Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.38

Awesome: 7.69%
Worth A Look46.15%
Just Average: 26.92%
Pretty Crappy: 15.38%
Sucks: 3.85%

5 reviews, 22 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Primary Colors
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Old Monkey

"Wait till it's on CBS. Wait.. IT IS!"
2 stars

While I must admit it did have a few zingers, over all it was a fairly bland film.

A governor from the Southern part of America is running for President amidst many sex scandals.
I wasn't that interested in the real life version, starring Bill Clinton.
I was really uninterested in a poorly written clone.
I went in hoping to see a hillarious farce of what politics in america have become.
What I did see was 90 minutes of blech.
Overacted, overrated.

Director Mike Nichols failed impress me with this as much as he did with his films 'Regarding Henry' and 'The BirdCage'. It was a good attempt, but a poor premise.

Travolta should have just banked on Grease for his big Spring release.
Emma Thompson was the highlight of the film, she made you feel for her character.
Bates, she plays a friend of the hopeful first-couple-to-be. And is gay, for seemingly no reason.
Thornton was extra blechy even with all the other blech, I could still tell he was blechy.

Blech.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=131&reviewer=2
originally posted: 08/29/98 22:42:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/23/10 PAUL SHORTT DYNAMIC, ENTERTAINING AND SMART 4 stars
4/21/08 Jack Sommersby Toothless, shapeless, and very disappointing. 2 stars
10/24/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow 2 stars
2/20/06 Agent Sands A truly awesome piece of filmmaking. 5 stars
4/26/03 Shadaan Felfeli Any film with Emma Thompson is worth watching ! 3 stars
9/28/02 Fantom of the Slobberer Emma T wasted, BBT his usual overkill, John Revolting and Catheter Baits putrid as usual. 1 stars
5/22/02 Sheila Evans John Travolta and Kathy Bates together - should've been worse than this! 1 stars
2/06/02 Phil M. Afficianado Entertaining in places but very forgettable formula movie 3 stars
1/05/02 Andrew Carden Travolta As President? It Sounds Horrible, but It Isn't Total Crap. 3 stars
1/04/02 Butterbean Travolta impressed me as he pulled off a great "Clinton". 4 stars
5/05/01 Hawkeye A great political flim; does a great job of capturing the Clinton road to the whitehouse. 4 stars
11/05/00 Green Unique insights + great acting, but Maura Tierney was ill-defined. Yet she's so talented 4 stars
10/22/00 P. Rodriguez great viewing never gets too overdramatic, nor a staid drama. Good Stuff! 5 stars
5/15/00 Bender Highly overlong, but some great performaces. 3 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Harrowingly truthful political almost-satire. 5 stars
10/29/99 Bozo great Bates & Lester; better when Travolta is off the screen; pretty funny too 4 stars
12/19/98 Johny Not a Travolta film, I repeat NOT a Travolta film 3 stars
12/07/98 Lord Of The Dunce Unbelievably well timed, but that don't make it great. 3 stars
9/18/98 Badass Billy Bob and Kathy are great, as is the movie 5 stars
9/16/98 Ben Affleck Pretty good!! I agree with the film that Mr.Prez isn't such a bad guy. 4 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee i guess when they made it they didn't know it would already be so overdone. 3 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} A really boring story done very well. But why? 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Mar-1998 (R)
  DVD: 28-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast