Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.7

Awesome82.96%
Worth A Look: 11.85%
Just Average: 0.74%
Pretty Crappy: 0.74%
Sucks: 3.7%

2 reviews, 123 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cinema Paradiso
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Utter, utter, utter genius. You must own this film."
5 stars

Anf confirmed film freak has seen this movie more times than Star Wars. Any film freak who hasn't seen Cinema Paradiso is missing a fundamental part of the movie experience.

Okay, it's subtitled. Yeah, it's a little aged. Okay, so it's long.

But you know what? It's unbelievably incredibly wonderful. And I'm a guy, so the word 'wonderful' doesn't come easily from my mouth.

Salvatore is a precocious kid in an Italian village that revolves around it's cinema. The Cinema Paradiso is the place all the villagers come to relax, meet, laugh and get taken away to another world. Salvatore is obsessed with the cinema and persuades the projectionist (Italian veteran actor Enzo Cannavale) to teach him all he knows about the movies.

So what's the story? There's basically none. It's a portrait of village life in early century Italy. It's a display of how movies *should* bring people together and expand their horizons. It's a look back into the way things were.

The people of this film are a story unto themselves. The village nutcase who thinks he owns the square. The priest who censors the films every time there's a hint of amore on screen. The old man who sleeps in his cinema seat to get some peaceful time away from his nagging wife. The girl who steals Salvatore's heart.

This is a film you can see over and over and never grow tired. The three hour directors cut is like stepping off a train and finding yourself in the movie.

And the ending is perhaps some of the most moving footage shot in the last fifteen years. Make the time to see this movie. Take the phone off the hook and turn off the pager. You won't be disappointed.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1267&reviewer=1
originally posted: 03/30/99 01:08:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/17/17 Far A Masterpiece 5 stars
4/26/16 Ken Beautiful movie from Italy. 5 stars
4/14/15 Hadrianus not better tha LOTR: ROTK 2 stars
4/13/15 trasd number 1 really??? not even close top 50 1 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
2/19/15 Chris Jarmick overly romanticized perhaps but beautifully done 4 stars
1/19/15 orlando stevan overrated piece of shit in cinematic history 1 stars
10/02/12 Katherine Just wonderful! Beautiful! Will stay with you forever. 5 stars
8/28/12 Omlopez8 Watched this movie in high school, still a classic 5 stars
3/28/12 Marty Beautiful unassuming story with relatable themes. little slow at parts tho 4 stars
8/01/11 Piz One of the best movies of all-time. Truly, subtitles and all. It's a masterpiece. 5 stars
3/03/11 Roger an outstanding movie, 5 stars
11/25/10 Sia Shar hello to nostolgia.the art of cinema which is shown in cinema paradiso is cinema.TOTOOOOOOO 5 stars
1/21/10 PAUL SHORTT A FILM LOVERS' DELIGHT 5 stars
12/02/09 Mark My favorite movie of all time. I weep. So beautiful. 5 stars
8/29/09 Cliff Truly one of the best movies ever made!!! 5 stars
5/20/08 sebastian rea one of the best films i've ever seen. A film lover must see and have. ! 5 stars
4/27/08 R.W. Welch Director's cut is overlong but has a certain genius to it. A- 5 stars
12/25/07 Eleanor and Ady Telemaque Beautiful and bittersweet 5 stars
12/07/07 Giovani If you ever thought about the meaning of love you will remember this movie. 5 stars
11/01/07 michael wexler Wonderful story, it grabs you and doesn't let go 5 stars
8/28/07 Bianca So Sweet!!! Loved It!!! 4 stars
6/28/07 Endbag One of the greatest films ever made. Viva Italia! 5 stars
6/23/07 drew this film is never to be forgotten, the simplicity and sense of feeling almost hurts you ! 5 stars
5/16/07 luis una de las mejores peliculas que he visto 5 stars
5/10/07 ElGuapo Soul Stirring!!!!!!!!the greatest love story ever. Emotion evoking.. 5 stars
4/28/07 mahipal it's a good film 5 stars
3/21/07 rhoda extraordinary romantic film'', 4 stars
2/13/07 Baldeadly The Awesomeness is just as good as its GREATNESS! 5 stars
1/19/07 Connie Beliisimo Cinema! 5 stars
11/09/06 Jason Amazing new version! 5 stars
9/18/06 Jim McNulty Swoontastic movie..more Hollywood than Hollywood.Loved it! 5 stars
3/12/06 Roderick Cromar Worth learning Italian for! Absolutely top-class. 5 stars
12/05/05 Gene Carmean One of the best 5 stars
11/23/05 John Dog Great movie! 5 stars
11/05/05 Ben Classic movie. A must-see for movie fans. 5 stars
10/07/05 n. wickramasooriya very romantic 4 stars
10/05/05 alan granville watch it with your heart the way movies were meant to be watched. the most moving, romantic 5 stars
9/07/05 paki_munda its super good 5 stars
6/06/05 Fatima Laouini I just love it. Touching, hilarious sometimes, ravishing in its warmth and love for movies. 5 stars
5/31/05 Lakshmi Udranand A great movie to watch, a great text to teach 4 stars
4/16/05 sidman656 i loved this movie ever since i saw it first on IFC 5 stars
4/08/05 craig varney great movie a love story actually worth caring about 5 stars
3/13/05 priyanka kapoor the movie exhibits the various stages through which cinema has passed. 4 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig If you dont love this cinamatic treasure you must be dead 5 stars
2/01/05 Emily Bezemek Touching film...great characters and story. 5 stars
12/16/04 beverly caboteja its really a must-see movie. Undeniably, heart-warming and one-of a kind 5 stars
12/03/04 Vannessa VERY VERY WONDERFUL MOVIE 5 stars
8/05/04 psychotic black dwarf I saw the extended version 1st & will love it 4eva, I feel cheated by the original cut. 5 stars
7/29/04 hannah Laygan it was a beautiful yet awe-inspiring movie ive ever watch 5 stars
6/24/04 Barbara Some of review on your site are not correct..."Alfredo" is the name of the projectionist an 5 stars
6/13/04 dfc Excellent, the original shorter version is better. 4 stars
6/04/04 David One of the best films ever made. 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Appealing, nostalgic feel for childhood and the excitement of the big screen. 4 stars
3/20/04 Kris Klewin worth the subtitles 5 stars
12/17/03 Adriana See the original theatrical release first- it's great! The Director's Cut can get tedious. 5 stars
10/02/03 Ed of Aberdeen AWESOME! 5 stars
9/10/03 roberto martell hurtado excellent 5 stars
9/09/03 leigh hutson the best movie I have ever saw! 5 stars
7/10/03 Ma. Rochelle O. Basilio An unforgettable masterpiece 5 stars
9/28/02 Matylda I loved this movie! 5 stars
8/16/02 Summer OMG. So Good. If you love movies, you'll LOVE this! 5 stars
6/24/02 james Better than the original if that's possible 5 stars
3/26/02 Amrita Paul Makes you want to love the movies even more. 5 stars
2/17/02 Student This film did nothing for me. Most of the time, it was boring. 1 stars
1/31/02 B. Alexander One of the best. A Hall of Fame film!!! 5 stars
1/26/02 ateneo de davao university philippines excellent 5 stars
1/18/02 Magnum Craphole Good film, if slightly overlong and overrated. 4 stars
1/16/02 Philip Keeler This film got me into movies its wonderfull 5 stars
12/16/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Good Foreign Film...Surprised A Ton. 4 stars
12/12/01 Lauren E. Brown Beautiful! 5 stars
12/10/01 Balint teaches about what love should be like 5 stars
11/30/01 Cookie Cutter Good, but vastly overrated. Good performances, apart from the teenager (sucked). 4 stars
11/04/01 The Bomb 69 powerful and poignant, I laughed, I cried, extremely solid stuff 5 stars
10/14/01 i hate reese witherspoon and mark wahlberg it was great 5 stars
10/11/01 Patina Italians RULE! 5 stars
10/10/01 delly i liked it but i wouldn't rave about it 4 stars
10/03/01 Krisite Movie full of superb insight and not afraid of being romantically optimistic. 5 stars
8/20/01 david This movie is overwhelmingly good. Music, story, characters, the best. 5 stars
8/03/01 david sentimental but wonderful ---and best ever score 5 stars
7/21/01 gus hi 5 stars
5/06/01 Cristina Cavicchia The BEST Italian film I have seen! 5 stars
5/05/01 Ian Richardson My favourite film ever ! 5 stars
3/14/01 Orlaith Heron Outstanding, heart-touching 5 stars
3/08/01 Nelson PC S I M P L E M E N T E M A R A V I L L O S A . . . 5 stars
1/03/01 koray This is absolutely the best movie that I have ever seen. 5 stars
12/18/00 Martin Persson Good, but to sentimental 4 stars
12/10/00 Allison Wentzel Very sad, but yet very "touching". 4 stars
11/30/00 Steve One of the best movies I've ever seen 5 stars
11/17/00 rajasekhar superb 5 stars
11/14/00 Jenn This movie is one of the best i've ever seen - and i've seen a lot of them. 5 stars
11/14/00 salvo toscano Bellissimo! Sicilians do it better. Does anyone succeed in not crying at the very end? 5 stars
11/07/00 Kristen Puccetti WONDERFUL 5 stars
11/02/00 Alvin Santoso Good movie 5 stars
10/28/00 Mic It hasn't aged and it's not long. It is brilliant and has a wonderful, wonderful ending 5 stars
10/26/00 radhika memorably sweet 5 stars
10/25/00 Dave Jackson Brilliant, engaging, elegantly simple entertainment 5 stars
10/10/00 Elvisfan Have trouble crying? Try the last ten minutes of this-you're cured! 5 stars
9/19/00 Jeff sweet and sentimental 4 stars
9/15/00 Jan Erik Finsćther Great movie. It has every thing a film needs! 5 stars
9/05/00 celeste one of the best movies that i have ever seen 5 stars
6/15/00 juliet beautiful 5 stars
6/09/00 Nick Cheesman This is an amazing film. Everybody should watch it. 5 stars
6/01/00 rjdellea A beautiful movie 5 stars
4/24/00 Noel Canlas amazing, brilliant! 5 stars
4/12/00 Roz Kohen Drohobyczer Most appealing, fun movie..you laugh and cry at the same time..just like in real life! 5 stars
4/06/00 RoNiN One of the best movies I ever saw 5 stars
3/09/00 Marsela Castro Makes you feel warm and loved. 5 stars
3/05/00 JMountain a wonderful, beautiful story!!! 5 stars
3/03/00 Gaddi Shlasky moving, touching, a movie about love. The movie I love the most! 5 stars
2/18/00 Julia Morris Absolutely excellent, take a box of tissues!!! 5 stars
11/29/99 MSJMurphy As good as movies get 5 stars
9/15/99 Nelson very good Italian film, much better than 'Life is Beautiful' or 'la vita 'e bella' 5 stars
6/28/99 JORDAN MULARZ La mejor película de la historia. Un film para llorar, analizar y disfrutar de lo mejor 5 stars
6/22/99 king_feral the film chosen for my media studies exam...now one of my # 1 films. 5 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam Boy and girl movie. Good story 5 stars
4/03/99 Albert Doesn't hold up to repeat viewings. 3 stars
2/17/99 Piz A Sentimental treat, wonderful sound and visuals, another great Italian product. 5 stars
1/26/99 Sissy Boy..OH! at the end of the movie, i cried for my lost childhood and b/c I stubbed my toe 5 stars
11/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce This is a great film about the old days of cinema. Without peer, a must see. 5 stars
11/09/98 Silent Rob A cinematic valentine to those who love film, and those that show them the way. 5 stars
11/09/98 {{{OZ}}} A very good story about a man and his love for old time cinema. Subtitled but superb. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1989 (PG)
  DVD: 07-Nov-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1990 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast