Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 19.2%
Worth A Look39.2%
Just Average: 20.8%
Pretty Crappy: 8%
Sucks: 12.8%

8 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Wedding Crashers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by brianorndorf

"Vaughn and Wilson hit a home run"
4 stars

When “Wedding Crashers” feels up to it, the film is a hilarious vehicle for Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson to shake their comedic talents. However, someone forgot to mention that “Crashers” is a comedy to the director, who insists, regardless if it fits the framework of the picture, that “Crashers” is more of a romantic film. Thankfully, he’s overruled most of the time.

John (Owen Wilson) and Jeremy (Vince Vaughn) are two divorce mediators who share an interesting hobby: they love to crash weddings. Swallowing the atmosphere, cake, and women whole as they parade around any celebration they can get into, the duo finds the crash of the century in the marriage of a politician’s (Christopher Walken) daughter. When John takes a unexpected liking to a bridesmaid named Claire (Rachel McAdams, “The Notebook”), he drags Jeremy to the her family’s summer house for the weekend, where the deception and miscommunication starts to pile high, riling up mean boyfriends (Bradley Cooper), smitten fellow bridesmaids (a perfectly goofy Isla Fisher), and Jeremy’s tolerance for catastrophe.

Working distantly together in a comedy troupe (with Ben Stiller, Jack Black, and Will Ferrell) that I’m shocked hasn’t been given a name yet, “Wedding Crashers” marks the first co-starring collaboration between Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn. These two comic dynamos were born to play with each other, and “Crashers” is a great vehicle to let them shine. That is, when it wants to be funny.

“Crashers” has a unique director behind it in David Dobkin, Vaughn’s partner-in-crime for 1998’s underrated serial killer comedy, “Clay Pigeons.” Dobkin doesn’t come to “Crashers” with an innate knowledge of what makes Wilson and Vaughn tick, and is content to merely run the camera in front of these two as they burst through their shtick, hoping to snag some gems in the process. For most of the film, this process works. “Crashers” is achingly hilarious, trampling through wedding clichés and lothario routines with an ease that can only come from the two leads.
Agreeably R-rated, “Crashers” is a lewd creation that gets a real charge out of sex jokes and sticking Vaughn into any uncomfortable sexual or social situation Dobkin and the screenplay can find for his character. And that’s all you need, really. Wilson and Vaughn are razor sharp, and between their instinctive chemistry and Vaughn’s heaven-sent improvisational skills, they take the script to places it only dreamt about before. However, somewhere in the mix, Dobkin became scared. The result is that “Crashers” takes a baton to the knees.

Running an astounding two hours in length, “Crashers” starts to feel heavy in the third act, where the jokes suddenly halt and Dobkin’s unreal belief that the audience is way into these characters takes over. The “Crashers” screenplay sticks closely to clichéd structure, and it’s disappointing to see Dobkin afraid to wander too far from it. The film is so confident and alive when it just wants to tickle the funny bone, yet feels heavy and labored when it returns to the plight of Claire and John, even allowing real drama to enter into the equation. That just isn’t right. A film of this comedic caliber shouldn’t be stopping to pluck heartstrings. In the end, Dobkin breaks the momentum completely, and he loses the hilarity that was once as easy as a snap of the fingers.

“Wedding Crashers” doesn’t exactly die in the end. The lively performances from Rachael McAdams (a true talent in the making) and Isla Fisher compliment Vaughn and Wilson terrifically. And, for the fans, there’s even a fun cameo to keep the audience alert. While the absence of a comedic home run is felt here, that doesn’t prevent “Wedding Crashers” from having moments of unbelievable fun and hilarity.

Dobkin tries hard to sour it, but you can almost never go wrong with the sight of Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn together, hitting on wedding guests and doing their best to out-funny each other.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=12583&reviewer=404
originally posted: 07/15/05 09:12:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/15/15 stanley welles sloppy and endless and endlessly sloppy 1 stars
4/11/10 art AN EXCELLENT SATIRE!,don't let this one get away! 5 stars
7/11/09 the dork knight About as overrated as Something About mary, and not as funny. 3 stars
10/20/08 RYAN GILBEY Dan Burns should have gotten a nomination for Creating Wedding Crashers the best Comedy eve 5 stars
10/16/08 BIG FAN DAN BURNS THE CREATOR OF 2005 #1 COMEDY "WEDDING CRASHERS" HIT A HOME RUN AGAIN, BEST FILM 5 stars
7/29/08 the dork knight It gets funnier toward the end, but not by much 3 stars
6/20/08 PAUL SHORTT BY MY COUNT, IT DOESNT JUST CRASH, IT BURNS 1 stars
6/25/07 johnnyfog Overrated. Vaughn's scenes are funny, but the rest is blah. 3 stars
5/12/07 Claude Tyson Claudelicous so delicious gecko bags 1 stars
4/17/07 David Pollastrini lots of hot women in this! 3 stars
2/24/07 AJ Muller Funny as all hell; Vaughn and Wilson lock it up, Walken rocks, McAdams is perfect. 4 stars
12/29/06 DavidWebber Good not great, but fun. 4 stars
12/12/06 Dude Very Funny 4 stars
11/10/06 Jamethon At last! A COMPLETELY laugh-free comedy! How bold and original! 1 stars
10/19/06 LaWRY I BASHED UP THEO pardoen 1 stars
10/13/06 Eric It was alright... overrated though. Some funny scenes, but lots of gaps in between them. 3 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard YUCK! I got up and left the theater after 30 minutes. Stupid & idiodic. 1 stars
9/13/06 Travis Barker this movie was a good funny laugh, my homeboys and i comment the jokes all the time 5 stars
8/01/06 drydock54321 nice funny movie 4 stars
7/31/06 Mike Brian McKay is an ignorant jack ass 5 stars
7/30/06 Lawrence Sabadi Lawry Kix Ass 1 stars
6/07/06 Ashley Hinz Rent or buy the Unrated Version, just to see the grandma some more. 5 stars
6/04/06 millersxing Definitely not on my all-time list of funniest comedies. Ho-hum. 3 stars
5/22/06 Lawrence Sabadi very funny movie...................lawry rules 2006 4 stars
3/11/06 Chris Wilbik Pretty lame, not many funny scenes and rather boring. 2 stars
3/06/06 Steven Lewis hilarious, a must own 5 stars
1/23/06 Phil M. Aficionado Just read EricDSnider's review. Spot on. Cute flick but nothing special 3 stars
1/23/06 Del Very few funny parts. Turned the DVD off halfway through. 1 stars
1/17/06 Ole Man Bourbon Nothing even happens during the first hour. Meh. 2 stars
1/15/06 Jim Cute but overly long. Like a wedding reception. 4 stars
1/14/06 chris f really funny film 5 stars
1/08/06 Anthony Feor It loses a star for Bore and stupid crude humor that was not needed, But still funny 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth Okay but too many romcom cliches, not enough laughs, overated 3 stars
1/01/06 Jeff Anderson Hilarious & refreshingly alive! Vaughn & Wilson are great, but Fisher is an absolute scream 5 stars
12/24/05 emre kaplan very very very sweat girl claire cleary.... 5 stars
10/31/05 TESSA A. EBARRETE TEH BEST COMEDY FILM I'VE SEEN IN YEARS. THE TEAM UP OF OWEN AND RACHEL IS GREAT. HOPE THEY 5 stars
10/26/05 Michael Kondo this movie was actually quite funny, i had my doubts when i first got there but it was good 5 stars
10/26/05 venty Hi-o 5 stars
10/26/05 deadwiz The begining was slow and repetitive, after that a decent flick. 3 stars
10/25/05 The EZ1 Best Comedy of the Year...so far. 4 stars
10/17/05 Agent Sands 1st 45 minutes: Hilarious pretend-con flick. After that: A ridiculous, uneven mess. 3 stars
10/11/05 Adrienne Absolutely hilarious, laughed so hard, I started to cough, I'll wanna learn every line 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod absolutely an insult to human intelligence the lowest of the low 1 stars
9/05/05 Frenzy Really good comedi 4 stars
8/24/05 Tom Benton One of the best comedies of the last decade. Wilson, Vaughn and Jane Seymour are excellent. 4 stars
8/22/05 deeza Pathetic, not funny, poor script - a mess. 1 stars
8/13/05 Zephyr J Hideous. Awful Directing sinks good cast. 1 stars
8/11/05 Sully Isla Fisher can tie me up any night....she's on fire...!!!! 4 stars
8/10/05 Christian This movie was very unfunny. Just watch for the great chemistry between Wilson & Vaughn. 2 stars
8/08/05 Taylor Fladgate A very fun romp...as a comedy, it's the best this year 5 stars
8/06/05 sbpat21 very funny, but way too long 4 stars
8/06/05 Roy Smith I liked Will Farrel. The End Times are Here! 5 stars
8/05/05 Will S Nice, funny movie - yes its an unoriginal plot, but the script and acting are brilliant! 4 stars
8/05/05 Christopher Jones This movie was a very funny movie. This is the most laughs I've had in a while. 5 stars
8/03/05 orpy worst movie I've seen in a while 1 stars
8/03/05 Dan Great first half, crappy second half 3 stars
8/01/05 Clatz Laughed hard at times, but what was up with Walken? He looked half asleep in this film. 4 stars
8/01/05 Greg This is what the older comedy audience has been waiting for since American Wedding. 5 stars
7/31/05 R clarance, autumn, i don't want to criticize you, i just want to understand you.. 1 stars
7/29/05 Zandalee There has been too much hype for this mediocre movie. 2 stars
7/28/05 Autumn This was an awesome film. I haven't laughed so hard in a longtime. My stomach hurt aftwrd 5 stars
7/27/05 JoH2O I loved it, Miss _h fuck you 5 stars
7/26/05 Laura Lee Macleod stupid, boring not funny movie, big let-down 1 stars
7/26/05 miss_h how bmuch more BAD FILMS & BAD ACTORS playing stoopid parts for way too much money? 1 stars
7/25/05 Indrid Cold All the romantic comedy cliches are forgivable because it's actually funny. 4 stars
7/25/05 ClaranceTheCobra 2hrs of laughs ++ Hilarious dialogue, and priceless scenes 5 stars
7/22/05 Dan Too much off a romntic comedy. Would have been better if it were more like "Old School" 3 stars
7/21/05 jcjs fun, funny, light hearted, good time, laughs 4 stars
7/21/05 Vince An AWESOME FILM. Better second time viewing cuz u actually catch hidden jokes. 5 stars
7/17/05 kerry Too much language and sexual stuff 1 stars
7/17/05 cpbjr did drag, but owen and vaughn were TREMENDOUS! 5 stars
7/17/05 KCobain Vaughn elevates this. 4 stars
7/16/05 8=====D so sexy 8=======D *fap* *fap* *fap* 5 stars
7/16/05 ajay was laughing out loud for the first 3/4, the last bit kept it from being fuckin' awesome 4 stars
7/16/05 astrotart Edited down to 90 min, this movie would have been awesome. Vaughn was absolutely precious! 4 stars
7/16/05 Jim The Movie Freak Reasonably entertaining. Special cameo steals the show. Vaughn was hysterical 3 stars
7/08/05 Ray Average 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jul-2005 (R)
  DVD: 03-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Aug-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast