understand you.. 1 stars
7/29/05 Zandalee There has been too much hype for this mediocre movie. 2 stars
7/28/05 Autumn This was an awesome film. I haven't laughed so hard in a longtime. My stomach hurt aftwrd 5 stars
7/27/05 JoH2O I loved it, Miss _h fuck you 5 stars
7/26/05 Laura Lee Macleod stupid, boring not funny movie, big let-down 1 stars
7/26/05 miss_h how bmuch more BAD FILMS & BAD ACTORS playing stoopid parts for way too much money? 1 stars
7/25/05 Indrid Cold All the romantic comedy cliches are forgivable because it's actually funny. 4 stars
7/25/05 ClaranceTheCobra 2hrs of laughs ++ Hilarious dialogue, and priceless scenes 5 stars
7/22/05 Dan Too much off a romntic comedy. Would have been better if it were more like "Old School" 3 stars
7/21/05 jcjs fun, funny, light hearted, good time, laughs 4 stars
7/21/05 Vince An AWESOME FILM. Better second time viewing cuz u actually catch hidden jokes. 5 stars
7/17/05 kerry Too much language and sexual stuff 1 stars
7/17/05 cpbjr did drag, but owen and vaughn were TREMENDOUS! 5 stars
7/17/05 KCobain Vaughn elevates this. 4 stars
7/16/05 8=====D so sexy 8=======D *fap* *fap* *fap* 5 stars
7/16/05 ajay was laughing out loud for the first 3/4, the last bit kept it from being fuckin' awesome 4 stars
7/16/05 astrotart Edited down to 90 min, this movie would have been awesome. Vaughn was absolutely precious! 4 stars
7/16/05 Jim The Movie Freak Reasonably entertaining. Special cameo steals the show. Vaughn was hysterical 3 stars
7/08/05 Ray Average 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jul-2005 (R)
  DVD: 03-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Aug-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast