Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.41

Awesome59.42%
Worth A Look: 21.74%
Just Average: 18.84%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 0%

3 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Saviour
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"War is insanity."
3 stars

An excellent film, but I consider it educational, rather than entertaining.

I would consider this film educational because it teaches one about the horror of war in a gritty and realistic way. I would place this movie in the same category as “Saving Private Ryan,” “Band of Brothers,” and “We Were Soldiers.” (These films are so gritty and realistic, I never feel right if I eat anything while watching them. To me, munching away when watching these films is disrespectful to the heroes who sacrificed so much for our country.)

WARNING - In order to review this film and discuss its meaning, I have to discuss certain aspects of the film you would not want to know before seeing it. Therefore . . . if you don't want to know this information, please don't read this until after you have seen the film.

“Savior” captures the cruelty and barbarism of the ethnic cleansing in Bosnia. For example, the scene where a group of people are being murdered while Guy hides with Vera’s baby to save the child’s life is particularly upsetting so watch. The film also demonstrates the terrible conditions that women in some cultures have to live with. For example, the shame and anger that the girl’s father feels towards her because she is pregnant was shocking.. Especially considering that it wasn’t even her fault as she was raped. Many cultures have a long way to go in their treatment of women.

One fault I find with the film was the portrayal of Guy in the beginning. Having him kill a lot of innocent people was unnecessary. That beginning is so typically “Hollywood” that it detracts from the power of the film. (Especially borrowing a sequence from “Outbreak” - which was a cheesy thing to do.) Because the beginning is so “Hollywood,” one would not take the film as seriously as it should be taken.

The film should have started with the Guy set up in his sniper position guarding the bridge. This would be a more effective beginning as it would keep the tone of the movie uniform, and the film would begin with a very “non-Hollywood” distressing sequence, the death of the child. One would immediately be shocked and upset, and a very strong point would be made about the horror of war.

Also, if the film started with Guy on the bridge, he would have seemed more mysterious. He would not have killed innocent people in the mosque and one would have had more sympathy for him. However, the beginning destroyed sympathy for the character and wrecked the film as one can not have sympathy for a man who blew up innocent people. (What Guy did was so bad, there is no way to redeem him.) However, if the film started on the bridge Guy would be just a soldier doing his duty, and not a terrorist. Then the subsequent events in the movie which are supposed to make us feel sympathy for Guy would have worked.

The film has an excellent director's commentary. However, when you first watch it, skip the beginning and start with the bridge sequence. You will enjoy the movie more.

War is horrible. The film teaches us this.

Overall a serious thought-provoking film.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=1301&reviewer=228
originally posted: 02/28/05 20:45:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/06/07 Roxana I am shoked with the brutality of the scenes who makes me think who we are and what we done 5 stars
9/07/06 Tyrel Miranda Nice Flim 4 stars
1/23/06 Aditya Rana A really touching movie. 5 stars
11/17/05 Jovnik Fantastic film, very realistic, hard to watch... 5 stars
8/01/05 ALOK TOTALLY AWSOME there are very few films like this 5 stars
7/25/05 Joseph Placid Very touching, inspirational 5 stars
7/20/05 Jazel Quirante HOPE REALLY IS WORTH DYING FOR... 5 stars
5/02/05 Sourish Dey A must see movie for all those who love war movies but remember that wars are horrible. 4 stars
4/06/05 Greg truely a masterpeice 5 stars
3/13/05 Tamara Burks A haunting movie that informs you of what some countries do to thier women. 4 stars
11/26/04 fiona very touching 5 stars
10/28/04 jay A Beautiful movie, Instance of art of humanity! I would give it 6 stars out of 5 ;) 5 stars
10/22/04 Zeljko Moving, Realistic, Heartbreaking 4 stars
10/18/04 dr mohan ullikashi the filmwhich touches your innercore of humanity 5 stars
10/18/04 kishore wadhwani excellent and very moving 5 stars
10/18/04 harkirat gill a movie which holds on to the viewers with the storyline 5 stars
10/17/04 seshadri it was truly unbelievable 5 stars
10/17/04 Sundar Parthasarathy Great Movie! The style is "in-your-face" kind yet there is human touch and tenderness 5 stars
10/01/04 gnaneeswar excellent movie!! a must seen. 5 stars
9/28/04 Kenna Claude Its a master piece, I admire the originately of ideas by both the writer and director 4 stars
9/25/04 VIctor This is superior, thoughtful film-making; honors the best cinema can be 5 stars
8/04/04 sabarinathan very good touching movie 5 stars
8/02/04 Neeraj Lakhera voilent but with human face to it,moving story 4 stars
6/01/04 ravi kiran excellent movie 5 stars
5/21/04 sanjay Great movie, catchy, leaves you with some thoughts and urge to go back in history, 5 stars
5/20/04 Crysler Emmanuel Moving !! 5 stars
5/17/04 ritu its new experience just grt 5 stars
5/17/04 veda Touching 5 stars
5/16/04 Vijay Kumar Gupta Its a great inspiring movie. 5 stars
5/15/04 Hariharan Disturbing story, but then we live in hell dont we?! 5 stars
4/26/04 Amardeep Singh Worth watching 5 stars
2/10/04 marvin snapp The comments by Gawain McLachlin just shows me that he just doesn't get it. Sad for him. 5 stars
9/20/03 Karen I thought the movie was pretty good. 4 stars
2/28/03 Ger Coughlan Very gritty drama, especially the mass execution scene, - Top marks! 5 stars
1/30/03 Josh fantastic! great filming, scenery, POWERFULL story. 5 stars
1/30/03 Dani Brilliant movie. It brought tears to my eyes 5 stars
12/27/02 anniebelle great flik (but for opening scene)--shock ending 5 stars
12/08/02 Rohit Sharma Suuuuuuperb Brillllliant piece of direction. Very touchin so far the best. Way to go !!! 5 stars
11/09/02 brett schlesinger one of the most disturbing movies i have ever seen 5 stars
8/24/02 brady clarke sensational. a brilliant movie 5 stars
8/16/02 LIAM JACKSON Fantastic! Quaid's portrayal of a psycho-turned-hero is brilliant. a definite must-see!**** 5 stars
8/08/02 I Can't Swim Tremendously brilliant. An emotional work out. See it or lose out. 5 stars
7/27/02 Bachi Heavy and emotionally brutal anti-war movie. Gawain just didn't get the point :( 5 stars
4/20/02 Josip Broz Gawain, you're a moron, not a reviewer. Amazing film, not a Schwartzenegger flick!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/10/02 Gita Sadovska I will never forgot it 5 stars
8/13/01 Bada Bing Crosby Hey reviewer it was real life, not a Stallone vehicle! Great fucking movie!! 5 stars
5/02/01 Bruce Messer Gawain McLachlin comment "Should please actions fans" shows what a complete idiot he is. 5 stars
1/22/01 Cindy Excellent film. Tells the truth from all sides. 5 stars
1/14/01 Mr. Movie Critic excellent film tells the truth about what went on 4 stars
10/10/99 Weird Andy Much more H.C. than I expected. Shoddy in parts, but stunning in others. 4 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz Too mawkish and contrived to stir much emotion. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Nov-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Dec-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast