Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.7

Awesome: 2.13%
Worth A Look: 8.51%
Just Average: 6.38%
Pretty Crappy: 23.4%
Sucks59.57%

3 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lost Souls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Lost time."
2 stars

"Lost Souls" was supposed to have been released last year. New Line Cinema held it, however, saying they didn't want it to get confused with "Stigmata," which came out around that time and which also deals with demonic possession and the Catholic church.

So instead "Lost Souls" is being released this week ... right in the middle of a successful re-release of "The Exorcist."

I suspect the REAL reason New Line shelved the film for a year is that it stinks.

Doe-eyed Winona Ryder stars as Maya, a woman whom the Catholic church uses as a lay-person when performing exorcisms, since she was once possessed herself. While dealing with a particularly nasty possession, she finds that the victim had been writing down a series of seemingly random numbers. She cracks the code and comes up with a name: Peter Kelson. Peter Kelson (Ben Chaplin) is a successful author dealing with criminology and forensics, and he's had some weird dreams lately. Using a line of thinking that I think made sense in the movie but that I have forgotten now, Maya figures out that Peter is going to be the anti-Christ.

She tracks him down and tells him this; he is skeptical (aren't they always?); he comes to realize it's true. For reasons I'm pretty sure were not explained, at the precise moment of his 33rd birthday, he is going to "transform" into the actual embodiment of Satan, and the whole world better get back!

This is a limp, dull, predictable film, full of semi-creepy imagery and not a whit of brains or genuine thrills. When someone pulls a gun on someone else, that person half-heartedly pushes the gun away, there's a two-second struggle, and then one of them is shot. In other words, even when something happens in this movie, nothing happens.

The manner in which Satan is defeated is pretty lame, too; apparently, all it takes to thwart the Prince of Darkness is a bullet. Who knew?

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=126&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/04/03 22:33:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/24/12 L Guptill I was curious, who was the one transformed at the end? You couldn't really tell? 3 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Some good effecs, but mostly boring as ass 2 stars
10/05/10 PAUL SHORTT DULL, PRETENTIOUS, PREDICTABLE AND BORING 1 stars
1/31/07 AJ Muller The absolute worst thing any movie (especially a HORROR movie) can be - fucking boring. 1 stars
8/25/05 ES Lost in the shuffle, Mr. Weinberg's review sums it up 1 stars
7/20/04 Patjng pretty good, pretty dark movie to 4 stars
6/25/04 Edler An interesting attempt at a difficult subject. 3 stars
3/31/03 Jack Sommersby Palpably bad horror flick. Ugly to look at, painful to sit through. 1 stars
11/04/02 Charles Tatum Winona stole my heart 4 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden Disappointing Movie. Good Screenplay, but Not Scary and Very Stupid. 2 stars
1/06/02 Monday Morning As usual, it would have helped to have a little more tit. 2 stars
7/02/01 Fish Eye What is wrong with you fools? This was some scary shit!!! 4 stars
6/12/01 canuck I searched this out just so I could help deep six the reviews. I hated it that much. 1 stars
4/14/01 Jesse L Visually interesting; not bad at all; worth seeing 4 stars
3/08/01 mason e williams i've seen mexican z-grade horror films that are more watchable 1 stars
3/06/01 Socutejd The movie would have been better if they could have done something more then sit in the car 1 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright The only things that are lost are the sanity of all that were involved in this rubbish. 1 stars
1/04/01 LESTAT Wonderful! One of the best genre movie! Really good scares! 5 stars
11/19/00 mesawyou worst movie I have EVER seen 1 stars
11/17/00 Mr. X This was a really bad movie. Watch "The X Files" instead. 1 stars
11/13/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Poor Winona. Why can't a big-name studio EVER give her the decent flick she DESERVES??? 1 stars
11/03/00 Rob why does almost every american movie suck? 1 stars
10/19/00 Stuntman Who the hell casted Winona Ryder in this bullshit? 1 stars
10/18/00 The End "I don't wanna turn into Satan! Waaaa...." Wasn't even good on acid. 1 stars
10/18/00 Satan Did I win? 2 stars
10/16/00 Dan A cut above 'Bless This Child', 'Ninth Gate' and 'End of Days', but still quite bland. 3 stars
10/16/00 Ground Zero Go watch or rent The Ninth Gate instead 1 stars
10/16/00 Pandora Horrendously dull, unoriginal plot, and bad acting, ridiculously anitclimatic ending 1 stars
10/03/99 Roman Not scary and not too exciting 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Oct-2000 (R)
  DVD: 01-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Apr-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast