Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.68

Awesome81.98%
Worth A Look: 10.81%
Just Average: 3.6%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 3.6%

2 reviews, 99 user ratings



Airplane!
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Why, I can make a hat or a brooch or a pterodactyl..."
5 stars

The parody genre began here, and would never quite live up to this again.

I don't care how absurd you think this movie is, it rules.

So here we have the grand-daddy of them all, one of the first parody movies (actually, Kentucky Fried Movie was three years prior). Before parody films started to parody themselves, there was Airplane! It made fun of (and rightly so) all those deadly serious airport disaster movies of the late 70's. It launched the comedic careers of Lloyd Bridges and Leslie Nielsen, and made Robert Hays a sort of star (I think the only other thing he's done since then worth mentioning was the voice of Iron Man on a God-awful cartoon a few years ago). It was the start of gag-a-minute movies, the one-liners you'd catch on maybe your second or third viewing, and the occasional shot of gratuitous nudity.

It was a benchmark, not because it was well-made (because it wasn't) or a box office smash, but because it was just so damn funny. So many great throwaway lines, so many great sight gags.

The plot's not really that important, you just need to know that it's funny. And if you haven't seen it, what the hell are you waiting for, huh? The fog is getting thicker, and Leon's getting laaaarrrger!

Now see, if you'd seen it, you'd know that line is damn funny.

Well, it's a big, pretty white plane with a red stripe, curtains at the windows, wheels, and it just looks like a big Tylenol!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1286&reviewer=7
originally posted: 11/13/98 10:18:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell comedy classic still holds up 5 stars
10/08/15 Billy34 Hilarious stuff even all these years. 5 stars
3/06/15 stanley welles disaster parody at its finest 5 stars
3/01/15 lolipop pretty shit 1 stars
2/28/15 soyguapYrico comedy idiotic 1 stars
2/19/15 Chris Jarmick Laugh out-loud ridiculous spoof driven anarcy 5 stars
6/02/10 User Name Airplane! created a genre that has yet to improve upon itself. 4 stars
1/04/10 PAUL SHORTT HILARIOUS SPOOF, WITH NON-STOP GAGS 4 stars
9/15/08 Ravenwest Fantastic film. 5 stars
7/01/08 RHawk Funny running gags, situations and one liners. Not spectacular but important. 4 stars
3/07/08 SamanthaPayntr this movie is soooo funny, you notic something different everytime u watch it. 5 stars
2/25/08 pkr the beginning of leslie nielsen's downfall? good comedy though, 3 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic Comedy masterpiece 5 stars
12/07/07 Screwball Super funny 5 stars
2/16/07 R.W.Welch Some say the funniest movie ever made. I would't argue. 5 stars
1/27/07 David Pollastrini very funny 4 stars
12/30/06 Jess Loved it! I have this memorized 5 stars
11/29/06 Stanley Thai A funny spoof film. 4 stars
10/31/06 Charles Tatum Can't believe I haven't commented on how brilliant this movie is 5 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies Awesome-set the standard 5 stars
7/13/06 EZ Comedy at it's peak 5 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer You'd laugh at this even if a loved one had recently passed away. IT'S THAT FUNNY!!! 5 stars
10/02/05 Tim the Enchanter If you do not laugh during this movie then you are legally dead 5 stars
8/20/05 Nobody Like Monty Python in that it's random, quotable, and EXTREMELY funny 5 stars
7/05/05 zeitgeist Looks like I picked the wrong day to quit sniffing glue 5 stars
4/12/05 Indrid Cold Despite cult status, not as good as Naked Gun. But extremely funny. 5 stars
2/26/05 Dr. Lecter White Zone/Red Zone argument - funniest scene ever 5 stars
2/18/05 clinger26 so god darn funny 5 stars
1/14/05 Jeff Anderson Still the funniest movie ever made. Stephen Stucker and Lloyd Bridges RULE! 5 stars
12/06/04 Jason Kaul Everytime I watch this movie, I see something I missed the times before. 5 stars
9/15/04 conor great excellent 5 stars
2/05/04 Lori You don't like it? Well, the shit's gonna hit the fan! 5 stars
10/10/03 JimmyC Amazingly Funny 5 stars
8/07/03 3man A classic. 5 stars
8/01/03 Big Dick The parody genre began with Blazing Saddles you dickhead! 5 stars
6/21/03 cochese Never gets old, I love it every time I see it. 5 stars
6/05/03 Gray Johnny is so random as is the whole film 5 stars
3/16/03 G-man the craziest movie ever made- i loved this one to death 5 stars
3/12/03 Butterball Cenobite nothing socially-redeeming about this film; just flat-out offensively funny 5 stars
1/26/03 T-man Absolutely the funniest movie ever made. Period. 5 stars
1/08/03 Darkmage Airplane shall live forever, and ever, and...uh...you ever hang around a turkish prison? 5 stars
11/08/02 Stevo One of the funniest comedies ever 5 stars
10/17/02 Rachel Every one of Johnny's quotes is now a regular part of my vocabulary. RAPUNZEL!!! 5 stars
7/18/02 Dan The funniest movie ever made 5 stars
6/19/02 Film Dude Haven't seen this yet? Go rent it, bitch. 5 stars
6/10/02 Artist Freak One of the best comedy movies ever made. Fun, biting slapstick, spares no one. 5 stars
5/28/02 The Bomb 69 nothing else to say but CLASSIC!!! 5 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn An ultimate classic 5 stars
5/10/02 Kyle Hate this and die. 5 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson I am serious, and stop calling me Shirley. 5 stars
3/04/02 Alan Smithee One of my favorite comedies of all time. 5 stars
2/07/02 Gary Anderson Possibly the funniest film ever made, rivalling Blazing Saddles. 5 stars
1/05/02 BWF A classic. One of the greatest comidies ever made 5 stars
11/07/01 groovekitten.com sit back and smudge the proverbial underwear as u lose bowel control during this! 5 stars
9/26/01 Butterbean Now this is comedy! I love seeing those old serious actors shoot the shit! Bridges rocks! 5 stars
8/18/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Funny Movie, Julia Hagerty Is Great. 4 stars
6/18/01 salvo The best one 5 stars
6/14/01 AndyW The funniest movie I have ever seen, and don't call me Shirley. 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle Laughs abound, but this just isn't my cup of tea. I hate tea. 3 stars
6/06/01 D. Bower This is hopelessly funny!!! 5 stars
6/06/01 King Jackass A definite comedic masterpiece 5 stars
6/04/01 tovah "I have a drinking problem" - Ted, before splashing OJ on face, fucking hillarious!! 5 stars
5/23/01 zeitgeist "Looks like I picked the wrong day to quit sniffing glue" 5 stars
5/22/01 Bada Bing Crosby Excuse me, I speak jive. 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Anytime I even think of this movie, I laugh. A must-see. 5 stars
4/24/01 Spetters `Joey, do you like gladiator movies?´ 5 stars
4/11/01 Michael This movie was a laugh-out-loud movie; full of satire and of course absurdism 4 stars
4/03/01 PALUCH ain't nothing wrong with that!... 5 stars
3/07/01 Jake A comedic masterpiece. Better than the first. 5 stars
2/24/01 I love movies you call this funny?!? 1 stars
1/20/01 scorekeeper Great film, now let's get some pictures. 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Funny, but some scenes that are meant to be funny don't tickle your funny bone. 4 stars
12/02/00 Phil This movie led me to my drinking problem...... 5 stars
10/28/00 YOUR Movie Expert This movie isn't funny at------Wait...No, this movie is HYSTERICAL!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/29/00 Ben great flick. One of the best comedies ever 5 stars
9/28/00 TJ St John Joey, have you ever seen a grown man naked? 5 stars
7/03/00 Jed I'm sorry folks this is the proper rating for this flick (in my opinion) 3 stars
6/07/00 Bender One of the best spoof movies ever made 5 stars
4/12/00 Rita Joey do you like movies about Gladiators? 5 stars
11/28/99 Crystal Fleming Funny but not much of a plot 4 stars
11/24/99 Bryan Clark Surely a riot, And don't call me shirley 4 stars
11/06/99 Anthony Ellis The greatest parody/spoof movie that there will EVER be. Hilariously brilliant! 5 stars
9/27/99 Tim Wolff Have you ever been in a turkish prison? 5 stars
9/23/99 KK The standard by which all others will be measured!! 5 stars
9/08/99 Jason Kinsey fuggin hilarious 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
6/24/99 David Keech The funniest movie ever made. I love the ways to calm a nervous passenger. 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog Joey, do you like movies about gladiators? 5 stars
4/19/99 Lucas jackson fucking hilarious I like how they have so many stars in it 5 stars
3/15/99 Go Swans The original and the best. How could this genre be reduced to the woeful Mafia!? 5 stars
3/02/99 bill stanbar I didn't even laugh once. 1 stars
2/15/99 Kooky Sal Hilarious. Even the dumb parts are funny enough to carry over to the better stuff. Own it. 5 stars
2/05/99 Don Wilson It kicks ass 5 stars
12/30/98 Todd Surely one of the best comedies ever. Yes, it was. And don't call me Shirley. 5 stars
11/28/98 Mike F jason-guy said it. 3 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink "Joey, have you ever been in a Turkish prison"? 5 stars
11/15/98 Lord Of The Dunce Just a fucking hilarious spoof film. Shame the genre has died in the ass, but this is great 5 stars
11/12/98 J-Guy really really funny parts. really really dumb parts. 4 stars
11/10/98 Silent Rob Still a laugh riot. 'Looks like I picked the wrong week to stop sniffing glue!' 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1980 (PG)
  DVD: 13-Dec-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1981 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast